View Full Version : How to connect M1 fix broadband
MizunoVolley
01-07-2009, 12:11 AM
Ok I subscribe to fix broadband, got the modem, but when i reach home, i found that i only got the modem, there is no installation CD (Like what i had when i was on starhub cable bb).
So just now, as per instructions, i connected all the cables, but no connection. Am i supposed to get a CD so that i can install this modem? I also notice that there is this ethernet cable to be connected. Am i supposed to have an ethernet card? I do not think i have one, so means that i cannot get connected without one?
silverstone
01-07-2009, 12:24 AM
u just subscrible just now rite? need a couple of days for M1 to activate da connection.
MizunoVolley
01-07-2009, 12:36 AM
nope i subscribed 2 weeks ago, supposed to have got connect 1 week ago but i did not start using it as was still on starhub, now tried to use, but cannot connect.
silverstone
01-07-2009, 12:45 AM
hmm im also using M1 btw, nv install anything, just plug n play...
hmm did u use da modem that M1 gave? wat is yr LED status anyway ?
MizunoVolley
01-07-2009, 12:57 AM
yup using the modem give, SB6100.
I have 5 light on my modem
The 2 left right arrows, the round globe, the vertical zig zag up down light and the power on light. All of them are not blinking.
silverstone
01-07-2009, 01:09 AM
i see... cant help u much as im not using SB6100, n i also dunno wat does da LED stands for...
im using SB5101, basically if there is connection, da LEDs for power, receive, send n online will not be blinking...
perhaps u might want to give M1 a call...?
KalTorak
01-07-2009, 02:46 AM
yup using the modem give, SB6100.
I have 5 light on my modem
The 2 left right arrows, the round globe, the vertical zig zag up down light and the power on light. All of them are not blinking.
You are on the 100mbps plan I presume?
You were probably connected using USB on the starhub cable modem, hence the installation disc.
SB6100 only has ethernet so yeah you need ethernet card (better be gigabit).
If all five LEDs remain lit up (not blinking), means your M1 bb is already activated. The vertical zig-zag is the connection between the modem and PC/router. It will only blink if there is internet activity. Globe icon means you are ONLINE (like the SB5101 indicator LED).
MADABOUTYOU
01-07-2009, 03:23 AM
walao, never mention about the login to M1. Got use password to login or not?
arzme
01-07-2009, 09:46 AM
...I also notice that there is this ethernet cable to be connected. Am i supposed to have an ethernet card? I do not think i have one, so means that i cannot get connected without one?
most pc nowadays comes with ethernet port on the motherboard. a pc standing alone without lan (unless have wireless card), will be practically cripple.
DigDub
01-07-2009, 10:12 AM
Your contract should have the username and password.
MizunoVolley
01-07-2009, 09:56 PM
You are on the 100mbps plan I presume?
You were probably connected using USB on the starhub cable modem, hence the installation disc.
SB6100 only has ethernet so yeah you need ethernet card (better be gigabit).
If all five LEDs remain lit up (not blinking), means your M1 bb is already activated. The vertical zig-zag is the connection between the modem and PC/router. It will only blink if there is internet activity. Globe icon means you are ONLINE (like the SB5101 indicator LED).
i see,
yeah, just checked my motherboard, comes with gigabit ethernet card.
but well no pop up screen or anything comes up to let me log in.
MizunoVolley
01-07-2009, 09:57 PM
walao, never mention about the login to M1. Got use password to login or not?
ermm connect everything liao, power up, pc totally no reaction lor, nothing pop up to tell ask me to login.
MizunoVolley
01-07-2009, 09:59 PM
anyway dunno what was the problem so i just brought the modem back to M1 Shop, they exchanged a new modem for me. But well have to wait a few days to get it connected......
arzme
01-07-2009, 10:14 PM
ermm connect everything liao, power up, pc totally no reaction lor, nothing pop up to tell ask me to login.
u need to launch IE (internet Explorer) or Netscape or Firefox in order to see the M1 Login page.
MADABOUTYOU
01-07-2009, 10:30 PM
Many of us also switch from Starhub, just switch cable over, wait for modem LED to stop blinking and then open browser. Automatically went to M1 login page to login in User ID and password. That's all, no need any CD one.
You mean M1 also don't know is it modem problem. Just wonder why they cannot activate in one or two days time since this is not just after IT show. Normal time they should activate earlier mah. You can just connect and try. Most of us get activated before they inform us by SMS or mail.
waiken
02-07-2009, 12:11 AM
clear cookies n caches in browser see got hlp anot?
u shld see m1 login page
http://i43.tinypic.com/2uiasl0.jpg
MizunoVolley
02-07-2009, 03:09 AM
u need to launch IE (internet Explorer) or Netscape or Firefox in order to see the M1 Login page.
ermm yes i did that, if not how do i know there is no connection? cos nothing is loading.
MizunoVolley
02-07-2009, 03:11 AM
clear cookies n caches in browser see got hlp anot?
u shld see m1 login page
http://i43.tinypic.com/2uiasl0.jpg
i see, this i did not try, will try it once they activate my new replacement modem.
Thanks for the information.
arzme
02-07-2009, 08:08 AM
ermm yes i did that, if not how do i know there is no connection? cos nothing is loading.
my bad.
here the link to the login page if u need:
https://broadband.mobileone.net.sg/login/
MizunoVolley
02-07-2009, 10:27 PM
my bad.
here the link to the login page if u need:
https://broadband.mobileone.net.sg/login/
i see, thanks. damn M1 staff never even told me this.... will try it out
arzme
03-07-2009, 10:10 AM
i see, thanks. damn M1 staff never even told me this.... will try it out
actually, no matter what homepage you set whenever ur internet browser launch, if M1 detects that login has expired, the browser will automatically re-direct to the webpage that i have link.
MizunoVolley
06-07-2009, 09:24 PM
damn it, got a new modem, said it is activated today, plug everything in, same thing happened.....no reaction
wherehouse
06-07-2009, 09:38 PM
damn it, got a new modem, said it is activated today, plug everything in, same thing happened.....no reaction
they say change of modem needs 3 working days to reactivate
all the lights not blinking except for the "zigzag" light is normal, means its working
MizunoVolley
06-07-2009, 09:45 PM
they say change of modem needs 3 working days to reactivate
all the lights not blinking except for the "zigzag" light is normal, means its working
well it has being 6 days since i changed the modem. I even called up just now and the person told me it is activated....
The problem is everything is lighted up, nothing is blinking, the zig zag sign is lighted up but not blinking......
arzme
06-07-2009, 11:05 PM
hmmm, so how u able to surf internet right now? using back the starhub modem connecting through USB?
i'm not familiar with connecting the modem through USB cos my previous with starhub modem, i connect to the pc by ethernet cable. is it tht u have to uninstall the previous modem installation before u can connect through the ethernet port? just a thought only.
worst come to worst, u can call M1 to send a technician over to troubleshoot for u.
MizunoVolley
06-07-2009, 11:26 PM
well I am using my mobile bb account.
Well doubt it since my old modem is not even using ethernet, using usb connection. Anyway tried to see if i can uninstall the old modem but cannot even find a trace of it inside my com now thou i did not remember uninstalling it.
Well nvm thanks v much for your help, guess i have to call up M1 and hope they can help me.
wherehouse
07-07-2009, 01:08 AM
well I am using my mobile bb account.
Well doubt it since my old modem is not even using ethernet, using usb connection. Anyway tried to see if i can uninstall the old modem but cannot even find a trace of it inside my com now thou i did not remember uninstalling it.
Well nvm thanks v much for your help, guess i have to call up M1 and hope they can help me.
do u have another pc to connect the modem to?
or can u connect the modem to a router and then try to ping?
ur LAN point on mobo confirm working anot, come with gbit lan but then driver got install, got light on the port anot, windows detect anot, can u reset the tcpip stack anot?
the modem seems to be responding normally leh.
use a laptop n test the modem... or bring the modem to ur frds hse and test.
at least that eliminates hardware problem (modem, lan cable)
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.