PDA

View Full Version : Use uTorrent 1.8.3 for better speed

Pages : [1] 2

Kopi_si
27-06-2009, 08:37 AM
In uTorrent 1.8.3, a new protocol, UTP is enabled by default which can avoid ISP bandwidth throttling. Between 2 UTP enabled clients (some other bittorrent client hae also implemented it, check latest version if you are not using uTorrent 1.8.3), data transfer is increased by bypassing the ISP protocol throttling.

As I understand from the document, it is very costly for the ISP to throttle this new protocol. So the time being enjoy the speed. The gain is only possible if the clients are UTP enabled.

How to enable and disable it:
Preferences > Advanced, change bt.transp_disposition. This is now a bitfield, so you can add up the following numbers to get your desired setting.
1 - outgoing TCP
2 - outgoing uTP
4 - incoming TCP
8 - incoming uTP
Specific combinations:
255 - both TCP and uTP, incoming + outgoing (future-proof setting, always will mean this)
15 - both TCP and uTP, incoming + outgoing (default)

For example
i) to enable "outgoing uTP" and "incoming uTP", the value to set is 2 + 8 = 10

ii) to enable "outgoing TCP", "incoming TCP" and "incoming uTP", the value to set is 1 + 4 + 8 = 13

The default set value is 13, but recommended value is 15 or 255. Experiment with the different values.

Kopi_si
27-06-2009, 04:36 PM
BitTorrent 6.1.2 client support this new UTP protocol

Kopi_si
27-06-2009, 05:18 PM
I am getting good speed at a total of combined 120kB which I never get on a Saturday afternoon. Yes, I am downloading from UTP enabled clients. My set value is 15

Latest version of uTorrent is 1.8.3 build 15728 dated 26 Jun 09, solved memory leakage etc.

On the "peer" tab, uTP enabled clients has a "[uTP]" tagged at the end of their IP address.

samchng56
27-06-2009, 05:29 PM
tht's nice. gd for ST users.. same for myself:s13:

Kiwi8
27-06-2009, 05:39 PM
Yup I'm getting good speeds too using the uTP protocol.

I'm using uTorrent 1.9 beta.

guangzong
27-06-2009, 06:55 PM
I am getting good speed at a total of combined 120kB which I never get on a Saturday afternoon. Yes, I am downloading from UTP enabled clients. My set value is 15

Latest version of uTorrent is 1.8.3 build 15728 dated 26 Jun 09, solved memory leakage etc.

On the "peer" tab, uTP enabled clients has a "[uTP]" tagged at the end of their IP address.

Yup I'm getting good speeds too using the uTP protocol.

I'm using uTorrent 1.9 beta.

Does it really help significantly? I'm still using the retro version 1.6.1 (build 490) :o:s13:

Kopi_si
27-06-2009, 07:07 PM
Does it really help significantly? I'm still using the retro version 1.6.1 (build 490) :o:s13:
Yes. Using any bt client that implement the new uTP protocol. Just make sure you enable the feature.

kai_87
27-06-2009, 07:33 PM
wads does future-proof setting for 255 means?
It seem better for me to set to 255 than 15

Kiwi8
27-06-2009, 07:39 PM

Yup it helps significantly. U will notice that most of your downloading connections that are uTP-based will have a higher downloading rate than the other connection-types.

Kiwi8
27-06-2009, 07:39 PM
wads does future-proof setting for 255 means?
It seem better for me to set to 255 than 15

For now, 255 is the same as 15, but the authors may decide to change what 15 means in the future. If u just want to use all possible connections from now on, just stick to 255 lor.

BlackCube
27-06-2009, 07:50 PM
15 seem very good to me. Yet to try out 255.

I change to 15 and the downloading speed increased dramatically.

BradenHeat
27-06-2009, 08:49 PM
Vista SP2

Singnet MioHome

Verified and tested, works like a charm

But do remember not to touch the UPnP or NAT

Thanks to T.S about this:D

Any starhub users care to share on this setting? Does it work for you?

liangtam
27-06-2009, 08:59 PM
For UDP, becos there is less overhead such as ACK, speed is more faster per connection
But I guess more other applications like streamings will be affected

BradenHeat
27-06-2009, 09:21 PM
For those who like to know WHY this method T.S gave us worked

do check out this little link

http://www.skullbox.net/tcpudp.php

to put it simpler

1) TCP is slow than UDP, because it checks bits every time

2) UDP though error prone, does this weakness away since its alot faster than TCP

*Given from some guru here :D

tigerwoods
27-06-2009, 10:10 PM
good for stingtel & stuckhub users

guangzong
27-06-2009, 10:10 PM
For those who like to know WHY this method T.S gave us worked

do check out this little link

http://www.skullbox.net/tcpudp.php

to put it simpler

1) TCP is slow than UDP, because it checks bits every time

2) UDP though error prone, does this weakness away since its alot faster than TCP

*Given from some guru here :D

This explaination does make sense, since for UDP there is no handshaking and its stateless. I'll try it out and feedback.

Thanks for the share guys :)

liangtam
27-06-2009, 10:25 PM
good for stingtel & stuckhub users

I think you meant 'good for ONLY bittorrent users'

evolute8
27-06-2009, 11:00 PM
bookmarked

Kiwi8
28-06-2009, 01:20 PM
For UDP, becos there is less overhead such as ACK, speed is more faster per connection
But I guess more other applications like streamings will be affected

If I'm not wrong, there is also another reason in that it is harder to throttle UDP-based traffic. If they do so, it might heavily impact those playing real-time games, internet telephone, video streaming, etc etc. :o

guangzong
28-06-2009, 04:39 PM
I downloaded this version and used it the entire day. Can't really see the difference. Maybe its because i used to get good speeds previously already :D:s13::o

liangtam
28-06-2009, 04:45 PM
If I'm not wrong, there is also another reason in that it is harder to throttle UDP-based traffic. If they do so, it might heavily impact those playing real-time games, internet telephone, video streaming, etc etc. :o

And thats where I am worried, imagine P2P users hog all b/w and throttling mechanism wrongly target the wrong applications.

Speaking of which, I wan challenge u :mad:
To a round of kart :s34:

Kiwi8
28-06-2009, 04:58 PM
And thats where I am worried, imagine P2P users hog all b/w and throttling mechanism wrongly target the wrong applications.

Speaking of which, I wan challenge u :mad:
To a round of kart :s34:

I'm still playing in the China PopKart, primarily in the 3rd server (3rd option from the 4 options). :s34:

ceecookie
28-06-2009, 05:04 PM
What's the bt.transp_disposition setting for Bittorrent? Default value is 0, and now im set it to 15 instead.

Would that be ok?

Litmuss
29-06-2009, 02:10 AM
Setting it to 15 made it worse for me as it limits around 40-50 KB/s. Returning it to default value of 13 allows better download for me.

BradenHeat
29-06-2009, 09:36 AM
Setting it to 15 made it worse for me as it limits around 40-50 KB/s. Returning it to default value of 13 allows better download for me.

Try putting it to 255

fusionexxtreme
29-06-2009, 12:45 PM
255 or 15 does not work for me, does not connect to any peers/seeds at all. Using SN BB 8mb, default setting of 0 works for me.

Humster
29-06-2009, 01:04 PM
http://i42.tinypic.com/j8z6vl.jpg

http://i42.tinypic.com/2qi9qmo.jpg

Well recently I decided to run a cool progamn again (>...>lll And guess what it blocked?

liangtam
29-06-2009, 01:15 PM
cheh, chiu so paranoid might as well dun dl right? :P

Humster
29-06-2009, 01:29 PM
cheh, chiu so paranoid might as well dun dl right? :P

Actually, it only popped up this pass weeks or so.

A Month back all is cool. I turned on the program, cause I'm experiencing random slow downs and crap(again) even doing normal stuff like gaming, web surfing,etc.

Dunno, what the hell they are filtering other then BT (-_-lll. Sure as hell cause a slowdown on my side.

http://i39.tinypic.com/2qles9l.jpg

LOL guess what popped up??

Public Security Department from PRC?

tigerwoods
29-06-2009, 01:39 PM
which ISP?

liangtam
29-06-2009, 01:39 PM
You dled some chinese content is it?
Besides, there are also workers who dl mah

Humster
29-06-2009, 02:50 PM
Dont even need to DL. Just go random chinese website surfing you get some weird stuff liao.

Its hit or miss duo.

The age of internet.

Computron
29-06-2009, 04:20 PM
Just updated to 1.8.3.
Enable uTP value=255
Now speed is almost double.! (with uTP )
~ 6 downloads, 400 max conn, d/l >= 1300KBps u/l = 300KBps(bw limit)

previously
~ 6 downloads, 400 max conn, d/l >= 400KBps u/l = 300KBps(bw limit)

:s12:
(on maxonline Utm)

nannan82
29-06-2009, 04:41 PM
dont understand lay..... i nv really set anything... but i alway get maximum speed for my torrent(6mbps-680++..... i mean since i use ST..... maybe tis only apply to SH user??? when i was SH tat time.... i nv hit pass 30-40....

liangtam
29-06-2009, 04:47 PM
dont understand lay..... i nv really set anything... but i alway get maximum speed for my torrent(6mbps-680++..... i mean since i use ST..... maybe tis only apply to SH user??? when i was SH tat time.... i nv hit pass 30-40....

got alot factors in place de bah, including ur luck of getting well-speed peers that transfer to you and errm, choked upstream pipe of the ISP(no throttling needed even).

@Kiwi8: Moi ish pway 1st n 4th one, maybe moi go join 3rd huans oso :o

guangzong
29-06-2009, 05:05 PM
Just updated to 1.8.3.
Enable uTP value=255

previously

(on maxonline Utm)

I only used the setting of 15. Could this be the reason why i am not getting any significant speed increase? :s11:

Going to change the setting to 255. Will feedback accordingly :)

vivalabam
29-06-2009, 05:16 PM
for me it only made a difference on private trackers (demonoid and hd-bits), speed for individual torrents jumped from 220kB/s to 500+ kB/s. nice.

public trackers don't seem to show much improvement though...

liangtam
29-06-2009, 05:26 PM
for me it only made a difference on private trackers (demonoid and hd-bits), speed for individual torrents jumped from 220kB/s to 500+ kB/s. nice.

public trackers don't seem to show much improvement though...

having the speed oriented udp in place does not mean ppl willing to send more mah.

Computron
29-06-2009, 10:55 PM
If u r using ST or SH, try disable 'legacy incoming'

I only used the setting of 15. Could this be the reason why i am not getting any significant speed increase? :s11:

Going to change the setting to 255. Will feedback accordingly :)

LxIxVxE
30-06-2009, 08:18 AM
thanks for the tips~

:)

croc1977
30-06-2009, 08:27 AM
If u r using ST or SH, try disable 'legacy incoming'
no tick rite?

SPEED
30-06-2009, 11:26 AM
thanks guys
i using the latest version of Utorrent and set to value 15
omg
my BT now freaking FAST!!!!
Thumbs up!

tigerwoods
30-06-2009, 11:29 AM
how come 1.8.3 using 50% of my CPU?

1.6.1 only using 5%

zhaohan
30-06-2009, 11:49 AM
flying with 255 thanks

SPEED
30-06-2009, 12:50 PM
flying with 255 thanks

15 or 255 which is better?
:D

Kiwi8
30-06-2009, 01:05 PM
15 or 255 which is better?

For now it is the same.

But 255 will always mean what it is now, while 15 may be different in future versions.

seeyourhead_jiejie
30-06-2009, 01:11 PM
moi use 1.8.3 and tried 15 and 255 already
but when i do a netstat , i cannot find any connection connected to moi udp port leh..
already open both udp and tcp for the port at the router side riao

SPEED
30-06-2009, 01:27 PM
For now it is the same.

But 255 will always mean what it is now, while 15 may be different in future versions.

Thanks a million!

Scuderia
30-06-2009, 01:34 PM
Using uTorrent 1.8.3.
http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/8823/utp.jpg

croc1977
30-06-2009, 01:43 PM
can u guys share the setting for mol express?

monoblue
30-06-2009, 04:27 PM
uTorrent 1.8.3 x M1 10mbps

bt.transp_disposition = 13 default setting

http://i43.tinypic.com/ejva8l.jpg

10mbps ~ 1.25MB/s ~ 1250KB/s

Kiwi8
30-06-2009, 05:02 PM
Now come to think of it, I already mentioned the Micro Transport Protocol last month but nobody answered me. :o

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2355747

lxXXxl
30-06-2009, 06:57 PM
lemme confirm, i juz go into 'Advanced' and set bt.transp_disposition to either 15 or 255? any other options i nid to enable/disable?

euroass
30-06-2009, 07:12 PM
Now come to think of it, I already mentioned the Micro Transport Protocol last month but nobody answered me. :o

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2355747
how to do that in utorrent?

demonicvic
30-06-2009, 07:38 PM
lemme confirm, i juz go into 'Advanced' and set bt.transp_disposition to either 15 or 255? any other options i nid to enable/disable?
Yupz .. Jux change tat option.
how to do that in utorrent?
As above.

Litmuss
30-06-2009, 07:57 PM
for Outgoing protocol encrpytion, do u set as "forced"? Do u guys enable or disable incoming legacy connection?

Funny, for Singnet, setting the default of 13 works best for me. The rest of 15/255 ain't good.

tigerwoods
30-06-2009, 08:59 PM
uTorrent 1.8.3 x M1 10mbps

bt.transp_disposition = 15 fastest for me

13 & 255 very slow

Haku
30-06-2009, 09:14 PM
If I continue using 1.8.2 and change my bt.transp_disposition to 15 or 255, will it enable the UTP protocol too?

tomb
30-06-2009, 09:27 PM
seems to work but having problems with certain torrents not downloading at all ie. the down speed column is blank.

deathman91
01-07-2009, 07:54 PM
for Outgoing protocol encrpytion, do u set as "forced"? Do u guys enable or disable incoming legacy connection?

Funny, for Singnet, setting the default of 13 works best for me. The rest of 15/255 ain't good.

Same here.

shakeyourhead
01-07-2009, 09:26 PM

i got the same result too. changed to 13 and 225, d/l speed dropped drastically. changed back to 15 and it shot up again... and down again too. :(

shakeyourhead
01-07-2009, 09:34 PM
i set my value to "10" and its works like a charm!!

snbb 8mbps here. miobox setup (mioTeeBee and digital voice)

guangzong
02-07-2009, 08:52 AM
I've tried the settings of 15 and 255, and my speed went to average.

Changed it back to the default of 13, and the speed shot back up again :s11::s13:

boink!
02-07-2009, 10:13 AM
hmm interesting thanks for the heads up, will do some testing later.

seeyourhead_jiejie
02-07-2009, 10:21 AM
will there be a udp entry on the netstat ?
because what ever setting i used, i could not get any udp entry on the netstat

but i find that default value of 13 is best for me. but all connection are still tcp when i check

ionicle88
02-07-2009, 11:29 AM
anyone has any recommendation on how to test the new speed after the tweak?

tangpx
02-07-2009, 12:33 PM
what is the best setting for singnet 10mbps?

so far, i only get up to 128 to 400kbps.:s11:

tigerwoods
02-07-2009, 02:07 PM
for speed testing can d/l ubuntu-8.10-desktop-i386.iso

max out my M1 10mbs 1.25MBs

des_kong
02-07-2009, 03:02 PM
Thanks for sharing, :s12: hope i know where to set it. hehe :D

vivalabam
02-07-2009, 03:07 PM
for utorrent its under options -> preferences -> advanced, scroll down a little and you should be able to see it.

des_kong
02-07-2009, 03:13 PM
for utorrent its under options -> preferences -> advanced, scroll down a little and you should be able to see it.

only need to change the value from default 13 to 15 or 255 right? Anything else to edit?

Computron
02-07-2009, 03:54 PM
Better today. {with uTP 255 ~ (if ur router can take it, 6 downloads, 400 max conn, 80 connect-speed, 80 halfopen. }

http://i705.photobucket.com/albums/ww56/qazokm123x/spd01.jpg

Just updated to 1.8.3.
Enable uTP value=255

previously

(on maxonline Utm)

everex
03-07-2009, 09:49 PM

Sorry for very newbie basic question, what do I need to run utorrent and options/preferences above?
I'm only familiar with limewire and vuze, but not other applications.

Thanks for help in advance.

wweixian
03-07-2009, 10:43 PM
i jus know i farking hate starhub.
gonna drop them asap the contract ends. now in the night, i get only .5 mbps jus for SURFING with no downloads on. Am on 8mbps plan. This happened for 3 weeks already, took them 2 whole weeks to come down and check on sunday.

seeyourhead_jiejie
04-07-2009, 01:42 AM
i tested utorrent 1.9 alpha ? or izzit beta.. ?
the utp connection is working for me in 1.9 but not working in 1.8.3

at least i can see t hat there is utp connection in 1.9 now
http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/8823/utp.jpg

theres 0 utp connection for me in 1.8.3

guangzong
04-07-2009, 10:21 AM
i tested utorrent 1.9 alpha ? or izzit beta.. ?
the utp connection is working for me in 1.9 but not working in 1.8.3

at least i can see t hat there is utp connection in 1.9 now
http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/8823/utp.jpg

theres 0 utp connection for me in 1.8.3

Me too. Me is also still 0 :s13:
My setting is 13 now. Previously i used 15 and 255 too :s11:

seeyourhead_jiejie
04-07-2009, 11:10 AM
Me too. Me is also still 0 :s13:
My setting is 13 now. Previously i used 15 and 255 too :s11:
ya lor
i tried all sort of numbers in 1.8.3 liao but still 0
1.9 default is 15.. and its working

guangzong
04-07-2009, 11:57 AM
ya lor
i tried all sort of numbers in 1.8.3 liao but still 0
1.9 default is 15.. and its working

Now the #uTP connecting has shot up to 120? :s11::s13:

seeyourhead_jiejie
04-07-2009, 12:21 PM
Now the #uTP connecting has shot up to 120? :s11::s13:
the highest i saw so far is 300+

ceecookie
04-07-2009, 03:58 PM
Im seeing improvement after using utorrent and following this guide (http://filesharefreak.com/2008/04/02/tips-to-optimize-utorrent-download-speeds/) to optimise the speed. My DHT is currently 322 nodes

However, im facing major lags when torrent is running. Ping to google for example return a ridiculous 800-1k+ ms time. Do anybody know what's the issue here and how to detune utorrent to provide better surfing speed?

vivalabam
04-07-2009, 04:03 PM
limit bandwidth, thats about the only thing i can think of.

guangzong
05-07-2009, 10:15 AM
Im seeing improvement after using utorrent and following this guide (http://filesharefreak.com/2008/04/02/tips-to-optimize-utorrent-download-speeds/) to optimise the speed. My DHT is currently 322 nodes

However, im facing major lags when torrent is running. Ping to google for example return a ridiculous 800-1k+ ms time. Do anybody know what's the issue here and how to detune utorrent to provide better surfing speed?

Yes, this is indeed a good guide. I got good speeds from it.

Are you using a modem-and-router? If so, it could be that the device cannot take the load. Otherwise, try lowering the number of connections to see if the situation improves.

Have a good one :)

lazy999
05-07-2009, 12:21 PM
hi guys,

my utorrent listenport gt tis error"listen error"...
I had done a portforwarding on my 2wire and the error still there..Can anyone help?

I using singtel 10mbps and my listen port is 49152..
I had allowed utorrent on my zone alarm firewall too...

The error just willnt go away.. :s22:

ceecookie
05-07-2009, 03:06 PM
Yes, this is indeed a good guide. I got good speeds from it.

Are you using a modem-and-router? If so, it could be that the device cannot take the load. Otherwise, try lowering the number of connections to see if the situation improves.

Yup. D-Link 615 N router + Intel Wifi Link 5300 on my laptop side.

The Reporter
05-07-2009, 06:27 PM
bookmarked

ry0suk1
05-07-2009, 09:17 PM
http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/4387/39169245.jpg (http://img200.imageshack.us/i/39169245.jpg/)

after changing to 255..

very happy so far, most torrent stay at a average around 1mb/sec - 2mb /sec

apriliasiao
06-07-2009, 01:37 AM
omg... 2.1mbps?

mata_hippo
06-07-2009, 01:13 PM
can give some links to test out the new settings?

n do we enable DHT or not?

wads the max UL/DL u guys put? im using starfug 12mbps and im using 15/700 for UL/DL

amsga
06-07-2009, 03:58 PM
Try downloading MapleSEA or OpenOffice.

mata_hippo
06-07-2009, 06:00 PM
i tried ubuntu from a popular torrent site and i got around 900kb/sec :s22:

guangzong
06-07-2009, 07:43 PM
Yup. D-Link 615 N router + Intel Wifi Link 5300 on my laptop side.

Try connecting your laptop to the 615 via UTP? If the problem is gone, means your wireless chui :s13:

Kiwi8
06-07-2009, 08:33 PM
I have a question related to uTorrent. I get the feeling that the Xunlei client seems to ostracise connections to uTorrent. Do u get the same feeling too? :o

jacqqq
07-07-2009, 12:10 AM
i am using WAG54G2 linksys router with upnp enabled. my utorrent client has upnp enabled also.

do i need to do manual port forward? to increase my speed?

and also under advance option , net.max_halfopen need to set to 100? or 200?

anybody got any guide on recommended settings for utorrent?

many thanks!

tomb
07-07-2009, 09:32 AM
I have a question related to uTorrent. I get the feeling that the Xunlei client seems to ostracise connections to uTorrent. Do u get the same feeling too? :o

yah i think so too and only started from this version. takes quite a while (sometimes a few hours) before i get connected to any peers/seeds.

terrykorkor
07-07-2009, 12:45 PM
you use xunlei you can just stay with xunlei for all the downloads enough le wat.. just remember to remove the file you download from the download location after completion to prevent secret uploading

reimina
07-07-2009, 01:04 PM

Beware! Xunlei have lots of adware and maybe spyware. Use it at your own risk. ;)

xiaolavie
07-07-2009, 01:12 PM
xunlei is damn power, downloading broke 1mB/s barrier many times
http://i26.tinypic.com/1zoi61h.jpg

Kiwi8
07-07-2009, 02:44 PM
Beware! Xunlei have lots of adware and maybe spyware. Use it at your own risk. ;)

I did not install that Ah Tiong software. I do not like the way they ostracise connections to non-Xunlei clients. :o

liangtam
07-07-2009, 02:51 PM
dl fast, but u see ur upload oso...

jacqqq
07-07-2009, 10:12 PM
any one can give me guide on setting up utorrent settings to increase speed?

toblerone
07-07-2009, 11:37 PM
Hi

I just upgraded to 1.8.3 from 1.8.2 today.

But my download speed has dropped significantly. Even with a good number of seeds, my speed can never get past 10 kB/s. With the previous version 1.8.2, I can easily get 100 kB/s per torrent.

Is there something wrong with the ISP today (SNBB) or something's wrong with my settings?

Somebody please help......

ionicle88
07-07-2009, 11:51 PM
I did not install that Ah Tiong software. I do not like the way they ostracise connections to non-Xunlei clients. :o

i used to use xunlei too..

it is a bit problematic, esp with their newer versions....

but nonetheless, very fast download speeds....

glassdarkly
08-07-2009, 01:23 AM
Hi

But my download speed has dropped significantly. Even with a good number of seeds, my speed can never get past 10 kB/s. With the previous version 1.8.2, I can easily get 100 kB/s per torrent.

Is there something wrong with the ISP today (SNBB) or something's wrong with my settings?

I think there is something wrong with SNBB. My speeds are terrible also, and even going back to 1.8.2 hasn't helped much. I tried the Ubuntu torrent and got 4kb/s, and all my other torrents are on private trackers, but my speed has been vacillating from 10kb/s to about 80kb/s when I usually max out my connection.

Kiwi8
08-07-2009, 10:31 AM
i used to use xunlei too..

it is a bit problematic, esp with their newer versions....

but nonetheless, very fast download speeds....

Of course good speeds when Xunlei client sends to Xunlei client lah. :o

apriliasiao
08-07-2009, 12:56 PM
Xunlei so gd meh???

ionicle88
08-07-2009, 01:09 PM
not necessary, sometimes fast sometimes slow...

xunlei for chinese based torrents ok lah...

but for more general stuff, i still think utorrent is better...

and for some weird reason without UTP my utorrrent totally cannot move.. kind of a blessing over here with the 1.8.3 for me...

ionicle88
08-07-2009, 01:10 PM
but is utorrent blocking xunlei's peers?

any chance to confirm that?

Kiwi8
08-07-2009, 01:30 PM
not necessary, sometimes fast sometimes slow...

xunlei for chinese based torrents ok lah...

but for more general stuff, i still think utorrent is better...

and for some weird reason without UTP my utorrrent totally cannot move.. kind of a blessing over here with the 1.8.3 for me...

It probably means your ISP is throttling your TCP connections. :s21:

terrykorkor
08-07-2009, 06:19 PM
xunlei had been banned by quite a lot of tracker and BT program.. at least bitcomet is blocking them for 0kb upload.. just a tips.. there is actually crack for xunlei where your program is clean and "green", with no adware, and still possible to still leech by disguising as other BT program. not that i'm encouraging xunlei since i'm actually a anti-xunlei user myself lol.. but it's just a matter of choice ba

Mclairs83
08-07-2009, 06:23 PM
Hi

same here.. my download speed tis few days never pass 100kb/sec.

katoboy
08-07-2009, 07:04 PM
Hi, guy may I know that must I download totalliy finished the movies or drama then it can be preview as I can't see any even it had 2-3% of the file, as I use limewire it can be preview any advise thank :flash:

toblerone
08-07-2009, 09:42 PM
same here.. my download speed tis few days never pass 100kb/sec.

I realise that the download speeds from overseas peers are never > 2 kB/s.

But with local peers, can still achieve good speeds.

Is this SNBB throttling? Or is there something wrong with overseas connection/bandwidth?

apriliasiao
08-07-2009, 10:19 PM
Hi, guy may I know that must I download totalliy finished the movies or drama then it can be preview as I can't see any even it had 2-3% of the file, as I use limewire it can be preview any advise thank :flash:

please dun use limewire, its a piece is malware-adware magnet. lol

Kiwi8
08-07-2009, 11:02 PM

U can't do that with BitTorrent files unless u have seen that the beginning part of the file has been downloaded already. If the beginning part of the file has not been downloaded then most likely u cannot play the partial file.

rc79
08-07-2009, 11:48 PM
Recently I also upgraded to 1.8.3.

The Speed are RIDICULOUS!

I can't even get 50k TOTAL for ($)@($*#$&.

It is a very popular Torrent loh.

All my Seeds average @ 400~500 and the speeds and connections are the lowest I have seen in a long long time. Anyone having the same problems?

ISP: Singnet 10M

toblerone
09-07-2009, 01:56 AM
Recently I also upgraded to 1.8.3.

The Speed are RIDICULOUS!

I can't even get 50k TOTAL for ($)@($*#$&.

It is a very popular Torrent loh.

All my Seeds average @ 400~500 and the speeds and connections are the lowest I have seen in a long long time. Anyone having the same problems?

ISP: Singnet 10M

Same here but when I downgraded back to 1.8.2, the speed never improved. Now I totally regret upgrading to 1.8.3 but there are some members here that have the same slow speed even with other torrent programs. So it may be due to SNBB.

I noticed that if connected to a local (S'pore) peer, the speed is faster but strangely, any 1 torrent can only be connected to one fast local peer. Other peers which are mainly overseas peers are at miserable speeds of < 2 kB/s.

Occasionally, the speed will rise back again to what I get normally. This is when you notice that suddenly all the overseas peers can hit high speeds but then only momentarily. Then it's back to the slow speed again.

Is this some sort of traffic shaping in action? What the @##$%! Will monitor for another few more days....if still no improvement, jump ship!

deestroy
09-07-2009, 02:22 AM
im using SNBB 10mbps with that miobox and im still hitting around 300+ kb\s (for each torrent) with utorrent 1.83. the max ive got was 800+ constant (for 1 torrent) for an entire night with the same setup. but on average my total download speed of all my torrents added up is usually 800+

MasterNut
09-07-2009, 08:10 AM
Hi just to share , i am also on SNBB 10mbps
Intially the 1.8.3 worked fine for me till they ask me to update to 1.8.3 build 15772 ,then it became very slow and even rolling back to 1.8.2 or using other BT clients also doesnt work .

But i do not think its singnet's fault as i have 2 other computers in the house running older versions of Utorrent , the download speeds on those computer are as per normal very fast able to hit 800kb-1000 on well seeded torrents.

katoboy
09-07-2009, 11:07 AM
U can't do that with BitTorrent files unless u have seen that the beginning part of the file has been downloaded already. If the beginning part of the file has not been downloaded then most likely u cannot play the partial file. At last I can see the preview of my content :D as I compare with my previous Limewire the uTorrent 1.8.3 it MUCH mush better than Limewire I appreare you guy to recommand this site keep it up :s12:

katoboy
09-07-2009, 11:09 AM
please dun use limewire, its a piece is malware-adware magnet. lol
Thank I will take note of it ;)

katoboy
09-07-2009, 11:23 AM
I had notice in the morning at 5.30am I open the uTorrent download speed is much faster around 50-56kb but in the afternoon it downgrade to 8-15kb the most presently I using singtel 8mb I think maybe the traffic problem :s8:

mexuswch
09-07-2009, 01:59 PM
Hi just to share , i am also on SNBB 10mbps
Intially the 1.8.3 worked fine for me till they ask me to update to 1.8.3 build 15772 ,then it became very slow and even rolling back to 1.8.2 or using other BT clients also doesnt work .

But i do not think its singnet's fault as i have 2 other computers in the house running older versions of Utorrent , the download speeds on those computer are as per normal very fast able to hit 800kb-1000 on well seeded torrents.
Same here, after upgrading to 1.8.3 build 15772, it became very slow.
Wonder what's the problem?

guangzong
09-07-2009, 06:53 PM
Hi everyone,

I am on SingNet Broadband 10M plan. I used to be using the ancient utorrent 1.6.1, and could get download speeds of 1MByte/sec. After upgrading to version 1.8.3, i could only achieve max 400-500KB/sec, even after enabling uTP.

Today, i switched back to version 1.6.1, and my old kicka$$ speeds returned.

Guess the old ginger still rocks :s13:

ionicle88
09-07-2009, 07:18 PM
for your information, my connection is in my sig...

so long as i am downloading any new torrents with a lot of uTP peers... i can get speeds like 600+ / 800+

i tried to torrent the michael jackson memorial... its blazing @ 800KB/s for me...

which is like so super fast~

Mclairs83
09-07-2009, 08:48 PM
Hi everyone,

I am on SingNet Broadband 10M plan. I used to be using the ancient utorrent 1.6.1, and could get download speeds of 1MByte/sec. After upgrading to version 1.8.3, i could only achieve max 400-500KB/sec, even after enabling uTP.

Today, i switched back to version 1.6.1, and my old kicka$$ speeds returned.

Guess the old ginger still rocks :s13:

Thanks will try tat now and feedback.

jacqqq
09-07-2009, 08:52 PM
how much is u guys net_maxhalf open? 50?

rc79
09-07-2009, 11:16 PM
Click here for uTorrent 1.6.1 (http://www.oldversion.com/program.php?n=utorrent)

For the benefit of others.

Knightrider3K
09-07-2009, 11:52 PM
seems like a lot of ppl experiencing lag... ISP prob or utorrent prob?

ask u all...

1) is it important to port forward correctly? like in utorrent's speed guide.. can check 1.
dun port forward will affect the dl speed?

2) the 'install IPv6 Teredo' setting on utorrent/preference/general... does it affect dl speed?

i think the only high speeds i get is from local peers, like what some mention here.

Thanks in advance.

Mclairs83
10-07-2009, 12:34 AM
i uninstall 1.8.3 and install back my 1.8.2..

speed so far resume back to 50%.. not as fast as before..might be seeders problem.. nevertheless will still monitor.. so far now its back to my acceptable speed but still not as fast as before. ;)

Knightrider3K
10-07-2009, 02:07 AM
i uninstall 1.8.3 and install back my 1.8.2..

speed so far resume back to 50%.. not as fast as before..might be seeders problem.. nevertheless will still monitor.. so far now its back to my acceptable speed but still not as fast as before. ;)
i didnt istall/uninstall or change any setting... but my speed juz boosted back to 100K..

im kinda suspecting its the ISP or some underwater cable issue..... since i gotten feedback from some of myfrens who found their office & home's connection to be rather slow thse few days...

oddly, it happened on the day of michael jackson's live broadcast of his funeral....

or someone hijacking bandwidth?...

katoboy
10-07-2009, 06:15 AM
It anyone encounter that the downloading sign arrow instead of green arrow it become red arrow and advise :s11:

Hahazwan
10-07-2009, 07:38 AM
is there any way you can downgrade without affecting the downloading torrent?

jacqqq
10-07-2009, 07:53 AM
what are u guys settings?

i only set half open to 50 and the udp thing to 255...

rc79
10-07-2009, 08:23 AM
Uninstalled and installed 1.6

Speeds more 'normal' now.

At least a TV show will not take more than 1 hour.

Mclairs83
10-07-2009, 09:59 AM
what are u guys settings?

i only set half open to 50 and the udp thing to 255...

depending on wads ur setup.

if u r using XP and ur TCP limit is only 50.. by setting 50, u won't be able to surf internet liao.

if u r on Vista SP2... the TCP limit is 0.. so u can set any figure..but dun put too high of course.

jacqqq
10-07-2009, 10:25 AM
depending on wads ur setup.

if u r using XP and ur TCP limit is only 50.. by setting 50, u won't be able to surf internet liao.

if u r on Vista SP2... the TCP limit is 0.. so u can set any figure..but dun put too high of course.

i on vista.

i set to 50 lor. u think its ok?

and i using 1.8.3 now , with the 255 setting also...

1 more thing , if my router has upnp enabled , no need to port forward liao right?

Mclairs83
10-07-2009, 10:35 AM
i on vista.

i set to 50 lor. u think its ok?

and i using 1.8.3 now , with the 255 setting also...

1 more thing , if my router has upnp enabled , no need to port forward liao right?

i do port forwarding.. i dun do upnp.

Mclairs83
10-07-2009, 10:36 AM
is there any way you can downgrade without affecting the downloading torrent?

redownload the torrent again lor.. it will check the hash of the file and see how many percent left to download.

i did a full uninstall in order to regain my "normal" speed back.

guangzong
10-07-2009, 10:51 AM
Hello everybody,

I have tested, and confirmed that uTorrent version 1.6.1 does indeed give better speeds. I can achieve the maximum 1.2MB/sec on my SingNet 10M ADSL plan.

Knightrider3K
10-07-2009, 10:51 AM
It anyone encounter that the downloading sign arrow instead of green arrow it become red arrow and advise :s11:
http://utorrent.com/faq#faq25

jacqqq
10-07-2009, 10:53 AM
i do port forwarding.. i dun do upnp.

why leh? i thought upnp is good?

i check my utorrent it show green color , the port is working leh...

so i no need port forward?

katoboy
10-07-2009, 11:24 AM
http://utorrent.com/faq#faq25 Thank brother for your infor ;)

Mclairs83
10-07-2009, 11:24 AM
why leh? i thought upnp is good?

i check my utorrent it show green color , the port is working leh...

so i no need port forward?

if it shows green den okie lor. ;)

jacqqq
10-07-2009, 02:23 PM
i see. wah BT sometimes very slow leh , then connect to alot of useless xunlei client...

Knightrider3K
10-07-2009, 04:43 PM
i see. wah BT sometimes very slow leh , then connect to alot of useless xunlei client...
i get quite a bit of downloads frm xunlei... spds sometimes better than local peers....

katoboy
10-07-2009, 08:04 PM
Hi, guy need your help I had unistall my limewire and when I search the uTorrent and wanted to save the file it alway go to my limewire folder instead of my uTrroent folder any advise thank :s11:

jacqqq
10-07-2009, 09:21 PM
if it shows green den okie lor. ;)

oic. ok thanks.

the max net half open u set to how much?

Hahazwan
10-07-2009, 09:28 PM
i just reinstall the 1.6.1v.. but still same speed. highest i can get is 3kb/s. lol

Mclairs83
10-07-2009, 09:59 PM
oic. ok thanks.

the max net half open u set to how much?

100 on Vista SP2.

jacqqq
10-07-2009, 10:53 PM
100 on Vista SP2.

i only set 50. 50 enough or not ?

i also on vista sp2

ralliart12
11-07-2009, 02:02 AM
Was using v1.7.7. upgraded to v1.8.3 with the different settings, i.e. 10, 13, 15, 255, all resulted in slow torrenting speeds. Back to v1.7.7. Speed returned to the "usual" good rates.

katoboy
11-07-2009, 02:15 PM
if it shows green den okie lor. ;) Thank mate your infor for me it work I appreciated :)

ry0suk1
11-07-2009, 04:04 PM
quite good for me with 255 setting in 1.8.3

jacqqq
11-07-2009, 04:17 PM
quite good for me with 255 setting in 1.8.3

i also using 255.

btw your max_halfopen set to how much?

50 or 100? i set 100 ok or not?

rc79
12-07-2009, 08:48 AM
Took advice to downgrade to 1.6.1. Speeds are back to normal. I hate to see my utilities bill for this month man. F#$% 1.8.3. That is juz screwed up.

xiaoyuer89
12-07-2009, 10:08 AM
is this faster den xunlei(bitthunder)?

ac3knight
12-07-2009, 10:23 PM
there's no purpose in running uTP + TCP concurrently
as long as TCP torrent traffic is detected, they can throttle your speeds

anyway i think starhub made changes to their throttling because it seems much faster now even though i didn't change my client or its settings.

they might have alleviated some of the throttling restrictions (for e.g. increase d/l and u/l speed caps), if they haven't already removed it entirely.

liangtam
12-07-2009, 10:40 PM
Not when most users are still not on udp yet.

aaronlow
14-07-2009, 01:06 AM
there's no purpose in running uTP + TCP concurrently
as long as TCP torrent traffic is detected, they can throttle your speeds

anyway i think starhub made changes to their throttling because it seems much faster now even though i didn't change my client or its settings.

they might have alleviated some of the throttling restrictions (for e.g. increase d/l and u/l speed caps), if they haven't already removed it entirely.

for the pass few days, my bt speed also increase a lot.

chunlianghere
14-07-2009, 07:46 AM
is this faster den xunlei(bitthunder)?
IMO, its kind of 2 different thing.

dreamer75
14-07-2009, 09:57 PM
any1 using wireless and getting v gd d/l speed?

share ur settings?

mexuswch
15-07-2009, 12:41 AM
Trying out 1.8.3 again, using default 13.
How do I check the utp traffic?

katoboy
15-07-2009, 06:25 AM
Just curious will download more than 5 content will it slow down the speed and surfing the net or uploading the page any advise :s12:

ionicle88
15-07-2009, 06:50 PM
downloading many many torrents u can set the limit in the settings itself...

more importantly, see how much bandwidth 5 torrents take.. sometimes one single torrent can cap my 8Mbps @ 950Kb/s +-

so yup...

b0n3less
16-07-2009, 12:00 AM
how to open forward port :s11:
i tried changing the the ip to static by i see the dns and the dchp numbers are the same leh?
the router is connected to my bro comp and then another cable connected to my laptop.
i need to change the port from my brother comp or i can change it from my laptop :s11:

ionicle88
16-07-2009, 11:08 AM
how to open forward port :s11:
i tried changing the the ip to static by i see the dns and the dchp numbers are the same leh?
the router is connected to my bro comp and then another cable connected to my laptop.
i need to change the port from my brother comp or i can change it from my laptop :s11:

use utorrent and check port forwarding...

after which there is a guide on the webpage on different types of router u r using to do port forwards...

key to port forwards will ofc be the port number and the IP address that which the port is supposed to be open @.:s12::s12:

mexuswch
16-07-2009, 12:10 PM
Those peers with [utp] attached to their ip doesn't seem to be providing exceptional upload speed as indicated by some of the above threads. Should I change the default setting of 13 to 15 or 255?

Kopi_si
16-07-2009, 05:12 PM
Enabling UTP to 15 or 255 is to allow sharing using the UDP protocol between clients that have UTP enabled. Because it is more expensive for the ISP to bandwiidth control UDP protocol, chances are that our ISP don't although they still can.

Speed download depends on:
1. How many connected UTP client.
2. What is the upload speed of these UTP clients.

You will still have low download speed if your torrent have clients that are not UTP enabled. However, having many connected UTP enabled clients does not translated to high download speed also if these UTP enablec clients limit their upload speed e.g.10kb i.e. sharing at low speed.

You will only see improved in speed if your UTP clients upload to you at high speed i.e. they don't limit their upload speed.

So by getting more users to enable UTP, we should see increase in download speed.

It is therefore no harm to just set to 15 and 255.

You see random up and down in the download speed because of the above 2 factors.

evilrion
17-07-2009, 11:18 AM
wow must bookmark this go home and try it out

Just Me
17-07-2009, 11:55 AM
SNBB 8mbps, Tomato 1.23 w/WRT54G

13 = optimal
255 = moderate
15 = 0 DHT!

So far, UtP doesn't seem to be implemented in 1.8.3 yet, only 1.9

ionicle88
17-07-2009, 12:40 PM
me using 1.8.3 and i have a lot of UTP connections wor..

v hard to explain the claim that 1.8.3 UTP fail

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
17-07-2009, 12:55 PM
SNBB 8mbps, Tomato 1.23 w/WRT54G

13 = optimal
255 = moderate
15 = 0 DHT!

So far, UtP doesn't seem to be implemented in 1.8.3 yet, only 1.9
i also find that 1.9 speed is much better

ionicle88
17-07-2009, 01:02 PM
maybe for SNBB users only????

seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
17-07-2009, 01:41 PM
maybe for SNBB users only????
mayb roh
moi on singnet 10mbps

ac3knight
17-07-2009, 04:22 PM
anyway there's nothing wrong with the existing utorrent

im using 1.8.2 and even without the new alogrithm, i've recently seen speeds up to 1.4mb/s on a single torrent

when i checked the peer status in that single torrent, i was receiving data at 1.0mb/s from 1 USA peer alone.

if you compare the current speed situation in the past (when connectivity to USA peers was very poor), its either starhub has lifted throttling (or limited throttling to peak periods) or broadband users in the USA have miraculously seen their upload speeds increase dramatically.

i think its more likely that starhub has done something to their throttling

b0n3less
17-07-2009, 09:37 PM
use utorrent and check port forwarding...

after which there is a guide on the webpage on different types of router u r using to do port forwards...

key to port forwards will ofc be the port number and the IP address that which the port is supposed to be open @.:s12::s12:

well, i did follow the guide to port forawrd and making static ip address.
but everytime i paste my ip address on to the website, it request for user and password. it is there that i cant get it. also, my dhcp,default gate way and dns server ip adress is same de?

ionicle88
18-07-2009, 12:41 AM
mayb roh
moi on singnet 10mbps

coz moi on suckhub i am flying wif 255 bt.transp_disposition, with a properly set open port and forced protocol encryption

jacqqq
18-07-2009, 10:52 AM
which port number did u all use for utorrent?

whats the best port range? 5000 and above ?

ionicle88
18-07-2009, 06:23 PM
port number?

Kiwi8
18-07-2009, 10:13 PM
Hey folks.

If u have not done so, do download the latest build of 15772, released 2009-07-07.

provider
18-07-2009, 10:33 PM
which port number did u all use for utorrent?

whats the best port range? 5000 and above ?

port number doesn't matter as long as you don't bind 2 apps to one port
use any number above 5000 can

Soon__
18-07-2009, 10:37 PM
Is uTorrent still as clean? I heard rumours that since version later than 1.6, uTorrent seems to be working with ISP for illegal torrent, thus I am still using uTorrent 1.6 now.

jacqqq
18-07-2009, 10:46 PM
port number doesn't matter as long as you don't bind 2 apps to one port
use any number above 5000 can

hmm most of our applications dun use port number above 5000 right?

so utorrent set to number above 5000 can liao?

jacqqq
19-07-2009, 11:15 AM
guys how much u all set your upload speed to ?

15kb , 20kb?

lemonn
19-07-2009, 11:27 AM
Is it just me or does it seem like my download speed increases when i lower my upload limit?

http://i26.tinypic.com/2drzas4.jpg

BradenHeat
19-07-2009, 12:20 PM
Heres mine, public torrent

http://i25.tinypic.com/os5qnr.jpg

http://i32.tinypic.com/qyvome.jpg

bt.transp_disposition set at 255

net-max half open at 3000

Whats my findings thus far

1) Regardless of what settings, basic rule still applies. More seeders to leechers ratio
(Of course the are some special cases like super seeders

2) Always remember to port forward and add utorrent to windows's firewall

3) Upload does not affect download, in a sense i've un-capped my upload to 0 yet it was still downloading at 1.0 Mb/s

jacqqq
19-07-2009, 01:17 PM
siao ah max net half open set to 3000?

provider
19-07-2009, 03:17 PM
hmm most of our applications dun use port number above 5000 right?

so utorrent set to number above 5000 can liao?

yes

3) Upload does not affect download, in a sense i've un-capped my upload to 0 yet it was still downloading at 1.0 Mb/s

cable is ok, ADSL if you upload at full upload your download will suffer greatly

jacqqq
19-07-2009, 04:58 PM
yes

cable is ok, ADSL if you upload at full upload your download will suffer greatly

i using adsl. my upload should set to how much?

liangtam
19-07-2009, 05:56 PM

Its the opposite...

liangtam
19-07-2009, 05:58 PM
i using adsl. my upload should set to how much?

cap at 80% for dsl
60% for cable

jacqqq
19-07-2009, 08:12 PM
cap at 80% for dsl
60% for cable

i only set 15-20kb/s

what will happen if i set too low. i wont get high download speed meh?

phuque99
19-07-2009, 08:41 PM
i only set 15-20kb/s

what will happen if i set too low. i wont get high download speed meh?

you'll be one of the kiam siap seeders and you keep wondering why download speed so low, because of kiam siap mentality to set upload speed si bei low. :D

jacqqq
19-07-2009, 09:00 PM
you'll be one of the kiam siap seeders and you keep wondering why download speed so low, because of kiam siap mentality to set upload speed si bei low. :D

set low upload speed will get low download speed meh?

Xeniel
19-07-2009, 09:32 PM
Heres mine, public torrent
bt.transp_disposition set at 255

net-max half open at 3000

Whats my findings thus far

1) Regardless of what settings, basic rule still applies. More seeders to leechers ratio
(Of course the are some special cases like super seeders

2) Always remember to port forward and add utorrent to windows's firewall

OMG how did you get it to become 3000? I using TCP-Z can only set to 251 max :(

Share the patch?

kai_87
19-07-2009, 09:36 PM
OMG how did you get it to become 3000? I using TCP-Z can only set to 251 max :(

Share the patch?
http://i32.tinypic.com/9tmwrc.jpg

http://half-open.com/

jacqqq
19-07-2009, 10:58 PM
set to so many got use meh? i only put 100 nia.....

lemonn
20-07-2009, 12:33 AM
Hmm, windows 7 and vista sp2 has the limit removed :)

ionicle88
20-07-2009, 12:35 AM
dun need lei... just go to advanced and edit from there... can change one wor.

jacqqq
20-07-2009, 09:34 PM
wah but set to 3000 serious bo?

i only set 100...

whats the use of setting so high?

monoblue
20-07-2009, 09:46 PM
wah 3000 for mi 8 enough liao...

ionicle88
20-07-2009, 10:11 PM
i find no apparent boost in speed with the max half open to 3000 so i am using default 8~

ac3knight
20-07-2009, 11:24 PM
you don't need to set so many half open connections

in fact some routers don't even support >250 half open connections

check your router specs first

coranyge
21-07-2009, 03:33 AM
wow makes lotsa difference now after updating to 1.8.3

on mol express

my settings

bt.transp_disposition: 10
maxhalfopen: 30

THX RAW
21-07-2009, 04:51 AM
Is any bro out there using utorrent 1.9 beta who care to share the setting.

XP sp2

SNBB 3MB

Modem:SpeedStream 4100-Series

No routers

utorrent 1.9 beta (build 15380)

My setting:

bt.transp_disposition: 255

maxhalfopen: 100 with Half-open_limit_fix_4.1

Bt.connect_speed: 50

Is this a good setting. Any advice,Thanks.:s11::s11::s11:

mexuswch
23-07-2009, 02:48 PM
True, utorrent 1.8.3 together with the suggested settings works wonder on starhub MOL.
However the same setting doesn't enhance downloads using my singnet broadband.

djcoolmax
23-07-2009, 03:55 PM
streaming YouTube videos via Starhub is already such a pain, with this "UTP" implementation, yeah... increase in BT speed at the expense of other media...

Let the meltdown begin....

teruzu_izumi
24-07-2009, 11:28 PM
May i check, other then changing the bt.transp_disposition to either 10,13,15 or 255.

What are the Necessary settings for SH MOL user running a dlink 615 router?

net open set to 50?
bt connect speed set to 50 as well?

Any other numbers that ive to change in order to see significant speed running on my utorrent?

ionicle88
25-07-2009, 01:05 AM
May i check, other then changing the bt.transp_disposition to either 10,13,15 or 255.

What are the Necessary settings for SH MOL user running a dlink 615 router?

net open set to 50?
bt connect speed set to 50 as well?

Any other numbers that ive to change in order to see significant speed running on my utorrent?

other than that ensure ur port is forwarded properly.. fix a port, and force protocol encryption, lock max upload 25KB/s, max total global connections to 1000

then ofc i limit @ any one time only to have 5 torrents open @ anyone time..

those can play around..

but ofc sometimes the speed still slow becoz little people seeding.:):):)

victory_loh
25-07-2009, 02:26 PM
any singnet users care to printscreen your utorrent settings??

TiOnGSquare
25-07-2009, 02:45 PM
thanks TS! it WORKS!!!

mata_hippo
12-08-2009, 11:49 PM
hey guys can share ur settings for the following options?

i am not very sure which to tick and which to untick

http://i32.tinypic.com/2nbukcj.jpg

http://i27.tinypic.com/vruio9.jpg

http://i29.tinypic.com/j5kub9.jpg

steve dino
14-08-2009, 09:29 AM
you use xunlei you can just stay with xunlei for all the downloads enough le wat.. just remember to remove the file you download from the download location after completion to prevent secret uploading

even if u remove the file you download from the download location after completion , xunlei still contiune to uploading.

i have paused all dl and remove eveything from completed dl, move the completed file else where, but xunlei still find means to upload file to max speed.

steve dino
14-08-2009, 09:34 AM
Xunlei so gd meh???

just changed from Utorrent to xunlei and i have alwys got max dl speed ever since . i can dl 12GB of content in 7hrs time. However previsously with Utorrent, only ~ 3GB

psyko
14-08-2009, 09:53 AM
just changed from Utorrent to xunlei and i have alwys got max dl speed ever since . i can dl 12GB of content in 7hrs time. However previsously with Utorrent, only ~ 3GB

Because other users kena the same thing as you. Remove from downloads but the program still secretly upload. :s13:

Shingoz
17-08-2009, 10:04 PM
utorrents users...does this thing happens to u? torrents with ALOT of seeds and leechers..but you're just not getting connected...even though all traffics are clear?

its just so frustrating...

for e.g.

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y120/Shingoz/1.jpg

tomb
17-08-2009, 10:31 PM
check the peers list. i think most of the chinese users are on xunlei.

mata_hippo
17-08-2009, 11:01 PM

http://i32.tinypic.com/2nbukcj.jpg

http://i27.tinypic.com/vruio9.jpg

any buddies can help me on this? :D

tomb
17-08-2009, 11:54 PM

not expert but can try to help.

[IMG]http://i32.tinypic.com/2nbukcj.jpg[IMG]
i think you didn't forward the port on your router right? if you did and you're not using windows firewall then you can uncheck everything in this pic. otherwise just leave them checked.

[IMG]http://i27.tinypic.com/vruio9.jpg[IMG]
leave it as it is. can try forced instead of enabled if you find that it gives you better speed.

[IMG]http://i29.tinypic.com/j5kub9.jpg[IMG]
refer to this link for the settings here: http://forum.utorrent.com/viewtopic.php?id=58404

hope that helps.

Shingoz
18-08-2009, 12:05 AM
check the peers list. i think most of the chinese users are on xunlei.

thks bro. i've checked and its splitted evenly between utorrent n xunlei. and other misc like bitcomet.....am just getting 5kb/s even though there're 60 seeds and 200+ leechers o.o

sharing ration >1 already at 25kBps

mata_hippo
18-08-2009, 11:01 AM
not expert but can try to help.

[IMG]http://i32.tinypic.com/2nbukcj.jpg[IMG]
i think you didn't forward the port on your router right? if you did and you're not using windows firewall then you can uncheck everything in this pic. otherwise just leave them checked.

[IMG]http://i27.tinypic.com/vruio9.jpg[IMG]
leave it as it is. can try forced instead of enabled if you find that it gives you better speed.

[IMG]http://i29.tinypic.com/j5kub9.jpg[IMG]
refer to this link for the settings here: http://forum.utorrent.com/viewtopic.php?id=58404

hope that helps.
thanks, will try when i get home :o

phuque99
18-08-2009, 11:07 AM

Wah leow eh, see beh kiam siap 10kB/s upload speed man, should set it at least 60-70% of your subscribed upload speed lah. Imagine everyone set at 10kB/s upload nia, then come forum kau peh you're downloading so slowly from 10kB/s upload from others :s13:

liangtam
18-08-2009, 11:13 AM
mata set too mani things sala riao

Ish muz, untick all option in first screenshot except windows firewall.

Upload speed is muz be more than 40kB/s

Global max connection 300
Max ppp 200
No. upload slot 6

mata_hippo
18-08-2009, 05:33 PM
starfugs so unstable, sometimes ok sometimes really bad, set so high how i play games while climbing assuming currently it's really sucky :s22:

i tick randomize cuz i DMZ my computer

liangtam ur bottom 3 numbers sound abit conservative or does it rly work? :s22:

evilster
19-08-2009, 12:22 AM
so which 1 is better xunlei or utorrent ? seems like each of them got their pros and cons..

phuque99
19-08-2009, 09:22 AM

of course, my upload speed is unlimited (router has QoS), max connection is 100 nia, already hit 1000KB/s. It is not about conservative, it is about kiam siap or not kiam siap torrents. I think even if you have 10000 connection also useless if seeders are kiam siap with 10kb/s upload and very little slots to pass around.

enriqueyang
19-08-2009, 01:08 PM
bookmarked

hlw8888
20-08-2009, 10:52 AM
bookmark 1st.

all the info here apply to utorrent 1.8.4? me is on stinknet.

little_prince
22-08-2009, 12:05 AM
cool... thANKS!

Freakerzz
22-08-2009, 01:02 AM
on default settings...as per wat i have install utorrent...2wire2701 firewall settings set to dmz mode..restart pc..download speed flunctuate between 5-40kbs...was reaching up to 200-500kbs per good seeds torrent last week...dunno wats wrong man..sianz

enriqueyang
22-08-2009, 09:54 AM
has anyone try homeplug and use bittorent? how stable is it? and how fast it can go? and how stable for bittorentting?

anyhowsaysay
22-08-2009, 12:46 PM
starfugs so unstable, sometimes ok sometimes really bad, set so high how i play games while climbing assuming currently it's really sucky :s22:

i tick randomize cuz i DMZ my computer

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f236/anyhowsaysay/facepalm.jpg

yvlee
22-08-2009, 07:02 PM
WOW. i'm on starhub and just upgraded to utorrent 1.8.3 and changed value to 255.
The average d/l speed per torrent i used to get was between 5-50 kbps,
after changing it to 255, i'm getting between 150-200 kbps per torrent!!!!
That's amazing i havent ever hit 200 kbps on bittorent,
even after port forwarding etc.

shearer_
23-08-2009, 02:38 AM
Change my setting from 13 to 15 and it is making me smile from ear to ear.

I just it above 200kb/s. Before I was at a rubbush 5kb/s.

Thank you for the post.

I am on SH 8Mbs plan.

Whoo Hoo !!

shuin76
06-09-2009, 11:26 PM
hey guys
i'm using starhub MOL 8Mbps plan
utorrent : 1.8.3
router: Dlink Dir-655

what shd my setting is?

thks

mata_hippo
07-10-2009, 05:32 PM
i have never seen anything more than 100kb/sec after i installed windows 7, any pros care to shed some light on my settings? :(

http://i33.tinypic.com/2cr643r.jpg

http://i34.tinypic.com/3466anc.jpg

liangtam
07-10-2009, 07:45 PM
i have never seen anything more than 100kb/sec after i installed windows 7, any pros care to shed some light on my settings? :(

http://i33.tinypic.com/2cr643r.jpg

Here
*10 char*

mata_hippo
07-10-2009, 09:24 PM
Here
*10 char*
i revert back to the small numbers u recommended but it got worse :s22:

liangtam
07-10-2009, 10:00 PM
i revert back to the small numbers u recommended but it got worse :s22:

The values was not stated to fix all problems mah. It has to depend on your connection and PC settings.

mata_hippo
07-10-2009, 10:09 PM
The values was not stated to fix all problems mah. It has to depend on your connection and PC settings.
so i lan lan? :(

mata_hippo
08-10-2009, 12:58 AM
sian sia, wads the point of me uploading 40kb/sec (which im currently doing alrdy) when im downloading at less than half the speed :s22:

LxIxVxE
08-10-2009, 08:12 AM
still using the good old 1.6.1~ :)
good speed for me~ :)

mikafire
08-10-2009, 08:36 AM
good speed for me~ :)same here..using 1.6#474 wf full speed

enjoy :)

georgeleong
08-10-2009, 08:44 AM
wow this seems like good new, and i thought BT seeds are dead long ago... never could download anything on starhub or singnet for very long time.

wiwi86
08-10-2009, 09:56 AM
good speed for me~ :)

exactly. same here. i tried 1.8.3, totally disasterous for me..lk snail crawling, or rather, i suspected i was on 56K modem :(

Nakedtoes
08-10-2009, 09:58 PM
anyone got 1.6.1 can upload and share?

liangtam
08-10-2009, 10:02 PM
go filehippo, oldversion etc got liao mah

Nakedtoes
08-10-2009, 11:01 PM
go filehippo, oldversion etc got liao mah

thanks i miss the right column

PinZzz
08-10-2009, 11:12 PM