View Full Version : Why is there no laptop promos from ISPS now?
sunkenfaith
15-04-2009, 10:39 AM
Hi, i realise that with the exception of the last IT fair (the Lenovo laptop), there are no free laptops/macbooks given away by either singnet or starhub now. Any idea why?
Been camping for nearly 1 month already... yet still noticable promos, except for the Starhub TV promo now. The rest seems to be just price discount...
My contract already expired liao... don't wanna waste it... but i scared that once i sign, later next week got a promo G_G
phuque99
15-04-2009, 11:10 AM
write to the ISPs lah, address to their marketing dept. tell them to kin kin setup laptop promo. tell them bao jiak will get thousands of sign ups from people like you if got "free" laptop, best the laptop that you desire!
steven68
15-04-2009, 11:30 AM
My Starhub contract ended since March 2008, have been waiting for free notebook for re-contract since then. Don't think they're going to do anything about it and last month I missed out the Singtel Broadband promo.
Anyway, I heard broadband pricing is going down in Sept 2009. Maybe Starhub & Singtel will start luring customers with freebies. Meanwhile, it's a waiting game.
steven68
15-04-2009, 11:39 AM
I think the ISPs will start their promo with freebies before the broadband price drops. To lure consumers to commit a 2-years contract with the current broadband plan pricing.
umpimp
15-04-2009, 11:45 AM
really free laptop?
Free laptop is not free after all it just paying installment plan
must well lower price then give free laptop
can always look for better laptop spec and price outside then the so call free one
phuque99
15-04-2009, 11:53 AM
i think people look at it two ways: either being in denial to imagine that was really free or take the subscription plan as part installment for the laptop.
umpimp
15-04-2009, 12:04 PM
i think people look at it two ways: either being in denial to imagine that was really free or take the subscription plan as part installment for the laptop.
agree but what if they 50% off subscription or more which will u pick free laptop or?
example M1 do a good start 50% off subscription on the last pc show
WestGuy
15-04-2009, 12:06 PM
I'd say its paying for a relatively subsidised laptop on an installment basis
phuque99
15-04-2009, 12:10 PM
agree but what if they 50% off subscription or more which will u pick free laptop or?
example M1 do a good start 50% off subscription on the last pc show
Seriously, I've worked on these figures before to generate consumer promotions. The bottom line is, ISPs are never in any loss-making business, despite how good you think the promotion is. As a consumer, you'll just have to be your own judge if the deal is good enough for your own cash flow, just like what someone said, it is an installment.
Just remember that regardless how you work the figures on your own cash flow, all ISPs earn a super bit profit from you already with promotion ;)
czheyuan
15-04-2009, 12:44 PM
Just remember that regardless how you work the figures on your own cash flow, all ISPs earn a super bit profit from you already with promotion ;)
Except for M1 and Pacnet that is.... Since SH and ST charge them so high and yet they have to offer the same or better rates to be competitive... In fact M1 CFO says offering fixed broadband is not really profitable, main purpose is to get their staff ready for the NGN.. Imagine ST charges Pacnet $15 for 512kbps line and Pacnet only offers me $24 for that plan, including their overhead costs...
richneo
15-04-2009, 01:02 PM
All isp reduced their marketing fund. Their so called free laptops are only around thirty to fifty percent cost to them of their advertised value.
umpimp
15-04-2009, 01:36 PM
Seriously, I've worked on these figures before to generate consumer promotions. The bottom line is, ISPs are never in any loss-making business, despite how good you think the promotion is. As a consumer, you'll just have to be your own judge if the deal is good enough for your own cash flow, just like what someone said, it is an installment.
cash flow problem is not an main issue to consumer
even those without cash flow problem they are also looking forward to save more
consumer are looking forward on cheap and good stuff
phuque99
15-04-2009, 01:46 PM
i'm just merely stating that "cheap" or "good" is relative to you and you alone with your own cash flow and cash nest. to service provider, profits are involved and you're not getting a free item. the point is that these so called promos can be viewed as installments.
umpimp
15-04-2009, 01:58 PM
i'm just merely stating that "cheap" or "good" is relative to you and you alone with your own cash flow and cash nest. to service provider, profits are involved and you're not getting a free item. the point is that these so called promos can be viewed as installments.
i dare to tell u am not the only one :s13:
1 more thing u haven't anwer my Q:
what if they 50% off subscription or more which will u pick free laptop ?
don't have to type useless info may keep for urself :s13:
phuque99
15-04-2009, 02:44 PM
i dare to tell u am not the only one :s13:
1 more thing u haven't anwer my Q:
what if they 50% off subscription or more which will u pick free laptop ?
don't have to type useless info may keep for urself :s13:
I dunno what I'll pick and I really don't care actually. Consumer internet is too darn cheap and also not very reliable.
eddy2099sg
15-04-2009, 04:51 PM
I thought not long ago there was an article in the papers about this.
Freebies are generally not free to the ISP and to the customers so with the loomy recession, they cut down on the freebies in order to maximize profits and also at times reduce cost for the customers.
des_kong
16-04-2009, 08:18 AM
Haiz sian liao, i was thinking to recontract to get a HP laptop from starhub. Not interested in the minibook promo. :(
Innocast
16-04-2009, 10:23 AM
My Starhub contract ended since March 2008, have been waiting for free notebook for re-contract since then. Don't think they're going to do anything about it and last month I missed out the Singtel Broadband promo.
Anyway, I heard broadband pricing is going down in Sept 2009. Maybe Starhub & Singtel will start luring customers with freebies. Meanwhile, it's a waiting game.
wah... wasted for one yr liao...........:D:D:D:D
sherinekoh
16-04-2009, 01:32 PM
wah... wasted for one yr liao...........:D:D:D:D
Thats sad man... the longer we wait to try to get a good promo, then before we know it, nearly the contract is up liao... haha:s31::s31::s31:
oohman
16-04-2009, 01:47 PM
I believe the IT show in June/July is gg to good esp with the worsening recession and all...
So if can tahan, hold on loh...
rahimthestud
16-04-2009, 01:52 PM
what is the IT show that is going to be held in June? Comex?
liangtam
16-04-2009, 02:46 PM
what is the IT show that is going to be held in June? Comex?
PC Show
http://www.thepcshow.com.sg/
Preacher1010
16-04-2009, 10:12 PM
ISPs laptop "freebies" are actually lower cost monthly installment plans.
freebies - No,
you still pay for it - Yes.
an example - my Macbook white...the only chance that i got to afford a Macbook without paying full cost.
so far, so worth it.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.