PDA

View Full Version : Just Terminated My Starhub Broadband

Pages : [1] 2

Navigator
20-03-2009, 11:34 PM
finally, after 2 years of contract, terminated it today!!!

I wasnt happy with the service but understanding that technology has their limitations and screwups, I tahan for 2 years.

on and off for 2 years (i have been using for 4 years le, recontract 2 years back), so many times my connection got disrupted, websites cannot load properly (another thread here in HWZ showing)...

called their technical staff and each time, same recovery procedures. Sometimes it work, but most of time, it doesn't. Then, they sent technican to my place and it will work for a while before all problems come back.

Today, called them. Inform them my contract is due.

Not even 1 soul offer to give me discount service plan, not 1 soul wanna find out why I wanna terminate.

seems that new customers are what they are going for...so much for being loyal....:s27:

RuMmYtUb
20-03-2009, 11:36 PM
Hi bro what area do u stay?

Btw i experience slowdowns during peak periods too.

Am contemplating to jump ship if there are attractive promos.

I assume u're signing Singnet?

Navigator
20-03-2009, 11:41 PM
i stay toh guan....

singnet? dunno leh...

cause now I got Starhub tv and digital voice.

if i sign snbb, then i mus take residential line which costs S$27 per quarter...

Hage098
20-03-2009, 11:45 PM
Is it a problem with the modem? Better check it out first because I had a similar problem and it was all about the modem. If not then yeah, Starhub sucks too, I'm using Singnet now :D

Navigator
20-03-2009, 11:47 PM
nothing wrong w modem, nothing wrong w splitter (okay, it's not done with "official" starhub contractor, but my reno contractor")...signal all is good

everytime i called, they treat u like small kids. do step 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. everytime same steps, everytime i gotta tell them, before i called, already done liao..sibei sian...

satay16
20-03-2009, 11:49 PM
i stay toh guan....

singnet? dunno leh...

if i sign snbb, then i mus take residential line which costs S$27 per quarter...

you just stated something which alot of us missed. when starhub's free digital voice came out, everyone wanting to save the 100bucks per year jumped to digital voice. it worked pretty well for me, so no probs with that, but now......... SIGNING THAT STUPID THING MEANS I'VE TO RETAIN MY OTHER SERVICES FOR AT LEAST A YEAR!!! i could just terminate my maxonline, but think about needing to pay for the "free" digital voice just sucks.

Navigator
20-03-2009, 11:54 PM
i got maxtv so no problem... i tot finally got 1 provider can gimme everything... so seems that the maxonline which i valued most will be gone

kai_87
21-03-2009, 12:01 AM
i think u making the right choice. So u joining the red camp?

Navigator
21-03-2009, 12:04 AM
duno....u think singnet is better? u using singnet?

Mclairs83
21-03-2009, 01:10 AM
duno....u think singnet is better? u using singnet?

Ex-Starhub user here. already started using Singnet since 14th March 2009.. Starhub should be terminating my line wef of today.

so far. i'm very pleased with Singnet BB. I dun care about the quarterly phone charges.. count here and there i still save around 30 bucks per month as i used to pay $72 to slowhub every month.

I'm glad i'm on the red camp.. Now i only left my starhub mobile line..on Oct.. i'm gonna terminate it and hop over to Singtel mobile.

czheyuan
21-03-2009, 01:10 AM
Can consider signing up for M1 Cable Broadband if you do not wish to pay $27 per quarter jux for the ST residential line... Cheaper than SH too...

Mclairs83
21-03-2009, 01:11 AM
Can consider signing up for M1 Cable Broadband if you do not wish to pay $27 per quarter jux for the ST residential line... Cheaper than SH too...

M1 IIRC, is hogging on to starhub backbone.

Errz
21-03-2009, 01:14 AM
Ex-Starhub user here. already started using Singnet since 14th March 2009.. Starhub should be terminating my line wef of today.

so far. i'm very pleased with Singnet BB. I dun care about the quarterly phone charges.. count here and there i still save around 30 bucks per month as i used to pay $72 to slowhub every month.

I'm glad i'm on the red camp.. Now i only left my starhub mobile line..on Oct.. i'm gonna terminate it and hop over to Singtel mobile.

I'm on Red camp start of today :s13:

tested youtube, gametrailers.com...video load really fast. when I'm on starhub...i got to wait till the video load finish then play.. else...its like watching slide show :s13:

Obviouz
21-03-2009, 04:17 AM
wow.. i'm 9more days to end all this sh1t

FakePicture
21-03-2009, 04:52 AM
thought starhub say there is no such thing as delicated line in the internet world?

Francis85
21-03-2009, 06:39 AM
i stay toh guan....

singnet? dunno leh...

Sign up for MIO Home DEL which is analogue and also there is no quarterly charge....... you pay for what you call in /out nia and the bb fees.........

Navigator
21-03-2009, 10:45 AM
what is MIO Home DEL?

Errz
21-03-2009, 10:56 AM
Sign up for MIO Home DEL which is analogue and also there is no quarterly charge....... you pay for what you call in /out nia and the bb fees.........

Mio Home plan is worth it if you have singtel mobile line. 15% discount for monthly sub. 2 line, 20% (thats what i'm enjoying)

somemore annual handset upgrade (instead of 24months)

only bad thing, the mio tv nothing much to watch one (compare to starhub) lol

Navigator
21-03-2009, 11:11 AM
Mio Home plan is worth it if you have singtel mobile line. 15% discount for monthly sub. 2 line, 20% (thats what i'm enjoying)

somemore annual handset upgrade (instead of 24months)

only bad thing, the mio tv nothing much to watch one (compare to starhub) lol

erz, what plan u sign?

Errz
21-03-2009, 11:13 AM
erz, what plan u sign?

Mio Home http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_home.html
http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_home_exclusive.html

NWT1978
21-03-2009, 11:15 AM
i terminated mine about 2 years ago =:p

was with them for around 4 years, peak hrs very slow and holidays too :s22:

email them to terminate MOL but on that day still can surf, guessed somehow they forgot to terminate mine :s22: and that next day the new isp activated, lucky i check first or i need to pay for extra charges for not terminating the MOL on time :s22:

Navigator
21-03-2009, 11:27 AM
seems that singnet is my only choice.....

Errz
21-03-2009, 11:55 AM
seems that singnet is my only choice.....

What I've notice so far.

Tested Youtube.. I dont need to press play twice (to let it load complete which, takes quite awhile on starhub)

gametrailers.com, video load fast also

download of bt/rapidshare. fast lor.

and all tested during peak hour

elantrahatch
21-03-2009, 11:56 AM
I have been using Maxonline for the past 28 months. Contracted and got a Compaq lappie at that time.. and living with very unfortunate speeds.

Contract ending on 27th March. Will use my current Singnet BBoB and plug into my Dlink 655 for the time being while waiting for a better deal from Singnet. :P

Navigator
21-03-2009, 11:58 AM
ok lah....singnet here i come...

Errz: you signed which plan and what's the monthly fee?

Can call Singnet to contract or must go down to hello shops?

Errz
21-03-2009, 12:05 PM
ok lah....singnet here i come...

Errz: you signed which plan and what's the monthly fee?

Can call Singnet to contract or must go down to hello shops?

I sign up 10mbps Mio Home Plan

$59.90 please check singtel website.http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_home.html

I think best is to go down hello shop.

oh. if u got fix line already. i would suggest use back the fix line and not to convert it to mio line. modem down = ur fix line down lol

Errz
21-03-2009, 12:07 PM
I have been using Maxonline for the past 28 months. Contracted and got a Compaq lappie at that time.. and living with very unfortunate speeds.

Contract ending on 27th March. Will use my current Singnet BBoB and plug into my Dlink 655 for the time being while waiting for a better deal from Singnet. :P

LOL the compaq presario v3000 ?

czheyuan
21-03-2009, 12:09 PM
M1 IIRC, is hogging on to starhub backbone.

Yup it's hogging on SH backbone but ultimately still routes to the internet thru M1 server.. The M1 FBB performance has been quite good recently (IT Show 2009 M1 FBB thread)..

Was on SH Maxonline 2 yrs back b4 switching to PacNet Cable broadband for a yr.. Can say there's an obvious difference in performance... Pacnet didn't have to buffer youtube unlike SH.. So M1 performance will equally be different from that of SH...

Navigator
21-03-2009, 12:39 PM
I am refrainin from signing w M1 becos it passes thru that big fat greenish pipe...

I hate it when certain websites cannot load properly, its like always waiting for data to come to u but never, regardless how many times u have refresh...tmd

So if M1 is the same as SH, then no point liao...

Errz, thanks, will go to helloshops next week...

Just Me
21-03-2009, 01:17 PM

I wasnt happy with the service but understanding that technology has their limitations and screwups, I tahan for 2 years.

on and off for 2 years (i have been using for 4 years le, recontract 2 years back), so many times my connection got disrupted, websites cannot load properly (another thread here in HWZ showing)...

called their technical staff and each time, same recovery procedures. Sometimes it work, but most of time, it doesn't. Then, they sent technican to my place and it will work for a while before all problems come back.

Not even 1 soul offer to give me discount service plan, not 1 soul wanna find out why I wanna terminate.

seems that new customers are what they are going for...so much for being loyal....:s27:
You think they care? Since there so many cows to be milked during quarterly IT shows... :D

Navigator
21-03-2009, 01:28 PM
Sigh... Sad, if this is what has become of singapore quality standards

elantrahatch
21-03-2009, 03:35 PM
LOL the compaq presario v3000 ?

Yeah, got the Presario V3000. Surprisingly, the lappie's quality is good. Am still using it till today for work.

Errz
21-03-2009, 03:45 PM
Yeah, got the Presario V3000. Surprisingly, the lappie's quality is good. Am still using it till today for work.

same. I got that too.

czheyuan
21-03-2009, 03:58 PM
I am refrainin from signing w M1 becos it passes thru that big fat greenish pipe...

I hate it when certain websites cannot load properly, its like always waiting for data to come to u but never, regardless how many times u have refresh...tmd

Errz, thanks, will go to helloshops next week...

Lol understand the fear you have from SH... Anyway what I can say is performance wise will be different lo.. From my Pacnet and SH experience know liao.. Both were on cable too...

liangtam
21-03-2009, 04:48 PM
only the last mile infra relies on starhub's fat green pipe. This will in NO way affect your experience made possible with M1's service. Of course, if M1 themself or their upstream provider Reach is having problem, you will experience issues while starhub users will not.

As above, it is NOT the same

Kiexcolo
21-03-2009, 05:29 PM
same. I got that too.

Me 3. Pity such promotions can't be found anymore.

Contract ends 25 March, not sure whether to go red or recontract. Hoping some good promo may come out.

Errz
21-03-2009, 05:30 PM

Contract ends 25 March, not sure whether to go red or recontract. Hoping some good promo may come out.

go red :s13:

21-03-2009, 07:32 PM
i still have 6 more mths to go before i can terminate :(

wiShfulStone
21-03-2009, 07:52 PM
Any good singnet promos currently? SH contact ending this month :)

Navigator
21-03-2009, 08:12 PM
Definitely goin red....can't imagine another 2 years of SH nightmare...

That said, wonder if there's any singnet nightmares... Lol

satay16
21-03-2009, 08:28 PM
Definitely goin red....can't imagine another 2 years of SH nightmare...

That said, wonder if there's any singnet nightmares... Lol

oh boy............ the feeling of stepping into a starhub shop again because singnet sucked as bad would not be nice.:(

Navigator
21-03-2009, 08:43 PM
oh boy............ the feeling of stepping into a starhub shop again because singnet sucked as bad would not be nice.:(

hahahaha....absoutely!!!! :s27::s27:

satay16
21-03-2009, 08:52 PM
hahahaha....absoutely!!!! :s27::s27:

on the bright side, we wun be complaining about starhub being unloyal to old customers, since new signups have more gifts;)

p2311967
21-03-2009, 09:06 PM
I been change ISP all the time, esp when contract ends. Singnet, been the most stable, also the most ex. Wanted to term that time, they offer me a modem/router, which I got already, haha! Too bad recently they offer with lappy but too late, I already term the phone line too, useless as my mobile dont need to pay. =:p

SH, a long time back, during those 3 Mbps time, forgot how the speed like but seem ok to me.

M1, current plan. Got problem recently, abt to ask SH side to come down, I found out the fault. Due to spliter, the IP dont work well, quite weird.

Speed wise, only during off peak, u see the best of it. Else, still at "ok" range, as I using the 15 Mbps plan. I took M1 cause I got the mobile BB and cheaper than SH. Overall, still happy with the BB so far.

Mclairs83
22-03-2009, 02:50 AM
i got my first dc on singnet today.. i guess i'm stressing my ST536v6 modem pretty much until my modem hang.. my bro was complaining to me when i'm outside tat no internet.

advise him to power off the modem and power on again.

well i shall monitor from here.

HaoZe
22-03-2009, 03:06 AM

Me 4!
Anyone got replacement 12 cell battery or upgrade ram for their V3000?

anhyeuem
22-03-2009, 12:19 PM
Me 4!

Me 5!!! Contract will end 2nd April. I guess i will downgrade the plan and not contract yet. See how any promotions at June IT show. Then either contract Green or Red depends on price and if any gifts.

Upgrade the V3000 ram to 3G with ram bought from IT Show. Very happy with performance so far! This "free" laptop rocks!

sellinglink
22-03-2009, 01:35 PM
how i wish the red camp can give broadband w/o having to subscribe home phone one....

satay16
22-03-2009, 02:14 PM
Me 5!!! Contract will end 2nd April. I guess i will downgrade the plan and not contract yet. See how any promotions at June IT show. Then either contract Green or Red depends on price and if any gifts.

Upgrade the V3000 ram to 3G with ram bought from IT Show. Very happy with performance so far! This "free" laptop rocks!

i guess it's me 6!

laptop still running good. core 2 duo for a laptop is still pretty fast for now. contract ending soon too. but simply no promo now. only two ways to move.

1. downgrade to the express plan at 45 bucks per month for 2-years contract.
2. pay the full 81 bucks per month without contract for now and wait till a nice promo comes. but if nothing good comes, then it's gg for wasting 100 over bucks for nothing.

stussyking
22-03-2009, 05:50 PM
i guess it's me 6!

laptop still running good. core 2 duo for a laptop is still pretty fast for now. contract ending soon too. but simply no promo now. only two ways to move.

2. pay the full 81 bucks per month without contract for now and wait till a nice promo comes. but if nothing good comes, then it's gg for wasting 100 over bucks for nothing.

option 1 alt : sign up snbb better imho

option 2 alt : next it show till june .. i dun think offers can get any better than last it show .. it can only worsen .. so why wait go for cash discount in weak economic env ..
just my thoughts

ohj81
23-03-2009, 10:40 AM
i guess it's me 6!

Me 7, my 6-cell battery is dying soon. I even swap out the broadcom wlan and change it to an intel one. Maybe get a 3rd-party battery to replace.

I think i am going to downgrade to 2mbps but no sign contract since i doubt the connections from starhub reach 2 mbps for the past few mths.

BT don't work well, my direct d/l never hit 100kb/s, megaupload crawling at 10-50kb/s. Judging from these speed, i might as well go with a 2mbps first and see any good offer come along.

Trendnet18
23-03-2009, 11:02 AM
ahhaha mine min i get is 500 kbps lolz at night i get is 1.0 - 1.3 Mbps both on mega and rapid on wireless

uerian
23-03-2009, 11:22 AM
53 hours to Red Hot Speeds... =)

53 hours to end my Green Misery...

twosix
23-03-2009, 11:25 AM
same. I got that too.

The V3136TU is serving me well. My SH contract is also almost up. Thinking whether to continue with SH or jump ship to M1 FBB.

Moonlight
23-03-2009, 01:11 PM
The V3136TU is serving me well. My SH contract is also almost up. Thinking whether to continue with SH or jump ship to M1 FBB.

me got it too... i just sold to pc dream for $450 for that laptop 1 month ago... and get a mini 12... haha:s13:

ending soon.... may want to take up the $45 8 MB plan...:s22:

twosix
23-03-2009, 01:17 PM
me got it too... i just sold to pc dream for $450 for that laptop 1 month ago... and get a mini 12... haha:s13:

ending soon.... may want to take up the $45 8 MB plan...:s22:

$450 is pretty good price for a 2 yr+ old laptop.

elantrahatch
23-03-2009, 01:47 PM
Me 4!

You can find replacement batteries for the V3000 series from HP shops. I know Funan, Harvey Norman (at Millennia Walk) retails the batter. A 6 cell is going for S$180+ and a 12 cell is going for S$220+. The figures given are not accurate.

I got both the 6 cell and 12 cell. Both of them are not in good condition but still us-able. Also got the extended warrenty for 3 years until December 2009.

Agent_X
23-03-2009, 01:56 PM
i also thinking about change, but i have no land line also.
then to activate land line, need activation fees also.
so many fees putting me off, any ways to waive all these things?
I know got Singnet BB, apply online can waive off the fee, but for landline no such option... :(

Errz
23-03-2009, 01:57 PM
i also thinking about change, but i have no land line also.
then to activate land line, need activation fees also.
so many fees putting me off, any ways to waive all these things?
I know got Singnet BB, apply online can waive off the fee, but for landline no such option... :(

have u check out mio plan/home ?

Agent_X
23-03-2009, 02:02 PM
have u check out mio plan/home ?
not yet, but i dun want mio tv leh...

mofuscherub
23-03-2009, 02:25 PM
Go epicentre to sign for singnet broadband cheaper than registering with Singnet

http://www.epicentreorchard.com/moby/cms/promotions/singnet/

tyroe1
23-03-2009, 05:50 PM
Go epicentre to sign for singnet broadband cheaper than registering with Singnet

http://www.epicentreorchard.com/moby/cms/promotions/singnet/

Its a great offer for the 8mbps...

Too bad my hse line quality is bad.

Stick to starhub and suck thumb

Navigator
23-03-2009, 05:56 PM
hse line quality bad? can ask singtel tech to rectify no?

liangtam
23-03-2009, 05:59 PM
Its a great offer for the 8mbps...

Too bad my hse line quality is bad.

Stick to starhub and suck thumb

then change lah

Ninja Turtle
23-03-2009, 11:58 PM
Walan....
I still need to wait until next year 2010 to jump to red camp.
Premium Plan suppose have 12mbps, my internet is worse than 56k modem.
CCB Moonhub. :mad:

wuming79
24-03-2009, 12:12 AM
Does slow internet connection make the PC performance bad? I have a trading software which was supposed to have realtime data. Sometimes this platform keeps disconnecting. SH tell me it's my 3rd party point having very bad signal but my contractor say signal is good. Really dunno what I should do. Install new internet point by SH? Change Router?? I can't terminate now cos I just re-contract in December.....

caniggia
24-03-2009, 12:14 AM
i'm among you guys and in a fix as to the next step. If by waiting for promo after contract end, den we'll be paying non-promotional fees without the 10% off. I'm on ultimate and gonna pay $76 from next billing cycle compared to those who sign now for just $56.92 on a 24 mths contract....bloody hell loh.

Guess gotta downgrade 1st w/o recontract look like the only viable way out besides jumping ship.

liangtam
24-03-2009, 12:51 AM
Walan....
I still need to wait until next year 2010 to jump to red camp.
Premium Plan suppose have 12mbps, my internet is worse than 56k modem.
CCB Moonhub. :mad:

then u ish go back use 56k lor

anyway, chiu ish chxx_turxxx izzit?

algerr
24-03-2009, 12:54 AM
I was among the batch which signed up for the V3000 laptop for 28months contract...
contract already due.. no more 10% discount.. T_T

called in to 1633 today to ask about any upcoming promo... the CSO say upcoming promo likely to be PC show in june.. offered current promo: 30% discount for 24 mths contract for MOL express (8Mbps)..

rejected it..and chose to downgrade to express without contract from next bill cycle onwards while waiting for attractive promo...hopefully upcoming promos to come sooner than june PC show... :)

caniggia
24-03-2009, 09:57 AM
I was among the batch which signed up for the V3000 laptop for 28months contract...
contract already due.. no more 10% discount.. T_T

called in to 1633 today to ask about any upcoming promo... the CSO say upcoming promo likely to be PC show in june.. offered current promo: 30% discount for 24 mths contract for MOL express (8Mbps)..

rejected it..and chose to downgrade to express without contract from next bill cycle onwards while waiting for attractive promo...hopefully upcoming promos to come sooner than june PC show... :)

wad's the price for express w/o recontracting btw? :)

alex666
24-03-2009, 10:07 AM
my contract on MOL Premium also ending soon. i'm on trial on Ultimate now, but the speed not stable.........sometime fast, sometime very slow, test for a few more days and see how.......still deciding to downgrade to express or upgrade to ultimate.......

Audio
24-03-2009, 10:13 AM
I have the Red pipe and the Green pipe wired to my place.

In terms of performance and reliability, I actually prefer the Green pipe.....

(Audio)

twosix
24-03-2009, 10:29 AM
my contract on MOL Premium also ending soon. i'm on trial on Ultimate now, but the speed not stable.........sometime fast, sometime very slow, test for a few more days and see how.......still deciding to downgrade to express or upgrade to ultimate.......

How to trial ultimate? Request from SH?

spark7
24-03-2009, 10:47 AM
knn I've not been able to surf net properly from 3pm to 1am dialy and this ****hub keep checking until now still cannot reslove.

algerr
24-03-2009, 10:49 AM
wad's the price for express w/o recontracting btw? :)

Should be $59.92 as stated on the website.
downgrade first...save some money while waiting for upcoming promo..then up again...keke... cos better freebies come with higher price plans...IMHO...

HUGO15481
24-03-2009, 10:49 AM

(Audio)

What plan are you using for both the Red and Green?

Care to elaborate more on your preference?

alex666
24-03-2009, 11:07 AM
How to trial ultimate? Request from SH?

i called them to request, then they gave me until next week to test..........

HaoZe
24-03-2009, 12:21 PM
Me 7, my 6-cell battery is dying soon. I even swap out the broadcom wlan and change it to an intel one. Maybe get a 3rd-party battery to replace.

I think i am going to downgrade to 2mbps but no sign contract since i doubt the connections from starhub reach 2 mbps for the past few mths.

BT don't work well, my direct d/l never hit 100kb/s, megaupload crawling at 10-50kb/s. Judging from these speed, i might as well go with a 2mbps first and see any good offer come along.

Our V3000, any good 3rd party battery to recommend? How do we clean the keyboard? Is there a live thread for v3000 user ( fr starhub promo like us) ?

Our SH BB, may we gather ourselves to draw out a promo and propose to SH. We might have the numbers to make it happen :s12:

liangtam
24-03-2009, 12:25 PM

no apply secret formulae, no use oso.

twosix
24-03-2009, 12:55 PM
no apply secret formulae, no use oso.

simi secret formula? care to share?

twosix
24-03-2009, 12:56 PM

Is the trial FOC?

Moonlight
24-03-2009, 01:43 PM
$450 is pretty good price for a 2 yr+ old laptop.

yap it is a good deal!:D
may be it look new and clean also... use it as a desktop and seldom move out of home...
i pay 300+ to upgrade to c2d... now i get back 450 after 2 year... so good!

stonecold727
25-03-2009, 05:54 PM
Hey guys, any promotions for re-contracting maxonline now? Maybe I should wait for the next IT show.

EuroR_CL7
25-03-2009, 06:31 PM
Hey guys, any promotions for re-contracting maxonline now? Maybe I should wait for the next IT show.

u seriously wanna recontract? Im about to switch... just the hassle of reapplying for singtel thats stopping me

Preacher1010
25-03-2009, 06:43 PM

good for you

elantrahatch
25-03-2009, 07:35 PM
Can I know what are the steps needed to cancel Maxonline? I have read the forums and it seems that I will have to make a trip down to Vivocity Starhub and cancel it personally?

liangtam
25-03-2009, 09:58 PM
call in will do

winderkent
25-03-2009, 10:23 PM
I just swap to Singnet BB too...

Being with SH for 10 over years....

Not much offers or benefit given, although i was using the second highest plan.

EuroR_CL7
25-03-2009, 11:26 PM
starhub dun really have any customer retension scheme huh?

planing to jump ship also, but the hassle of having to pay for line man to check, to reapply.... long queue at singtel..

stsilverbullet73
25-03-2009, 11:35 PM
same here .. from what i read a lot of ppl jumping ship to red camp.. i holding out for 1 more mth to see if SH will come out at least the same offer as current SNBB 8mbps 32.90/6 mths free. i already contractless since nov and dun wanna wait anymore. it seems SH not interested to fight SNBB's promo so guess im going over soon.. finally no more youtube slow loading time. :)

HUGO15481
26-03-2009, 12:23 AM
same here .. from what i read a lot of ppl jumping ship to red camp.. i holding out for 1 more mth to see if SH will come out at least the same offer as current SNBB 8mbps 32.90/6 mths free. i already contractless since nov and dun wanna wait anymore. it seems SH not interested to fight SNBB's promo so guess im going over soon.. finally no more youtube slow loading time. :)

I gave up waiting for SH and sign up for SNBB 6 mths free.

I called SH and all they could offer is $44.94 with free modem and free router. The router is only offered after some 'argument', as SH gives new customer MODEM + ROUTER. Recontract customer is only applicable for MODEM.

The marketing strategy clearly indicates they want NEW customer and ignore EXISTING LOYAL customer. The CSO even mentioned to me that SH do not have the obligation to retain any existing customer.

Time to send that CSO for a refresher course!

Errz
26-03-2009, 12:50 AM
I gave up waiting for SH and sign up for SNBB 6 mths free.

I called SH and all they could offer is $44.94 with free modem and free router. The router is only offered after some 'argument', as SH gives new customer MODEM + ROUTER. Recontract customer is only applicable for MODEM.

The marketing strategy clearly indicates they want NEW customer and ignore EXISTING LOYAL customer. The CSO even mentioned to me that SH do not have the obligation to retain any existing customer.

Time to send that CSO for a refresher course!

actually . All ISP/Telco r like that. :s13:

New Sub. will get more stuff than re-contract.

pikeplace
26-03-2009, 12:56 AM
I've been a Starhub loyal customer for many years. But I've had enough of the connection problems. Will switch to Singnet also. Hopefully they hv good "freebies"...

punkster
26-03-2009, 01:36 AM

(Audio)

I have both too, but singnet is so much faster that I totally discontinued using my starhub line.

Just paying for it every mth waiting for it to expire... :s13:

Navigator
26-03-2009, 08:12 AM
Today is the day I am going to Red camp!!!

Gonna sign up the 8mbps....

BoonMee
26-03-2009, 09:33 AM
Can I know what are the steps needed to cancel Maxonline? I have read the forums and it seems that I will have to make a trip down to Vivocity Starhub and cancel it personally?

I just sent them an emaill to cancel last week and am using the $35 one now.

Email Customerservice@starhub.com to cancel.

Mclairs83
26-03-2009, 10:20 AM
I just sent them an emaill to cancel last week and am using the $35 one now.

Email Customerservice@starhub.com to cancel.

pls call instead of emailing..they can teh gong teh siao and say server makan ur email.

den u LPPL.

Linger
26-03-2009, 12:32 PM

Congrats! I signed up yday :s12:

Audio
26-03-2009, 01:58 PM
I have both too, but singnet is so much faster that I totally discontinued using my starhub line.

Just paying for it every mth waiting for it to expire... :s13:

Looks like a fatter green pipe in my area than yours.... :)

To each his own.

(Audio)

And I dislike the way Starhub treat their old customers....just telling it like it is.

Pokémon
26-03-2009, 02:26 PM
After so many years with the fat and slow green pipe, I guess I'm also going to jump to the red today...

Errz
26-03-2009, 03:01 PM
Looks like a fatter green pipe in my area than yours.... :)

To each his own.

(Audio)

And I dislike the way Starhub treat their old customers....just telling it like it is.

maybe ur area more Red user than Green :s13:

elantrahatch
26-03-2009, 04:58 PM
Just called Starhub and downgraded my plan to Surflite (since there is not much difference).

Meantime, will hold out until a good promo comes along. =)

ehong1805
26-03-2009, 09:05 PM
just terminate my SH maxonline today. they called me up and ask me when to terminate and i said please do so now immediately. they also asked me the reason to cancel, and i mentioned i decided to switch to singnet. dun even bother to keep me...haha.....goodbye SH,

Mclairs83
26-03-2009, 09:20 PM
Today, Starhub called me, asking me whether do i still able to surf the internet when i complained to them last 2wks tat my internet is slow until i can't even surf...

I told them, i had already switch to Singnet since 14th March. Den u know wat the CSO reply me? "Oh okie.. if u haf any problems wif your DVH, pls feel free to give us a call"... (self pwn CSO... )

i complained to her, i will terminate all my starhub services by this year, trust me on that.. ur DVH is so solid until my mum "praised" to me tat the other party can't even hear her ever since i switch over to Starhub DVH.

CSO mentioned to me tat they already know about the problem and its rectifying the issue.. i go like Hello, its been 2 months and u guys took so long? Such a big company and yet solving tis problem take u guys soo long to rectify it. How amazing?!

I'm seriously amused by Starhub service & their lack of communication between the helpdesk and the followup team.

orrb86
26-03-2009, 11:54 PM
i requested to terminate today leh. but the CSO say take 3 working days for the "termination team" to do it. and say the peeps will call me to confirm. Weird

Mclairs83
27-03-2009, 12:09 AM
i requested to terminate today leh. but the CSO say take 3 working days for the "termination team" to do it. and say the peeps will call me to confirm. Weird

no need to confirm. juz tell them i wan to terminate within the nxt 3 working days.

i tink u hear wrongly..they say they will get their "special" team to call u. which is err customer retention team.

ohj81
27-03-2009, 10:00 AM
Just called Starhub and downgraded my plan to Surflite (since there is not much difference).

Meantime, will hold out until a good promo comes along. =)

Me downgraded to surflite for 2 days liao but it is painfully slow wor. I think have to upgrade to express at least.

ideatalk
27-03-2009, 10:19 AM
I've been a Starhub loyal customer for many years. But I've had enough of the connection problems. Will switch to Singnet also. Hopefully they hv good "freebies"...

Now the freebies by both telco is not worth it. Just sign up plan with premium discount is much better.

chris.tan
27-03-2009, 10:26 AM
starhub only knows how to gain new customer by offering tv laptop etc.. for new customer they dont care abt loyal customers and their service now getting bad to worse.

twosix
27-03-2009, 10:49 AM
Alhough my contract is up in few days time, I will stick to SH premium until the next computer show for bargain huntings. 8)

askh52
27-03-2009, 11:10 AM
Me downgraded to surflite for 2 days liao but it is painfully slow wor. I think have to upgrade to express at least.

lol, same here.. downgrade from permium to surflite... got bt is nightmare...:(
cannot get use to the slow upload speed(well download wise not much difference)

Ninja Turtle
27-03-2009, 11:14 AM
I'm so jealous of you. I have to wait until next year.
:s27:

ohj81
27-03-2009, 01:40 PM
lol, same here.. downgrade from permium to surflite... got bt is nightmare...:(
cannot get use to the slow upload speed(well download wise not much difference)

I call to change back to express cos i can't even do gaming properly.

Navigator
27-03-2009, 05:43 PM
today i went hello shop at Singtel HQ...

signed up 10mbps @ 59 dollars. Free 1 year dunno what mio channel plus free fixed line...

tech can only come to my place on 8 Apr to install socket...

Obviouz
27-03-2009, 08:11 PM
wah... die die.. i'm signing up for singnet bb in 2days time :D

coey
27-03-2009, 08:25 PM
Mine SH 28 months contract just finished.

Is the red camp really that good ?
i am actually considering the mio plan ( house line+ mobile + internet ) , anyone can comment anything about it ?

Errz
27-03-2009, 08:37 PM
Mine SH 28 months contract just finished.

Is the red camp really that good ?
i am actually considering the mio plan ( house line+ mobile + internet ) , anyone can comment anything about it ?

i'm on Mio Home . which is more worth it for me.

1) 2 singtel mobile line gets me 20% discount off my monthly handphone bill for both line
2) annual handset upgrade

Speed wise to me, much better than Fat Green Pipe. heh
Mio Tv wise.. nothing much to watch. Starhub cable Tv win handsdown. :s13:

pmleumas
29-03-2009, 02:26 PM
They can not solve your problem, they can't make you happy. They figure they might as well let you go. I think you complaint to them too often, and probably quite famous(infamous?) among the receptionists. That's why not one soul dare to offer you a re-contract. I'm glad that you accept your lost and move on. Many of us should have done this long ago. There's absolutely no excuse for this pissed poor service.

TotalNerd
29-03-2009, 02:34 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439627153.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439628898.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

can't believe this all time low!
on 12mpbs plan.

pmleumas
29-03-2009, 02:39 PM

on 12mpbs plan.

I got 438 to CA, their DNS server screwing up again today. Page took forever to load, and sometime never load at all.

cpuer
29-03-2009, 02:47 PM
Mine :

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439631658.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

not fantastic, but ok to me still.

wherehouse
29-03-2009, 03:54 PM
They can not solve your problem, they can't make you happy. They figure they might as well let you go. I think you complaint to them too often, and probably quite famous(infamous?) among the receptionists. That's why not one soul dare to offer you a re-contract. I'm glad that you accept your lost and move on. Many of us should have done this long ago. There's absolutely no excuse for this pissed poor service.
Agree. The latency / speed today is unbelievable.
Even google is hard to connect, just like MSN - and mind you, my router is down so I'm on direct LAN<>Modem too.

wherehouse
29-03-2009, 03:55 PM
I call to change back to express cos i can't even do gaming properly.
you mean when you are on 8mbps, it is less laggy than 2mbps?
orly?

Obviouz
29-03-2009, 04:06 PM
just terminated STARFUG too. happy user for singnet.

waiken
29-03-2009, 04:12 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439661323.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

MOL xpress 8mbps... knn pathetic leh the speed

Obviouz
29-03-2009, 04:35 PM
12mbps

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439670848.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

ohj81
29-03-2009, 06:14 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439716208.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Mine MOL express after downgrade from MOL Premium

ohj81
29-03-2009, 06:17 PM
But

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439717606.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439718297.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

phuque99
29-03-2009, 06:19 PM
vancouver boh bau jiak,time to call 1633? lol

Volvo9
29-03-2009, 06:20 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439718777.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

ohj81
29-03-2009, 06:22 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439719689.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439720812.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

It seem that overseas we are cap at 1.5mb/s?

TotalNerd
29-03-2009, 06:37 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439726531.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439725419.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439726039.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

my overseas connection is damn gg right now help!!
i can't do raids in wow!

why my 12mpbs is like 1mpbs!!

liangtam
29-03-2009, 06:42 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439719689.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439720812.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

It seem that overseas we are cap at 1.5mb/s?

Nope. You go open many tabs and click on the same/diff overseas server at the same time. Then add up the value to get a total b/w consumption. Then let us know if its still cap at the above rate note.

wherehouse
29-03-2009, 06:47 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439731943.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Local is perfect. No pig required

twosix
29-03-2009, 07:08 PM

on 12mpbs plan.

Today's traffic is very slow indeed.

pikeplace
29-03-2009, 07:19 PM
Mine seems ok at the moment.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439747635.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

misato
29-03-2009, 07:29 PM
My singnet today.. personally feel is kinda sluggish, but still very usable.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439752812.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

SexKing
29-03-2009, 08:04 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439770078.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

This is premium, should be at least 12mb/s.....wtf

Asakura
29-03-2009, 08:29 PM
Mine seems ok at the moment.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439747635.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

this is what im getting on local server

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439783817.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Yod4
29-03-2009, 09:51 PM
have also terminated my starhub premium and hopped onto singnet through its epicenter promo

devilrazor
29-03-2009, 10:48 PM
damn starfug tonite i getting worse speed... damn high ping... even speedtest load so slow

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439865392.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

TotalNerd
29-03-2009, 11:16 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439883599.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

wah finally someone worst then me ahaha
im on 12mpbs plan =.=

kevinbox
29-03-2009, 11:18 PM
devilrazor, yr connection shd have something wrong ba...result too extreme liao.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439884678.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Asakura
29-03-2009, 11:34 PM
ur ping reach 4k man
tats extreme
but i did get arnd 0.05 dl jus nw when my ping shoot to 500
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439895155.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

bayside
29-03-2009, 11:36 PM
mine test seem ok..but when running website seem slow..
Below are my test results
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439896323.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Asakura
29-03-2009, 11:48 PM
im not all worried abt my send and receive
becuz they are not giving me any problems
but my ping is sick
i can't game at all
every server i go
im 300-600 ping...

OnizUk4
30-03-2009, 12:12 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439921962.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Agreed with u.
Still having this problem during peak timing.
What to do man?

Asakura
30-03-2009, 12:18 AM
nth u can do
cuz no matter how u check
ur connection has got no problem
ur modem has got no problem
their technician will not attend to u at the peak hr, arnd 10pm or so...

therefore, they will alwis assume u got this crap ping problem due to ur torrent downloads or wadeva.

Smokey.B
30-03-2009, 12:19 AM
starhub is really that bad huh???

Asakura
30-03-2009, 12:20 AM
starhub is really that bad huh???

go to singnet pls. haha enuff ppl choking the lines

OnizUk4
30-03-2009, 12:27 AM
Maybe starhub users will enjoy better access when more ppl jump ship.

hub8246
30-03-2009, 12:31 AM
Mine on maxonline premium.

Nothing seem wrong.

But sometimes will load very slow.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439935101.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Asakura
every1 waiting for everybody else to jump ship
so nothing moves
wait till the really bth ones to jump

Asakura

Nothing seem wrong.

diff area affected bah
where u stay?
my fren, same area as me, hg, also had this ping problem lk mine
called up starhub. resolved.
i've yet to get mine resolved.
everytime i call them they say they are monitoring the situation. crap.
i think i need to be more stern?

tidus792
30-03-2009, 12:54 AM
You'll only be giving the CSO a bad day who's powerless to do anything.

Asakura
30-03-2009, 12:57 AM
hahahaha yes tats y i dun wish to speak more to them its pointless cuz they arent the ones we wanna speak to
those who are responsible are hiding behind
speed is coming back, ping is dropping
cuz now every1 starting to slp. tml is mondae
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439954454.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

devilrazor
30-03-2009, 01:04 AM
yea bk to normal riao... juz now was running torrent... which was taking up all the bandwidth lol

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439959265.png

Flaky
30-03-2009, 01:07 AM

Nothing seem wrong.

Yup mine speed is also decent. Torrent running fine except sometime certain website refuse to load which is damn fustrating.

Obviouz
30-03-2009, 02:24 AM
everything is good, except website loading, streaming online videos and peak hours.

awayaway
30-03-2009, 02:33 AM
damn starfug tonite i getting worse speed... damn high ping... even speedtest load so slow

http://www.speedtest.net/result/439865392.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

i am 100% sure it's your pc problem. could be too many p2p programs running, or you one wireless network when other users are consuming high bandwidth.

awayaway
30-03-2009, 02:33 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439883599.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

wah finally someone worst then me ahaha
im on 12mpbs plan =.=

yours also...

awayaway
30-03-2009, 02:35 AM
website loading depends on server location ma.

sometimes disabling firefox's pipelining helps because some webs use different protocol/http iirc.

awayaway
30-03-2009, 03:09 AM
ermm my result, maxon9 premium
http://www.speedtest.net/result/440047092.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Obviouz
30-03-2009, 03:42 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/440069639.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

twosix
30-03-2009, 09:08 AM
I'm staying put. For those who wants to jump, please jump to the red camp so there is more BW for the green pipes! 8)

ohj81
30-03-2009, 09:52 AM
No point posting the benchies for local server...

Ultimately, it seem we are getting less than 2 from overseas server i guess.

Maybe some singnet user would like to post their overseas server speedtest.

wuming79
30-03-2009, 10:47 AM
I thought ST's bandwidth is dedicated to their users? Isn't that better than SH? SH's connection looks unstable. Up one day down another day. Very Pek Cek.

Navigator
30-03-2009, 11:22 AM
So pek cek until they forces me to jump... I have been loyal to starhub for 6 years, time to renew contract, no one bother to call me. Nevermind I call but no special offer except whatever u r already know from sats adverts.

Waiting patiently for singtel to come my house to lay phone cable...

badsector
30-03-2009, 01:53 PM
So pek cek until they forces me to jump... I have been loyal to starhub for 6 years, time to renew contract, no one bother to call me. Nevermind I call but no special offer except whatever u r already know from sats adverts.

Waiting patiently for singtel to come my house to lay phone cable...

i've been loyal since the old SCV days... with SH...no contract all along...they also heck care my countless complains. :s13:

same like u....i paid them to install signal booster also. waste $$$ lah
in the end...i give up coz the engineer who test line also advise me to jump ship. thus i took the risk..hoping i got a good phoneline..:s13:

TotalNerd
30-03-2009, 02:15 PM
yours also...

truthfully? im running nothing except a firefox.
if i could run anything i wouldn't have come here.

balonglong78
30-03-2009, 04:18 PM
Wahahahah I also cut it off leao.. no more hubber.. PUI~
NB slow like hell and i pay 80++ after my 2yr contract. lazy to change and want to wait and see got any good offer not... but lucky they never come out any good offer. complain many time. test here test there. ok 4 a few month then back again.... s~~l~~o~~w
cant justified for the amount I pay! this kind of F up speed. wahahaha
anyway keep my finger cross, next week I will be on singnet leao! 32.90... really hope.... hope...

phuque99
30-03-2009, 04:25 PM
moaning thread ah? lol

zacchie
30-03-2009, 04:35 PM
Wahahahah I also cut it off leao.. no more hubber.. PUI~
NB slow like hell and i pay 80++ after my 2yr contract. lazy to change and want to wait and see got any good offer not... but lucky they never come out any good offer. complain many time. test here test there. ok 4 a few month then back again.... s~~l~~o~~w
cant justified for the amount I pay! this kind of F up speed. wahahaha
anyway keep my finger cross, next week I will be on singnet leao! 32.90... really hope.... hope...

GOOD JOB!!!

anyway let us know your speed once my contract END i will say F OFF LAGHUB and go to stinktel

awayaway
30-03-2009, 06:05 PM
truthfully? im running nothing except a firefox.
if i could run anything i wouldn't have come here.

your ping is at least 200+ and with only near 1mbps download i can assume you're on wireless networks with your bandwidth being shared by other users. else not mayb there are hidden p2p programs that only could be terminated via ctrl-alt-del. try going http://www.speedtest.sg to see if there's a difference.

goodluck.

Navigator
30-03-2009, 11:11 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/440626523.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Linger
30-03-2009, 11:20 PM
Just got my SNBB activated today. Ran the test via wireless.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/440633887.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

orrb86
31-03-2009, 08:32 AM
seriously. i feel singnet is much faster compare to SH. At least for youtube loading. Less waiting time for me

tidus792
31-03-2009, 08:50 AM
It is faster in youtube loading.

It'll be nice to use the Singapore test serves for comparison and using a wired connection. This allows people to establish a common baseline for comparison.

TotalNerd
31-03-2009, 11:24 AM
your ping is at least 200+ and with only near 1mbps download i can assume you're on wireless networks with your bandwidth being shared by other users. else not mayb there are hidden p2p programs that only could be terminated via ctrl-alt-del. try going http://www.speedtest.sg to see if there's a difference.

goodluck.

stop assuming lol i know my stuffs.
not a idiotic whinner like what you are refering to.
just that you are having a better connection using the same plan or same isp doesn't mean everyone is doing fine.

ideatalk
31-03-2009, 12:18 PM
I'm staying put. For those who wants to jump, please jump to the red camp so there is more BW for the green pipes! 8)

interesting to know that the "greens" jumped to the "red" and the "red" jumped to the "green". The numbers seemed even out so the problem continues.............

Asakura
31-03-2009, 12:49 PM
yes exactly
haha
every ISP has their sets of problems. jumping really works? it probably satisfy personal needs for the time being but probably will surface other problems again

buzzmario
31-03-2009, 01:27 PM
my office one

game goondu
31-03-2009, 03:05 PM
just terminated starhub and jump to singnet for 8mbps. keeping my finger cross to get good speed.

pandipanda
31-03-2009, 05:05 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/441268071.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

On maxonline premium.

For Singtel users that's on 10Mpbs plan, care to show how's your speed like?

launm88
31-03-2009, 05:18 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/441268071.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

On maxonline premium.

For Singtel users that's on 10Mpbs plan, care to show how's your speed like?

Hello pandipanda,

I also on MOL premium. Can you do another speedtest , this time to Taiwan (Taipei )
I like to know what speed you are getting ?

cheers

ohj81
31-03-2009, 05:59 PM
The bottleneck so far for MOL is out of SG. not to a local server.

Should show benchies of overseas server... SG only usually would be good.

pandipanda
31-03-2009, 06:41 PM
Sure.

This is to Taiwan

http://www.speedtest.net/result/441311002.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

What's your download speed like? The Max I can reach is 1.75MB.

How about you Singnet users? Asking this because I'm about to jump ship due to starhub's unstability...

Errz
31-03-2009, 08:42 PM
Sure.

This is to Taiwan

http://www.speedtest.net/result/441311002.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

What's your download speed like? The Max I can reach is 1.75MB.

How about you Singnet users? Asking this because I'm about to jump ship due to starhub's unstability...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/441380945.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/441402588.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Singtel 10 Mbps

twosix
31-03-2009, 09:05 PM
Starhub 12Mbps
http://www.speedtest.net/result/441394085.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Looks like the speed tonight is good.

But overseas speed is quite slow.

Starhub 12Mbps to LA
http://www.speedtest.net/result/441399000.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

to NY
http://www.speedtest.net/result/441400366.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

To Taiwan
http://www.speedtest.net/result/441401851.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Upload speed is faster than download.

To Okinawa Japan
http://www.speedtest.net/result/441403476.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

launm88
31-03-2009, 09:54 PM
Using MOL 12mb/s

http://www.speedtest.net/result/441426753.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

this is my speedtest result. In recent days , seems better, before was crawling snail like.
the worst case I have was 200kb/s DL.
Anyway, I jump to singnet already, will have my line on 15 april.

cheers

pikeplace
31-03-2009, 10:54 PM
Called SH just now. I told the officer I'm no longer under contract and I'm paying 10% more. I'm considering my options now but current promotions on their website are not attractive. She simply said "just keep waiting until good promo comes".

I think I will be jumping over to Singnet soon.

Asakura
31-03-2009, 10:56 PM
hahaha
yep
this is their attitude
cuz too many ppl are calling them hoping for discounts

Asakura
31-03-2009, 10:57 PM
Errz is 10mbps singnet? hmmm

pandipanda
31-03-2009, 11:03 PM
a lot of people are jumping to Singnet.

I regretted upgrading my plan. Now i'm stuck for another 2 years.

Really need my download and upload speed to be fast. Wonder if I upgrade my plan to MOL ultimate will make a huge difference considering it's from 12mbps to 100mbps...

Mclairs83
31-03-2009, 11:44 PM

Really need my download and upload speed to be fast. Wonder if I upgrade my plan to MOL ultimate will make a huge difference considering it's from 12mbps to 100mbps...

it doesn't matter. if ur area is choked no matter how much u pay u still get choked.

liangtam
31-03-2009, 11:55 PM
It does matter!
However, whether if you felt justified for the increase is another matter.

pandipanda
31-03-2009, 11:57 PM
it doesn't matter. if ur area is choked no matter how much u pay u still get choked.

Thing is, I don't normally use internet at night. usually in the morning -- 8.30am! till afternoon. I suppose around that time people are working and everything should be at a faster rate. But really, I don't see any difference.

Night is the worst = nightmare.

I can barely surf. but my friend told me that with singnet, he hardly face any problems.

Errz
01-04-2009, 12:01 AM
Errz is 10mbps singnet? hmmm

yah 10 Mbps . why leh

Asakura
01-04-2009, 12:59 AM
some people exp the same at night, using singnet. its all individual bah??
since u use only in the morning n afternoon
why would the night jam be a factor for your choice of isp ?

pandipanda
01-04-2009, 01:38 AM
some people exp the same at night, using singnet. its all individual bah??
since u use only in the morning n afternoon
why would the night jam be a factor for your choice of isp ?

Err because my siblings are using it at night and I'd like them to surf without any problems...

That's beside the point. -- even when i use in the morning, the speed wise is not that good and i can just imagine how is it at night. since i'm on leave today, i tried to surf at night and boy, it shocked me how terrible surfing can be... told my siblings it can't be that bad but i proved myself wrong today.

bottomline is -- if i switch to singnet, will surfing at night be stable as in the morning? and will the download and upload speed drop drastically at night... now. that's my main concern.

Asakura
01-04-2009, 02:09 AM
hmmm hard to confirm? it might be true for sm1, mayb not for u?
u need to get the connection then u'll know whether it suits u?
but from IDA's statistics
singnet is better :D

Navigator
01-04-2009, 05:50 AM
padipanda: I will give u my FR after next week, when singnet comes over to my place to install.

twosix
01-04-2009, 09:09 AM
Thing is, I don't normally use internet at night. usually in the morning -- 8.30am! till afternoon. I suppose around that time people are working and everything should be at a faster rate. But really, I don't see any difference.

Night is the worst = nightmare.

I can barely surf. but my friend told me that with singnet, he hardly face any problems.

I can use the internet very well in the morning and afternoon. It is at night from 9pm onwards when things start to slow down. I meant normal surfing or VPN into my office's network. Occasionally I will download and the speed is pretty decent too.

twosix
01-04-2009, 09:10 AM

I'm asking SH to let me trial ultimate for free, since my contract just ended.

Asakura
01-04-2009, 09:18 AM
u can do tat ??

twosix
01-04-2009, 11:45 AM
u can do tat ??

someone did that. i'm waiting for their reply.

game goondu
01-04-2009, 12:12 PM
Called SH just now. I told the officer I'm no longer under contract and I'm paying 10% more. I'm considering my options now but current promotions on their website are not attractive. She simply said "just keep waiting until good promo comes".

I think I will be jumping over to Singnet soon.

their standard faq answer. that is why i dun even bother to call and ask for discount and just jump to singnet 32.90 8m plan.

waiken
01-04-2009, 12:28 PM
their standard faq answer. that is why i dun even bother to call and ask for discount and just jump to singnet 32.90 8m plan.

join red camp tis coming JUNE 4 years of laghub enuff is enuff!!!:s27:

pandipanda
02-04-2009, 12:58 PM
padipanda: I will give u my FR after next week, when singnet comes over to my place to install.

Thank you! It'd be great if you can tell me what's the download and upload speed like when you download some files (not speedtest). Also how smooth is surfing at night. But the main thing I'm interested is, the speed. :D

By the way, what plan did you sign up for?

HoCL
02-04-2009, 02:55 PM
Just terminated my SH 12Mbps plan and jumped to ST 8Mbps plan. Very happy with peak hour connection at night (7pm to midnight). Now I can access youtube smoothly. In the past with SH, watching youtube videos during peak hours means click, go for toilet break, and come back and watch ...

ry0suk1
02-04-2009, 03:54 PM
best is all go to Singnet, cheers

HUGO15481
02-04-2009, 05:51 PM
And there will be no chokage in the green pipe?

coey
02-04-2009, 08:37 PM
Signned up with the red camp last weekend, waiting for the installation in 2 weeks time ( keeping fingers cross). hope the red camp dun dissappoint.

The green camp called me yesterday, offering me 30 % off maxonline. When i told them of mine intention to terminate last wednesday. (Too bad) the guy whom i spoke to told me that there i have to pay full $80 after mine 28 mths contract with them

gilaboyfjs
02-04-2009, 10:07 PM
And there will be no chokage in the green pipe?

lol wait long long..

Mclairs83
02-04-2009, 10:08 PM
Err because my siblings are using it at night and I'd like them to surf without any problems...

That's beside the point. -- even when i use in the morning, the speed wise is not that good and i can just imagine how is it at night. since i'm on leave today, i tried to surf at night and boy, it shocked me how terrible surfing can be... told my siblings it can't be that bad but i proved myself wrong today.

bottomline is -- if i switch to singnet, will surfing at night be stable as in the morning? and will the download and upload speed drop drastically at night... now. that's my main concern.

lol. night is consider a little bit slower.. but i can tell u.. its way faster than starhub PLUS
the amount u paying is almost half of it of ur current MOL premium.

In order to support singtel, i intend to convert all my family members MSP to Singtel. tat including mine!

launm88
03-04-2009, 12:15 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/443238485.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

On MOL premium 12mbs plan

my speedtest result , LOL starhub better called slowhub

Asakura
03-04-2009, 01:29 AM
way to go clairs

lasnoblur
03-04-2009, 02:41 AM
There is a reason y Singnet is called "Stinknet".

If u ask me, i would only say im 70% satisfied with Singnet.
When it cocks up, its quite bad.

pandipanda
03-04-2009, 07:35 AM
lol. night is consider a little bit slower.. but i can tell u.. its way faster than starhub PLUS
the amount u paying is almost half of it of ur current MOL premium.

In order to support singtel, i intend to convert all my family members MSP to Singtel. tat including mine!

Of coz there's pros and cons for every ISP.

That aside, I take it your plan is 10mbps. I've been saying this a lot.

Let say you download 100MB file from rapidshare, what's your speed like?

If it's 10 times better than singnet, I don't mind terminating the contract and pay the penalty fee. If it's really that good.

Mclairs83
03-04-2009, 08:50 AM
Of coz there's pros and cons for every ISP.

That aside, I take it your plan is 10mbps. I've been saying this a lot.

Let say you download 100MB file from rapidshare, what's your speed like?

If it's 10 times better than singnet, I don't mind terminating the contract and pay the penalty fee. If it's really that good.

mine is singnet 8mbps only. most of the time if i ddl from certain website i get full speed of 1.1MB/sec constantly during night...i nvr applied a RS account though i feel like applying it(still dunno how much i need to pay n how it works).

well i would say stick wif starhub till ur contract expires as if i'm not wrong if u need to terminate, u need to pay at least a 4figure sum.

Errz
03-04-2009, 09:15 AM
mine is singnet 8mbps only. most of the time if i ddl from certain website i get full speed of 1.1MB/sec constantly during night...i nvr applied a RS account though i feel like applying it(still dunno how much i need to pay n how it works).

well i would say stick wif starhub till ur contract expires as if i'm not wrong if u need to terminate, u need to pay at least a 4figure sum.

rapidshare cheap lah. go for it. lol.

Use download manager, u can get 3-4 files and get 1MB/sec total.

think I have RS account for like a yr. Now they limit 15gb per day download. 80GB per month. zzzz .

Obviouz
03-04-2009, 09:53 AM
OMFG!!! i'm back online!!!

Obviouz
03-04-2009, 09:54 AM
Singnet Ftw!!!!

pandipanda
03-04-2009, 10:03 AM

8 mbps and you got 1.1MB/sec?! Mine is 12mbps and the max I've gotten is 1.75MB/sec (that's in the morning). My siblings told me that at night the speed drops to 100kbps! Terrible or what!

My main aim is to get 3MB/sec and above. Upload wise -- 1 or 2MB/sec (though I see it's difficult)

I'm not sure if signing up for 10mbps on singtel will warrant me that kind of speed.

How I wish singnet has 100mbps plan. That'd be awesome.

I have 2 or 3 years to go with Starhub!! I'll be miserable if this continues..

On another note, I recommend that you purchase megaupload account. Rapidshare is good but there's a limit as how many you can download. I think either way it's a win-win situation.

ravishing
03-04-2009, 10:24 AM
8 mbps and you got 1.1MB/sec?! Mine is 12mbps and the max I've gotten is 1.75MB/sec (that's in the morning). My siblings told me that at night the speed drops to 100kbps! Terrible or what!

My main aim is to get 3MB/sec and above. Upload wise -- 1 or 2MB/sec (though I see it's difficult)

I'm not sure if signing up for 10mbps on singtel will warrant me that kind of speed.

On another note, I recommend that you purchase megaupload account. Rapidshare is good but there's a limit as how many you can download. I think either way it's a win-win situation.

Mega upload... I love it....

Errz
03-04-2009, 11:18 AM

I think soon, megaupload might follow Rapidshare... limited download. Rapidshare did not have any caps on it b4.

Obviouz
03-04-2009, 11:44 AM
I think soon, megaupload might follow Rapidshare... limited download. Rapidshare did not have any caps on it b4.

yeah... funny. now MU is better, no way they're gonna cheapen themselves. it'll be the dumbest move.

pandipanda
03-04-2009, 01:01 PM

They better not if not the customers who purchased lifetime membership will go crazy! Increasing their membership price is ok but it's not alright to cap how much can we download. It's been great using MU. So hopefully they don't screw it up!

-- can't wait to read the reviews for those who switched to Singnet.

Errz
03-04-2009, 01:18 PM
They better not if not the customers who purchased lifetime membership will go crazy! Increasing their membership price is ok but it's not alright to cap how much can we download. It's been great using MU. So hopefully they don't screw it up!

-- can't wait to read the reviews for those who switched to Singnet.

whats the dload speed like for MU? i'm using RS at the moment

but so far, RS seems more ppl upload stuff to? at least from my source.

pandipanda
03-04-2009, 03:49 PM
whats the dload speed like for MU? i'm using RS at the moment

but so far, RS seems more ppl upload stuff to? at least from my source.

Not bad. 1.6-1.7MB/sec

That's only from morning until 5pm or so. At night it will flock like nobody's business (maybe because I'm using Starhub).

But weekend's speed is horrible. Even in the morning the speed is 700kb/s. Night -- I don't even need to explain.

I hate RS with a passion. Simply because I can hardly download any files from there. Perhaps once in a year.

I guess nowadays what can be found on RS can also be found on MU. for me at least.

Obviouz
03-04-2009, 04:07 PM
RS and MU all 1.6-1.7MB/sec.... all great. never went down to 200 or 500 or even 700 like starfug. i'll never go on to Starhub unless they give 1GB upload and download. LOL.

Obviouz
03-04-2009, 04:08 PM
youtube never slows :D there's no stops at all.

chyoli
03-04-2009, 04:19 PM
i will recommend singtel ~~~the reason is my 1Mbps download speed average ~120MBps for peer to peer download during night time(so called peak hour). So awesome !!! The cons is cap limit...

dlocenot
03-04-2009, 04:24 PM
i will recommend singtel ~~~the reason is my 1Mbps download speed average ~120MBps for peer to peer download during night time(so called peak hour). So awesome !!! The cons is cap limit...

120mbps? So fast?

Errz
03-04-2009, 04:44 PM
120mbps? So fast?

think he typo. should be 120kbps

liangtam
03-04-2009, 09:12 PM
mirror mah, they are usually funded by small web hosting coy, those who have benefitted as well as educational institutes.

liangtam
03-04-2009, 10:35 PM
Google video to be discontinued? where say de, only to stop upload mah.

Anyway, you need time for the video to be processed mah

n95crazy
03-04-2009, 10:59 PM
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-3602191986602479936

google video - now thats unreliable, sorry if you dont see video. i already uploaded it to test my Google account.

--- no wonder, GV to be discontinued soon.

ok i'll admit my starhub connection cannot watch this video...

n95crazy
03-04-2009, 11:03 PM
My main aim is to get 3MB/sec and above.

you are really asking for too much...
this year is 2009 not 3009...

do very simple maths will you?
assume that a server hosts 300 people at 1 time
300 ppl download at 3mb/sec
your server will need to have an upload pipe of at least 950mb/s

you think every webhost on the internet is google.com ah?

AhPek_Lion
03-04-2009, 11:08 PM
sTinknet oso cant use this beedio

Errz
04-04-2009, 10:35 PM
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3591/3411955834_6ca67b184a.jpg

within mins. compare to my previous SH.. seldom can get that high and that fast (within mins)

pikeplace
05-04-2009, 08:59 PM
Is there any way to try out Singnet without signing up for 1 or 2 year contract?

phuque99
05-04-2009, 09:01 PM
yeah, someone here forced singnet to allow signing without discount, i believe its 3 months min contract, full price abou $50+ for 3mbps.

unlimited_max
05-04-2009, 10:49 PM
dun understand why we muz be locked into a 2yr contract when we recontract..since there's no freebies for us.. :(

yob rekib
06-04-2009, 02:39 AM
Just terminated my SH 12Mbps plan and jumped to ST 8Mbps plan. Very happy with peak hour connection at night (7pm to midnight). Now I can access youtube smoothly. In the past with SH, watching youtube videos during peak hours means click, go for toilet break, and come back and watch ...
very True :s22:

Obviouz
06-04-2009, 02:42 AM
i regretted getting 10mbps for it's upload speed. cant even reach half of it.. sadly....

8mbps is the best.

glassdarkly
06-04-2009, 02:43 AM
I'm asking SH to let me trial ultimate for free, since my contract just ended.

someone did that. i'm waiting for their reply.

Have you heard back from them yet? My contract is expiring this month and I'm trying to decide if it's worth it to go to 100mbps also.

i regretted getting 10mbps for it's upload speed. cant even reach half of it.. sadly....

8mbps is the best.

How does the download speed compare between SNBB 10mbps and 8mbps?

Errz
06-04-2009, 11:08 AM
How does the download speed compare between SNBB 10mbps and 8mbps?

difference - 2mbps?

depend on alot things also leh. like the source, if BT, depend also on the seed etc etc

HUGO15481
06-04-2009, 01:27 PM
Next one to terminate my Starhub this morning!

pandipanda
06-04-2009, 01:28 PM
you are really asking for too much...
this year is 2009 not 3009...

do very simple maths will you?
assume that a server hosts 300 people at 1 time
300 ppl download at 3mb/sec
your server will need to have an upload pipe of at least 950mb/s

you think every webhost on the internet is google.com ah?

Maybe 3mb/sec is too much. But I barely reach 120kbps. I'm sure I'm not the only one.

I'm just SAYING that it'd be great to get 3mb/sec. It's my wish.