PDA

View Full Version : URGENT! SingNet Broadband Connection Time

thongjy
14-04-2009, 02:44 PM
Can I check normally for a ADSL modem upon power up how long it takes to acquire an IP address from SingNet and ready to surf?

So far anyone using Linksys AM300? How is the modem?

liangtam
14-04-2009, 02:54 PM
a minute or two

thongjy
14-04-2009, 02:56 PM
a minute or two

Well this seems longer than StarHub cable modem take to connect to internet.

Anyone any feedback or statistics?

Mclairs83
14-04-2009, 03:46 PM
Well this seems longer than StarHub cable modem take to connect to internet.

Anyone any feedback or statistics?

so wad if it takes longer? Singnet users get fast speed during night.. Starfug gets slower in the night.

ur choice. :P

Errz
14-04-2009, 03:53 PM
so wad if it takes longer? Singnet users get fast speed during night.. Starfug gets slower in the night.

different ppl , different expectation of stuff.

just like some want mee siam mai hum :s13:

thongjy
14-04-2009, 04:01 PM

What about anyone experience such that after long time upon powering, modem does not connect at all?

Basically now I am a MaxOnline user and used to powering off the modem when not in use and powering on when I need to go internet. So far able to connect with no issues.

Would like to know if this is the same for SingNet ADSL modem connection.

Errz
14-04-2009, 04:04 PM
What about anyone experience such that after long time upon powering, modem does not connect at all?

Basically now I am a MaxOnline user and used to powering off the modem when not in use and powering on when I need to go internet. So far able to connect with no issues.

I think ADSL connect faster than Starhub.

and.. I think u r worrying over a small matter. U dont have a min to spare? :s13:

thongjy
14-04-2009, 04:20 PM
I think ADSL connect faster than Starhub.

and.. I think u r worrying over a small matter. U dont have a min to spare? :s13:

Will it happen such that sometimes upon powering on a ADSL modem and it does not automatically connect to SingNet at all?

Errz
14-04-2009, 04:24 PM
Will it happen such that sometimes upon powering on a ADSL modem and it does not automatically connect to SingNet at all?

s-hit happen, even with ur starhub modem. Some ppl their modem (starhub) spoil b4.

u get wat i mean?

if 7 out of 10 times u power on and cant get connect, its time to call CSO. might be line issue or hardware issue.

Mclairs83
14-04-2009, 05:54 PM

its either ur spilter is fugged, cable modem up lorry, or MOL bay kan...

My procedure of using the comp in the morning:

1) Power on modem & router.
2) Power on PC.
3) Login
4) Firefox opens up.. and i can surf liao.

i'm wondering wads stopping u..

MrJacky
14-04-2009, 10:54 PM
StarHub connects faster because it's cable broadband, there's no logging in involved.

SingNet utilises your phone line.

I don't mind waiting for a minute or two for it to connect, my latency has always been better than what I got when I was still with StarHub.

Just go make some coffee during that minute.

liangtam
14-04-2009, 11:17 PM
StarHub connects faster because it's cable broadband, there's no logging in involved.

SingNet utilises your phone line.

I don't mind waiting for a minute or two for it to connect, my latency has always been better than what I got when I was still with StarHub.

Just go make some coffee during that minute.

There IS authentication involved. Its just that the process are oblivious to user because its set into the flash of the modem.

The modem still has to identify itself, so the ISP knows the modem has a valid subscription, and to log your access for any possible illegal activities.

MrJacky
14-04-2009, 11:35 PM
There IS authentication involved. Its just that the process are oblivious to user because its set into the flash of the modem.

The modem still has to identify itself, so the ISP knows the modem has a valid subscription, and to log your access for any possible illegal activities.
I know I know, what I mean by "no logging in" is that you don't have to log in at the router itself.

You don't really think I suppose StarHub is that stupid not to do logging?

liangtam
14-04-2009, 11:57 PM
I know I know, what I mean by "no logging in" is that you don't have to log in at the router itself.

You don't really think I suppose StarHub is that stupid not to do logging?

Thats not how you explain why its faster leh.

Firstly, if we assume that an ADSL modem has already had the user credential stored and is sync. Pressing the connect button to the actual time the connection is established, is negligible(<1sec)

2nd, both technology has diff sync method, and of course the time involved.

Third, see the first again for the difference.