View Full Version : wireless network security
weird
12-04-2009, 01:21 PM
yoz! broz
i need some help. i'm using starhub w linksys router.
my uncle's house got 3 systems
1. windows xp pro
2. windows xp home
3. vista basic/ home (cant rem)
i wanna set password for the wireless network leh..
if i set WEP, my vista cannot connect
if i set WPA Personal, both XP pro and vista can connect
if i no set password, all 3 can connect.
so wat can i do abt it? usu wat u all use?
i have the following to choose from
1. WPA Personal
2. WPA Enterprise
3. WPA2 Peronal
4. WPA2 Enterprise
5. RADIUS
6. WEP
can pls give mi insight on how to solve this problem so that all the 3 systems are able to connect? I spent 2 wkend trying to troubleshoot liao.. but still cannot..he live damn far from my house lor:(
Litmuss
12-04-2009, 01:37 PM
WPA personal should be more than enuff. U scared you use WPA2 Personal loh.
alex22
12-04-2009, 01:57 PM
yoz! broz
i need some help. i'm using starhub w linksys router.
my uncle's house got 3 systems
1. windows xp pro
2. windows xp home
3. vista basic/ home (cant rem)
i wanna set password for the wireless network leh..
if i set WEP, my vista cannot connect
if i set WPA Personal, both XP pro and vista can connect
if i no set password, all 3 can connect.
so wat can i do abt it? usu wat u all use?
i have the following to choose from
1. WPA Personal
2. WPA Enterprise
3. WPA2 Peronal
4. WPA2 Enterprise
5. RADIUS
6. WEP
can pls give mi insight on how to solve this problem so that all the 3 systems are able to connect? I spent 2 wkend trying to troubleshoot liao.. but still cannot..he live damn far from my house lor:(
update your wifi drivers or update windows for the xphome terminal.
they can all do wep or wpa-psk
user problem.
cpuer
12-04-2009, 02:36 PM
Is the XP Home updated to SP2 and above? If it isn't with SP2 and above it will have problem connecting through WPA.
MrJacky
12-04-2009, 02:41 PM
First time hearing people can't get through WEP.
I am on Windows XP and I can get through WPA2 fine.
tidus792
12-04-2009, 04:12 PM
I will first choose to update (some / all are necessary, depends on what's the cause)
Windows XP to SP3
Vista to SP1
There are new networking stacks in the updated XP / Vista that will ease connecting to wireless networks.
Update the drivers on your laptop / CPUs.
Update the firmware on your router.
WHen choosing the security setting in your router, select (in order of security)
WPA2 Personal + AES
WPA Personal + TKIP
WEP (almost no protection)
Try connecting again.
weird
12-04-2009, 04:37 PM
thanks for all the feedback.. i jus came back home liao..
i will try again next week.
for all the 3 systems, they are updated to the latest patch le..
the only thing i never did is update of firmware of router which is dated @ 2007 (cant rem the version =P )
so right now the network is unsecure.. u guy can tap n use the wireless.. "wireless on the house" hahaha
krazyman
12-04-2009, 05:30 PM
If I'm Uncle Trump, you are fired!:D
kyoichi83
12-04-2009, 05:34 PM
mac filter is the best
phuque99
12-04-2009, 05:42 PM
mac filter is the best
lol, it is the worst! mac address can be changed and spoofed in a couple of seconds when it is sniffed off the air :D
weird
12-04-2009, 06:31 PM
If I'm Uncle Trump, you are fired!:D
err who is uncle trump? haha
tidus792
12-04-2009, 08:03 PM
Poor advise @kyochi83
The only thing worth doing about wireless security is encryption.
Everything else is just more hassle than it's worth.
Mac filtering is the worst of all.
kyoichi83
12-04-2009, 08:05 PM
lol then how? use wire liao
wherehouse
12-04-2009, 09:37 PM
mac filter is the best
epic phail.
wherehouse
12-04-2009, 09:38 PM
lol then how? use wire liao
mac ID more appropriate for wired networks
wherehouse
12-04-2009, 09:42 PM
thanks for all the feedback.. i jus came back home liao..
i will try again next week.
for all the 3 systems, they are updated to the latest patch le..
the only thing i never did is update of firmware of router which is dated @ 2007 (cant rem the version =P )
so right now the network is unsecure.. u guy can tap n use the wireless.. "wireless on the house" hahaha
router doesnt need to upgrade firmware if it already has WPA2 capability.
it's your clients that have the problem.
turn on WPA2 on router.
change all the wireless network drivers (especially intel 802.11b only devices) and/or delete all existing profiles and re-create them with WPA2 enabled profiles.
weird
13-04-2009, 10:29 AM
@wherehouse
so u saying i use the WPA2 in my router?
I dont get wat u mean for the last part abt changing wireless network driver and the WPA2 enabled profile.
the systems come w the OS and i jus use the windows update tats all. not enough ah?
btw,
sys1 = DIY one
sys2 = acer laptop
sys3 = S10 netbook
wherehouse
13-04-2009, 06:49 PM
update device drivers from the manufacturer.
intel/broadcom/ralink/realtek/whatever/cheapo
update windows again (unnecessary)
turn off wzc see how
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.