View Full Version : starhub + signal booster?
lennardseah
20-03-2009, 03:45 PM
anybody using this:
Motorola Signal Booster BDA100 - improves cable, Internet - Motorola USA (http://www.motorola.com/Consumers/US-EN/Consumer-Product-and-Services/Home-Networking/ci.Broadband+Drop+Amplifier+-+Signal+Booster_US_EN.alt)
http://www.motorola.com/staticfiles/Consumers/Products/Home%20Networking/Broadband%20Drop%20Amplifier%20-%20Signal%20Booster/_Images/Static%20Files/B2C_AOP_BDA_lg_tech_US_EN.jpg
using the starhub default splitter now but TV images are ghostly and internet pings unstable
liangtam
20-03-2009, 09:36 PM
Starhub got a few splitter depending on which yr u sign up, which one?
What type of cable u use? Those cheapo bendable/flexible type is it?
a562140
20-03-2009, 09:48 PM
whats the alternative to the starhub stock splitter and flexible cable ?
lennardseah
20-03-2009, 10:55 PM
anybody? my pings now (to the DSLAM) are REAL bad.
liangtam
21-03-2009, 03:20 AM
anybody? my pings now (to the DSLAM) are REAL bad.
errm.....
:s22: :s22:
DSLAM, applies to DSL and not Cable connections..........
a562140
21-03-2009, 10:36 AM
I just saw a few china made ones from HDB hardware shop. needs external power to add gain. 2 out version $15 (lower gain), 4 out version $30 (higher gain) - anyone tried these before ? from the diagram it demonstrated that placing it closest to source (catv socket) and furthest from modem/cable box results in the best gain.
also splitter (passive) got different quality one meh ? the starhub one i have is Regal brand 2 way 3.5db gain.
LxIxVxE
21-03-2009, 11:05 AM
I just saw a few china made ones from HDB hardware shop. needs external power to add gain. 2 out version $15 (lower gain), 4 out version $30 (higher gain) - anyone tried these before ? from the diagram it demonstrated that placing it closest to source (catv socket) and furthest from modem/cable box results in the best gain.
also splitter (passive) got different quality one meh ? the starhub one i have is Regal brand 2 way 3.5db gain.
if not wrong, some boosters is for tv only, might not work for internet~ :)
seowbin
21-03-2009, 12:05 PM
actually to me, will the booster work or not is 1 big question...
if it works, den likely cable modem will benefit... such as it amplify the signal and cut away those by si mi low pass filter, high pass filter kind of things...
if cut liao, signal shui shui..... cable modem freq still maintain, digital signal shouldn't by affected in any way since is of those 1010101 thingy unless those signal booster can gain it from 0 into 1 den big problem :s13:
albertlee
21-03-2009, 12:08 PM
The one I have is similar to this one except for the part#:
http://www.qintar.com/html/tv/images/2w10-1000/2W10-1000.jpg
liangtam
21-03-2009, 03:03 PM
one thing about splitter is this, whether if it will degrade and spoil within few years down the road. not the first time ppl buy doubtful splitters that REALLY spoils afterawhile. Some frequency range signal cutoff thus some channel on CableTV cannot see.
lennardseah
21-03-2009, 03:39 PM
anybody else got this thing? especially landed owners
lennardseah
21-03-2009, 03:42 PM
anybody who has it and jumping to singnet can PM me to sell it also haha
albertlee
21-03-2009, 03:45 PM
TS, have you try replacing the FM/TV splitter with the 3.5dB splitter? It help in my case thus I do not need to install the booster.
lennardseah
21-03-2009, 04:08 PM
i'm using the 2.5dB splitter/isolator supplied by laghub. whether i connect the TV with it not much diff
liangtam
21-03-2009, 04:45 PM
things degrade/spoil overtime what. So is the cable
lennardseah
21-03-2009, 05:52 PM
everything is 1 week new lol
liangtam
21-03-2009, 06:02 PM
Oh? Where u stay?
What type of cable u used? Hopefully ur splitting and cable is not done by renovator, else you may be in trouble.
WhiteFox
21-03-2009, 10:35 PM
eh, where to buy the Motorola signal booster?
lennardseah
22-03-2009, 01:32 PM
anybody????
krazyman
22-03-2009, 03:33 PM
anybody????
:s11:
Anybody? How's this gonna help?
If you have a signal quality problem, ensure your coaxial cable terminations are done properly. If due to too many splits, then get a booster from Starhub.
albertlee
22-03-2009, 04:00 PM
TS, get your cable contractor to look into it since the cabling is done recently.
dRu1D
23-03-2009, 12:16 AM
Bro,can call up starhub to check the contact point for starhub technical centre which is located at 28 aol crescent...last tyme during my army daes while incamp at maju,i drop by to buy a starhub approved signal booster which cost 80 plus....tat was two years back...installation wise is same as described above thread...works wonders for me...imho i will rather go for proven products such as the approved booster rather ten some china products in local hw diy shop which mite cause/not cause issues...point here is quality....and btw just a point to note...its better to do all the splitting at the first point rather ten series split...reason i dunoo but based on netizens it produces bad results... Scv--main point--splitter to 4--rm1,rm2,rm3 and rm4 and not scv--main point--splitter to 2--rm1 and rm2--rm2 Split to rm3 and rm4...and btw if u still prefer motorola booster can try vpost.com.sg or ebay....best of luck bro
liangtam
23-03-2009, 02:29 AM
Alot hardware DIY shop sell made in Japan splitters.
However, it still fails.
Only the Regal splitter(US brand, Made in china) by starhub is at reasonable rate and best.
http://www.arrisistore.com/product.php?pid=702867&PHPSESSID=d4940e9c747b63017de3564d53e13e0f
A 4 way splitter of course better than 4 2-way splitter in chain. The dB reduction is way lower for the former splitter but WILL cost you.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.