PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 RC Countdown - A few more hours to go!

curse154
05-05-2009, 09:05 AM
It is released. Click any one of the links to download.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/beta-download.aspx

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/evalcenter/dd353205.aspx

FatalethaL
05-05-2009, 09:09 AM
>.< i alrdy have le !

tonight then install =X

ragnarok95
05-05-2009, 09:15 AM
people already start using win 7 RC liao. The link was posted yesterday. I had it like.... last wk?? :o

FatalethaL
05-05-2009, 09:20 AM
u MSDN/Technet Subscriber?

noinimod
05-05-2009, 09:28 AM
people already start using win 7 RC liao. The link was posted yesterday. I had it like.... last wk?? :o
Hmmm good not? Never keep track of windows 7 developments, don't know whether to move to this. Later got all the vista-launch issues again how sia :s22:

curse154
05-05-2009, 09:31 AM
Maybe warez, but the legit release date for the general public is May 5th PST time. I know there are leaks all around the internet already but if you're using that then you don't deserve it.

lemonn
05-05-2009, 09:34 AM
Win7 is generally much stabler and faster than vista. Compability wise its better as well, as it is built on vista(NT6).

Hardware requirements are also more relaxed compared to vista, as shown by its performance on netbooks..

ragnarok95
05-05-2009, 09:36 AM
Maybe warez, but the legit release date for the general public is May 5th PST time. I know there are leaks all around the internet already but if you're using that then you don't deserve it.

Actually, those are not leaks. ;)

ragnarok95
05-05-2009, 09:38 AM
I would love to use retail win 7 once they are out.

Bye bye vista.

Gforce8
05-05-2009, 09:41 AM
interesting.. Win7 here i come! :love:

hello8985
05-05-2009, 09:50 AM
windows7 can use for 1 year :o

Mythmaker
05-05-2009, 09:58 AM
i still prefer XP more =)

but I guess I still have to change someday... so lemme give win7 another try ba. Here I come =)

nightkids86
05-05-2009, 10:04 AM
some article abt Win7
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2009/05/01/windows_7_xp_mode_review/

samuelgohcw
05-05-2009, 10:05 AM
u MSDN/Technet Subscriber?

only for MSDN/Technet Subscriber,right?
can any kind soul host it for us?

hwsinn
05-05-2009, 10:11 AM
it seems very good. like quite tempted...however going test it later once it release....
see can play current games anot

inxlee
05-05-2009, 10:17 AM
nevermind just found out can work:D

demonicvic
05-05-2009, 10:21 AM

Sama Sama :s13:

Liang32
05-05-2009, 10:26 AM
downloaded the ISO for Windows 7 Ultimate liao..
going to install tonight..

ayuluv
05-05-2009, 01:32 PM
pai seh ah.. now i using win vista ultimate 64 bit.. if i wan to install win 7 how shd i go abt doing it?

install on same partition and such? Will it affect my other applications? Is that a full version or do we need to purchase later? Thanks in adv =)

ionicle88
05-05-2009, 01:56 PM
sarpork!!!!

waiting for official release... how long willl this service key be valid?

raylite
05-05-2009, 02:02 PM
alamak... those using win7 beta have to do a clean install??? :eek:

NYC
05-05-2009, 02:06 PM
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/download.aspx

downloaded both version le.. 32bit and 64bit

Remember to use IE to download

The RC will expire on June 1, 2010. Starting on March 1, 2010, your PC will begin shutting down every two hours. Windows will notify you two weeks before the bi-hourly shutdowns start. To avoid interruption, you'll need to install a non-expired version of Windows before March 1, 2010. You'll also need to install the programs and data that you want to use. (Learn more about installing Windows.)

ionicle88
05-05-2009, 02:14 PM
release liao arh???

ayuluv
05-05-2009, 02:24 PM
release liao arh???

if dld will it affect my programs in vista?

zhehao
05-05-2009, 02:25 PM
Just released at around 1pm if i remember correctly.
Downloading using FF.
130kb/sce nia sia...
I dont like their download manager

ionicle88
05-05-2009, 02:28 PM
me too. 202KB/s @ my shop :P

NYC
05-05-2009, 02:37 PM
if dld will it affect my programs in vista?
try dual boot?

twtan14
05-05-2009, 03:21 PM
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/download.aspx

downloaded both version le.. 32bit and 64bit

Remember to use IE to download

The RC will expire on June 1, 2010. Starting on March 1, 2010, your PC will begin shutting down every two hours. Windows will notify you two weeks before the bi-hourly shutdowns start. To avoid interruption, you'll need to install a non-expired version of Windows before March 1, 2010. You'll also need to install the programs and data that you want to use. (Learn more about installing Windows.)

How do you get the CD key, the instruction page didn't mention anything on it.

ionicle88
05-05-2009, 03:24 PM
How do you get the CD key, the instruction page didn't mention anything on it.

the pop out before u download it gt the key le mah....

twtan14
05-05-2009, 03:27 PM
the pop out before u download it gt the key le mah....

Thanks, cause I haven't try to download it yet.

lordlad0
05-05-2009, 03:28 PM
and for those still holding the beta key...it will still work./

Gforce8
05-05-2009, 03:40 PM
hmmm.. so basically this one is free to download? a bit blur here.. this is

considered a "trial version" which will expire on June 2010?

ayuluv
05-05-2009, 03:55 PM
just saw that when wan to change full retail ver need to reinstall.. maybe i skip it liao =P

ov2rey
05-05-2009, 04:01 PM
The Windows Virtual PC

not out yet...

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/

http://www.microsoft.com/library/media/1033/windows/images/virtual-pc/VPC_may5_bug.gif

saysuzu
05-05-2009, 04:12 PM
how come when i want to download 64 bit it will give me internal error? i using 32bits win xp on my laptop, but i want to try 64 biut

Epish`
05-05-2009, 04:21 PM
just to ask hor, lets say i install this windoes 7 now on my laptop, but my laptop is loaded with windows vista, means reformat liao is vista, so if i install this windows 7 on my laptop and i happen to reformat 6 months later, will it become windows 7 or back to vista??

also, will my files and data inside the com get erase if i switch to windows 7 from vista now?

saysuzu
05-05-2009, 04:26 PM
btw, that windows 7 RC, can do a clean installation? or die die must upgrade only?

Gforce8
05-05-2009, 04:30 PM
btw, that windows 7 RC, can do a clean installation? or die die must upgrade only?
if i am not wrong.. should be fresh install instead of upgrade.. :o

ChewAhSoon
05-05-2009, 04:39 PM
just saw that when wan to change full retail ver need to reinstall.. maybe i skip it liao =P
i read that no need.. cos they say install from beta to RC also no need..
http://windows7news.com/2009/04/27/upgrading-from-windows-7-rc-to-final/

ionicle88
05-05-2009, 04:40 PM
to avoid all the crappy problems, just do a clean install... since i dun have much stuff to install in windows 7 anyway... me dual booting 7 64 bit and windows xp sp3 32 bit

ayuluv
05-05-2009, 04:44 PM
for vista can upgrade.. for xp and below must reinstall iirc...

ayuluv
05-05-2009, 04:45 PM
but the thing is if wan to remove win 7 i not sure can keep the old vista or not...

Dr.Vijay
05-05-2009, 04:51 PM
XP Also can upgrade la.

for vista can upgrade.. for xp and below must reinstall iirc...

Dr.Vijay
05-05-2009, 04:54 PM
Let me summarize.

Options to play with Win 7:-

1) Clean Install (with option of keeping previous Windows version intact but named as Windows.old folder)
2) Upgrade over Win XP and Vista

Btw, we posted a quick list of new updates to the RC edition here:-
http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles/control.php?cid=11&id=2890&src=forums

ionicle88
05-05-2009, 05:01 PM
woots upzzz for dr beejay....

stormbol
05-05-2009, 05:12 PM
Install it over Microsoft Virtual PC it works like charm.Another great option to try out window 7 if u wan to save time.

ayuluv
05-05-2009, 05:12 PM
This is wat i saw on ms site.. but i duno the actual stuff yet

Can I upgrade directly from Windows Vista to the RC?

Yes. If you're running Windows Vista, you can install Window 7 RC without having to back up and reinstall your programs and data. But to be on the safe side, please do back up your data before you start.

Can I upgrade directly from Windows XP to the RC?

If you are running Windows XP, you'll need to back up your data (preferably on an external device) and then do a clean installation of the Windows 7 Release Candidate. After installing Windows 7, you will need to reinstall applications and restore your files. If you need help with the installation process, please see the Installation Instructions.

ayuluv
05-05-2009, 05:14 PM
i read that no need.. cos they say install from beta to RC also no need..
http://windows7news.com/2009/04/27/upgrading-from-windows-7-rc-to-final/

hmmm.. below is wat i saw

Can I upgrade from the RC to the final version of Windows 7?

When you install the final version of Windows 7, you'll need to do a clean installation. So plan on backing up your data then reinstalling your applications and restoring your data.

ayuluv
05-05-2009, 05:14 PM
editted... double post...

TheDarkKnight
05-05-2009, 06:35 PM
juz install in an empty partition on ur HDD.. once expired, juz format it..

keep ur impt data files in another partition, different from the Win7 partition

curse154
05-05-2009, 06:37 PM
Or you can just dual boot Windows 7 with your current OS. Create a new partition and install Windows 7 on it, that's what I do.

saysuzu
05-05-2009, 06:40 PM
wah..2.3gb..dunno how long will it take with my 512kb/s plan

zhehao
05-05-2009, 06:43 PM
3GB.

Er i think microsoft capped the download speed so even if you are 100mb/sec also download around 200kb/sec

I download finish liao.
Now going install.

Can i use ATI 4800 9.2 Vista Driver instead of the 9.4 Windows 7 driver?

ionicle88
05-05-2009, 06:57 PM
finished lo...go home and instantly install.. hahaha.

curse154
05-05-2009, 07:04 PM
I feel like using this as my primary OS but it is pain in the butt to reinstall everything I had.

saysuzu
05-05-2009, 07:05 PM
when is the official release of the windows 7 btw?

curse154
05-05-2009, 07:18 PM
when is the official release of the windows 7 btw?

Somewhere near the end of 2009. Microsoft stated that they will release Windows 7 before the Christmas buying season so new PCs that ship from that period will all have Windows 7 pre-installed.

saysuzu
05-05-2009, 07:34 PM
hmm..don't know want to hoot or not...cause my windows 7 right now is for laptop..need to download all the drivers..for the laptop

LMaestro
05-05-2009, 07:47 PM
Can dual boot with XP or not?Read from ms website that needs to do back up and clean installation

saysuzu
05-05-2009, 07:52 PM
btw, windows update will update drivers for laptop or not ah? like those function + F key those drivers that kind

danxiaogui86
05-05-2009, 08:16 PM
wah! i downloading at a speed of 1400kbps woohooo..

BlackCube
05-05-2009, 08:24 PM
Install it over Microsoft Virtual PC it works like charm.Another great option to try out window 7 if u wan to save time.

But Aero won't be able to run because of VPC. Won't be able to fully try Windows 7 feature.

ayuluv
05-05-2009, 09:38 PM
Or you can just dual boot Windows 7 with your current OS. Create a new partition and install Windows 7 on it, that's what I do.

how to do it ah? can teach me? cos i duno how the dual boot actually works..

Dr.Vijay
05-05-2009, 10:56 PM
Been using the RC since weekend, hehe ;)

finished lo...go home and instantly install.. hahaha.

FakePicture
05-05-2009, 11:05 PM
I wonder if the key provided from MS can be used to activate win 7 home premium...

wanted to purchase home premium once it is released!

Nistelrooy
06-05-2009, 01:49 AM
those already using windows 7 RC, any comments and feedback?
any issues in terms of compatibility and stability?

danxiaogui86
06-05-2009, 10:41 AM
guys, can i check. if i install 64bit win7 rc1. will the xp mode be in 32bit or 64bit? can i say tat if i install 64bit win7, xp mode = 64bit and 32bit win7, xp mode = 32bit?

cHrls2o2o
06-05-2009, 11:00 AM
so far so good

those already using windows 7 RC, any comments and feedback?
any issues in terms of compatibility and stability?

saysuzu
06-05-2009, 11:47 AM
ok download finish liao..later then install!!!

apriliasiao
06-05-2009, 12:51 PM
guys, can i check. if i install 64bit win7 rc1. will the xp mode be in 32bit or 64bit? can i say tat if i install 64bit win7, xp mode = 64bit and 32bit win7, xp mode = 32bit?

U doing upgrade or clean install on another drive? it does not change existing OS bits unless u upgrade the current one.

lordlad0
06-05-2009, 04:32 PM
The so called XP mode is just an XP Virtual machine running natively.......

I am currently running the x64 version of win 7 and the XP VC is in 32bit.....

danxiaogui86
06-05-2009, 07:23 PM
The so called XP mode is just an XP Virtual machine running natively.......

I am currently running the x64 version of win 7 and the XP VC is in 32bit.....

thanks bro... that the answer i finding. so does the xp mode required u to install drivers etc again? let say i create a account in win7, how abt xp? can i create a account to log in to xp?

saysuzu
06-05-2009, 11:43 PM
bvump for more

protoss_knight
07-05-2009, 12:50 AM
very nice ... so far so good

lordlad0
07-05-2009, 12:53 AM
the XP is configured........other than a default user name, the rest are already setup...

lordlad0
07-05-2009, 12:57 AM
http://img2.imageshack.us/img2/4420/xp7.jpg

zero7090
07-05-2009, 03:56 AM
erm can i run straight the install in XP by using program like daemon tool ? got no more blank DVD to burn

danxiaogui86
07-05-2009, 09:10 AM
hi lordlad0, u been of a great help. just to check. can i log out the xp? and if wanna log in again, sign with password.

lordlad0
07-05-2009, 10:29 AM
To zero7090:
U dun need a XP CD/ISO. You download the Virtual PC and the XP Virtual Hard Disk file from MS site

To danxiaogui86:
Yes, as per normal Virtualisation. However, the main feature of this XP mode is that u can publish and 'run' an application running from 7 without login to the the Virtual XP. As per my above screenshot, the IE6 above was 'published' as an icon on the 7 desktop. I can just run it as an XP app without login to the virtual xp to run it.

saysuzu
07-05-2009, 02:10 PM
sian my LG laptop dvd rom got problem..cannot read disc..sian sian sian..like that how to install?

zhehao
07-05-2009, 02:59 PM
Use USB to install.
Must format USB to bootable.I forgetr how liao..need get some HP program.
But i used MSI's program.

Anyone feel like the start up speed now slows down?
My start up speed like slow down sia

saysuzu
07-05-2009, 05:59 PM
omg...format usb as in format the whole computer?

uRiZEn
07-05-2009, 09:34 PM
So far have windows7 crash or not?
I scared type report halfway crash i can /wrist.

saysuzu
07-05-2009, 09:54 PM
bump for more

dreamer_toons
07-05-2009, 11:44 PM
Installed the 64bit and it works fine with all my softwares, less resource hogging and faster startup compared to vista 64bit.

danxiaogui86
08-05-2009, 10:47 AM
can anyone confirm with me whether if i install 64bit win7, can i install the xp mode 32bit? or i have to install 64bit also?

lordlad0
08-05-2009, 10:49 AM
XP in XP mode is 32bit ......irregardless of the win 7 version u installed

danxiaogui86
08-05-2009, 10:59 AM
XP in XP mode is 32bit ......irregardless of the win 7 version u installed

okay. i saw 2 version to download. one is 64bitxpmode and 32bitxpmode. am i right to say tat i should download the 64bit xpmode if i use win7 64bit? but the xp mode will ONLY work in 32bit.

lordlad0
08-05-2009, 11:48 AM
yes........download the 64bit version if u r using x64 win 7.........

however, the XP in the virtual PC is x86 (32bit)

danxiaogui86
08-05-2009, 11:53 AM
yes........download the 64bit version if u r using x64 win 7.........

however, the XP in the virtual PC is x86 (32bit)

roger. bro. can u show me a screenshot of windows xp log out?

saysuzu
08-05-2009, 02:18 PM
zzz..my laptop cd drive spoil..have to boot by usb device..gonna wait till this weekend until my friend lend me his thumbdrive

lordlad0
08-05-2009, 02:23 PM
roger. bro. can u show me a screenshot of windows xp log out?
?? what u mean by that??

IMO, XP Mode is most probably targeting corporate and govt sites, as most of these sectors are still relying on IE6. Normal consumer most probably will not try this as most consumer app already updated with Vista support..

Uno_Hu
15-05-2009, 10:46 PM
How is it that I cannot get the download, must I register as subscriber at TechNet first? Going round and round.:s22:

alanchia67
15-05-2009, 11:39 PM
but xp mode requires cpu supporting amd or intel's virtualizing technology. not all pc has this.

TiOnGSquare
16-05-2009, 03:49 PM
zzz..my laptop cd drive spoil..have to boot by usb device..gonna wait till this weekend until my friend lend me his thumbdrive

use deamon tools can already

How is it that I cannot get the download, must I register as subscriber at TechNet first? Going round and round.:s22:

juz need a msn account, try using ie to download

watzup_ken
17-05-2009, 12:27 AM
Great OS. Been using it for a week and its fast and stable. Sadly, I just ran into a prob where Valve's Steam application cannot launch in Windows 7. So I cannot install the game that I just bought. May have to roll back to Vista Ultimate... :(

zhehao
17-05-2009, 11:00 AM
Yea..X trap cant work for Windows 7 too.
So those into gaming....i think now still not the time to go win7.

lancelot77
17-05-2009, 05:17 PM
Hi guys, got a question here.

If i upgrade my Vista to Win7 RC, wat will happen after it expired? Will it roll back to my old Vista or i have to reinstall everything?

TiOnGSquare
17-05-2009, 05:21 PM
Yea..X trap cant work for Windows 7 too.
So those into gaming....i think now still not the time to go win7.

tik i seen at some forum yest build 7127 solve gaming issues, not sure how reliable is tat though, i downloading 7127 damn slow :s22:

TiOnGSquare
17-05-2009, 05:22 PM
Hi guys, got a question here.

If i upgrade my Vista to Win7 RC, wat will happen after it expired? Will it roll back to my old Vista or i have to reinstall everything?

most likely have to reinstall everything ;) tik u install as seperate partition or u backup yr stuff b4 it expired

lancelot77
17-05-2009, 05:23 PM
Thanks for the reply... Test on a spare laptop first then :D

seowbin
17-05-2009, 06:27 PM
the xp mode feature like not bad, need to read up more :D

i worry cannot support my company application if i install that..

chuachongchee
17-05-2009, 06:53 PM
Hmm... anyone tried it on vmware??

I installed it on vmware using "windows vista", seems like got problems now and then on bootup.. sometimes IE crashes etc.. lol

seowbin
17-05-2009, 06:55 PM
ish it :(

i wanted to try that leh, now still downloading...

lordlad0
18-05-2009, 02:32 PM
for the uninitiated (and misinformed),

this is a RELEASE CANDIDATE. Which means, this is only Public feedback TEST version that will expired itself sometimes around mid 2010. This is not a full fledge version of Windows 7 (though it is feature complete). Think of it as a public demo. Please do not install this on production machines and use it as ur main OS and then one year later and then come here an kpkb and curse M$. I repeat, this is only a public TEST version to gain public feedback. The full Retail version will be released at the end of this year and yes, you do have to $BUY$ them. Please remember that.

hammerhammer
19-05-2009, 04:01 AM
Wah solid stuff. Took me less then 30mins to install. No need to install driver. The installation auto install all my driver except my Dell printer. By the way mine is all onboard video, sound, LAN no add on card. Using Asus P5Q-EM MOBO with a Intel C2D E7400 and 4GB ram.

Compare to last time install my XP so many driver to install if not LAN no work, display big big in low res...LOL:D

saysuzu
19-05-2009, 07:02 AM
ya, seems like windows 7 installation already package with lots of generic drivers

Pikachiu
19-05-2009, 08:46 AM
downloading now ^_^! Hopefully by tomorrow can install =X =X

hammerhammer
19-05-2009, 01:18 PM
downloading now ^_^! Hopefully by tomorrow can install =X =X

So long? My download 30min only:)

saysuzu
19-05-2009, 01:40 PM
people 512 ma, just like me

boba_fett
19-05-2009, 02:32 PM
hey guys.. if i already got the 7100 build, will win 7 auto update the version when i install it?

or do i have to red/l the latest version and overwrite it

Pikachiu
19-05-2009, 03:15 PM
people 512 ma, just like me

hannor hannor me also 512 =X =X

What u use de.. huai 30 mins.. sic sic...

seowbin
19-05-2009, 03:27 PM
for the uninitiated (and misinformed),

this is a RELEASE CANDIDATE. Which means, this is only Public feedback TEST version that will expired itself sometimes around mid 2010. This is not a full fledge version of Windows 7 (though it is feature complete). Think of it as a public demo. Please do not install this on production machines and use it as ur main OS and then one year later and then come here an kpkb and curse M$. I repeat, this is only a public TEST version to gain public feedback. The full Retail version will be released at the end of this year and yes, you do have to $BUY$ them. Please remember that.
maybe those provided feedback or report some bug can get it free :s13:

lancelot77
19-05-2009, 04:32 PM
Any idea if we can use the same key for repeated installations on different PCs?

lordlad0
19-05-2009, 05:22 PM
maybe those provided feedback or report some bug can get it free :s13:
"I have a dream!" - Martin Luthor King :P

Novalogy
19-05-2009, 07:55 PM
Any idea if we can use the same key for repeated installations on different PCs?

Yes you can, i believe most of us are using the same keys anyway. For the RC version the keys worked on both x86 and x64 versions too.

kivine
19-05-2009, 08:14 PM
download 7127, newest release, or u can wait for the anticipated 7138

kivine
19-05-2009, 08:15 PM
hey guys.. if i already got the 7100 build, will win 7 auto update the version when i install it?

or do i have to red/l the latest version and overwrite it

no, it will not autoupdate other than security patches and misc

hammerhammer
20-05-2009, 03:48 AM
hannor hannor me also 512 =X =X

What u use de.. huai 30 mins.. sic sic...

MOL 10MBPS:D

saysuzu
20-05-2009, 08:05 AM
MOL 10MBPS:D

i curse chiur green pipe kana choked dip dip

wweixian
21-05-2009, 04:46 PM
erm....I have XP installed. But I wish to try this win 7. It's possible to install 2 OS in 1 machine? Will the files in XP be accessible in Win 7 OS?

Paiseh ar, I very noob in this kind of things.

chun888
21-05-2009, 07:47 PM
erm....I have XP installed. But I wish to try this win 7. It's possible to install 2 OS in 1 machine? Will the files in XP be accessible in Win 7 OS?

Paiseh ar, I very noob in this kind of things.

what files u mean? everything can be accessed with the right permission set. as long as u'r administrator and u add in correct permission, ur xp's desktop n stuff all can be access to your profile. those in other drive all ok one, dont worry :D

seowbin
21-05-2009, 08:28 PM
is me or what? how come i feel windows 7 is faster den win xp sp3 arh?

partly cause it's most optimize for newer processor is it?

just2ofus
21-05-2009, 08:46 PM
is me or what? how come i feel windows 7 is faster den win xp sp3 arh?

partly cause it's most optimize for newer processor is it?

Most probably. I kind of feel it too.

just2ofus
21-05-2009, 11:18 PM
So far the problems i'm facing is that the sounds don't work all the time. Like play warcraft3.. But youtube got sound.

saysuzu
21-05-2009, 11:48 PM
Most probably. I kind of feel it too.

actually, i feel it's faster too, at boot up and loading of applications

kakaBoBo
22-05-2009, 12:15 AM
it dun have driver for 915gm video.
hence i cannot enable graphic accerlation on my old laptop.

just2ofus
22-05-2009, 10:30 AM
So far the problems i'm facing is that the sounds don't work all the time. Like play warcraft3.. But youtube got sound.

Anyone knows the solution to this?

chun888
23-05-2009, 06:09 PM
anybody dual boot vista n win 7.. my loading bar load finish then blank screen liao.. u all got kena anot?

foosoomin
24-05-2009, 10:06 AM
Can anyone of you give me the link to download Win 7 x64 build 7127 os ?

I have been trying very hard to find it.... I DID found some link but has already been expired

Will be waiting for anyone replies

studmufn
25-05-2009, 09:01 PM
i'm running windows 7 7100 build now. it is very very much laggier than my previous xp installation. i did a fresh install btw..
apps take much longer to open and my games frame rates are much lower.
anything i'm missing out on? if i can't get this fixed i'm gonna go back to XP..

just2ofus
25-05-2009, 10:09 PM
i'm running windows 7 7100 build now. it is very very much laggier than my previous xp installation. i did a fresh install btw..
apps take much longer to open and my games frame rates are much lower.
anything i'm missing out on? if i can't get this fixed i'm gonna go back to XP..

I think currently its totally unstable. However it feels much faster for me though. The only problem i am facing is the sounds.

studmufn
26-05-2009, 12:44 AM
stability seems alright, no crashes so far. but the lagginess is quite a problem. feels like i'm running a PIII sometimes..

quick question, if i want to upgrade to a newer build must i reinstall everything again?

I think currently its totally unstable. However it feels much faster for me though. The only problem i am facing is the sounds.

chun888
26-05-2009, 11:29 PM
solved the problem.. stupid ATI keep installing their HD drivers on my vista n windows 7, resulting crashes in booting up.

saysuzu
27-05-2009, 12:08 AM
i don't have problems so far with this windows 7..

but once the computer crash ah...tyhat's it, you gonna restart all over, lol

alfseeto
27-05-2009, 09:41 PM
Guys, do you find Windows 7 much superior to Vista? I'm going to buy a laptop, but was thinking if I should wait till Win7 is officially released. Most likely applications for laptop would be microsoft office - powerpoint, word processing.

redline15
28-05-2009, 02:09 PM
I've been running it for more than a week and have installed Adobe Web Premium on it. So far so good. No problem and it seems to boot up faster and apps run faster as well. There was some initial problem with Google Chrome but do a google search and solutions are online.

TiOnGSquare
28-05-2009, 05:09 PM
Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7137 Leaked ...

Y_Shun
28-05-2009, 07:54 PM

No new visual changes.
ISO size reduced ---> Speed improvement? :s11:

foosoomin
30-05-2009, 09:48 AM

By saying Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7137 leaked is nothing, at least you can share the links that is available for download :s22:

Everyone, click my thread below to download this 7137 build

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2384642

quekky
30-05-2009, 07:33 PM
I tried installing W7 on my home pc, took me 30 mins to install just to relize no drivers for my ATI9000 :s27:

BlackCube
01-06-2009, 04:52 PM
You can try to use Vista drivers. It should work fine. I'm using 7137 build currently and going to install Office 2010 to try out soon.

lordlad0
01-06-2009, 04:57 PM
i am happy as it is with 7100. Prior to RC, i've been installing/reinstalling all the different builds until sian liao...

quekky
02-06-2009, 08:07 AM
You can try to use Vista drivers. It should work fine. I'm using 7137 build currently and going to install Office 2010 to try out soon.
no vista driver for ATI9000, only up to winxp
AMD decided not to support it

anyway now i relized no sound, sblive not supported also. my scsi card also no drivers (for my film scanner)

haiz... but to the old xp

lordlad0
02-06-2009, 02:23 PM
in this case, i think has to blame the manufacturers for refusing to update drivers leh...........

MS cannot keep cling on legacy architecture............like that, there will be never any significant improvement.

stephen8
04-06-2009, 12:12 AM
Hi brothers here, itches to try the windows 7 RC, don know how big is the file, can i download to a 8 gbs usb thumb drive. thanks!:s22:

quekky
04-06-2009, 07:26 AM
Hi brothers here, itches to try the windows 7 RC, don know how big is the file, can i download to a 8 gbs usb thumb drive. thanks!:s22:
it's 3.2GB

look for WinSetupFromUSB

Oakenfoldsg
04-06-2009, 09:40 PM
I'm having a problem with my disc image for this window 7 RC

Just to check whats sperr32.exe?

Must i reboot my com to install window 7 in a fresh copy?

7100.0.090421-1700_x64 <-- thats my version

BlackCube
06-06-2009, 12:35 PM
in this case, i think has to blame the manufacturers for refusing to update drivers leh...........

MS cannot keep cling on legacy architecture............like that, there will be never any significant improvement.

Yeah. You can't really blame MS for this. Nvidia has Win7 driver already.

Y_Shun
06-06-2009, 07:53 PM
Btw 7201 leaked.

lancelot77
06-06-2009, 11:22 PM
Btw 7201 leaked.

Any marked improvements from 7100?

Y_Shun
07-06-2009, 02:46 AM
Any marked improvements from 7100?

ermss no leh

LOL