PDA

View Full Version : Mio TV sucking up bandwidth

justpk
24-03-2009, 07:54 PM
I am using the 2wire 2701HG which is the mio box, whenever the mio tv box is on, my web pages cannot load at all, bt IM and downloads not affected by alot. My home network has 2 coms on ethernet and 1 com on wireless usually. Is it like normal for mio tv to suck ur bandwidth, because i have read some rants by some other users on other singapore forums about this.

chunxi
24-03-2009, 08:46 PM
miotv does not use your bandwidth at all
unless your singnet plan is 25mbps
actually after i sub miotv, i feel my original bandwidth get higher abit.

IDZetc
24-03-2009, 10:18 PM
miotv does not use your bandwidth at all
unless your singnet plan is 25mbps
actually after i sub miotv, i feel my original bandwidth get higher abit.
same here.. seem to have slightly more downstream bandwidth

tushar310
25-03-2009, 03:16 AM
i noticed my internet surfing became slower when Mio TV is on.

glad i found such a thread.

i think it takes up LAN bandwidth ..because it works via ethernet cable.

what do u think?

chunxi
25-03-2009, 07:39 PM
singnet configure port4 for miotv, which is separate from your singnet sub
2 weeks ago when singnet kanna outage (2wire modem show red for internet), miotv is still working.
so i think they are separated.

novatliz
25-03-2009, 08:40 PM
singnet configure port4 for miotv, which is separate from your singnet sub
2 weeks ago when singnet kanna outage (2wire modem show red for internet), miotv is still working.
so i think they are separated.

Is port 4 is the one next to the usb port?

justpk
26-03-2009, 10:45 PM
Hmm..so care to explain the obvious slowdown i face?

hwsinn
27-03-2009, 09:04 AM
in TS situation i suspect is the BT that is sucking up the bandwidth...check ur BT open ports settings and upload speed....
mioTV bandwisth is allocated on top of ur subscribed speed

lsteo
27-03-2009, 02:17 PM
My mio TV sucking up bandwidth too

Without Mio TV
http://www.speedtest.net/result/438012519.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

With Mio TV HD
http://www.speedtest.net/result/438013505.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

:s11::s11:

glacieraze
27-03-2009, 02:59 PM
My mio TV sucking up bandwidth too

Without Mio TV
http://www.speedtest.net/result/438012519.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

With Mio TV HD
http://www.speedtest.net/result/438013505.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

:s11::s11:

mmm... your ping a bit rather high... could also mean your line not that good and cannot get the full speed for your MioTV bandwidth.. hence eat up a bit of your internet speed?

here is mine

http://www.speedtest.net/result/438029155.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Note: I dun have MioTV though...

justpk
27-03-2009, 04:35 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/438067618.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/438068293.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Just as the above guy's case, u can see my download speed slowing down like 3mbps...btw when experiencing slowdowns, i have NO active torrents. But, still i have problems surfing the net.

justpk
28-03-2009, 10:21 PM
anyone has an explanation?

twist_shout
08-08-2009, 03:29 PM
yes..Mine too.

Without Mio TV 10++ Mbps

With Mio TV and HD channel 7+ - 8 Mbps

the technician also told me Mio Tv does takes up some bandwidth too..

aaur4man
08-08-2009, 03:46 PM
post ur sync profile and line quality.

I now it affects somehow and a regular user is restricted to 2wire modem , so I went for 15mbps + 2nd line for Mio TV to save trouble.

However, MioTV sync profile is 17mbps. Theoretically u shd be synced at 25mbps for a smooth experience.

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
08-08-2009, 03:59 PM
yes i also having the same problem 1yr+ back. it does affect some of the bandwidth + miotv work better in interleaved line mode. during fast mode, some screen will be distorted.
i perfer my internet line to be on fast mode.

so now i upgrade to 15mbps to make use of a 2nd line juz for miotv..

aaur4man
08-08-2009, 04:09 PM
syh can post ur line quality for 15mbps?

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
08-08-2009, 04:46 PM
i still on 10mbps now next week den will install 15mbps

this is my current 10mbps 1
http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/2766/line10mbps.jpg

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 09:55 AM
new plan activate liao...
become worst
previously can get abt 11mbps on 10mbps plan
now on 15mbps only get abt 7mbps..
and line mode got changed to interleaved.. :mad:
http://a.imagehost.org/0207/Line.jpg

wiwi86
11-08-2009, 10:33 AM
to my knowledge..mio tv uses different frequency as ur internet and ur mio voice if u hav..on top of tat, they hav their own different bandwidth for data transmission if i rmb correctly

twist_shout
11-08-2009, 10:46 AM
[QUOTE=seeyourhead_jiejie_v3;39532864]new plan activate liao...
become worst
previously can get abt 11mbps on 10mbps plan
now on 15mbps only get abt 7mbps..
and line mode got changed to interleaved.. :mad:

hi..may i know what is interleaved? u seems piss so its something no good?

and also can you advise how to come to this page?

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 10:58 AM
to my knowledge..mio tv uses different frequency as ur internet and ur mio voice if u hav..on top of tat, they hav their own different bandwidth for data transmission if i rmb correctly
it still does affect a bit. as many have confirmed.

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 10:59 AM
hi..may i know what is interleaved? u seems piss so its something no good?

and also can you advise how to come to this page?
fast mode have lesser ping
interleaved mode have more error checking.

i perfered lower ping for my usage.
fast mode is around 10ms or less..
interleaved move is around 50ms

for my case

go to ur 2wire router page, then under broadband, details

ohmygod1986
11-08-2009, 11:01 AM
2700HGV no miotv

http://i245.photobucket.com/albums/gg58/ohmygod1986/2Wire-1.jpg

2701HGV with mio tv

http://i245.photobucket.com/albums/gg58/ohmygod1986/2wirerecent.jpg

Wonder is the modem or miotv :s22::s22::s22:

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 11:09 AM
2700HGV no miotv

2701HGV with mio tv

dun see anything wrong with ur stats ma..
without miotv ur line bw will confirm be lower. but will still be higher then ur plan bw.

twist_shout
11-08-2009, 11:14 AM
fast mode have lesser ping
interleaved mode have more error checking.

i perfered lower ping for my usage.
fast mode is around 10ms or less..
interleaved move is around 50ms

for my case

go to ur 2wire router page, then under broadband, details

end user like us able to change the mode ourself?

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 11:16 AM
end user like us able to change the mode ourself?
cant change from our end.
only from their end.
call them up..
if they manage to understand what are u toking, they will change for u.
most of them wont understand what are you toking.

I have requested to change to fast mode already. they say should be done by today..

twist_shout
11-08-2009, 11:43 AM
cant change from our end.
only from their end.
call them up..
if they manage to understand what are u toking, they will change for u.
most of them wont understand what are you toking.

I have requested to change to fast mode already. they say should be done by today..

i see.. thanks for the advice..

erm last qns.. haha do u happen to know the default password for the Mdc page?

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 12:38 PM
i see.. thanks for the advice..

erm last qns.. haha do u happen to know the default password for the Mdc page?
should b 2wire

twist_shout
11-08-2009, 01:44 PM
should b 2wire

THANKS! :D

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 01:47 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/537162337.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

luv_boa
11-08-2009, 02:59 PM
does miovoice have any effect ma ?

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 02:59 PM
does miovoice have any effect ma ?
what kind of effect ?
so far i dun c any speed decrease when using mio voice..

luv_boa
11-08-2009, 03:04 PM
what kind of effect ?
so far i dun c any speed decrease when using mio voice..

are u on miohome ?

did u top up 3 dollars for free calls ?

i still thinkin shld i change to miohome

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 03:06 PM
are u on miohome ?

did u top up 3 dollars for free calls ?

i still thinkin shld i change to miohome
yes
i was on mio plan before this.
so when they convert to mio home, they juz include the $3 inside w/o asking me.

using the mio voice(with mio plan) for almost 2yrs already. no problem except some configuration problem during the 1st week after activation.

luv_boa
11-08-2009, 03:09 PM
yes
i was on mio plan before this.
so when they convert to mio home, they juz include the $3 inside w/o asking me.

using the mio voice(with mio plan) for almost 2yrs already. no problem except some configuration problem during the 1st week after activation.

modem has to be on all the time ? hw many telephones can be connected ar ? i have total of 4 phones man in my hse haha

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 03:11 PM
modem has to be on all the time ? hw many telephones can be connected ar ? i have total of 4 phones man in my hse haha
ya modem haf to be on all the time.
i am using dect cordless phone.
so only 1 phone socket -> 2 way spliter -> 2 base station

each base station got 2 phones. so having 4 phones at home..

but i remember seeing on their website tat it say it recommend max of 3 or 4 sockets i tink..
cant really remember already.

luv_boa
11-08-2009, 03:12 PM
ya modem haf to be on all the time.
i am using dect cordless phone.
so only 1 phone socket -> 2 way spliter -> 2 base station

each base station got 2 phones. so having 4 phones at home..

ooh okok , thx alot , only dect phones can be used issit ? ps ar for sho many questions !

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 03:13 PM
ooh okok , thx alot , only dect phones can be used issit ? ps ar for sho many questions !
no la
normal phone can also be used.
last time i also using normal phone. only after singtel come out the philips dect phone promotion then i bought 2 more set lor..

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 03:15 PM
they can do a loop back from ur modem to ur other house phone socket.
but i heard many people complain got echo sound or some other problem.

luv_boa
11-08-2009, 03:16 PM
okok i will go for miohome right after my internet left 3 mths . i was wondering shld i pay the $3 dollar anot , whether worth it ma

ohmygod1986
11-08-2009, 03:32 PM
dun see anything wrong with ur stats ma..
without miotv ur line bw will confirm be lower. but will still be higher then ur plan bw.

Look at max rate :s22::s22::s22:

liangtam
11-08-2009, 03:53 PM

Nothing wrong ah...

twist_shout
11-08-2009, 04:00 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/537162337.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

so this is the result u get after change to fast mode?

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 04:03 PM
this is after i told them i getting lower speed then what i getting on 10mbps

haven change to fast mode yet.. tink their end cock up..
tell me changed liao but haven change..

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 04:03 PM
ya lor nothing wrong wioth the max rate ma..
with miotv, of cos they need to allocate higher bandwidth for ur miotv..

kediraksith
11-08-2009, 04:33 PM
if im not mistaken, BTing with mio modem sux big time, i strongly believed the reason is that the mio modem have limited concurrent connections.... coz when i used a normal ADSL modem everything is fine :D

I wanted to change but was strongly backfired by my parents coz they want to use the VoIP free calls.... zzz

aaur4man
11-08-2009, 04:36 PM
QoS

voip can configure for 3rd party modem

ohmygod1986
11-08-2009, 05:02 PM
2700HGV no miotv

2701HGV with mio tv

I know connection ok ... but the max rate drop :s22:

liangtam
11-08-2009, 06:35 PM
if im not mistaken, BTing with mio modem sux big time, i strongly believed the reason is that the mio modem have limited concurrent connections.... coz when i used a normal ADSL modem everything is fine :D

I wanted to change but was strongly backfired by my parents coz they want to use the VoIP free calls.... zzz
Well, its more of your bt config instead. Utilizing low connection does not mean your cant max out the P2P rates.

I know connection ok ... but the max rate drop :s22:

And then? Make no diff in the first place.

tremor
11-08-2009, 07:08 PM
without miotv
http://www.speedtest.net/result/537307870.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

with miotv HD5 switched on
http://www.speedtest.net/result/537309525.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

TYhe resultis pretty negligible for me I think.

kediraksith
11-08-2009, 07:40 PM
Well, its more of your bt config instead. Utilizing low connection does not mean your cant max out the P2P rates.

And then? Make no diff in the first place.
You have any pointers?? I believe i aint doing anything wrong coz I did the same thing to my starhub last time... well yea different ISP different settings.. But doing 1 BT at 40 concurrent connections shouldnt jam my net surfing right?

Funny thing is, when i first got my mio things wasnt so bad, I can do lots of BT without really hurting my net surfing... now it has gone down the drain. When i say modem its because when i tried to access the 2wire config page at 192.168.1.254 it simply says "waiting" for like 1 or 2 mins before it loads. When not doing BT naturally it loads almost instantly...

So back to my recent issue, doing 1 BT at 40 concurrent connections... jams my whole family net surfing... all of us gets the page couldnt be loaded error... 2wire Config page takes 1 or 2 mins to load...

Anyone experience same thing?

aaur4man
11-08-2009, 07:48 PM
When not doing BT naturally it loads almost instantly...

u must be a very patient person :)

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
11-08-2009, 07:56 PM
You have any pointers?? I believe i aint doing anything wrong coz I did the same thing to my starhub last time... well yea different ISP different settings.. But doing 1 BT at 40 concurrent connections shouldnt jam my net surfing right?

Funny thing is, when i first got my mio things wasnt so bad, I can do lots of BT without really hurting my net surfing... now it has gone down the drain. When i say modem its because when i tried to access the 2wire config page at 192.168.1.254 it simply says "waiting" for like 1 or 2 mins before it loads. When not doing BT naturally it loads almost instantly...

So back to my recent issue, doing 1 BT at 40 concurrent connections... jams my whole family net surfing... all of us gets the page couldnt be loaded error... 2wire Config page takes 1 or 2 mins to load...

Anyone experience same thing?
shouldnt jam at 40 connection..
my 2wire 2700 will only jam at around 300+ connections...
below tat everything is smooth

kediraksith
11-08-2009, 09:53 PM
shouldnt jam at 40 connection..
my 2wire 2700 will only jam at around 300+ connections...
below tat everything is smooth
thats why, smthing is wrong... somewhere...... i also noticed that... once my downloading Bandwidth, be it BT or regular download, it will also starts to jam....... really kinda WTF coz when i used TCP-Z, my concurrent connections is only like 5.... regular download this afternoon...

Im on 10mbps line... and downloading at 910kb/s.... liddat by right wun jam right?..zzz

Yea and last time i also can get 300+ concurrent connections before jamming...

wiwi86
11-08-2009, 10:28 PM
okok i will go for miohome right after my internet left 3 mths . i was wondering shld i pay the $3 dollar anot , whether worth it ma

tat'll depends on ur local call rates..for me..w/o including $25 subscription fees for normal analogue line, my local calls r $17+ every mth...$3 for mth is a full win situation for me...

wiwi86
11-08-2009, 10:31 PM
it still does affect a bit. as many have confirmed.

but i cant reli feel e effect...mayb it's too small to b noticed by me ba :s13::s13:

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
12-08-2009, 03:02 PM
this is fast mode. if u still intrested.

Interleaved:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/537162337.png
http://a.imagehost.org/0207/Line.jpg

Fast:
http://img529.imageshack.us/img529/7182/linefast.jpg
http://www.speedtest.net/result/538007581.png (http://www.speedtest.net)