View Full Version : Can I have both SH MOL and M1 Cable on the same point?
TopGun
12-06-2009, 03:35 PM
As above.
I am thinking of downgrading my MOL so Surflight to maintain my hubber status and receive the digital phone line. 2 years contract is fine.
Then I would like to sign up for M1 30mbps plan at $58.80 at only 6 months contact. Just to I get the 4mbps upload. I figure this beats paying 86.88 for MOL Ultimate over 24 months contract.
Qn is.. Can i connect 2 cable modems of 2 different services to the same cable point? Or must I spilt the 2 cable modems to 2 cable points?
Kiwi8
12-06-2009, 03:55 PM
As above.
I am thinking of downgrading my MOL so Surflight to maintain my hubber status and receive the digital phone line. 2 years contract is fine.
Then I would like to sign up for M1 30mbps plan at $58.80 at only 6 months contact. Just to I get the 4mbps upload. I figure this beats paying 86.88 for MOL Ultimate over 24 months contract.
Qn is.. Can i connect 2 cable modems of 2 different services to the same cable point? Or must I spilt the 2 cable modems to 2 cable points?
I may be wrong, so take my advice at your own risk.
I think as long as your splitter is the minimum-StarHub standard (the Regal brand) it should be no problem using 2 cable modems on the same cable point. Still, throughput may be affected (this I'm not sure) or not affected (maybe it has enough bandwidth to fit the 2 cable modem's subscription plans).
LOL!!
Is this coincidence or what?
I just did what you planned to do!
:P
I downgraded my SH MOL from premium to the lowest plan.
I subscribed to M1 FBB 30Mbps.
I got a splitter from NTUC.
Link up the splitter to the data point.
Connect SH MOL modem to splitter which inturn links to a router.
Connect m1 FBB modem to splitter which inturn links to my main PC.
Wireless works perfectly and so does M1 FBB after login.
Hope that helps.
;)
As above.
TopGun
12-06-2009, 05:39 PM
LOL!!
Is this coincidence or what?
I just did what you planned to do!
:P
I downgraded my SH MOL from premium to the lowest plan.
I subscribed to M1 FBB 30Mbps.
I got a splitter from NTUC.
Link up the splitter to the data point.
Connect SH MOL modem to splitter which inturn links to a router.
Connect m1 FBB modem to splitter which inturn links to my main PC.
Wireless works perfectly and so does M1 FBB after login.
Hope that helps.
;)
Ahh Nice.
My setup would probably be this.
SH Surflite connected to 1 cable point (A) for digital voice. No net access
M1 connected to 1 cable point (B) for internet access via router.
I already have a SB6100 so guess have to cold storage it.
Do you have to login to M1 each time you surf? Is there a password and login? I was hoping M1 could be 'always on' like SH. Quite a bother to have to keep login in.
Shweet plan U got there too.
As for your SB6100, U may want to consider using back this modem so that U dun have to "free rent" another one from M1. But of course before U do that, U have to bring down the modem physically and let the M1 folks take a look at it.
Yupz, there is a login name (which U have to decide when U are at the counter) and the login password will be printed out for your safekeep on the same day as well.
As for the login, I've not really tested the 24hours limit, but the M1 folks informed me that so long there is data traffic..aka MSN or BT or whatever, the connection should remain alive until power shutdown or no data traffic, whichever comes first.
But on the same context, there are other threads in this forum that proves this M1 claim to be incorrect, aka...they tio dc-ed even if there is data traffic. So caveat E there. :)
Ahh Nice.
My setup would probably be this.
SH Surflite connected to 1 cable point (A) for digital voice. No net access
M1 connected to 1 cable point (B) for internet access via router.
I already have a SB6100 so guess have to cold storage it.
Do you have to login to M1 each time you surf? Is there a password and login? I was hoping M1 could be 'always on' like SH. Quite a bother to have to keep login in.
TopGun
12-06-2009, 06:03 PM
Shweet plan U got there too.
As for your SB6100, U may want to consider using back this modem so that U dun have to "free rent" another one from M1. But of course before U do that, U have to bring down the modem physically and let the M1 folks take a look at it.
Yupz, there is a login name (which U have to decide when U are at the counter) and the login password will be printed out for your safekeep on the same day as well.
As for the login, I've not really tested the 24hours limit, but the M1 folks informed me that so long there is data traffic..aka MSN or BT or whatever, the connection should remain alive until power shutdown or no data traffic, whichever comes first.
But on the same context, there are other threads in this forum that proves this M1 claim to be incorrect, aka...they tio dc-ed even if there is data traffic. So caveat E there. :)
Ahhh now I see the problem. So it is likely that the first user to access the internet from the network, would have to login and that the router could not keep the connection 'alive' on it's own. What a bummer! :(
LOL!!
Well no one knows for sure the cause for this aberration.
Maybe U are the lucky one and will not face this issue?
Personally, I am glad I've moved outta SH MOL and onto M1 FBB.
The experience so far was very rewarding and lives up to my expectation - aka good download speed and consistency. No more buffering for U-tube! Eat that SH! hehheee...
Sure hope to have this experience for a long time to come!
:)
Ahhh now I see the problem. So it is likely that the first user to access the internet from the network, would have to login and that the router could not keep the connection 'alive' on it's own. What a bummer! :(
liangtam
12-06-2009, 10:03 PM
2 cable point internally also is splitted from the main source what, same goes for the one ur neighbour uses. Thats how cable works. It does not matter if u hook 1 or 10 modem, as long the the backinfra can handle(obviously) and you have maintained a decent output quality after splitting
Router does not handle HTTP authentication, does not generally established TCP outgoing connection for no reason, other than DDNS and NTP, hence is never the equipment for keepalive of your connection.
czheyuan
13-06-2009, 01:55 AM
As long as there's data traffic within 24hr and the cable modem and router are not switched off, then it won't dc lo.. Otherwise can always keep the login window open then won't dc liao... The dc issue is extremely rare anyway.. Most M1 users don't face it mah..
TopGun
13-06-2009, 07:58 AM
As long as there's data traffic within 24hr and the cable modem and router are not switched off, then it won't dc lo.. Otherwise can always keep the login window open then won't dc liao... The dc issue is extremely rare anyway.. Most M1 users don't face it mah..
I believe the DC would not usually occur when the PC is still switched on.
My concern is that despite the modem and router being left on, once all the PCs in the network are switched off, the next time any PC wishes to go online, the user would have to login. Meaning that the login and password had to be shared among all users.
czheyuan
13-06-2009, 11:29 AM
I believe the DC would not usually occur when the PC is still switched on.
My concern is that despite the modem and router being left on, once all the PCs in the network are switched off, the next time any PC wishes to go online, the user would have to login. Meaning that the login and password had to be shared among all users.
Oh okie got what you mean... Yeah gotta share the username and password among all users lo..
TopGun
13-06-2009, 03:55 PM
Took the plunge and signed up for the 100mbps plan! haha.
And idea how long would it take to activate the service?
Decided to ditch SH and forgo the Hubber discount. My phonelines are on corp discount anyway. Can't wait to call and terminate SH. They going to charge me full price for my Premium plan :(
LOL!!
well done!!
On papers...M1's official reply is always 7 days to activate the service.
For my case, it took them 3 days to do the activation.
They will send out an sms to your HP upon activation and the next day U will get a letter from M1 on them congratulating U joining the M1 family
;P
Decided to ditch SH and forgo the Hubber discount. My phonelines are on corp discount anyway. Can't wait to call and terminate SH. They going to charge me full price for my Premium plan :(
GetFuzzy
13-06-2009, 07:44 PM
Hey TS, did you maintain MOL surflite for the hub club discounts for your cable tv, mol and post paid mobile subscriptions or just for the Digital Voice service?
Asphodeli
13-06-2009, 10:30 PM
LOL!!
well done!!
On papers...M1's official reply is always 7 days to activate the service.
For my case, it took them 3 days to do the activation.
They will send out an sms to your HP upon activation and the next day U will get a letter from M1 on them congratulating U joining the M1 family
;P
Aiyo must wait one? Sad, I thought can straightaway use :(
liangtam
13-06-2009, 10:48 PM
Actually is just key into the PC nia
konstrain
13-06-2009, 10:56 PM
how much is the splitter anyway?
czheyuan
13-06-2009, 11:24 PM
M1 also has multi-line saver of up to 35% for mobile lines... So can use M1 for mobile too lo :D Hubber discount not really attractive now liao..
czheyuan
13-06-2009, 11:26 PM
hahah of cuz muz wait lo... sign any ISP also muz wait mah... Only mobile BB no need to wait nia..
TopGun
14-06-2009, 12:41 AM
Hey TS, did you maintain MOL surflite for the hub club discounts for your cable tv, mol and post paid mobile subscriptions or just for the Digital Voice service?
I am going to terminate MOL.
Post paid I am getting Corp Discount.
Digital Voice I do not have it yet, but I could subscribe thru Cable TV.
liangtam
14-06-2009, 01:17 AM
hahah of cuz muz wait lo... sign any ISP also muz wait mah... Only mobile BB no need to wait nia..
Starhub no nid
limitation
18-06-2009, 01:31 AM
how much is the splitter anyway?
i got 1 extra splitter for sale..r u interested? :)
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.