PDA

View Full Version : Torrent friendly broadbands

DriftingMan
14-05-2009, 11:41 PM
I heard Starhub jams torrents. Do the IPs do that?

salivaman
15-05-2009, 03:19 AM
yes, it's 100% confirmed + chop.

i used to be on MOL premium. when downloading at a specific private tracker i can't go beyond 10KB/s. after switching to M1 FBB, without any changes in my torrent/router/internet/computer settings AT ALL, my download speed immediately shot up to 1.7MB/s.

also, i am definitely sure that starhub blocks the downloading of .torrent at several sites/trackers because I am able to download them only after I made the switch to M1.

if u are a hardcore torrent user like me, DO NOT choose starhub as ur ISP because u will really regret it.

good riddance.

Thehim
15-05-2009, 10:22 AM
woah, which ISP doesn't jam/throttle? :D

chriscel
15-05-2009, 10:40 AM
Singtel same lah... max 30KB/s

phuque99
15-05-2009, 11:15 AM
you try the torrents here, see got tio jam or not:

http://releases.ubuntu.com/jaunty/

sometimes pirates are kiam siap when you're downloading pirated stuff.

n95crazy
15-05-2009, 01:50 PM

i used to be on MOL premium. when downloading at a specific private tracker i can't go beyond 10KB/s. after switching to M1 FBB, without any changes in my torrent/router/internet/computer settings AT ALL, my download speed immediately shot up to 1.7MB/s.

also, i am definitely sure that starhub blocks the downloading of .torrent at several sites/trackers because I am able to download them only after I made the switch to M1.

if u are a hardcore torrent user like me, DO NOT choose starhub as ur ISP because u will really regret it.

good riddance.

you are surely misguided/misinformed...
the blocking is only for uploads, downloads are not affected

tigerwoods
15-05-2009, 09:28 PM
yes starfug do block some trackers

phuque99
15-05-2009, 10:40 PM
yes starfug do block some trackers

can show proof that can be reproduced? I also interested to know and talk to starhub about it.

CPTMiller
16-05-2009, 12:19 PM
You so serious and chop too.
:s8:

good riddance.

aeng
16-05-2009, 05:23 PM
the blocking is only for uploads, downloads are not affected

i think u r the misinformed one.

I have switched over from Suckhub 12 Mbps to M1 FBB 10Mbps.

Without changing any setting in either my hardware or software,
my BT uploads and downloads improved instantly.
General surfing and downloads, viewing of Youtube etc, all of these improved tremendously.

I am getting a much better BB experience and paying less for it.

whatever Suckhub is doing, it's not working.
good riddance!

WTF??!!
16-05-2009, 06:10 PM
i think u r the misinformed one.

I have switched over from Suckhub 12 Mbps to M1 FBB 10Mbps.

Without changing any setting in either my hardware or software,
my BT uploads and downloads improved instantly.
General surfing and downloads, viewing of Youtube etc, all of these improved tremendously.

I am getting a much better BB experience and paying less for it.

whatever Suckhub is doing, it's not working.
good riddance!

i am a starhub ultimate subscriber
because i use VPN layer 2/3/4 to override the block
i am still with starhub
it offer much greater speed than M1 or singtel only if you can adapt and overcome starhub setting.

yes honestly starhub do suck big time
but for me at the moment which i am the only one not affected so the answer OK
that's for me only

HEHEHEHEHEHEHEHHE

dadeadman
16-05-2009, 10:20 PM
Singtel works fine for me, highest i got was 1.3 mbps for torrent

MrJacky
16-05-2009, 10:49 PM
Singtel same lah... max 30KB/s
Oh is it?

I have seen my torrent download at 600+ KB/s.

No it's not years back, just yesterday.

I'm on SingNet 10Mbps.

Questin
17-05-2009, 01:13 AM
i am a starhub ultimate subscriber
because i use VPN layer 2/3/4 to override the block
i am still with starhub
it offer much greater speed than M1 or singtel only if you can adapt and overcome starhub setting.

yes honestly starhub do suck big time
but for me at the moment which i am the only one not affected so the answer OK
that's for me only

HEHEHEHEHEHEHEHHE

How do you do that?

glassdarkly
17-05-2009, 09:51 AM
www.bolehvpn.net offers a simple/cheap VPN solution that allows you to selectively route data through their servers, but their setup is only good for fairly large swarms, because you will be firewalled, so you may have problems on torrents with very few peers. If you want the ports to be forwarded properly, you have to route your entire connection through their server, but with bolehvpn I found it way too slow.

If I'm not wrong, the ISPs usually only engage in traffic shaping during peak periods, although Starhub definitely relies on it far more heavily. A VPN will allow you to maximise your connection, but it still won't necessarily solve Starhub's issues with peak hour usage.

luzjin
17-05-2009, 02:50 PM
the blocking is only for uploads, downloads are not affectedupload more important for some,sharing is nice.

ry0suk1
17-05-2009, 05:02 PM
ppl dont share u wont get anything too..
some torrent do allow me to hit about 2mb/sec. sh ultimate here.

glassdarkly
18-05-2009, 02:41 PM
My download speeds on Starhub were affected. I was on 10mbit Singnet and 8mbit Starhub concurrently for the past two months. Same private trackers same peers same torrents, Singnet gets 700KB/s - 1MB/s, Starhub floundering around 70-100KB/s. And I was on Starhub for a long while, and I never had issues with my uploads getting throttled. I could easily get max upload, but download speed was always unbelievably bad with Bittorrent, which leads me to believe that either Starhub DOES throttle Bittorrent downloads, or their connection is just ****ty. Since Starhub users have reported good speeds with VPNs, it's probably the former.

I have friends who have dual connections as well, same story. I'm not saying that this is necessarily what everyone else experiences/will experience with Starhub, because I'm not going to make the unreasonable assumption that what is true for me is true for everyone else, but I think that too many people have had issues for them to be all somehow wrong.

Nichi
18-05-2009, 06:56 PM

good riddance.
u suay lor...

i am still able to download from my pvt tracker...

mol premium here...

salivaman
18-05-2009, 07:17 PM
u suay lor...

i am still able to download from my pvt tracker...

mol premium here...
i have over 5 private trackers and i had that problem only on 1 tracker, which is my favourite one. that alone is enough to make me switch to M1.

shock
18-05-2009, 07:51 PM
As more people switch to M1 , M1 will suck as well. So don't sign any contract. When one ISP suck, switch to the next. Let the internet community in Singapore be so mobile that ISP start to take a serious look at the service they provide.