View Full Version : Replacement for Mio ?
hellstormer
04-05-2009, 02:36 PM
Hi All Wireless Techno Guru...
Is there any equivalent replacement for Mio router supply by SingTel ? :s16:
Wishes to replace it...:s22:
Anyone change before ? Can share ?
Cheers !!! :s12:
cpuer
04-05-2009, 02:40 PM
features for features, the 2wire is irreplaceable. But If you are only using it to access internet, then it is replaceable by every retail routers out there.
hellstormer
05-05-2009, 11:43 AM
Yea... Looking some other brand to replace it for sometime already but still no avail...
Seems like they have monopolize the market,,,:s27:
liangtam
05-05-2009, 11:45 AM
u wan change change lor, no one stopping u mah
Ah_Ben
05-05-2009, 11:49 AM
if u using digital voice den dun think there's anyway to change...
hellstormer
05-05-2009, 11:53 AM
if u using digital voice den dun think there's anyway to change...
Yup using digital voice... So that when monopolize starts.... Or no other company interested in manufacture this type of routers...:s31:
So no other choice hv to stick wi it...:s27:
Ah_Ben
05-05-2009, 12:08 PM
duno...still sticking wif it lor..ytd they juz change my old silver 2wire to the white 2wire...
hellstormer
05-05-2009, 02:05 PM
duno...still sticking wif it lor..ytd they juz change my old silver 2wire to the white 2wire...
Woh why did they change yr old silver to white one ? Any diff ?
Is it cos yr silver one died ???
Ah_Ben
05-05-2009, 02:14 PM
nope...coz my silver's adapter was faulty...2mths ago...tt time they got no stocks for the adapter so they ask mi to go down to malifax which is the distro to change..but i got no time to go down on wk days as i off work later den them...
so drag until last wk i called them if they got stocks for the adapter...they say can come down change for mi...end up come down the tech c liao he say silver's adapter no more le...so either they change the whole modem or not change anything for mi...
ya so...wat can i choose...
end up nid 2 re-forward my port n set my fax machine agn...
hellstormer
06-05-2009, 09:11 AM
nope...coz my silver's adapter was faulty...2mths ago...tt time they got no stocks for the adapter so they ask mi to go down to malifax which is the distro to change..but i got no time to go down on wk days as i off work later den them...
so drag until last wk i called them if they got stocks for the adapter...they say can come down change for mi...end up come down the tech c liao he say silver's adapter no more le...so either they change the whole modem or not change anything for mi...
ya so...wat can i choose...
end up nid 2 re-forward my port n set my fax machine agn...
Now I'm in the 2nd contract with Mio... The first set was alrite, using it for ard 2 yrs... Recently when they change the all-in-one Mio then things started to have hipcup...
Being harassing Singtel and their sub-con Technician for almost 2 mths. After all fault finding, they replace a USED silver mio set, saying that the new set was faulty... Then everything work again.
But recently my vista platform keeps on logging out and unable to connect onto the net...
Sick.... That why looking for any replacement....
Ah_Ben
06-05-2009, 09:32 AM
im juz hoping my white set doesnt giv mi more problems man...though last nite got some hiccups...
internet was connected...everything swee swee...den go FF...can go my homepage...but cant surf other websites...den fax machince cum printer was down...no network connecting to it...looked at my moden...all the lights which r suppose light up r lighted up...duno wat happened...but after a few mins all is well agn...
tis is the 4th modem they changed for mi...previous 3 was the silver 1...
Hi All Wireless Techno Guru...
Is there any equivalent replacement for Mio router supply by SingTel ? :s16:
Wishes to replace it...:s22:
Anyone change before ? Can share ?
Cheers !!! :s12:
I believe Linksys WRTP54G or Netgear VVG834 maybe able to work with Mio, not too sure, since Mio voice is Voip, I believe any wireless modem routers with Voip features should be able to work and whats more WRTP54G & VVG834 comes with two phone ports. Unless Singtel is Bird and uses some sort of God forsaken protocol than you are screwed without any choice but Singtel's own Mio Box and sucky 2Wire 2700HG-2
liangtam
07-05-2009, 10:17 AM
Now I'm in the 2nd contract with Mio... The first set was alrite, using it for ard 2 yrs... Recently when they change the all-in-one Mio then things started to have hipcup...
Being harassing Singtel and their sub-con Technician for almost 2 mths. After all fault finding, they replace a USED silver mio set, saying that the new set was faulty... Then everything work again.
But recently my vista platform keeps on logging out and unable to connect onto the net...
Sick.... That why looking for any replacement....
Logging out? Elaborate further
expression
22-07-2009, 02:04 AM
I'm also looking for a replacement for my 2wire 2700HGV-2 with Linksys WRTP54G. Anyone using this model can share some opinions?
Mythmaker
22-07-2009, 07:45 PM
Hmm... does it make any difference if we get another router and bridge it to the 2wire? Would the connection be more stable in this manner?
tidus792
24-07-2009, 10:30 AM
Connection stability from the router to the internet is independent of your router.
A router will increase your local speeds / connectvitiy. Not your internet connection.
You must check your line stats if you want to determine connectivity problems.
I should add the exception where the 2wire is used to do heavy routing loads (e.g heavy bt downloads), in such cases the 2wire will show dcing problems.
liangtam
24-07-2009, 10:40 AM
Connection stability from the router to the internet is independent of your router.
A router will increase your local speeds / connectvitiy. Not your internet connection.
You must check your line stats if you want to determine connectivity problems.
I should add the exception where the 2wire is used to do heavy routing loads (e.g heavy bt downloads), in such cases the 2wire will show dcing problems.
All gateway more or less has this symptoms, not just the 2wire.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.