View Full Version : Looking for router in new home. Is DIR855 good for me?
ajmxa1
09-06-2009, 06:09 PM
Hi, I'm new to here. Was referred here by my dear colleagues on technology updates. Would be pleased if someone could assist me with some of the following questions that i have.
I am thinking of buying the dlink dir855 for our upcoming 2 storey house. My dear hubby usually downloads and watch stuff on his PC while me and my kids plays MapleStory.
At my old home, we have an old linksys which last quite long but it hangs from time to time.
Since its frustrating playing party quest from time to time, I would like to invest more into the router for a smooth connection.
Could anyone answer me if the above router would be able to cover the whole house and allow multiple connection to play maple?
We're thinking of expansions as well like media streaming, so it would be good if any pros here could provide some form of feedback or suggestions.
Lastly, if possible, do post the price of the above router. We have a budget of roughly $220 and was thinking of visiting the upcoming exhibition at suntec. Also, looking for a new connection as I am still using singtel broadband mobile. Is starhub good? I see the logo listed on the asiasoft website
Thank you all, have a nice day
Mrs Ang
shadowandy
09-06-2009, 06:38 PM
Some users reverted that the range of the 855 is shorter than the 655. But personally i think they are almost the same. With your budget, you could probably get the 855 during star buy?
iCuteCube
09-06-2009, 07:30 PM
DIR 855 is one of the best router for home usage.
The 5GHZ distance is shorter then 2.4GHZ, whereas at short distance the media streaming is better then 2.4GHZ streaming.
Go for starbuy, definetely worth it, unless you got other lobang, otherwise starbuy is the best time.
Starbuy time 1pm and 7pm, thursday and friday.
What are the items?
DNS 343
DIR 855
2 other items I leave it to you to check it out :)
ajmxa1
09-06-2009, 08:10 PM
Thanks for the reply.
I am not quite sure if I left out any other questions which needs to be answered as well, do let me know.
Currently, would like to know if the router could handle the house well.
Could anyone tell me what is the price and where exactly is this starbuy? I will let my hubby do the purchase. What is DNS 343 also?
cpuer
09-06-2009, 08:41 PM
Check with the house developer if they have laid the lan cable around house/rooms. If no cable laid yet, you should invest in running one . Save you lots of headache in the long run.
Kiwi8
09-06-2009, 08:48 PM
I agree with cpuer. Since it is a upcoming house, try to lay in the cables.
ry0suk1
09-06-2009, 09:43 PM
Maybe TS dont like having cables all around...
dir-655 / 855 is good, buy together with a wireless N adapter even better.
Kiwi8
09-06-2009, 09:48 PM
Maybe TS dont like having cables all around...
dir-655 / 855 is good, buy together with a wireless N adapter even better.
So u mean a house does not even need power cables? :s22:
richneo
09-06-2009, 09:51 PM
Well, i'm for the 655 and 855. Tomorrow night usually the price list will be released in hwz. Maybe the starbuy is really worth buying.
ajmxa1
10-06-2009, 12:35 AM
Yes, there are cables no doubt
We prefer the convenience actually, hence the need to know if the router would suffice in covering 2 storey.
Where exactly is this starbuy?
liangtam
10-06-2009, 02:40 AM
can...
place somewhere middle can liao lor
cpuer
10-06-2009, 08:52 AM
Yes, there are cables no doubt
We prefer the convenience actually, hence the need to know if the router would suffice in covering 2 storey.
Where exactly is this starbuy?
Houses are made differently. By simply saying 2 story house doesn't mean much. If you are sure that your house has lan cable laid and with lan points at the strategic locations, you can invest in the router and AP kind of set up.
If you have an existing wireless router (or borrow one if you don't have), you can bring it down to your new house to do a site survey with your notebook and try to find out if there's any blind spot around your house or not. If there's blind spots, are those area that you will likely be using a notebook or a desktop there?
liangtam
10-06-2009, 03:11 PM
You may be interested to know this:
http://global.dlink.com.sg/site_promo/sg/PCShow09.pdf
And it fits ur budget if u go down before hand :)
DIR855 $349 became......... $199
phuque99
10-06-2009, 03:30 PM
You may be interested to know this:
http://global.dlink.com.sg/site_promo/sg/PCShow09.pdf
And it fits ur budget if u go down before hand :)
DIR855 $349 became......... $199
must line up like 6 hrs before the scheduled time just to beat 29 others?
liangtam
10-06-2009, 04:21 PM
dun have to ah, be the 30th person lor :s13:
cochran
10-06-2009, 04:28 PM
Mmmm. just saw the PC Show 09 Dlink promo.
How come they list the DIR855 can do wireless at 600Mbps? Though max at 300Mbps?
richneo
10-06-2009, 04:50 PM
Mmmm. just saw the PC Show 09 Dlink promo.
How come they list the DIR855 can do wireless at 600Mbps? Though max at 300Mbps?
300 mbps using 2.4ghz and 300mbps using 5ghz total combined?
IDZetc
10-06-2009, 07:42 PM
neh.. about 3 hrs beforehand is a safe bet hahaha.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.