View Full Version : M1 charge $600 for data usage
johnnydepp
24-06-2009, 04:26 AM
hi all
i juz my HTC Magic fr M1 and use it to watch youtube & when i received my bill this month they charge a whopping $600 for data usage how can it be?
trektech
24-06-2009, 04:31 AM
hi all
i juz my HTC Magic fr M1 and use it to watch youtube & when i received my bill this month they charge a whopping $600 for data usage how can it be?
because watching videos means more data to download.. better for you to apply for value added services for m1. can choose from $5 (5mb/per month) to 1$10+(1gb per month) even if you exceed the limit yopu will pay only$36++...
Pokémon
24-06-2009, 09:26 AM
You are always advised to check before you use, especially chargeable stuffs.
TimeTravel_0
24-06-2009, 10:12 AM
Watch you tube need to download a lot of the data.
hi all
jittery
24-06-2009, 10:16 AM
who ask u watch movie clips on mobile?
kennyg1969
24-06-2009, 11:07 AM
lol... no data plan right? why never sign data plan?:s8:
You got try radio streaming or not? 75MB for about 2 hrs plus of listening. Youtuve streaming is even worst with
johnnydepp
24-06-2009, 12:13 PM
lol... no data plan right? why never sign data plan?:s8:
You got try radio streaming or not? 75MB for about 2 hrs plus of listening. Youtuve streaming is even worst with
Yah no data plan but i use my HTC to watch youtube using my home wifi leh how it is under data usage charge?
kennyg1969
24-06-2009, 01:51 PM
Yah no data plan but i use my HTC to watch youtube using my home wifi leh how it is under data usage charge?
You must be careful, if the wifi signal drop then data usage will take over. You sud take a dataplan like M1 or SH plan @ 5.35 . This one got cap at 36.
czheyuan
24-06-2009, 01:58 PM
Most likely is your wifi signal dropped and it switched to using the 3.5G network lo... Video streaming consumes a lot of data de leh..
Yup like what others mention sign data plan better lo since there's a price cap of $36 including subscription no matter how much data you use..
TimeTravel_0
24-06-2009, 04:03 PM
Take it as a lesson.
When you at home, please use PC to watch youtube.
The handphone screen so small, very nice to watch meh ?
When the wi-fi signal drop, the phone will use the 3G network for streaming.
Before it can use the 3G network, the phone will pop up a menu to ask you wether can connect or not.
You must have click it to connect or already set your phone auto connect to 3G network.
I think your wireless router cannot cover your whole home. Still using G wireless router instead of N ?
phuque99
24-06-2009, 04:09 PM
Take it as a lesson.
When you at home, please use PC to watch youtube.
The handphone screen so small, very nice to watch meh ?
sometimes pangsai nothing to do bring handphone in to watch mah. :s13:
kennyg1969
24-06-2009, 04:53 PM
wahh lau... your pangsai activities very expensive..:s13:
Just Me
24-06-2009, 04:53 PM
ISPs depend on noobs and ignorant victims to make a killing... :D
nicholasL
24-06-2009, 04:56 PM
Give M1 a call and says it was a honest mistake.
kennyg1969
24-06-2009, 04:58 PM
Give M1 a call and says it was a honest mistake.
I doubt they will waive the whole amount. But please get them to add the mobile broadband vas and at least your ps activity will be whole lot cheaper
phuque99
24-06-2009, 04:59 PM
nowadays no more liao, pang sai play java games.
kennyg1969
24-06-2009, 04:59 PM
Unless the CSO did not advise him to sign on the VAS then it is totally wrong.:s8:
MiNt_HiPPo
24-06-2009, 05:07 PM
I think thats the problem with smartphone.. Alot of application if nv check carefully press, use 3G interenet le..
roxyjas
24-06-2009, 05:10 PM
a simple solution?
go download nodata.cab
or go disable gprs. i disabled my gprs already... : )
TimeTravel_0
24-06-2009, 05:32 PM
Your Pangsai activities really very expensive.
With TS $600, can buy psp to play until song song gao jurong.
Top up abit buy PS3 also can. :s13:
JeNoVa-IcHiGo
24-06-2009, 08:02 PM
Regarding the VASes. there are 3 you can select from...
Sunsurf Lite ($5.35 mthly sub) 20mb Bundled Capped at $36.38*
Sunsurf Plus ($10.70 mthly sub)100mb Bundled Capped at $36.38*
Sunsurf Max ($16.05 mthly sub)1gb Bundled Capped at $36.38*
*All sign up for the VAS includes registration charge of $10.70*
Depending on your usage you can pick the best one for yourself. But best would be Sunsurf Max...cause no matter which one, cap is at $36.38, so Sunsurf Max most likely possible to save more money than the other 2...
With just simple 16.05 you can save alot of those Pang Sai Money and possibly buy yourself a golden toilet bowl like the NKF Ex-Ceo
czheyuan
24-06-2009, 08:53 PM
Regarding the VASes. there are 3 you can select from...
Sunsurf Lite ($5.35 mthly sub) 20mb Bundled Capped at $36.38*
Sunsurf Plus ($10.70 mthly sub)100mb Bundled Capped at $36.38*
Sunsurf Max ($16.05 mthly sub)1gb Bundled Capped at $36.38*
*All sign up for the VAS includes registration charge of $10.70*
The registration charged is waived for now actually, plus free 1-month subscription.. And $36.38 includes the subscription fee..
Innocast
24-06-2009, 08:56 PM
want to use internet on ur mobile phone, pls sign data plan............:s8::s8::s8::s8::s8::s8:
win_man
24-06-2009, 08:58 PM
I think thats the problem with smartphone.. Alot of application if nv check carefully press, use 3G interenet le..
the first step is the disable the 3G internet in Connections. Just use Work Network and it will never switch to 3G ;)
kennyg1969
24-06-2009, 08:59 PM
TS,
Do you use phone's other functions (gmail,etc) besides youtube?:look:
Preacher1010
24-06-2009, 09:07 PM
correct-to-mundo!
magix
24-06-2009, 09:42 PM
Time to sign up a dataplan liao! else sure kanna $6000 on your next bill.
quekky
24-06-2009, 10:00 PM
for postpaid customer is $0.0107/KB, so is around 50MB only
I watched a 2min trailer already 2MB. u watched 50min of video?
but got cap at $319.93 (http://www.m1.com.sg/M1/site/M1Corp/menuitem.e2f30a2a1a1860b609b422103f2000a0/?vgnextoid=67d454103f29c110VgnVCM100000695a230aRCRD)
dexing0507
24-06-2009, 10:03 PM
i kana before , abt $150 under singtel, call them , they give me 20% discount..U can try call them see wat M1 say
stick.it
24-06-2009, 10:29 PM
TS,
hurry up go apply for the M1 VAS SunSurf...I think got 3 type of plans (difference is the free data bundle they give you, check out M1 website for more info)...and best of all they capped the excess data charges to $34 only...
call 1627
MADABOUTYOU
24-06-2009, 11:21 PM
I put my sim card for my 2 Mbps mobile BB into my phone also can surf. No need pay money de, right? Mobile BB only pay $19.36. But then I gave up because the screen too small and difficult to scroll, damn leceh de. Besides, the OS also different, not used to it.
Guys, please don't mock him lah. $600 is a lot of $$$ in this difficult time. Just give him advice on what to do, OK.
liangtam
24-06-2009, 11:48 PM
ish still TS problem mah, operator ish oways sharpen knife n chop chop when time comes de.
czheyuan
25-06-2009, 12:01 AM
I put my sim card for my 2 Mbps mobile BB into my phone also can surf. No need pay money de, right? Mobile BB only pay $19.36. But then I gave up because the screen too small and difficult to scroll, damn leceh de. Besides, the OS also different, not used to it.
Guys, please don't mock him lah. $600 is a lot of $$$ in this difficult time. Just give him advice on what to do, OK.
If you insert the mobile BB sim into the phone and surf don't need to pay extra de :)
seowbin
25-06-2009, 12:46 AM
si bei song......
Salvius
07-07-2009, 12:58 AM
the first step is the disable the 3G internet in Connections. Just use Work Network and it will never switch to 3G ;)
Hi, I am a new Magic user as well. Can i know where is this "work Network" u toking about? Searching high and low in the phone le still cant find..
There is only Settings -> Wireless Controls-> Mobile network settings-> where we can choose or edit APN,data roaming,etc.. I already off all except cant change network operators(fix to M1) and APN. However, the 3G connection status still automatically comes on everytime i on the phone!
Hai..this smartphone is too smart for my own good le..
ekardo
07-07-2009, 01:06 AM
funny why pple can afford expensive phone but can niao on $10 to $15 monthly data charges,
if dun want data, dun buy android or iphone lah..stick to the dumb phone..
wherehouse
07-07-2009, 01:24 AM
hi all
watch youtube in indonesia or malaysia, with a m1 sim card??
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.