PDA

View Full Version : Who using OpendDNS here?

apriliasiao
27-06-2009, 03:48 PM
Recently keep getting error while loading web pages while using SH or SN's DNS servers and decided to switch over to OpenDNS. Verdict so far is very gd, did a tracert to hardwarezone and vr-zone and it seem that their DNS servers are smart enough not to route the paths out overseas and back to SG.

1. To VR-Zone

Tracing route to www.vr-zone.com [210.23.9.64]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 13 ms 13 ms 12 ms cm1.gamma***.maxonline.com.sg [***.***.***.*]
3 23 ms 16 ms 12 ms 172.20.37.33
4 12 ms 10 ms 28 ms 172.26.37.1
5 11 ms 12 ms 12 ms 172.20.7.6
6 14 ms 12 ms 14 ms 203.116.7.13
7 14 ms 13 ms 11 ms anatsl10.starhub.net.sg [203.118.5.16]
8 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms 203.117.244.26
9 12 ms 13 ms 12 ms fa0-0-0.br3.super.net.sg [210.23.6.2]
10 19 ms 17 ms 18 ms gi0-2-eqx.br1.super.net.sg [210.23.0.190]
11 15 ms 18 ms 17 ms vl210.c3550-1.super.net.sg [210.23.0.22]
12 15 ms 56 ms 16 ms www.vr-zone.com [210.23.9.64]

2. Hardwarezone.com

Tracing route to hardwarezone.com [202.79.222.13]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 11 ms 79 ms 12 ms cm1.gamma***.maxonline.com.sg [***.***.***.*]
3 10 ms 12 ms 9 ms 172.20.37.33
4 10 ms 16 ms 14 ms 172.26.37.1
5 15 ms 43 ms 13 ms 172.20.7.26
6 174 ms 196 ms 204 ms 172.20.7.42
7 15 ms 14 ms 13 ms 203.116.97.21
8 15 ms 13 ms 13 ms 203.117.161.170
9 10 ms 12 ms 22 ms csw1-br601.sgw.equinix.com [202.79.192.162]
10 25 ms 13 ms 13 ms web3.hardwarezone.com [202.79.222.13]

:s13::s13::s13:

yusoffb01
27-06-2009, 04:23 PM
I did try using openDNS before when i read about it in maximumpc. And i did test...
For me Singnet DNS was faster when i tested back then. Perhaps i tested during off peak... Maybe if the open DNS server is nearer to Singapore, itll be even faster for us.

apriliasiao
27-06-2009, 04:52 PM
Ya their servers are not in SG but all in US as mention on their website. BUt i'm puzzle how come tracert show that it is able to resolve NS locally. No hops are going out of singapore.

edwin21
27-06-2009, 05:04 PM
Ya their servers are not in SG but all in US as mention on their website. BUt i'm puzzle how come tracert show that it is able to resolve NS locally. No hops are going out of singapore.

dns only resolve the name to ip, how the packets travel is up to the router

Kiwi8
27-06-2009, 05:37 PM
Yes, DNS servers do not do the routing. The only comparison that u should make is the ping to the DNS server, and that's about it.

I have also used OpenDNS servers and indeed they do work fine.

Comparison wise, the response time naturally is longer for OpenDNS since they are further away, but they give better results and are more reliable than our ISP's inconsistent DNS servers.

What I do is I input all the OpenDNS servers and ISP's servers into my router. When a DNS request is needed, the router sends to all the severs listed. The first reply will be used as the result, and the result is cached on the router for future similar requests.

apriliasiao
27-06-2009, 05:46 PM
oic.. ping from their dns server is usually ard 200ms.. U using was router, how come can wack in so many ips? Mine got 2 nia, 1 primary and 1 secondary.

Kiwi8
27-06-2009, 05:52 PM
oic.. ping from their dns server is usually ard 200ms.. U using was router, how come can wack in so many ips? Mine got 2 nia, 1 primary and 1 secondary.

I'm using WRT54GL, with Tomato firmware.

liangtam
27-06-2009, 09:24 PM
Yes, DNS servers do not do the routing. The only comparison that u should make is the ping to the DNS server, and that's about it.

I have also used OpenDNS servers and indeed they do work fine.

Comparison wise, the response time naturally is longer for OpenDNS since they are further away, but they give better results and are more reliable than our ISP's inconsistent DNS servers.

What I do is I input all the OpenDNS servers and ISP's servers into my router. When a DNS request is needed, the router sends to all the severs listed. The first reply will be used as the result, and the result is cached on the router for future similar requests.

You forgot, a overseas DNS server will give you an overseas website entry for those on CDN.

Overall, the time for you to download a file will DEFINITELY be SLOWER!!!

Also, local DNS are reliable depending on which ISP you're on

provider
27-06-2009, 10:13 PM
how can download file be slower with opendns? it is DNS and all DNS servers, whether local or overseas would give the same IP for url like hardwarezone.com

perhaps the start of the download may take a tinny bit more time, but otherwise should be the same?

liangtam
27-06-2009, 10:20 PM
how can download file be slower with opendns? it is DNS and all DNS servers, whether local or overseas would give the same IP for url like hardwarezone.com

perhaps the start of the download may take a tinny bit more time, but otherwise should be the same?

You wan a comparison?

provider
27-06-2009, 10:37 PM

You wan a comparison?

just asking how.. :)

liangtam
27-06-2009, 10:54 PM
just asking how.. :)

Im saying download is slower for those on CDN. Those with a single server will not be affected.
Do you still wan a comparison of the former?

Kiwi8
27-06-2009, 10:54 PM
You forgot, a overseas DNS server will give you an overseas website entry for those on CDN.

Overall, the time for you to download a file will DEFINITELY be SLOWER!!!

Also, local DNS are reliable depending on which ISP you're on

It may be slow if there is continuous lookup. But once the results are cached in the router, will it still slow down the transfer? I would be surprised if it would. :s22:

liangtam
27-06-2009, 11:00 PM
It may be slow if there is continuous lookup. But once the results are cached in the router, will it still slow down the transfer? I would be surprised if it would. :s22:

Yes. for servers on CDN.

fullerms
27-06-2009, 11:01 PM

You wan a comparison?

I will also be interested in how an overseas DNS server will give a overseas website enrty for the same domain? AFAIK, the DNS lookup request for a website will be replied by the authoritative NS server for that domain.

Every other DNS server will only be doing a recursive lookup and relaying the response from the Authoritative server. There cannot be multiple entries for the same website entered with different DNS servers. There can be multiple IPs registered on the same Authoritative name server, but the host will get all the IPs in the response.

Its been a while since I worked on these things, correct me if I am wrong.

provider
27-06-2009, 11:05 PM
thanks, found answers from google
http://www.google.com/search?q=cdn+opendns

Leion
27-06-2009, 11:27 PM
Yeah i am using opendns with dd-wwrt on my router good

liangtam
28-06-2009, 12:10 AM
Yeah i am using opendns with dd-wwrt on my router good

You are missing out on speed for some website thens, especially the bandwidth rich materials.

Kiwi8
28-06-2009, 12:16 AM
Yes. for servers on CDN.

I still dun get what u mean. If my router is returning me results that I previously requested already, how would that be very slow? :s11:

liangtam
28-06-2009, 12:42 AM
I still dun get what u mean. If my router is returning me results that I previously requested already, how would that be very slow? :s11:

http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&VideoID=4825711

Try this video with local DNS and that of OpenDNS, then check your speed ;)

provider
28-06-2009, 01:15 AM
ho sie liao .. switching back to singnet DNS until opendns gets a se asia server. learnt something new today

WhiteFox
28-06-2009, 01:42 AM
so, in a nutshell, using local DNS will be better than using OpenDNS? If I'm on SH, using SH own DNS or using SN DNS will be faster/better for me? :s11:

provider
28-06-2009, 01:45 AM
so, in a nutshell, using local DNS will be better than using OpenDNS? If I'm on SH, using SH own DNS or using SN DNS will be faster/better for me? :s11:

use your ISP's DNS server for fastest response. why use SN one?.. in the first place i not sure whether you can use SN DNS server from SH

liangtam
28-06-2009, 02:13 AM
use your ISP's DNS server for fastest response. why use SN one?.. in the first place i not sure whether you can use SN DNS server from SH

SN's DNS is FFA.

There are seriously NO benefits to using an overseas DNS server.

phuque99
28-06-2009, 11:27 AM
use open dns dem slow on some sites lah, compare ip address you get for movies.apple.com with local and open dns, then compare your download speed.

apriliasiao
28-06-2009, 02:58 PM

Yes using local DNS'server is fast, but always got problems. We can use DNS from SN even we are on SH so do M1, RP, SP, NYP but the problem is the consistences it gave. It can be damm irritating when u cant access certain websites whenu need to check something on it. So far on OpenDNS, its tad abit slower but its working perfectly.

You wan a comparison?

I tried it on Google Map, its confirm slower than using local ISP's DNS when u pull the map ard, t will take awhile for the map to load while SH's DNS load it in juzt a blink. Downloading local content wise should not be affected as seen from the result below.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/505435661.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

liangtam
28-06-2009, 04:41 PM
Yes using local DNS'server is fast, but always got problems. We can use DNS from SN even we are on SH so do M1, RP, SP, NYP but the problem is the consistences it gave. It can be damm irritating when u cant access certain websites whenu need to check something on it. So far on OpenDNS, its tad abit slower but its working perfectly.
Didnt have any consistencies problem, they're more reliable than you thought anyway, for most SG's ISP. Wont speak which (isnt) that good tho.

There are local dns root servers also.

I tried it on Google Map, its confirm slower than using local ISP's DNS when u pull the map ard, t will take awhile for the map to load while SH's DNS load it in juzt a blink. Downloading local content wise should not be affected as seen from the result below.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/505435661.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

yar, thats the benefits. Usually, bandwidth demanding are hosted on CDN. Hence it makes sense to use local DNS for redirection.

apriliasiao
28-06-2009, 07:17 PM
can u point to me wad r the root server IPs in singapore?

phuque99
28-06-2009, 07:28 PM
can u point to me wad r the root server IPs in singapore?

You mean these?

sg. 172800 IN NS DSANY.SGNIC.sg.
sg. 172800 IN NS SEC3.APNIC.NET.
sg. 172800 IN NS DS.SGNIC.sg.

pkchukiss
01-07-2009, 09:55 AM
As a web developer, OpenDNS is most beneficial for me. I do a lot of configuration changes to my servers, and as a result, the DNS too. SingNet doesn't seem to respect the TTL value for the domain records, and simply caches everything until their internal time-out is reached. For OpenDNS, if the DNS record is out of date, I just need to get OpenDNS to refresh the DNS, and it's automatically updated.

liangtam
01-07-2009, 10:05 AM
As a web developer, OpenDNS is most beneficial for me. I do a lot of configuration changes to my servers, and as a result, the DNS too. SingNet doesn't seem to respect the TTL value for the domain records, and simply caches everything until their internal time-out is reached. For OpenDNS, if the DNS record is out of date, I just need to get OpenDNS to refresh the DNS, and it's automatically updated.

pika pi~
You still have to wait for refresh before other ppl can see ur site oso mah.

NY__chickenpie
01-07-2009, 01:33 PM
last year SN DNS server always get black out, so tulan then use Opendns server

Rogue
01-07-2009, 03:45 PM
Anyone use the host file :)

apriliasiao
01-07-2009, 06:19 PM
host file for blocking websites? 127.0.0.1??? lol

provider
01-07-2009, 10:05 PM
Anyone use the host file :)

yep i do.. for internet explorer not much choice.. sometimes some legal sites are blocked there too so use hostmgr to unblock them. effective in blocking ads and tracking scripts
http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm