View Full Version : Help needed to configure Singnet Bizlink Broadband
vincentmoo
17-04-2009, 12:41 PM
Anyone know how to assign a public IP to a router ? I am using singnet bizlink broadband with 14 static ip . The singnet IP is 58.58.58.41 and my IP is 58.58.58.42 , i have a range of 14 static ip with me that is 116.12.154.16-32 . I try to assign 116.12.154.16 to my router IP but i cannot access to this router using 116.12.154.16 . Any one can help?
liangtam
17-04-2009, 02:30 PM
ello~
thx for telling us u work at/for wxx hxx construction pte ltd at kim keat =:p
misato
17-04-2009, 02:42 PM
TS should remove the IP address ASAP.
geckoSG
17-04-2009, 03:20 PM
TS... pay professionals to do the job bah... (Pengz) :eek:
If that is your real IP, get ready to be bombard with Denial of Services from
today onwards by hackers...
If you are the administrator for the company, good luck to the company...
phuque99
17-04-2009, 03:21 PM
lol, what's wrong with ip address? also dunno what TS work for, let alone service running on it. ip address is public information and belongs to ISP. it is just public information being shared in public again. its a wrong believe that makes people post screen shot here, censor here censor there end up also cannot provide help, lol.
misato
17-04-2009, 03:36 PM
knowing your IP address is not a big deal. But knowing whats attached to the IP and the skill level of the person managing it is a big deal as that will determine the complexity of attempting to hack/compromise the said system. This will also determine the risk level of being tracked as the attacker will know from the type of equipment and the skill level of the person that might manage it.
However, even with such exposure, you might not be a target of a hack as there might be fatter cows to be milked out there.
congyuan
17-04-2009, 03:49 PM
Anyone know how to assign a public IP to a router ? I am using singnet bizlink broadband with 14 static ip . The singnet IP is 58.58.58.41 and my IP is 58.58.58.42 , i have a range of 14 static ip with me that is 116.12.154.16-32 . I try to assign 116.12.154.16 to my router IP but i cannot access to this router using 116.12.154.16 . Any one can help?
On your router
Your WAN Setting:
IP: 58.58.58.42
Gateway: 58.58.58.41
Your Lan Setting:
IP: 116.12.154.16
Disable NAT on the router or configure NAT based on your need.
DHCP for LAN side or you prefer static IP for all the PCs.
On your pc, either DHCP or static ip from 116.12.154.17 - 116.12.154.32, gateway will be set to your router 116.12.154.16.
you should set correct subnet mask for your WAN and LAN sides. subnet mask should be provided by singtel aready.
phuque99
17-04-2009, 03:49 PM
lol, i still don't see publishing an already public IP makes any different. people just think it is security from obscurity, don't tell dunno? TS' IP is part of Singnet's AS3758. If you really wanna DoS or hack, you can have a party, feel free to take you pick from the really "public" IP here from Singnet's range
http://www.cidr-report.org/cgi-bin/as-report?as=AS3758&v=4&view=1221
you can find more than kim keat road contruction company from "nest" of "hidden" IPs there, lol
geckoSG
18-04-2009, 10:33 PM
phuque99, the thing is, being an IT professional... No one shares their public IP
of their company, or worse clients' IP to a public forum like this...
Asking for help is one thing, as an administrator for your own company, these
infos are "commercial-in-confidence" or in short... Strictly confidential.
TS method of posting the information here asking for help is definitely not what
an administrator should do. At least post a fake IP here would be better
(scenario kinda thing). Why expose yourself unnecessary?
We can see from the way he post, he knows NUTs about configuring routers or
how the network design is suppose to be done. That's the main worry we have
for him, he seriously needs help from professional on the setup and learn from
there.
That's how I learn my stuffs, getting the right guys to teach but keep the info
confidentially. ;)
liangtam
18-04-2009, 10:59 PM
Actually hor, this sort of thing is really public information. Since SME, small-mid biz offerings are usually given 1 or 16(where 14 are usable) ips. If u see the diff range, u can see which coy applies for the respective service.
Since its public information, its hard to say the security will be affected. Ultimately, such networks are router handled at the link between ISP and respective coys.
I wonder what software I can use to draw routers and PC to label it and show u.
ykeen
18-04-2009, 11:15 PM
For TS, what congyuan specified is good enough for you. If you need further help, suggest you contact Singnet bizlink tech support then.
Since we do not have further information on your equipment model/make... etc. And not sure do you mean not able to access the router IP via your LAN, or WAN?
On a note, 58.58.*.* belongs to "CHINANET SHANDONG PROVINCE NETWORK" not Singnet
Are you specifying the correct WAN IP?
JPadPro
19-04-2009, 02:03 AM
lol, i still don't see publishing an already public IP makes any different. people just think it is security from obscurity, don't tell dunno? TS' IP is part of Singnet's AS3758. If you really wanna DoS or hack, you can have a party, feel free to take you pick from the really "public" IP here from Singnet's range
http://www.cidr-report.org/cgi-bin/as-report?as=AS3758&v=4&view=1221
you can find more than kim keat road contruction company from "nest" of "hidden" IPs there, lol
I also agree on this view. :)
phuque99
19-04-2009, 09:50 AM
phuque99, the thing is, being an IT professional... No one shares their public IP
again, that is the wrong mentality. sharing public IP is sharing public information, it makes no difference. the information is really public, even if you don't share. associating is public to his hwz nick name also makes no difference. we dunno who he is, what he is, what he is running.
and again, his public IP is public, and has always been made public by his ISP. if there's a wide open security vulnerability, it would have been found and been long exploited, sharing it here makes no difference what so ever.
it is wrong mentality (and i would say a very dangerous one) to hide IP thinking that it is safe, and letting someone know your IP means you make yourself vulnerable. security through obscurity is one of the worst belief if you're IT professional and think that helps with security.
the only question is want to share or don't want to share nia, that's all. if the mentality of don't want to share means safer, the security belief in that is sibei jialat liao.
misato
19-04-2009, 07:00 PM
again, that is the wrong mentality. sharing public IP is sharing public information, it makes no difference. the information is really public, even if you don't share. associating is public to his hwz nick name also makes no difference. we dunno who he is, what he is, what he is running.
and again, his public IP is public, and has always been made public by his ISP. if there's a wide open security vulnerability, it would have been found and been long exploited, sharing it here makes no difference what so ever.
it is wrong mentality (and i would say a very dangerous one) to hide IP thinking that it is safe, and letting someone know your IP means you make yourself vulnerable. security through obscurity is one of the worst belief if you're IT professional and think that helps with security.
the only question is want to share or don't want to share nia, that's all. if the mentality of don't want to share means safer, the security belief in that is sibei jialat liao.
this another wrong mentality. There is so many information out there which you can possible find, but if in this example, the TS never post his IP Address, you might never have taken the effort to dig his information.
Not sharing doesn't mean safe, its just being discreet. Security 101, don't tell people things you don't want people to have their attention on. Even if you have the safest safe in the world, you would not intentionally tell people that you have one. It will attract the wrong kind of people to take interests in you. You will never know one of them is a genuine crook who wants to steal the item stored inside your safest safe or a gifted locksmith who just want to break your safest safe for the sake of breaking it. In the process, your losses can be unimaginable.
Information that is deem useless/harmless to you might be worth a lot of another. This is why, any decent IT company will have you sign a non-disclosure of information agreement when you work with them.
PS: not trying to flame here, but if you have such a mentality, that itself is also sibei sibei jialat.
phuque99
19-04-2009, 07:42 PM
this another wrong mentality. There is so many information out there which you can possible find, but if in this example, the TS never post his IP Address, you might never have taken the effort to dig his information.
Not sharing doesn't mean safe, its just being discreet. Security 101, don't tell people things you don't want people to have their attention on. Even if you have the safest safe in the world, you would not intentionally tell people that you have one. It will attract the wrong kind of people to take interests in you. You will never know one of them is a genuine crook who wants to steal the item stored inside your safest safe or a gifted locksmith who just want to break your safest safe for the sake of breaking it. In the process, your losses can be unimaginable.
Information that is deem useless/harmless to you might be worth a lot of another. This is why, any decent IT company will have you sign a non-disclosure of information agreement when you work with them.
PS: not trying to flame here, but if you have such a mentality, that itself is also sibei sibei jialat.
i personally think you're missing the point. i do agree with you, 100% that non-disclosed item should not be disclosed for attention. i also agree with you in your example, your safe location should not be disclosed, your company's information is always subjected to NDA. i'm with you on that one.
Public IP is precisely what it is, *public*. Exposing a public IP has no risk. Putting a risk value at non-disclosure of IP address is a sibei jialat security mentality because hiding IP addresses makes no safer than exposing it. The so called "hidden" public IP has footprint all over the Internet the moment you start using it. It takes a script kiddy to expose what is exploitable if it is not secure. A good mentality of security is broadcasting your IP address on channel 5 news and fearing nothing.
misato
19-04-2009, 08:49 PM
i personally think you're missing the point. i do agree with you, 100% that non-disclosed item should not be disclosed for attention. i also agree with you in your example, your safe location should not be disclosed, your company's information is always subjected to NDA. i'm with you on that one.
Public IP is precisely what it is, *public*. Exposing a public IP has no risk. Putting a risk value at non-disclosure of IP address is a sibei jialat security mentality because hiding IP addresses makes no safer than exposing it. The so called "hidden" public IP has footprint all over the Internet the moment you start using it. It takes a script kiddy to expose what is exploitable if it is not secure. A good mentality of security is broadcasting your IP address on channel 5 news and fearing nothing.
I think you are just not seeing my point.
I can have the most secured unhackable setup and if i purposely bring the attention of the world to my IP Address (there quite a few millions of them, that makes TS ones just a couple inside them, kinda like needle in a haystack). I am more like openly inviting trouble. One thing i believe, there is no such thing as a unhackable connected system.
Hackers are always on the look out for good targets and one like TS is especially delicious. So instead of letting them sniff through a few millions address to look for that 1 kill, by publishing your information, it is akin to begging them to give you the kick in your ass. Its the same as trying to tell who is the idiot and who is the genius. Without opening one mouth, you will find it hard to tell which one is which. Once the idiot open his mouth, all doubt is cleared saving you trouble and time trying to make an educated guess.
The same theory applies. All the IP Address looks the same, vulnerable. Once someone post his real IP and ask for help on something that is apparently simple, without needing for a second thought, you can nearly safely assume the security of the system on this IP address range would quite naked.
It unavoidable leaving your IP footprints all over the net but by exposing yourself, you are bound to invite curious minds. Using this thread as an example. Do note that all this while before this thread, information on this set of IP range is already publicly available. If TS never post his IP Address, you might never have taken interests in digging more about it and most likely you might not even know the existence of such a company. .
This is what I am trying to bring across. Security is also not a single factor thing. Being public itself is already not safe. Last thing you want is to have your site be a highlight in this vast WWW. Facts shows that the more well know a site is, the more likelihood it is to be a target of a hack. Exposing yourself like what TS did is only merely adding to your risk.
geckoSG
19-04-2009, 10:17 PM
Interesting debate here on IT Security practices.
We may not know what the setup the TS is looking at currently or how is he
intending to set it up.
We just want to hightlight tat a good security practice is not to share too much
information than necessary. Misato has already highlighted the main point here.
I shall not elaborate more... Hope TS got his stuff working liao... =:p
phuque99
19-04-2009, 11:25 PM
Yeah, I agree to disagree with misato's point of view totally, except the part about bringing attention to the IP address. That aside, public hosts should *always* be secure, when revealed, published or otherwise and that factor should not be part of the risk consideration. IP address are routinely made public, explicity and intentionally by IT professionals, they are called DNS :D
Debate and beliefs aside as these are personal, the best answer to the TS question is call your AM. Hopefully your AM is chio also but she should hook you up with someone in can step you through the process. You're a commercial subscriber so you're entitled to bang table and be the obnoxious commercial customer to demand immediate help to get your link up and running.
misato
20-04-2009, 12:43 AM
Yeah, I agree to disagree with misato's point of view totally, except the part about bringing attention to the IP address. That aside, public hosts should *always* be secure, when revealed, published or otherwise and that factor should not be part of the risk consideration. IP address are routinely made public, explicity and intentionally by IT professionals, they are called DNS :D
Debate and beliefs aside as these are personal, the best answer to the TS question is call your AM. Hopefully your AM is chio also but she should hook you up with someone in can step you through the process. You're a commercial subscriber so you're entitled to bang table and be the obnoxious commercial customer to demand immediate help to get your link up and running.
I do not know what you are trying to say below.
IP address are routinely made public, explicity and intentionally by IT professionals, they are called DNS :D
Is it suppose be a test of my knowledge with DNS and internet technologies?
Why would you advertise your IP address and not your DNS name?
The only time such occurrence occurs is when you have a DNS query happening and that is handled by a name resolver unless you use tools like nslookup to query. Else to almost every other users, they will know a website by its url and not its IP Address.
For example, most people would know www.google.com, but how many of these people actually access this search engine by typing its IP address?
phuque99
20-04-2009, 07:28 AM
I do not know what you are trying to say below.
Is it suppose be a test of my knowledge with DNS and internet technologies?
It is not a test, DNS is merely advertising public IP addresses in a readable name. DNS entries are done intentionally to publish to public, the public IP(s)
xinus84
20-04-2009, 10:29 AM
domain names are simply an easier way to remember rather than typing in numbers.
who would wan to type in 123.123.123.123 whenever they wan to search on google.
a ping check on www.google.com reveals the ip address anyway.
maybe TS is doing discreet advertising and marketing? good job there. if so, ur coy should b proud of u. thumbs up.
liangtam
20-04-2009, 12:56 PM
domain names are simply an easier way to remember rather than typing in numbers.
who would wan to type in 123.123.123.123 whenever they wan to search on google.
a ping check on www.google.com reveals the ip address anyway.
maybe TS is doing discreet advertising and marketing? good job there. if so, ur coy should b proud of u. thumbs up.
You think too much le. You can't sell construction service to general IT/networking sector end users.
misato
20-04-2009, 11:26 PM
It is not a test, DNS is merely advertising public IP addresses in a readable name. DNS entries are done intentionally to publish to public, the public IP(s)
first thing first... DNS is not equal to an IP Address.
DNS name might be an IP Address but there is always many forms of DNS names like alias.
Next thing, a DNS name does not advertise itself. Its akin to a name next to the telephone number in a phonebook. Please know the differences.
Last thing, not all IP address have a DNS name. A example, a private class C IP address like 192.168.1.1 does not have a name, however if you have a DNS server which you can query to, you can map a DNS name to it. Sometimes, you might query back from a private range IP address from a public DNS name. It can be due to an inexperience DNS administrator, or it could have been done on purpose so their remote workers on VPN will be able to address a intranet resource no matter where they are without specially making complicated changes to their system. It is also very common for intranet to have their own DNS server with their own DNS entries that is not accessible to the PUBLIC.
phuque99
21-04-2009, 12:25 AM
Agree with you totally, but that's not what I meant. I meant IT professionals routinely advertises their IP address, via DNS.
ahjames
21-04-2009, 02:22 PM
hmm, TS has not responded since his post, actually we have no idea does that set of ip belongs to his company or his set is just similar to what he posted.
geckoSG
21-04-2009, 10:37 PM
Agree with you totally, but that's not what I meant. I meant IT professionals routinely advertises their IP address, via DNS.
Yes, we advertise our IP address via DNS, but that is often only when we need to
publish services like web, mail, etc. But to publish your range of IPs is not a good
practice and adds risks. That's what we wanted to put across.
:o
vincentmoo
23-04-2009, 10:30 AM
sorry for late reply to all, ofcourse i won't post the correct public ip here. These IP is a fake ip. So , please stop fighting everyone, thanks again for the help .
liangtam
23-04-2009, 02:33 PM
sorry for late reply to all, ofcourse i won't post the correct public ip here. These IP is a fake ip. So , please stop fighting everyone, thanks again for the help .
Hmm, I dun think so... :)
Ask ykeen help u remove bah
vincentmoo
23-04-2009, 06:30 PM
Alamak!! told u guys already...this is not my public ip lar...you can try to hack it or do whatever to it....
THIS IS NOT MY PUBLIC IP....GOT IT??
ricky_6413
05-06-2009, 02:29 PM
Alamak!! told u guys already...this is not my public ip lar...you can try to hack it or do whatever to it....
THIS IS NOT MY PUBLIC IP....GOT IT??
i am going to apply this singnet bizlink as well, but may i know that is this singnet bizlink require any username and password to connect ? As i know, it is using phone line connection to internet instead of fibre cable or RJ45.
Thanks.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.