View Full Version : Starhub mobile broadband
narutiment
01-05-2009, 09:31 AM
Hi guys, current starhub promotion : $8.95 for 1st 8 months, with free 1mbps mobile broadband, is it worth to get it?
Is there any cap to the 1mbps mobile bb, or its unlimited usage monthly? Can be used on handphones at any places in Singapore right?
Thanks a lot!
phuque99
01-05-2009, 09:58 AM
most of your question, call singnet you get straight and correct answer directly, from the horse's mouth.
Why Singnet ?
pker88
01-05-2009, 11:41 AM
he is asking for starhub mobile broadband
Best u go ask starhub as hub got diff plan but by right its unlimited
tromba
01-05-2009, 01:11 PM
1 mbps is a free unlimited services
Lowest subscription plan is 2mbps
iCuteCube
01-05-2009, 01:14 PM
I thought lowest 2mb?
tungsten2
01-05-2009, 01:29 PM
https://secure.starhub.com/content/img/2009/mol93197_580x250.jpg
Looks tempting
Guest_User
01-05-2009, 02:51 PM
Why Singnet ?
because u call starhub they only tell u the good things not the bad
douche
01-05-2009, 03:43 PM
wanna sign up, better faster sign up now becos 2 yr contract, after 2 yrs the broadband scene will explode...
the national broadband thingy is on the way...
Guest_User
01-05-2009, 07:04 PM
wanna sign up, better faster sign up now becos 2 yr contract, after 2 yrs the broadband scene will explode...
explode liao then what happen?:s11::s11:
Hi guys, current starhub promotion : $8.95 for 1st 8 months, with free 1mbps mobile broadband, is it worth to get it?
Is there any cap to the 1mbps mobile bb, or its unlimited usage monthly? Can be used on handphones at any places in Singapore right?
Thanks a lot!
I am currently on this plan.You can use the SIM card,insert into a mobilephone to surf,but cannot make call.But 1Mbps speed only.
Asakura
01-05-2009, 11:40 PM
because u call starhub they only tell u the good things not the bad
so i call singtel
they will tell me both the good and the bad?
douche
02-05-2009, 02:11 AM
explode liao then what happen?:s11::s11:
everything will become cheap lor...
then it'll be like pacnet vs cyberway vs singnet vs magix vs scv all over again...
narutiment
02-05-2009, 01:41 PM
https://secure.starhub.com/content/img/2009/mol93197_580x250.jpg
Looks tempting
yep I was referring to this promotion.
sorry I am quite backdated, when will the national broadband price wage start to occur roughly? Within this 2 yrs? If so, its not worth to recontract right?
I am currently on this plan.You can use the SIM card,insert into a mobilephone to surf,but cannot make call.But 1Mbps speed only.
Can I pay for the 3G SIM card and just use for surfing net, even if I am not a starhub mobile user?
bad points..http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.7273114aa60b9ac6265d8a608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=0a46a7186bb7c010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD&vgnextfmt=ItemCMId%3A5e453f890d435110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD
# Unlimited usage for MaxMobile SurfLite and MaxMobile Ultimate data plans applies only to local data traffic. The customer will be charged at the prevailing rates for data traffic used outside of Singapore.
The maximum cap for charges at $96.14 per month for MaxMobile Lite and MaxMobile Value data plans includes the monthly charges and applies only to local data traffic. The customer will be charged at the prevailing rates for data traffic used outside of Singapore.
liangtam
02-05-2009, 01:57 PM
bad points..http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.7273114aa60b9ac6265d8a608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=0a46a7186bb7c010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD&vgnextfmt=ItemCMId%3A5e453f890d435110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD
# Unlimited usage for MaxMobile SurfLite and MaxMobile Ultimate data plans applies only to local data traffic. The customer will be charged at the prevailing rates for data traffic used outside of Singapore.
The maximum cap for charges at $96.14 per month for MaxMobile Lite and MaxMobile Value data plans includes the monthly charges and applies only to local data traffic. The customer will be charged at the prevailing rates for data traffic used outside of Singapore.
non-local means use outside singapore, i.e. any country say msia, thai etc
that clause no nid worry
narutiment
02-05-2009, 02:17 PM
Hmm so it means I just need to pay for the 3G SIM at ~ $38 and registration fee $10.70 and I can surf for unlimited usage monthly for 2 years as long as I am inside Singapore right?
The local data usage doesn't refer to only local pages right? Pages like BBC news from overseas can still be viewed without extra charges right?
y2c_whtdouwant
02-05-2009, 02:26 PM
Hmm so it means I just need to pay for the 3G SIM at ~ $38 and registration fee $10.70 and I can surf for unlimited usage monthly for 2 years as long as I am inside Singapore right?
The local data usage doesn't refer to only local pages right? Pages like BBC news from overseas can still be viewed without extra charges right?
As long as you use the mobile bb in Singapore, it will be considered local data usage. No restrictions on the sites you visit.
You miss out the monthly charges for data plan.
that clause no nid worry
so thats what it means...
what i thought it literally means is that only if visiting singapore websites is free and if visit overseas websites like CNN and maybe even Youtube then need to pay.
anyway shot an email to starhub regarding it to see their intrepetation of the clause.
liangtam
03-05-2009, 01:30 AM
what i thought it literally means is that only if visiting singapore websites is free and if visit overseas websites like CNN and maybe even Youtube then need to pay.
anyway shot an email to starhub regarding it to see their intrepetation of the clause.
i think if this is the case, all current maxmobile user would have seen red in the bills already.
of course the local meant literally using in singapore lah
unseen
03-05-2009, 02:43 AM
yep I was referring to this promotion.
sorry I am quite backdated, when will the national broadband price wage start to occur roughly? Within this 2 yrs? If so, its not worth to recontract right?
Can I pay for the 3G SIM card and just use for surfing net, even if I am not a starhub mobile user?
From what I understand, it'll start rolling out next year, to be completed by 2012.
Whether you're up for it nor not, depends on where singtel starts to deploy the network.
probably hdb areas + corporate areas 1st, private housing last.
Imagine 1000mbps for $121.. or $21 for a 100mbps
it's worth recontracting now, and just sticking it out for the moment.. but if you do a 3 year re-contract..
anyway the ngnbn (next gen broadband network) is for landlines, it's not for mobile. If mobile, you'll need to wait for singtel/starhub/m1 to roll out LTE network, and buy LTE handsets to enjoy higher speeds. Starhub is currently offering about the highest speeds our mobile networks can support.
Innocast
03-05-2009, 07:13 AM
u dun complicated prob la.... local usage mean those usage when u use it in sg la..........
i'm both starhub and singtel mobile bb user, i can confirm..........
tidus792
03-05-2009, 10:26 AM
I don't forsee high speeds for cheap prices in 2012.
They're already charging $100+ for the FTTH. They look set to maximize their profits.
US has been charging increasingly ridiculous prices for their slow internet speeds. There's no reason the monopolies here cannot do the same.
Even if they did advertise high speeds, I doubt most can use up to those speeds given how they've been throttling BT and providing slow / poor overseas link. (Looks at SH)
Even ST is decreased their speeds from 8 to 6.
I miss the times of SCV vs magix.
satay16
03-05-2009, 11:47 AM
i think the new broadband thing wun be much of an issue. i'm paying prices for starhub's 1.5mbps last time, but they just keep upgrading without any increase in prices. the worse that can happen is that you are tied down with a 100mbps broadband at 50 bucks per month while other new signups cost maybe just lower. but if by that time you are left with just a short while from end of contract, the lost is still not as bad as paying the full undiscounted amount for many months just for the sake of not being bound by contract.
denniszz
03-05-2009, 04:15 PM
I asked about this plan, but need to purchase the usb modem in order to use 1mbps mobile broadband @ $130++... :(
Innocast
03-05-2009, 04:21 PM
I asked about this plan, but need to purchase the usb modem in order to use 1mbps mobile broadband @ $130++... :(
u mean the modem is $130++ only???that' cheap...........
dakl2000
03-05-2009, 04:25 PM
$130++ is cheap. Just got 1 yesterday at $168.
Innocast
03-05-2009, 04:30 PM
$130++ is cheap. Just got 1 yesterday at $168.
u buy from where???????
narutiment
03-05-2009, 05:45 PM
I asked about this plan, but need to purchase the usb modem in order to use 1mbps mobile broadband @ $130++... :(How about if I am using it on a handphone only? That way I do not have to purchase the stick right?
dakl2000
03-05-2009, 11:40 PM
u buy from where???????
Mediapro at SLS.
n95crazy
04-05-2009, 12:57 PM
I don't forsee high speeds for cheap prices in 2012.
They're already charging $100+ for the FTTH. They look set to maximize their profits.
US has been charging increasingly ridiculous prices for their slow internet speeds. There's no reason the monopolies here cannot do the same.
Even if they did advertise high speeds, I doubt most can use up to those speeds given how they've been throttling BT and providing slow / poor overseas link. (Looks at SH)
Even ST is decreased their speeds from 8 to 6.
I miss the times of SCV vs magix.
i won't bet on singnet reducing prices but i can foresee starhub fighting to be #1
and when that happens, i'm sure prices will be reduced accordingly...
right now we are not enjoying lower prices but we get better packages... now maxonline plus plans come with free mobile broadband... if i don't remember wrongly, starhub was the 1st to introduce such a bundle... so starhub FTW!
VainKid
04-05-2009, 02:04 PM
so is it worth paying for the modem and enjoy free 1mbps or should i take up the normal plan with free modem
VainKid
04-05-2009, 02:05 PM
is it the same thing as what starhub is selling ? scare sim card not compatible
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.f2b59af84f3db376da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=ef5509d13e9d4110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD
Costs is about $198.
skyrain
05-05-2009, 03:44 PM
or wait awhile to see the $27 mobile boardband come back again?
Sausage
07-05-2009, 08:34 PM
Can we use other USB modems like the huawei E220 with the Starhub sim card?
Innocast
08-05-2009, 12:21 AM
u are noob la.... local data traffic referring to usage in sg.... it does not mean data traffic to foreign website la! :s7::s7::s7::s7:
Sausage
09-05-2009, 09:00 PM
Can I confirm that starhub mobile bb under the maxonline premium plus plan is unlimited? Not charged per kb?
liangtam
09-05-2009, 11:23 PM
Can I confirm that starhub mobile bb under the maxonline premium plus plan is unlimited? Not charged per kb?
yes, unlimited 1mbps
aileen99
10-05-2009, 01:02 AM
do u know starhub that time having laptop promo, the laptop below the battery compartment can insert this mobile broadband simcard and it will be ready to use. if your laptop have this function then u no need to buy the usb moderm
kouglof
15-05-2009, 12:17 AM
who knows, which SIM card should i use if i just wanna use it for surfing internet by mobile-phone?
how much is it, n how long is the period?
thank you.. ^^
tkhhardwarezone
15-05-2009, 09:59 AM
Mediapro at SLS.
just check if your $168 bought from simlim compatible with starhub or singtel data sim card?
i have the sim card built in my laptop, thinking to buy a usb dongle like yours to slot the sim card for flexible usage.
dakl2000
15-05-2009, 01:18 PM
I am using Starhub sim card. Shouldn't be a problem for other telcos' cards though I haven't tried it.
FireHobbit
15-05-2009, 06:57 PM
now is really based...
VainKid
16-05-2009, 10:42 AM
Still waiting for good promo to hit IT fair... My maxonline can contract le... the phone operator of starhub says its worth to pay for the dongle overtime , I'm still thinkin to get dongle or the wireless home modem
tonyguy1977
22-05-2009, 04:32 PM
starhub surflite 2mbps for $19.36,waived sim card activation and registration fee charge,
good deal or not?
MyNameIsNas
22-05-2009, 11:01 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/479252314.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Donno where to post this haha.. test it with 7.2mbps starhub mbb... Probably first time getting such results haha.. in NP now :D
sg_trader
08-06-2009, 07:23 PM
is the 8.95 offer still on?
Innocast
08-06-2009, 08:47 PM
starhub surflite 2mbps for $19.36,waived sim card activation and registration fee charge,
good deal or not?
good deal of course, i had the same offer 1 year ago... now serving my 1 more year contract.............:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
stephen30
10-06-2009, 03:49 PM
Hi everyone, anyone here staying northeast area?
I stay at hougang and would like to find out from anyone who stays here and also using the maxmobile, how is the internet connection? Good? Stable?
How about anyone here using the HP mini 1110TU 3.5G if any?
This is because i am planning to sign up soon if everything is fine.
I have tried M1 before but the internet connection was really terrible so i won't be getting this.
Many thanks for anyone who can provide more infos. :)
Keo_86
10-06-2009, 07:23 PM
that clause no nid worry
does this means...we can actually surf oversea with this stick? but just tat have to pay extra $$$?? coz I tot went go overseas...it can't detect..and it can't be use liao.....anyone correct me?
cscs3
10-06-2009, 09:10 PM
I think roaming price for data plan is US$25 per 1M of data.
satay16
10-06-2009, 09:28 PM
*thumbsup* great price, very cheap:s13:, wonder how's the speed overseas when BTing.
PsyNidE
10-06-2009, 09:41 PM
*thumbsup* great price, very cheap:s13:, wonder how's the speed overseas when BTing.
mobile broadband is not meant for BT actually
PsyNidE
10-06-2009, 09:43 PM
from my personal experience, Starhub's mobile broadband speed is much more stable in various parts of SG. For Singnet, it is less stable. Stable as in it is supposed to give you the speed that you subscribed to or near its speed u're supposed to get.
czheyuan
11-06-2009, 12:13 AM
mobile broadband is not meant for BT actually
Hmm not really.. My M1 1Mbps mobile BB is able to achieve maximum throughput of 100kB/sec even during peak hrs... Probably due to the many seeds available..
However, for mobile BB, if BT is maximised, surfing speed may be affected lo.. If both at the same time..
Keo_86
14-06-2009, 05:36 PM
WTF.....REALLY ANOT???:s31: ...anyway..the roaming is AUTO one or still mus subscribe one? if I go msia...can i just plug in and still use the bb???
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.