View Full Version : Maxonline upload speed hit only half of promised speed
voddie
15-04-2009, 11:23 AM
Hi all,
As subject line, i have been consistently experiencing horrible upload speed of around 350kbps. Have tried speedtest several times at speedtest.net (sg server). Everytime i get around 0.35 mbps only. I am on maxonline express which supposed to have 768kbps (0.75mbps) upload speed.
Anyone experience the same?
Thanks
Hi all,
As subject line, i have been consistently experiencing horrible upload speed of around 350kbps. Have tried speedtest several times at speedtest.net (sg server). Everytime i get around 0.35 mbps only. I am on maxonline express which supposed to have 768kbps (0.75mbps) upload speed.
Anyone experience the same?
Thanks
http://www.starhub.com/online/maxonline/images/p_mol_priceplan07.jpg
do u see the word "UP TO" ?they never state "confirm upload speed 768kbps"
phuque99
15-04-2009, 11:51 AM
Starhub has been messing around with their setup lately. I notice this because I monitor all my links. So your observation is right. Recently upload speed may degrade or capped to half the usual and published speed. This also went along with sustained latency spikes on random periods.
Perhaps they making some efforts to control local loop bandwidth in the effort to avoid upgrading their over-subscribed upstream links. This is just pure speculation on my part :D
richneo
15-04-2009, 01:05 PM
I'm also getting around 6 to 7mbps of the advertised 10mbps for my mol ult.
voddie
18-04-2009, 11:16 AM
Starhub has been messing around with their setup lately. I notice this because I monitor all my links. So your observation is right. Recently upload speed may degrade or capped to half the usual and published speed. This also went along with sustained latency spikes on random periods.
Perhaps they making some efforts to control local loop bandwidth in the effort to avoid upgrading their over-subscribed upstream links. This is just pure speculation on my part :D
but it seems like not everyone is getting half or lesser than promised max upload speed. count our self unlucky?
anyone else experience the same?
Pokémon
18-04-2009, 11:25 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/454720796.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
That's what I get at 11.24am.
pandipanda
18-04-2009, 11:30 AM
When I upload my files, the max i can hit is 35kbps! Really driving me crazy. I hope they won't cap the upload speed.
phuque99
18-04-2009, 12:45 PM
maybe you capped by your upload destination
tendola
18-04-2009, 12:47 PM
maybe because of the Europe jail case, they purposely cap upload so less chance for pirates liao
pandipanda
18-04-2009, 12:56 PM
oh yes. TPB....
http://www.speedtest.net/result/454780221.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/454780390.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
MOL Ultimate, less than 1/3 of 10Mbps. you should be glad with your MOL express--it give you 1/2 of 768kbps. :yawn: and beware, someone might flame you of ASKING too much--Ai Pi Ai Qi Ai Tua Liap Nee. :s13:
Me? I had gave up long ago to even complains to Starhub. just waiting for my contract to expire...
ry0suk1
18-04-2009, 02:45 PM
epos your ping is bad....
my ultimate ping 10ms most of the time.. i think is really area problem la. my gf house 12mbps only can get about the same as my
Yurikaze
18-04-2009, 03:03 PM
MOL Ultimate, less than 1/3 of 10Mbps. you should be glad with your MOL express--it give you 1/2 of 768kbps. :yawn: and beware, someone might flame you of ASKING too much--Ai Pi Ai Qi Ai Tua Liap Nee. :s13:
Me? I had gave up long ago to even complains to Starhub. just waiting for my contract to expire...
Expire liao then what? Singnet meh?
czheyuan
18-04-2009, 03:31 PM
Expire liao then what? Singnet meh?
He can also choose M1 Cable Broadband... =:p
stheng
18-04-2009, 03:37 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/454803720.png
my max ultimate monthly subscription $86.88 =:p
Yurikaze
18-04-2009, 03:38 PM
He can also choose M1 Cable Broadband... =:p
M1 fast meh? Do take note that M1 is not a veteran @ boardband wor..
xtream
18-04-2009, 03:57 PM
WHAT HAPPEN TO MY STARHUB LINE???:s11:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/454813234.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
n95crazy
18-04-2009, 04:10 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/454803720.png
my max ultimate monthly subscription $86.88 =:p
off your BT and try again
look at your ping... obviously you have BT on
Techno Pride
18-04-2009, 04:53 PM
who's going to flame for asking too much?
maybe next time, when a company exploits him/her, everyone else should keep quiet.
epos your ping is bad....
my ultimate ping 10ms most of the time.. i think is really area problem la. my gf house 12mbps only can get about the same as my
hmm? all the while I though 20+ms is good? no?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/454842609.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/454843072.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
they should have advertise the ultimate as up 2.5mbps, then it will looks like I got a steal. :s13:
BTW, in case of nitpicker, I'm not running any P2P, no other app is running except firefox.
who's going to flame for asking too much?
maybe next time, when a company exploits him/her, everyone else should keep quiet.
hmm...you might be able to find out by doing a forum search.
when I see person like that, I try to ignore him. although I have yet to use the ignore list. :)
czheyuan
18-04-2009, 06:36 PM
M1 fast meh? Do take note that M1 is not a veteran @ boardband wor..
Yup of cuz... http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2324116&page=2
Veteran doesn't mean lousy leh... As long they maintain their server and capacity it won't be an issue liao... Those users who signed up M1 Cable Broadband are happy with it wor...
Yurikaze
18-04-2009, 10:53 PM
Yup of cuz... http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2324116&page=2
Veteran doesn't mean lousy leh... As long they maintain their server and capacity it won't be an issue liao... Those users who signed up M1 Cable Broadband are happy with it wor...
Wah lao! With all the competition, they better make their prices more competitive and reasonable and more worth it for out bucks! :s13:
czheyuan
19-04-2009, 12:51 AM
Wah lao! With all the competition, they better make their prices more competitive and reasonable and more worth it for out bucks! :s13:
Eh thought M1 Cable Broadband prices are very competitive? For a higher end plan u get it for much cheaper with M1 leh compared with Starhub Cable... :s13:
liangtam
19-04-2009, 12:56 AM
Eh thought M1 Cable Broadband prices are very competitive? For a higher end plan u get it for much cheaper with M1 leh compared with Starhub Cable... :s13:
i think he meant starhub bah. it has been that price for quite long liao
Nichi
19-04-2009, 02:32 AM
BT off
using firefox
http://www.speedtest.net/result/455139820.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
using ie7
http://www.speedtest.net/result/455140759.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
santaboi
19-04-2009, 02:15 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/455413150.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/455413611.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Yurikaze
19-04-2009, 10:03 PM
i think he meant starhub bah. it has been that price for quite long liao
Yesh, I do meant starhub. And they better do something bout their bandwidth during peak hrs and their prices if not I will say byebye to them and jump already. :s12::s12::s12:
pandipanda
19-04-2009, 11:17 PM
It's been few days that the upload speed has been very poor.
I wonder if it will stay this way. Need to pick up the phone already. damnit starhub.
stheng
20-04-2009, 09:06 AM
off your BT and try again
look at your ping... obviously you have BT on
http://www.speedtest.net/result/455919284.png
BT off =:p
stheng
20-04-2009, 12:45 PM
Try again =:p
http://www.speedtest.net/result/455996197.png
Yurikaze
20-04-2009, 01:20 PM
Try again =:p
http://www.speedtest.net/result/455996197.png
What u pay is wat u get wat... http://www.speedtest.net/result/456008059.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
U see that SH has halved my upload speed...
richneo
20-04-2009, 02:08 PM
What u pay is wat u get wat... http://www.speedtest.net/result/456008059.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
wow u have a really nice ping response
Nichi
20-04-2009, 02:22 PM
u on premium?
look at post 26..
mines ok
phuque99
20-04-2009, 02:46 PM
looks like this morning and afternoon, SH chut pattern qos upload speed, lol
system8921
20-04-2009, 02:54 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/456036217.png
I'm on premium. There must be something wrong somewhere. But what the hack. Faster speed = happy customer.
pandipanda
21-04-2009, 12:55 AM
Just wanna ask, any of your upload speed has improved?
phuque99
21-04-2009, 10:08 AM
Just wanna ask, any of your upload speed has improved?
today steady pom pipi again. i'm curious what SH is up to on their local loop, maybe trying to weed out seeders?
pandipanda
21-04-2009, 05:15 PM
today steady pom pipi again. i'm curious what SH is up to on their local loop, maybe trying to weed out seeders?
Mine has been going downhill everyday. Well I don't use torrent. But I upload photos (hi res ones. 1 picture = 4MB+ and I have tonnes!) A site like Filesend which people rarely use takes so long to upload. The place I live is surrounded by old folks who don't own an internet connection. They better not cap anything. It's already slow as it is and they're lowering the speed? That's just absurd.
Tried to call them and it took over 8 mins and still didn't get through...
Nichi
21-04-2009, 05:20 PM
Mine has been going downhill everyday. Well I don't use torrent. But I upload photos (hi res ones. 1 picture = 4MB+ and I have tonnes!) A site like Filesend which people rarely use takes so long to upload. The place I live is surrounded by old folks who don't own an internet connection. They better not cap anything. It's already slow as it is and they're lowering the speed? That's just absurd.
Tried to call them and it took over 8 mins and still didn't get through...
wad speed r u uploading at and wads yr plan?
pandipanda
21-04-2009, 05:34 PM
wad speed r u uploading at and wads yr plan?
29kbps. I'm on premium plus.
phuque99
22-04-2009, 09:40 AM
not sure if this is island wide, but seems like north east and north maxonline users across all different plans have their upload speed halved. we're now almost on par with singnet's upload speed :D
pandipanda
22-04-2009, 10:30 AM
not sure if this is island wide, but seems like north east and north maxonline users across all different plans have their upload speed halved. we're now almost on par with singnet's upload speed :D
Sometimes I don't get it when people complain too much about starhub. But when they're doing this kind of f.u.c.k.e.r.y towards their customers, I think they deserved it. Hell, serve them right!
Not only we pay a huge amount of sum for the premium/ultimate plan and not getting decent upload speed or at least a stable speed, they even have to resort into capping the upload speed? I really wonder how they do business. Some people may not even do illegal stuff (such as warez, torrents -the illegal ones of course etc) and I don't think it's fair for Starhub to cap our speed. (maybe island wide!)
Ok, I'm done ranting :s22:
gdproit_tiorp
22-04-2009, 04:39 PM
I just switch to singnet from starhub and find that it is worth it.
My contract just expire.
For starhub, I pay $71.00 and singnet only around $60.00
and singnet is faster. I have make a few compliants thru
phone but no improvement.
phuque99
22-04-2009, 05:56 PM
I just switch to singnet from starhub and find that it is worth it.
My contract just expire.
For starhub, I pay $71.00 and singnet only around $60.00
and singnet is faster. I have make a few compliants thru
phone but no improvement.
off topic post to taunt SH users? :s13:
twosix
22-04-2009, 07:04 PM
I have been doing some uploading recently. I can always max out the 1Mbps uplink from my SH Premium.
pandipanda
22-04-2009, 08:05 PM
I have been doing some uploading recently. I can always max out the 1Mbps uplink from my SH Premium.
You're lucky then. :) If I may ask, which area are you staying at?
voddie
24-04-2009, 05:50 PM
you are very lucky then.
I have been testing my upload speed for the past days. I am starting to believe that my upload speed has been capped at 0.37 mbps because every time i benchmark at speedtest.net my upload rate stays at 0.37mbps. If it is connection issue, it cant be 0.37mbps all the time. it should fluctuates a little shouldnt it.
i have been hub club members for years. first time encountered such issue. tad disappointed
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.