View Full Version : possible to have maxonline and singnet on 1 pc?
pker88
17-04-2009, 02:57 AM
example
if at home we got both isp
but we use 1 at a time
how we gonna config it
for pc
since MOL is auto config no need login
how does singnet configs if use 2wire under miohome or singnet bb only.
is it plug and play into ethernet and can surf and play game
or i need to set ip under ethernet?
or can i have a preset mode so i can choose?
when every i swtich to singnet or MOL?
btw miohome 3meg BB under singnet enough for WOW?
and will it DC?
since sometime i play wow on MOL is lags
newuserid
17-04-2009, 09:10 AM
not too sure about miohome, but i have both singnet bb and starhub maxonline
as long as you are on DHCP, you can easily switch (wired and wireless) between starhub and singnet
Preacher1010
17-04-2009, 10:29 AM
if you have 2 LAN ports on your PC...no problem...or 2 wifi
krazyman
17-04-2009, 11:02 AM
if you have 2 LAN ports on your PC...no problem...or 2 wifi
There is no limitation (1 Lan port also can lah) on hardware to acheive what TS wanted. In fact there are many ways to do it depending on TS network setup.
Alternatively, there are also software for setting separate profiles for different network connections.
darthsmither
17-04-2009, 11:05 AM
sorry for going off topic, but why would u want 2 networks?
mikezuper
17-04-2009, 11:07 AM
Is it because of redundancy?
sherinekoh
17-04-2009, 11:13 AM
I dun think its possible to switch between the 2 ISPS lei...
pker88
17-04-2009, 11:57 AM
what software to swtich between 2 isp
Let say u got 1 lan port only
But if buy 1 more pci lan port card will it be easlier? Just plugin both ethernet port
And set the ip for the respective isp and when want to use jist disable example network port A for MOL
And enable network port B for singet am i right?
Why i want 2 isp is if one lags i can swtich over or alternative hehe.
But if got 1 lan port example on a notebook how do we do it?
rahimthestud
17-04-2009, 12:00 PM
ahh icic... hmm i have no idea how to do this... maybe wait for the senior bros to post their advice :)
phuque99
17-04-2009, 12:01 PM
simple, just switch cable between modems.
pker88
17-04-2009, 01:52 PM
swtich cable i also need to config the ips network card settings too beside the browser proxy for singet right
Since mOL is not using any proxy and auto detected
phuque99
17-04-2009, 02:24 PM
singnet so hiam one ah, need proxy meh? use same router internal ip for both lah.
krazyman
17-04-2009, 08:35 PM
what software to swtich between 2 isp
Let say u got 1 lan port only
But if buy 1 more pci lan port card will it be easlier? Just plugin both ethernet port
And set the ip for the respective isp and when want to use jist disable example network port A for MOL
And enable network port B for singet am i right?
Why i want 2 isp is if one lags i can swtich over or alternative hehe.
But if got 1 lan port example on a notebook how do we do it?
Connect the 2 gateways to the same LAN. Example, 2wire for singnet and wrt54g for starhub. Connect 2wire to wrt54g lan port (ensure only 1 at most with dhcp on). This put them physically on same LAN. If wrt54g IP is 192.168.1.1, then set 2wire to 192.168.1.2. With these 2 gateways you have following options:
1. Change the gateway IP in your tcpip setting each time you want to change connection. A bit troublesome.
2. Add both gateways in tcpip settings and use the gateway matrix to set priority. Not perfect as it will always use the higher priority gateway unless not available.
3. Or use software like Mobile Network Switch (http://www.mobilenetswitch.com/Screenshots/) that allow you to create different profile for each connection. All you need is change the profile to switch the connection.
Mclairs83
17-04-2009, 08:47 PM
swtich cable i also need to config the ips network card settings too beside the browser proxy for singet right
Since mOL is not using any proxy and auto detected
Its been a very long time Singnet & MOL doesn't practise proxy address on browser.
they called it as "transparent proxies".
pker88
18-04-2009, 11:08 AM
ooh i didnt know when i use singnet was like longago hehe magix era & dailup.
But if i get 2 pci nic card i no need togo into those procedures ?
As i dontwant to lan my 2wire as i might get mio home with moi voice.
My main idea is my MOL is networked to share
But getting miohome or singet is for my own use just for 1pc or 1 laptop at a time.
if i get 2 pci nic card i just set according those ips in nic card so when i want to use singnet i disable my MOL nic card & renew will it work this way?
seth11
22-04-2009, 06:10 AM
get a dual - wan router and combine both speed of your isp. Just got it today and u can switch between 2 easily or can even load balance using both.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/457333496.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
tidus792
22-04-2009, 09:17 AM
That's the most elegant solution.
Sadly one has to deal with the additional expenses and limited choice of equipment.
pker88
22-04-2009, 10:19 AM
dual wan router?
But if we need to use the miovoice how as i dontwant to get extra equipment for miovoice too
Dual wan router whats your recommedations?
Btw is there a router which u can combine both isp into one connection & speedup your broadnand & gaming?
tidus792
22-04-2009, 03:07 PM
If you do go with a dual wan router you'll have to find an alternative to mio voice. Either purchase new equipment or using the computer to dial the settings for you.
I'm not aware of any dual wan router recommendations.
I think that you have too high an expectations of a dual wan connection. Due to the technical design, you cannot have both connections working as if they were only one connection.
Both connections are not aware of each other. The computer / router has to split the work between 2 connections with different tasks. It is because the task is split thus the work appears to be done faster.
It's not because X + Y = Z and you can now download at Z speed.
Given my limited understanding, you'll need a pro to further clarify my explanation in detail.
speedlight
22-04-2009, 05:44 PM
Get Dual WAN DrayTek 2820n, come with ADSL2+ modem built in and also another RJ45 port. Can be used for both SingNet and Starhub user. Load-balance and failover. Support 3.5G modem too. www.draytek.com.sg
Alternatively, get a PC/Server with multiple network cards and install the free load balancing software, you also need to get yourself a modem for SingNet connection too. Check out the Internet, there are guides to teach you how to setup one.
pker88
23-04-2009, 12:39 AM
but if i dont want to get those dual wan router
can i just get 2 pci network card
and
network card A> starhub
network card B> singnet / mio
my statrhubi s shared to router
but my singnet i plan to just connect to my own comp only
and not shared
so will it works tis way?
so when i want to swtich to network card B> singnet / mio i just enable the network card B
and disable network A
zzxxzzxx
23-04-2009, 01:27 AM
this is the cheapest way.
But if both are on, not sure how it will load-balance.
LemonT
23-04-2009, 04:25 AM
I've tried the following recently and I killed all my 3 Singnet during the experiment..lol
I have 3 singnet lines and 1 Magix
Magix gateway : 10.0.0.1 / 255.255.255.0 - Modem connected to a 5port switch
Singnet 10mbps gateway : 10.0.1.1 / 255.0.0.0
Singnet 8mbps gateway : 10.0.2.1 / 255.0.0.0
Singnet 3mbps gateway : 10.0.3.1 / 255.0.0.0
These 3 networks are connected to another 5 port switch
My Desktop has 2 NICs, so I connect 1 NIC to my magix (desktop IP : 10.0.0.20), the other NIC to the other 3 singnet plan (desktop IP : 10.0.1.2)
Using 'route add' in command prompt I can dictate which gateway / interface my traffic can go via.
Eg. My magix has lower latency so I bind my gaming traffic to go via magix. web / BT traffic goes via my Singnets as they have a larger bandwidth.
The big problem i faced when i try to combine the 3 singnet plans into 1 LAN is when I do the combination, all my 3 DSL lines and their MIO TV will die, the 'DSL' light on the modem will not light up at all.
Resolution is to call up Singnet to do a line reset, and I actually killed one of my 2wire modem during the experiment. :s13:
Windows will not be able to auto-switch the traffic for you when your default gateway is dead. You have to manual switch by altering the metric or shutting down the interface.
It's possible to set multiple IPs and gateways into 1 network interface under Windows.
liangtam
23-04-2009, 09:27 AM
ah?? u nid 4 phones service?
LemonT
23-04-2009, 10:10 AM
ah?? u nid 4 phones service?
lol yup..:s13:
pker88
23-04-2009, 12:08 PM
rofl u power
I guess i just get 2 nic card and do manual way to swtich betwwen 2 isp since i only want my starhub to share n my singnet or miohome for own room use only
Since i want my miovoice to work using 2wire than using a 3rdparty router.
Unless i want to merge both isp into one connection
But the idea of dual Wan router is nice
liangtam
23-04-2009, 02:31 PM
lol yup..:s13:
for personal use or becos of work commitment?
zzxxzzxx
23-04-2009, 03:22 PM
work commitment also dun need 3x adsl from same company bah.
seth11
23-04-2009, 06:55 PM
dual wan router?
But if we need to use the miovoice how as i dontwant to get extra equipment for miovoice too
Dual wan router whats your recommedations?
Btw is there a router which u can combine both isp into one connection & speedup your broadnand & gaming?
Dual wan router does exactly that. Me got the Linksys RV-042. It just plugs into your 2wire ethernet port and also your ethernet port of your cable modem. It does not need any additonal equipment and does not affect your mio voice. Only drawback is there is no wireless support for this model, if u looking for one with wireless, then it costs much much more. And yes.. it GREATLY helps in your BT.
seth11
23-04-2009, 06:58 PM
If you do go with a dual wan router you'll have to find an alternative to mio voice. Either purchase new equipment or using the computer to dial the settings for you.
I'm not aware of any dual wan router recommendations.
I think that you have too high an expectations of a dual wan connection. Due to the technical design, you cannot have both connections working as if they were only one connection.
Both connections are not aware of each other. The computer / router has to split the work between 2 connections with different tasks. It is because the task is split thus the work appears to be done faster.
It's not because X + Y = Z and you can now download at Z speed.
Given my limited understanding, you'll need a pro to further clarify my explanation in detail.
I thought the same too.. however, when i download stuff from newsbin, the speed got up to 1.5megabytes per second.. previously it was only max 1megabytes per second, using singnet alone. (not 1mbps, but 1megabyte)
pker88
23-04-2009, 08:28 PM
Dual wan router does exactly that. Me got the Linksys RV-042. It just plugs into your 2wire ethernet port and also your ethernet port of your cable modem. It does not need any additonal equipment and does not affect your mio voice. Only drawback is there is no wireless support for this model, if u looking for one with wireless, then it costs much much more. And yes.. it GREATLY helps in your BT.
Hmm nice idea too
So this linksys dual wan router wont affect my miohome with miovoice
But on my pc do i need to config the ip for mio since i recall i need to key in ip too but for starhub it auto config too.
seth11
23-04-2009, 08:39 PM
Hmm nice idea too
So this linksys dual wan router wont affect my miohome with miovoice
But on my pc do i need to config the ip for mio since i recall i need to key in ip too but for starhub it auto config too.
Let me Explain what i have:
1) Cable modem with digital voice home (8mbps SHBB) connected to WRT54G (DHCP enable)
2) 2wire router with built-in modem (no mio voice, DHCP Enabled)
3) Plug 1 ethernet cable each from the WRT54G and the 2wire router from the 4 ports at the back into the 2 WAN ports of RV-042. Simply like how u connect a PC to a router as you would normally.
4) Set load balancing and bind https to the specific preferred wan. Load balancing only works for download and not upload for this RV-042, costs SGD$250++
you can even add more pc/switch/wireless router connection to the RV-042 as it supports quite a few connection just like a router.
*P.S i do not have mio voice, so do not know how to advice u. But on my digital voice home, i simply connect phone to cable modem and this router does not affect at all, it simply connected to the ethernet/lan ports behind the WRT54G and 2wire, that's all. Below are my speedtest results with SNBB 10mbps and SHBB 8mps on that dual wan router.
*P.S. If sites you downloading from do not allow multiple connections, only 1 connection, then u wont see the "combined" effect. However, BT, newsgroups, and most http downloads you will see the great incrased speed in download. downloading from ftps wont see any increase so far i try. Just my 2c...
http://www.speedtest.net/result/484994346.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
LemonT
24-04-2009, 02:49 AM
for personal use or becos of work commitment?
Work cum personal lor..:s13:
BTW there are some motherboard with dual NICs that supports load-balancing. My DFI motherboard is one of them, if I have time I will try and post see if it's working.
a562140
25-04-2009, 08:27 AM
Work cum personal lor..:s13:
BTW there are some motherboard with dual NICs that supports load-balancing. My DFI motherboard is one of them, if I have time I will try and post see if it's working.
camping here for the results of your test :s12:
goenitz33
25-04-2009, 03:03 PM
is it neccessary ? lol
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.