PDA

View Full Version : My DIR655 dead?

WhiteFox
18-04-2009, 10:20 PM
Yesterday someone moved the power socket and the adapter got loosen from it so the router was off. Then just now when I insert it back again, the router couldn't receive any IP from the modem.

I've tried to power cycle both equipments, reset the router (using the back reset button), cloning the MAC (this is what the DLink helpdesk asked me to do), change LAN cable and I still can't get any IP.

If I bypass the router and plug my pc in directly into the modem, I can get an IP no problem.

My DIR655 dead? I bought it off someone brand new when he signed MOL Ultimate and got it as a gift. Used it for roughly a week only :(

phuque99
18-04-2009, 10:30 PM
go 1 to 1 exchange, dlink lifetime warranty.

liangtam
18-04-2009, 10:47 PM
Time to RMA bah...?

WhiteFox
18-04-2009, 10:51 PM
it's so far at Jurong East :(

didn't know the router so weak, kana a bit like that die liao. luckily I still have my DGL4300 lying ard

liangtam
18-04-2009, 11:01 PM
u see if the LED for WAN port is blinking first not.

if u still have receipt can go authorised center pcpro funan rma

WhiteFox
18-04-2009, 11:04 PM
The WAN LED port is the 2nd LED am i right? It keeps blinking non stop

liangtam
18-04-2009, 11:18 PM
Oh, theres no WAN LED(2nd LED is status, which always blink), go status page see whether cable status disconnected not, if yes, port malfunction

Anyway, jus bring for RMA bah, more easier for u oso.

iCuteCube
19-04-2009, 03:27 AM
it's so far at Jurong East :(

didn't know the router so weak, kana a bit like that die liao. luckily I still have my DGL4300 lying ard

You can go to funan level 5, there is a service hub for dlink.

zzz6jr
19-04-2009, 07:55 AM
It could be the power adapter spoil.

WhiteFox
19-04-2009, 08:00 AM
It could be the power adapter spoil.

if power adapter spoil, I can't even power up the router :(

outer92
19-04-2009, 09:54 AM
You can go to funan level 5, there is a service hub for dlink.

109 North Bridge Road
#05-41 Funan The Digitalife Mall
Singapore 179097

Enquiry (65) 6338 3854

Operating Hours
Monday - Sunday (11am to 8pm)

* Please note that PCPro Computer Services is NOT providing any form of testing and technical advices. Should your device need testing or technical advices, please contact D-Link Technical Support Hotline at 6501 4200

tromba
19-04-2009, 10:30 AM
still got warranty
go dlink bang table lor

tromba
19-04-2009, 10:32 AM
go 1 to 1 exchange, dlink lifetime warranty.

If My memory dun serve me wrong
Dlink 655 is only 1 yr limited warranty

liangtam
19-04-2009, 10:48 AM
it is lifetime
adapter 1 yr

Pokémon
19-04-2009, 11:16 AM
It seems like a power cycling of the modem & router is required. Have you already done it? Seems not to me.

The best is to off all devices, reconnect the network cables, then on the modem, followed by router 5 seconds later.

iCuteCube
19-04-2009, 11:38 AM
it is lifetime
adapter 1 yr

I am 99% sure that all pure wireless product (other then NAS/IP CAM/modem routers)
are life time warranty.

If the product EOL, they will cover the warranty for the next 5years from the date they EOL the model, I just called and check.

ICC.

tidus792
19-04-2009, 01:52 PM
Lifetime for the router.

1 year for the power adapter. It costs about $30 ish for a new one. Small price to pay for a life time product.

tromba
19-04-2009, 02:43 PM
cos i rem the teh box stated so
hahahaha
like i say my memory dun fail me

think i getting old liao

liangtam
19-04-2009, 02:56 PM
the booklet did state 1 yr actually, buts its lifetime.

WhiteFox
19-04-2009, 05:39 PM
It seems like a power cycling of the modem & router is required. Have you already done it? Seems not to me.

The best is to off all devices, reconnect the network cables, then on the modem, followed by router 5 seconds later.

Power cycle the equipment was the 1st thing I did when I found out it was off :(

WhiteFox
19-04-2009, 05:39 PM
I thought the Funan one is only if you have receipt? Else have to go down to Jurong there?

WhiteFox
19-04-2009, 06:34 PM
wa! I pressed the reset button for 30 secs when it's off and reconnect again and now it's working! phew! no need go Jurong liao :D