PDA

View Full Version : anyone using WAG54G2/WAG160N?

nikobell
18-03-2009, 11:43 PM
is it gd? any problems encounter so far?

eventidephoenix
19-03-2009, 01:18 AM
apart from nice aesthetics, I guess it's just an ordinary useable router with poorer wireless capabilities...

Try Dlink DIR-655 if u want a better deal ;)

alvino77
19-03-2009, 04:13 AM
is it gd? any problems encounter so far?

am using wag160n, it's smooth as a butter. used it for 2 weeks. no problem. but i'm not using the wireless lan feature. my connections are all cabled.

nikobell
19-03-2009, 10:20 AM
apart from nice aesthetics, I guess it's just an ordinary useable router with poorer wireless capabilities...

Try Dlink DIR-655 if u want a better deal ;)

hmm wireless not really an issue to me.

i probably be using Ethernet cable connection more often. seldom use wireless.

but the thing is , i heard some singnet user got problem with WAG160N?

cause i myself is a singnet user...

nikobell
19-03-2009, 10:21 AM
am using wag160n, it's smooth as a butter. used it for 2 weeks. no problem. but i'm not using the wireless lan feature. my connections are all cabled.

u using singnet bb ?

wind77
19-03-2009, 10:42 AM
originally i was quite keen to buy WAG160N, till i read some reviews.
http://www.cnet.com.au/wireless/routers/0,239028899,339290906-1,00.htm

nikobell
19-03-2009, 02:49 PM
originally i was quite keen to buy WAG160N, till i read some reviews.
http://www.cnet.com.au/wireless/routers/0,239028899,339290906-1,00.htm

but thats in austrailia mah..how to compare with sg? hmmm

is d link another gd brand too?

wind77
19-03-2009, 02:55 PM
but thats in austrailia mah..how to compare with sg? hmmm

is d link another gd brand too?

are u trying to compare the product, or the ISP???
:o

phuque99
19-03-2009, 03:03 PM
hmm.. since you so much concern, why not just get separate modem and router lah, both can change and upgrade anytime. modem cheap cheap, and usually free from isp.

nikobell
19-03-2009, 03:24 PM
hmm.. since you so much concern, why not just get separate modem and router lah, both can change and upgrade anytime. modem cheap cheap, and usually free from isp.

the 2wire is the modem lor , but that one cmi one...

adsl2+ modem is easier lah...

phuque99
19-03-2009, 03:34 PM
hmm.. what's so cannot make it about 2wire or any other modem? as long as adsl2+ as a dummy modem, any brand any model doesn't matter. its the router that may matter.

nikobell
19-03-2009, 06:32 PM
hmm.. what's so cannot make it about 2wire or any other modem? as long as adsl2+ as a dummy modem, any brand any model doesn't matter. its the router that may matter.

alot of people are complaining about 2wire if u notice....

phuque99
19-03-2009, 07:48 PM
yeah, complaining when using 2wire as a router as well, if you're missing the point, i'm just suggesting convert the 2wire into a dummy modem, or buy another dummy adsl modem if you concern. then use a real ethernet router (no adsl) to connect to the modem using pppoe. in this situation, any brand any model works for the modem, even 2wire, it will be the router that matters.

lastly, if you notice, this forum is complain thread. so only kpkb will post here. the rest of the population that is happily using won't come here to post that their connection and hardware steady pompipi boh daichi. if you use hwz as a benchmark, every router, brand and isp also cannot make it.

liangtam
19-03-2009, 10:10 PM
Everyone has different perception de. Just because many wrote 2wire no good does not mean it is really no good for everyone. You have to try for it yourself.

alvino77
19-03-2009, 10:45 PM
u using singnet bb ?
yes using snbb. no problem at all. no random d/c for my case.

nikobell
19-03-2009, 10:52 PM
hmm ok thanks i think i will go get WAG160N

wind77
19-03-2009, 11:48 PM
hmm ok thanks i think i will go get WAG160N

:D:D
good good. once u got it, let us know if u have any wireless dropout issue. :D

nikobell
20-03-2009, 12:02 AM
haha scali tmr i go sls , i might up buying d link one LOL

wind77
20-03-2009, 11:21 AM
sekali u buy dlink..
dua kali u buy linksys..
tiga kali u buy netgear..

then, we can have all the review liao.
remember, the important part is not about adsl modem functionality, but the wireless dropout issue which is quite persistent among wireless N.

liangtam
20-03-2009, 12:46 PM
wireless dropout issue persistent?

so far i have tried atheros, marvell and ralink solutions, all are good to go :)

wind77
20-03-2009, 01:19 PM
wireless dropout issue persistent?

so far i have tried atheros, marvell and ralink solutions, all are good to go :)

have been using Speedtouch for >2 yrs. Wireless has been good till beginning of this yr. The laptop, when transferring massive files (GBs) from desktop, the wireless would be cut in 2 mins.

After re-establishing the wireless, same issue would happen in few min.
Try using other laptop, Wifi phone, all the same.

Which is why now I'm hunting for new wireless modem..

You have any experience in mass file transfer? Any issue? Or wat should I watch out?