PDA

View Full Version : Why FireFox3 crash like nobodys biz?

aaaaaaaaaa
20-03-2009, 02:35 PM
version 3.0.7 and keeps crashing...
any idea whats going wrong?

Add-ons: {71328583-3CA7-4809-B4BA-570A85818FBB}:0.5b4,austin.dict@dict.cn:3.2,{b9db16a4-6edc-47ec-a1f4-b86292ed211d}:4.2,{ef62e1ce-d2a4-4cdd-b7ec-92b120366b66}:2.3.2,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0007-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.07,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0004-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.04,{B13721C7-F507-4982-B2E5-502A71474FED}:2.2.0.102,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0012-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.12,{20a82645-c095-46ed-80e3-08825760534b}:1.0,{972ce4c6-7e08-4474-a285-3208198ce6fd}:3.0.7,nasanightlaunch@example.com:0.6.20090117
BuildID: 2009021910
CrashTime: 1237523759
InstallTime: 1236426945
ProductName: Firefox
SecondsSinceLastCrash: 469124
StartupTime: 1237523681
Theme: nasanightlaunch
URL:
Version: 3.0.7

This report also contains technical information about the state of the application when it crashed.

akloaklo
20-03-2009, 02:55 PM
Disable or uninstall your addon?

Since the report says something about add on...

lordlad0
20-03-2009, 04:01 PM
it's ur addon dude......

and before u ask which addon, why not disable one by one urself and diagnose it urself before ask.

hlots123
20-03-2009, 04:25 PM
also fyi, http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/Firefox+crashes

aaaaaaaaaa
05-04-2009, 12:17 PM
Thanks for the advises. Problem still persist
Anybody smart enough to relate your own experiences working with that if any?
Now version 3.0.8

Add-ons: {b9db16a4-6edc-47ec-a1f4-b86292ed211d}:4.2,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0007-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.07,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0004-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.04,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0012-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.12,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0013-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.13,{20a82645-c095-46ed-80e3-08825760534b}:1.0,{972ce4c6-7e08-4474-a285-3208198ce6fd}:3.0.8
BuildID: 2009032609
CrashTime: 1238903425
InstallTime: 1238300568
SecondsSinceLastCrash: 64031
StartupTime: 1238903329
Theme: classic/1.0
Vendor: Mozilla
Version: 3.0.8

This report also contains technical information about the state of the application when it crashed.

Y_Shun
05-04-2009, 12:43 PM
1. Back up your profile.
2. Create a new profile.
3. See if it still happens....

aaaaaaaaaa
05-04-2009, 12:48 PM
I'll try that but some useful plugins and extentions would be gone and need reinstall.. excuse me if i sound lazy but i am.
Thanks for your tip.

aptget
05-04-2009, 10:31 PM
if lazy then how to help you ?

you were already advised to remove your add ons, but yet lazy to re-install them

at least DISABLE/remove Nasa night launch theme...

ASM_HWZ
06-04-2009, 12:07 AM
Uninstall... and delete whatever folder & file left by the old installation... then do a new installation. That's what I did and it work... due to add-on too.

spinning_quirK
06-04-2009, 10:50 PM
You can run in Safe Mode to confirm if one of your addons is the culprit. There is no need to uninstall addons, you can temporarily disable them. Use the halving method.

hlots123
06-04-2009, 11:44 PM
p.s. how come got so many java plugins listed? and as wat spinning_quirK posted, use firefox safe mode to determine whether crash is related to add-on/theme or not..

aaaaaaaaaa
07-04-2009, 03:29 PM
refer to #5
thats my last crash after i've disabled some of my extensions except DownloadHelper 4.2 and MS.NET Framework Asst 1.0
Now i've these in plugins

http://img256.imagevenue.com/aAfkjfp01fo1i-4049/loc379/92268_plugins_122_379lo.jpg

my previous crashes were intermittent so there's no immediate ans for hitting the right pot~

hlots123
07-04-2009, 03:42 PM
java plugins are listed under plugins section of the add-ons window... seems u hav versions 6.0.04, 6.0.07, 6.0.12, 6.0.13 listed. usually shd uninstall older versions jre_u4 to jre_u12, leaving the latest only.

p.s. since it crashes less often now, then likely crashing due to other add-ons tat u hav disabled tho.

aaaaaaaaaa
07-04-2009, 04:46 PM
Thank you! I uninstall them and see.

hlots123
07-04-2009, 10:00 PM
oh aaaaaaaaaa,

i forgot to mention... pls also disable java's next gen plug-in (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=35684746&postcount=5). iirc, i've been doing tat since jre6_u10? anyway, there's some mention abt it crashing ff3 (https://support.mozilla.com/tiki-view_forum_thread.php?locale=sv-SE&comments_parentId=204437&forumId=1) while other browsers ok.

sonic
10-04-2009, 09:31 AM
FF 3.0.8 kept on crashing too on my 2 comp.
When were on FF 3.0.7, no problem at all. After it auto update to FF 3.0.8, kept on crashing liao..
Think I will downgrade back to 3.0.7..

Ah Huat
10-04-2009, 09:35 AM
user problem

jq75
10-04-2009, 11:06 AM
i think its some add ons u have. mine working fine

Illusionist_85
10-04-2009, 08:11 PM
user problem n blaming program lol:s22:

xonix
11-04-2009, 10:46 AM
TS, do you have AVG 8.5 installed? If yes, there should be a "AVG Safe Search" addon in firefox installed by default. Disable it, it should be working fine liao...

Before I disable mine, FF was crashing left right center, especially on "Gamespy.com" & "Facebook" and many other websites...

reimina
11-04-2009, 11:36 AM
TS, do you have AVG 8.5 installed? If yes, there should be a "AVG Safe Search" addon in firefox installed by default. Disable it, it should be working fine liao...

Before I disable mine, FF was crashing left right center, especially on "Gamespy.com" & "Facebook" and many other websites...

AVG 8.5 is a piece of crap.

hlots123
11-04-2009, 12:55 PM

Before I disable mine, FF was crashing left right center, especially on "Gamespy.com" & "Facebook" and many other websites...aaaaaaaaaa (TS) dun hav avg safe search, according to his add-ons listed in post#5.

not sure abt sonic, the other person whose ff3 is crashing.

aaaaaaaaaa
11-04-2009, 01:22 PM
The scenario is:
Users are working fine with the earlier version...
...FF updated to latest version...
...Users did not install any program since last version but FF crashes...

For the time being, FF runs well after last crash (disabled older java apps in plugins) and I've very few extentions and only original theme installed. Thanks to hlots123 for the practicle ans :)

aaaaaaaaaa
29-04-2009, 07:37 PM
A few mins ago FF crashed again...

Add-ons: {b9db16a4-6edc-47ec-a1f4-b86292ed211d}:4.3,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0007-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.07,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0004-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.04,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0012-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.12,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0013-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.13,{20a82645-c095-46ed-80e3-08825760534b}:1.0,{972ce4c6-7e08-4474-a285-3208198ce6fd}:3.0.9
BuildID: 2009040821
CrashTime: 1241004345
InstallTime: 1240413157
SecondsSinceLastCrash: 287765
StartupTime: 1240716589
Version: 3.0.9

When FF restarted, it auto updated to 3.0.10. "Crash-to-install-update function"... very good.

aaaaaaaaaa
29-04-2009, 07:44 PM
Crashed again! followed by crash-to-update. It's crash-to-update crash...

Add-ons: {b9db16a4-6edc-47ec-a1f4-b86292ed211d}:4.3,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0007-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.07,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0004-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.04,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0012-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.12,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0013-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.13,{20a82645-c095-46ed-80e3-08825760534b}:1.0,{972ce4c6-7e08-4474-a285-3208198ce6fd}:3.0.10
BuildID: 2009042316
CrashTime: 1241005180
InstallTime: 1241004506
SecondsSinceLastCrash: 835
StartupTime: 1241004524
Version: 3.0.10

hlots123
29-04-2009, 07:51 PM
how come still so many java plugins? thot earlier u already uninstalled older jre versions (in windows add/remove programs)???

little_prince
29-04-2009, 07:52 PM
use chrome??

capkanis
04-07-2009, 08:51 AM
When I try to start Firefox I get the following message in the Mozilla Crash Reporter:

Firefox had a problem and crashed. We'll try to restore your tabs and windows when it restarts.

The following was listed under Details:

Add-ons: {CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0004-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.04,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0007-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.07,{CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0013-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.13,{3f963a5b-e555-4543-90e2-c3908898db71}:8.5,avg@igeared:2.506.014.001,{972ce4c6-7e08-4474-a285-3208198ce6fd}:3.5
BuildID: 20090624025744
CrashTime: 1246667367
Email:
InstallTime: 1246667344
StartupTime: 1246667353
Throttleable: 1
URL:
Version: 3.5

Because I am unable to start Firefox in the first place (or IE7), how do I change settings and get rid of the Add-ons? I am using a Dell Inspiron 1525 running Vista Home Premium.

reimina
04-07-2009, 11:00 AM
I never had a crashed using Firefox. Have you tried version 3.5? :D

capkanis
04-07-2009, 08:31 PM
I am currently using version 3.5. Firefox was not the only browser effected, I had IE8, downgraded to IE7 (no help here), Safari was starting to have problems, and I was afraid that Chrome would go away soon. I de-activated my AVG Active Search-Shield and things seem to be working OK . . . for now.