PDA

View Full Version : LAN connection problem

ermintham
16-04-2009, 12:34 AM
Hi, im facing some issues regarding my lan connection for my desktop. it says network cable is unplugged....use to have these problem few months back...but it was intermittent, now totally cannot use. i've read that there shld be some blinking lights....but i dun see it at all.

ive tried using another cable. the other cable works on my laptop. which also mean my router has no problems. device manager shows no issue.

so can i say its the lan port of my desktop that is faulty? i read that it is part of the mobo. so i hav to change the whole motherboard?

if there are other possibilities, please let me know..currenly im on wireless and i prefer LAN due to stability.

umpimp
16-04-2009, 12:57 AM
1)if mobo still under warranty send for Rma
2) don't hav to change whole new mobo so trouble just buy a lan card :D

liangtam
16-04-2009, 06:29 AM
The answer is obvious, even to you. Isn't it? :)

ermintham
16-04-2009, 08:41 AM
1)if mobo still under warranty send for Rma
2) don't hav to change whole new mobo so trouble just buy a lan card :D

hey thanks for the reply. will get it checked out after exams.

ermintham
16-04-2009, 08:42 AM
The answer is obvious, even to you. Isn't it? :)

ur sig, wat 2wire u want?

cpuer
16-04-2009, 08:58 AM
Update your lan driver. My Gigabyte mobo also gave me this problem before, after an updated driver, it is fine now. But I do have one additional NIC plugged in, just in case :)

n2btg
16-04-2009, 11:11 AM
Buy one of those USB to Ethernet adaptor if it is really the MB spoilt and you don't want to spend lots of money repairing it.

Make sure you get one with a brand (about $30), don't get the cheapo one as they normally don't work.

cpuer
16-04-2009, 11:43 AM
Buy one of those USB to Ethernet adaptor if it is really the MB spoilt and you don't want to spend lots of money repairing it.

Make sure you get one with a brand (about $30), don't get the cheapo one as they normally don't work.

Those below $10 Realtek NIC works fine leh

Pokémon
16-04-2009, 11:44 AM

I won't recommend USB at all.

Get PCI, cheap cheap $8~$10 will do, if Gigabit is not required.

ermintham
16-04-2009, 03:37 PM
cpu-er: will try that later tonite

i dun really like to use USB too.

pokemon: what is gigabit?

where do i slot the NIC card? dun really know how it works...if i slow already then where will the LAN port be?

liangtam
16-04-2009, 03:55 PM
open up ur PC casing lor

askh52
16-04-2009, 05:02 PM
well.. hard to assist u on wat lan card to buy as u never say wat model for ur mainboard, or wat is your desktop model

cpuer
16-04-2009, 07:20 PM
The PCI slot is in white in the picture here:

http://perfectcomputerservices.com/comp_files/Computer%20Information%20Center_files/pci_slot.jpg

Plug the NIC into one of them.

ermintham
18-04-2009, 11:46 AM
hi guys, an update of my driver did the trick.

i hope it doesnt start tripping again coz the last time i updated to the latest driver, my connection keep fluctuatiing.

wherehouse
18-04-2009, 12:15 PM
hi guys, an update of my driver did the trick.

i hope it doesnt start tripping again coz the last time i updated to the latest driver, my connection keep fluctuatiing.
yay. driver update works! take note what version and model it is so that if ever, it happens again, you know which one (driver) to look for (which model)

=]

ermintham
18-04-2009, 01:46 PM
yay. driver update works! take note what version and model it is so that if ever, it happens again, you know which one (driver) to look for (which model)

=]

gigabyte's website didnt update the latest drivers.. i install all my drivers from there instead of using windows to update it. i guess i will use windows update in future for this.

wherehouse
18-04-2009, 02:11 PM
gigabyte's website didnt update the latest drivers.. i install all my drivers from there instead of using windows to update it. i guess i will use windows update in future for this.
usually u can find through realtek own website too

ermintham
18-04-2009, 08:02 PM
thanks everyone for your help. am glad the cure is so simple.