PDA

View Full Version : Mio TV STB High POWER Consumption

hongwan
01-07-2009, 10:54 AM
STB is using 9w of power during standby mode... :s31::s31::s31::s31:

is there a way to reduce the power consumption without turning off the STB?

Pokémon
01-07-2009, 11:16 AM
I didn't know it's consuming that much. Where did you get the information from by the way?

I usually don't like my stuffs to be in StandBy mode, but this STB seems not to remember my screen settings as 720p, and it takes some 2 mins to start.

liangtam
01-07-2009, 12:38 PM
Now thread title can change liao ah?

BTW, 9W is considered a low empiric draw compared to the router

slivers7
01-07-2009, 01:03 PM
By router, I take it you're referring to the 2wire one? How terrible is the power draw for that? I haven't been checking...

hongwan
01-07-2009, 01:30 PM
I didn't know it's consuming that much. Where did you get the information from by the way?

I usually don't like my stuffs to be in StandBy mode, but this STB seems not to remember my screen settings as 720p, and it takes some 2 mins to start.

Yes, same issue here. I am using HDMI cable and STB cannot remember 1080i setting after switch off/on. Hence i like to put my STB on standby. Another reason is the long startup time.

In standby mode, if power uses is <1w, then i am ok. But 8-10w is standby mode is way too HIGH ..

Power consumption for 1 mth will be 7440w or ~$1.4 based on 0.18 cent tariff.

I check using eco-plug, bought at $35 from vr MO

hongwan
01-07-2009, 01:31 PM
By router, I take it you're referring to the 2wire one? How terrible is the power draw for that? I haven't been checking...

2wire during operation is 7-8w only..

hongwan
01-07-2009, 01:35 PM
Now thread title can change liao ah?

BTW, 9W is considered a low empiric draw compared to the router

9w in standby is high leh.. my 42incd LCD standby only draws 0.8w

slivers7
01-07-2009, 02:35 PM
Considering the 2wire is always on, like the fridge, I'd rather it went even lower, since I'm paying the bills...

BTW, although I think it's been asked already, would I notice an increased signal strength if I attach my old (working perfectly) router onto the 2wire? The signal strength is almost always "low" at best, "very low" as the standard", and quite frequently it stuns me with a "no signal"...:s31:

Pokémon
01-07-2009, 03:04 PM
Nowadays still have such eco-unfriendly stuff is really sad.

And I don't understand why it's so stupidly designed not to remember the settings if it's connected through HDMI... Or is there something we do not know that needs to be done in order to save the settings permanently?

Component Video is currently used by my Xbox, so no other available input.

hongwan
01-07-2009, 03:45 PM
Considering the 2wire is always on, like the fridge, I'd rather it went even lower, since I'm paying the bills...

BTW, although I think it's been asked already, would I notice an increased signal strength if I attach my old (working perfectly) router onto the 2wire? The signal strength is almost always "low" at best, "very low" as the standard", and quite frequently it stuns me with a "no signal"...:s31:

Yes, it can be done, set the 2wire to bridge mode and connect old router to 2wire.

hongwan
01-07-2009, 03:45 PM
Nowadays still have such eco-unfriendly stuff is really sad.

And I don't understand why it's so stupidly designed not to remember the settings if it's connected through HDMI... Or is there something we do not know that needs to be done in order to save the settings permanently?

Component Video is currently used by my Xbox, so no other available input.

ya lor.. my component is used for dvd and rmvb player :( stupid box

alanchia67
01-07-2009, 04:07 PM
the miotv stb stand-by is not real stand-by, as the internal operations are still running (for example, to record programmes into the internal hdisk, and is accessible via remote miotv interface from singtel website using IE etc).

reimina
01-07-2009, 04:09 PM
the miotv stb stand-by is not real stand-by, as the internal operations are still running (for example, to record programmes into the internal hdisk, and is accessible via remote miotv interface from singtel website using IE etc).

Miotv works only with IE?

hongwan
01-07-2009, 09:31 PM

ya, i noe, they should have a real standby.. save the earth.. don waste electrical.

if 50% of 10k user put their mio mio on standby, alot of electricity will be wasted every mth.

liangtam
01-07-2009, 09:43 PM
Aiyo, go check your other electrical appliances also.
Most of them consume a reasonable vampire power that 9W is not considered high at all.

BTW, you based this value off the specs sheet or from a meter?

hongwan
01-07-2009, 10:36 PM
Aiyo, go check your other electrical appliances also.
Most of them consume a reasonable vampire power that 9W is not considered high at all.

BTW, you based this value off the specs sheet or from a meter?

ecoplug :)

STB is 8w
42Inch LCD 0.8w

liangtam
01-07-2009, 11:51 PM
ecoplug :)

STB is 8w
42Inch LCD 0.8w

Not the TV.
Try ur VCR, compo etc...
Try the 2Wire also then u know why 8-9W considered average and not high le.

Pokémon
02-07-2009, 10:05 AM
Not the TV.
Try ur VCR, compo etc...
Try the 2Wire also then u know why 8-9W considered average and not high le.

The main point here is STANDBY mode. Of course many devices will consume higher than that when in use.

Can the 2Wire go into that mode?

liangtam
02-07-2009, 11:07 AM
The main point here is STANDBY mode. Of course many devices will consume higher than that when in use.

Can the 2Wire go into that mode?

pika pi~

I consider it standby when you running but not using it, i.e. modem running PC off. Theres the standby button on motorolas modem as well, both are still connected.

Ultimately, my point is still ur other standard typical equipment does eat more than 9W even if its true 'standby'.

hongwan
02-07-2009, 12:12 PM
pika pi~

I consider it standby when you running but not using it, i.e. modem running PC off. Theres the standby button on motorolas modem as well, both are still connected.

Ultimately, my point is still ur other standard typical equipment does eat more than 9W even if its true 'standby'.

sigh... 2wire does not have a standby button

liangtam
02-07-2009, 12:15 PM
sigh... 2wire does not have a standby button

Err, its not about having standby or not leh, you don't(and definitely cant) run a network with a 'standby' in the first place.
Much like how the 'standby' on a motorola isnt being useful.