View Full Version : SCV distortion and freezes~~
Gausss
15-04-2009, 02:07 AM
anyone got this problem?? my SCV screen will freeze and many small green pixel distortion will appear when i DLing and surfing the net..
called 1633 and they suggest changing spiltter.. im using the old splitter APH brand i think.. 5-1000Mhz. where can i buy a good splitter to replace? thx
i saw a daiyo brand selling for $20 in courts.. is that good enough?
Innocast
15-04-2009, 07:27 AM
anyone got this problem?? my SCV screen will freeze and many small green pixel distortion will appear when i DLing and surfing the net..
called 1633 and they suggest changing spiltter.. im using the old splitter APH brand i think.. 5-1000Mhz. where can i buy a good splitter to replace? thx
u should buy splitter that is sold by starhub..............;););)
Gausss
15-04-2009, 09:46 AM
sold by starhub? i went to their service centre and starhub shop and they told me they dont sell...
btw how much they are selling?
Innocast
15-04-2009, 01:14 PM
sold by starhub? i went to their service centre and starhub shop and they told me they dont sell...
btw how much they are selling?
they dun sell it retail.... i think it comes with their cable modem only...maybe u buy from forumer or what.....
askh52
15-04-2009, 02:09 PM
lol.. buy from me.. sell u $5. got 2 splitter lying arn since recent recontract(early Apr) :p
theView
15-04-2009, 03:41 PM
what you need is a Power Splitter
it need a additional power supply to boost the signal
get it from SCV HQ at Ayer Raja Crescent
bang table at the starhub helpdesk to get a demand on that thing
kevinbox
15-04-2009, 10:28 PM
thats a signal booster...not require if you do not suffer from weak signal...its different from splitter
liangtam
16-04-2009, 06:40 AM
call them bah, they will tell you where to get their (recommended) splitters
tromba
16-04-2009, 01:06 PM
go to ur local hardware shop or 5 kim tiam
abt $5-$9 for a regal splitter
good enough
look for one that have 3.5 db on both side best..
sherinekoh
16-04-2009, 01:41 PM
But i got it from them FOC before :D
iCuteCube
16-04-2009, 02:49 PM
You need a booster most probably.
Without a good booster, my image on the tv will get pixel white dots all around (can say quite irritating)
Image wise like those using external antenna but cant receive clearly that type of image...
Depends if your house suffer from signal lost anot
singsong88
17-04-2009, 08:32 AM
you can check your signal strength and signal quality by pressing - menu - settings - STB Info.
My signal strength is around 60% with signal quality at 100% and I got excellent video/sound.
Gausss
18-04-2009, 02:04 AM
thx all for ur replies~~ manage to get a regal spiltter.. but prob still exist :(
btw my signal strength at 40% signal quality 0% :(
chaicka
18-04-2009, 02:26 AM
thx all for ur replies~~ manage to get a regal spiltter.. but prob still exist :(
btw my signal strength at 40% signal quality 0% :(
Your internal wiring done by renovation contractor? If so, that's common for lousy contractors using sub-standards cabling + workmanship.
Is the point giving problem the main internal point? If not, try to connect the settop box to the main original HDB point/SCV point (not the ones your renovation laid).
Call StarHub to arrange onsite technician to check signal. If found signal loss due to their end (means outside main point), they will fix FOC. If found signal loss due to internal and it's your renovation works, then else you get them to rewire at a cost, or you LL cannot watch SCV.
wherehouse
18-04-2009, 11:17 AM
Your internal wiring done by renovation contractor? If so, that's common for lousy contractors using sub-standards cabling + workmanship.
Is the point giving problem the main internal point? If not, try to connect the settop box to the main original HDB point/SCV point (not the ones your renovation laid).
Call StarHub to arrange onsite technician to check signal. If found signal loss due to their end (means outside main point), they will fix FOC. If found signal loss due to internal and it's your renovation works, then else you get them to rewire at a cost, or you LL cannot watch SCV.
totally true... signal str 40%... quality 0!
liangtam
18-04-2009, 02:05 PM
TS notch telling the whole peekture of home wiring
whaleshark87
18-04-2009, 05:55 PM
Are you using the black color setup box SCV-2110C? If you are, bring it back to starhub and ask them change it for you, i used the SCV-2110C before, had lots of problem with it, especially the signal is always at 20-30%. After change to DCI155HB everything was ok already.
liangtam
18-04-2009, 06:04 PM
Are you using the black color setup box SCV-2110C? If you are, bring it back to starhub and ask them change it for you, i used the SCV-2110C before, had lots of problem with it, especially the signal is always at 20-30%. After change to DCI155HB everything was ok already.
the latest slim stb ah? no problems ah
u cannot rely on the signal strength one, cos not rated to an amount.
u can see the bit error rate tho.
whaleshark87
18-04-2009, 06:25 PM
the latest slim stb ah? no problems ah
u cannot rely on the signal strength one, cos not rated to an amount.
u can see the bit error rate tho.
got spoken to a starhub tech before, if signal is below 40% will be too low for the setup box, current setup box signal rate is 57-60%, error rate always jump thou.
liangtam
18-04-2009, 06:39 PM
got spoken to a starhub tech before, if signal is below 40% will be too low for the setup box, current setup box signal rate is 57-60%, error rate always jump thou.
u see which model first.
for the same signal, the HD box and slim set will always report around 40%
the rest reports 60%
ultimately, its the same actually. so don't pay too much attention to the percentage, unless they give it in a dBm value form.
WhiteFox
18-04-2009, 10:24 PM
The black 2110C box is quite sensitive to signals so if your home SCV signal not that ok, the box will become problematic. Otherwise, among the 3 digital boxes, I feel that this is the fastest box not to mention the most chio one :D
askh52
19-04-2009, 12:19 PM
u guys so pro at boxes... anyway, how to check signal @ hubstation?
liangtam
19-04-2009, 02:53 PM
same lor
under menu, press down 4 times, stb info.
enidihtep
19-04-2009, 07:28 PM
The problem i faced was that my HD setup box (the old one) always complaint cannot get signal if I have my cable modem and the setup box sharing the same SCV outlet.
Once I separate them to different outlet, problem solved. Conclusion, signal strength issue.
BTW, where to get the signal booster? Is there anyway to install the booster at the main SCV box outside the house (I mean, get SCV to fix that)?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.