View Full Version : Have to select a Operating System on Startup
.Bobby
30-04-2009, 05:57 PM
Hey guys,
Recently when I power ON my computer, I would have to go through this process of having to 'choose an Operating System' - resulting in slower computer start up time, and me needing to be there to hit ENTER, or wait 30secs for autoload.
This screen appears after the checking of CMOS, and what not. Here's a screenshot:
http://i40.tinypic.com/63u8ua.jpg
Any advice on how to resolve this would be very appreciated.
Thanks!
ayuluv
30-04-2009, 06:00 PM
ok.. easy.. go download vistabootpro.. and delete those unnecessary boot ups.. it will solve ur issue effortlessly =)
for xp i not sure vistabootpro can work but u can google something like xpbootpro and such...
rite click on my computer, sel properties, advanced, startup n recovery setting. there can chg :s42:
ayuluv
30-04-2009, 06:10 PM
rite click on my computer, sel properties, advanced, startup n recovery setting. there can chg :s42:
i tink if there are some corrupted booting issue like cannot leh... cos dat time i oso cant remove...
can also use notepad to edit boot.ini at root dir. but rmbr to create a backup 1st :s42:
wcheewee
30-04-2009, 06:15 PM
Hey guys,
Recently when I power ON my computer, I would have to go through this process of having to 'choose an Operating System' - resulting in slower computer start up time, and me needing to be there to hit ENTER, or wait 30secs for autoload.
This screen appears after the checking of CMOS, and what not. Here's a screenshot:
http://i40.tinypic.com/63u8ua.jpg
Any advice on how to resolve this would be very appreciated.
Thanks!
Did you install the OS without del the previous OS?
ayuluv
30-04-2009, 06:16 PM
can also use notepad to edit boot.ini at root dir. but rmbr to create a backup 1st :s42:
ya.. dat one i read.. but i noob so use s/w LOL
.Bobby
30-04-2009, 06:41 PM
Ah yeah. I think that will fix it. Will post back when I reboot later.
Did you install the OS without del the previous OS?
No, the only OS I installed is, Windows XP SP3. :)
Thanks for all your help guys.
Edgardavids
30-04-2009, 06:50 PM
ya.. dat one i read.. but i noob so use s/w LOL
Then at the end, your comp will be full of files used only one time... i used to use sw alot... but then i realize they only make some changes which can be done manually... so never use any tweaking sw now...
TS, when you edit the boot.ini file, be careful to delete the whole line containing the os that you dun want, and keep your main one untouched. If you are not sure can verify by the partition number.
.Bobby
01-05-2009, 11:27 AM
Update:
rite click on my computer, sel properties, advanced, startup n recovery setting. there can chg
That worked.
+1 man!
ajax_84
01-05-2009, 02:29 PM
good to know ! =)
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.