View Full Version : [URGENT] Installing vista right now-help!
TheEyreAffair
18-05-2009, 07:43 PM
hi everyone,
i'm installing vista home premium (oem) right now, but because due to some screwed up partitioning thingey the last time, my main drive is now D and not C.
and my C drive only has 7mb space, whereas my D drive (main drive) has 30G.
the problem is, the vista installer keeps telling me to free up space on my C drive, else it can't continue.
is there a way i can get install vista on my D drive instead?
your help is much appreciated.
thank you!
TheEyreAffair
18-05-2009, 07:48 PM
help! :(
10char
boba_fett
18-05-2009, 07:49 PM
do a full format, reformat the whole hard drive than repartition it
TheEyreAffair
18-05-2009, 07:52 PM
do a full format, reformat the whole hard drive than repartition it
how do u reformat?
sorry my brother is not in and all my friends don't know anything about computer :(
saysuzu
18-05-2009, 07:52 PM
you gonna reformat everything again, so you can repartition it
saysuzu
18-05-2009, 07:53 PM
how do u reformat?
sorry my brother is not in and all my friends don't know anything about computer :(
i'm sure vista installer will ask you about wwhere to install and will like ask you to reformat or not..these kind of options one..did you install at bootup or what?
TheEyreAffair
18-05-2009, 07:57 PM
i'm sure vista installer will ask you about wwhere to install and will like ask you to reformat or not..these kind of options one..did you install at bootup or what?
i restarted my comp with my vista installer disk inside, hoping that it'll go to some installation screen, but it went on as per normal to my existing XP OS.
so when windows was fully loaded, the autorun for the vista installer started and there was 2 options:
1) goes to some online advisor thingey
2) INSTALL VISTA
when i click on INSTALL VISTA, it tells me that my C drive has insufficient space and can't continue.
pika_hippo
18-05-2009, 08:01 PM
omg -____-
TheEyreAffair
18-05-2009, 08:01 PM
should i follow the instructions on this webpage?
http://www.datarecovery.com.sg/data_recovery/reformat_your_computer.htm
dirtysock
18-05-2009, 08:02 PM
You need to go into bios setup change the boot order first. :)
Can you do that?
:bandit:
saysuzu
18-05-2009, 08:03 PM
hmm..then i dunno how to help you liao, sorry
i don't know how come they will judge your space first before deciding what you wanna do with your space..
TheEyreAffair
18-05-2009, 08:03 PM
Can you do that?
is it exactly like the steps outlined here?
*stressed*
saysuzu
18-05-2009, 08:04 PM
Can you do that?
hey, i didn't realize that his boot order was weird until you said that sia...
UnforgivenVengeance
18-05-2009, 08:05 PM
to make things easy, ghost get a new HDD
TheEyreAffair
18-05-2009, 08:06 PM
i need to get this right, else i'm fugged :s16::s16::s16:
so i go in BIOS to change boot order is it?
like this?-->
# Set your BIOS to boot from CDROM
To do this, follow these steps:
* Restart your computer
* Hit the DEL button or any key that enters the BIOS
* In the BIOS menu, enter the Boot Sequence from the Advanced BIOS option
* Select CD-ROM to be the first bootup device and HARD DISK to be second
* Save settings and exit the BIOS
* Insert Windows XP CD and restart the computer
dirtysock
18-05-2009, 08:06 PM
is it exactly like the steps outlined here?
*stressed*
Ya, just follow until step 2, the rest is pretty easy. If u can do that, post here again.
By default should be HDD first boot priority, he put disc also no use.
TheEyreAffair
18-05-2009, 08:08 PM
Ya, just follow until step 2, the rest is pretty easy. If u can do that, post here again.
By default should be HDD first boot priority, he put disc also no use.
ok, so after i follow until step 2, the rest of the screens should be for the vista installation already?
saysuzu
18-05-2009, 08:08 PM
i thoughyt by default is cd first?
dirtysock
18-05-2009, 08:09 PM
Just to add on, if you want to install vista onto your C: you might wanna backup your important data first. Cause currently there isn't enough space and you would need to reformat.
saysuzu
18-05-2009, 08:09 PM
ok, so after i follow until step 2, the rest of the screens should be for the vista installation already?
ya, you try first
but if you install successfully ah...must remove the disc when bootup again in order to prevent to go to the setup screen again
TheEyreAffair
18-05-2009, 08:11 PM
ok TWO more questions - sorry!
1) i should choose Format the partition using NTFS File System(Quick)?
2) must i go back to bios to change boot sequence back to HARDDISK as first bootup device?
spinning_quirK
18-05-2009, 08:11 PM
Are there important data you need to back up before installing Vista? Do that first.
When you restart the computer, go into the BIOS and look for an option labelled Startup Order or Bootup Order, or similar. Set your CD-ROM drive to be the 1st to boot from. Better still if your computer allows you to change boot order temporarily (like my Thinkpad T60). Don't panic like a fish out of water, BIOS provides clear steps to take. If you think you've made a wrong change, just ESC your way out without saving settings. It's that safe.
When the computer finally loads the files needed to start installing Vista, your aim now is to erase all existing partitions and create 1 big one which will become your C drive. The instructions given in the dialog window should be sufficient. When you're done with partitioning, select Quick Format if you want to start installing Vista immediately, or Full Format if you want the hard disk to be checked for errors.
I can't really help you if you need to have 2 or more partitions on the hard disk, because Vista's system files take up a lot of space. I daresay you'll need a 15 GB C drive for that.
As for 2), that's what I always do, and I don't know what will happen if I don't do it. :D
dirtysock
18-05-2009, 08:12 PM
ya, once u get in the installation screen, it should be pretty easy liao.
i thoughyt by default is cd first?
Dunno leh, some default hdd. For his case, hdd is 1st.
Unless he nvr press any key to enter setup. :eek:
dirtysock
18-05-2009, 08:13 PM
ok TWO more questions - sorry!
1) i should choose Format the partition using NTFS File System(Quick)?
2) must i go back to bios to change boot sequence back to HARDDISK as first bootup device?
1) Yeah
2)Yeah, after you are done, can change it back.
TheEyreAffair
18-05-2009, 08:17 PM
thanks everyone for your help!
i'm going to enter BIOS now............*shiver*
will report back if i come out of it alive....
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.