PDA

View Full Version : Can router act as access point?

Kurosaki @ Ichigo
18-03-2009, 10:05 AM

i got this router and wan to make it as an access point to detect my wireless network at home.
i already got a wireless router currently. So can i configure this new router to be juz an access point???

thanks!

phuque99
18-03-2009, 10:10 AM
yes, turn of stuff that you don't use like wan, dhcp etc and make sure it's ip doesn't conflict with your main router.

Kurosaki @ Ichigo
18-03-2009, 10:32 AM
Hi can guide how to do it?

richneo
18-03-2009, 10:44 AM
read your manual on how to change the lan ip address and how to turn off dhcp

help us to help you... start with the manual first..

krazyman
18-03-2009, 10:49 AM
Can use as a wired AP (ie connect router's lan port with utp cable to network), and disable its dhcp. Ensure this router's IP doesn't conflict with others. This expands your wireless coverage.

If want to use as a repeater or in Client mode, will have to depend if 3rd party firmware with these features is availale for your router.

From your 1st post, it looks like you are interested in the latter.

Kurosaki @ Ichigo
18-03-2009, 11:07 AM
Hi..

i try the following...

For the new router i connect the lan cable from my computer to the LAN port of the new router. Then i configure the new router to turn off dhcp and ip address to within my old router ip address range.

but on my computer side how do i make it start to use the new router to detect wirless network?

krazyman
18-03-2009, 11:25 AM
Hi..

i try the following...

For the new router i connect the lan cable from my computer to the LAN port of the new router. Then i configure the new router to turn off dhcp and ip address to within my old router ip address range.

but on my computer side how do i make it start to use the new router to detect wirless network?

Already mentioned in my earlier post that you can't use your router in Client mode unless there is 3rd party firmware for your router that comes with these feature.

Kurosaki @ Ichigo
18-03-2009, 11:37 AM
wah ok... how do i know if it support?

using DLink D-300

richneo
18-03-2009, 12:15 PM
dir-300 has access point mode

just enable it in the drop down menu

no nid to configure anything else

Kurosaki @ Ichigo
18-03-2009, 01:20 PM
dir-300 has access point mode

just enable it in the drop down menu

no nid to configure anything else

yup.. i enable it..

need to turn of dhcp server also rite?

but still dun work leh.. how do i make the router start looking for wireless network?

thanks!

hlots123
18-03-2009, 01:34 PM
as krazyman mentioned, i believe u want client or client bridge mode. Not access point mode.

u want the router to act like a wireless adaptor, like those usb/pci wireless adaptor? if yes, krazyman is correct.

Kurosaki @ Ichigo
18-03-2009, 02:44 PM
oh ok... so if i wan to use as wired AP then ok..

but wireless AP cannot be done? need to become wireless adaptor?

how can i try it out?

hlots123
18-03-2009, 03:32 PM
ur last post, i dun understand....

krazyman mentioned twice, i mentioned again. hav u read & understood whether u want wireless AP or client/client bridge mode???

richneo
18-03-2009, 03:49 PM
to save you time and our agony of having to understand what you are trying to say..

call 65014200 24/7

Kurosaki @ Ichigo
18-03-2009, 04:02 PM
sorry for the confusion...

i already have wireless network setup at my house with a router...

now with this new router i would like to configure it so that i can detect this network and use the wireless network. That is consider as a wireless AP rite?

phuque99
18-03-2009, 04:09 PM
no, that is considered a wireless client. what you intend to do if this "router" detect your existing wireless network?

Kurosaki @ Ichigo
18-03-2009, 04:24 PM
oh.. i intend to use it to detect the network then use ir to surf net...

richneo
18-03-2009, 04:43 PM
read http://www.shadowandy.net for instruction on how to flash dd-wrt into dir-300 and set it as ap client

wuga98
03-04-2009, 11:23 AM
sorry to hijack this thread, i am not really following the conversation and i need to get my terms correct as well. can you help, here i go;

I have a wireless router on the first storey of my house and and it is not powerful enough to reach the 3rd storey but what i have are rj ports on the 3rd storey which is connected to a switch on the 1st storey to the router.

Can i buy "something" wireless to connect to this rj port on my 3rd storey using a lan cable and boost my wireless coverage? I am not sure if i need a AP or a repeater? can you tell me.

and it is difficult to configure this to act to what i have describe here?. Thanks a million:s12:

no, that is considered a wireless client. what you intend to do if this "router" detect your existing wireless network?

cpuer
03-04-2009, 11:45 AM
sorry to hijack this thread, i am not really following the conversation and i need to get my terms correct as well. can you help, here i go;

I have a wireless router on the first storey of my house and and it is not powerful enough to reach the 3rd storey but what i have are rj ports on the 3rd storey which is connected to a switch on the 1st storey to the router.

Can i buy "something" wireless to connect to this rj port on my 3rd storey using a lan cable and boost my wireless coverage? I am not sure if i need a AP or a repeater? can you tell me.

and it is difficult to configure this to act to what i have describe here?. Thanks a million:s12:

You will need an AP. But many routers nowadays can act solely as an AP too. The cheap DIR-300 is one of them.

wuga98
03-04-2009, 05:26 PM
thanks bro. I have an extra wrt54g wireless router, i read somewhere i need to flash the fw to a tomato one for it to operate like an AP. is this correct? Thanks again

You will need an AP. But many routers nowadays can act solely as an AP too. The cheap DIR-300 is one of them.

phuque99
03-04-2009, 05:35 PM
default firmware also can lah, just turn off dhcp and set its IP from its default to avoid conflict with your current gateway router, can liao.