View Full Version : Looking for someone to share Belden Cat 6 UTP
BarbarianFX
04-07-2009, 10:09 PM
Hi, I am looking to someone who also interested to setup wired LAN in his house to share the whole reel (1000ft / 305M) of Belden Cat 6 UTP cable because i cant finished the whole reel myself.
I will ask the shop to do the split and i will get the Box.
Initial quote price was SGD 210 for a reel.
Anyone ???
BarbarianFX
04-07-2009, 10:13 PM
1st come 1st serve basic
04-07-2009, 10:34 PM
Hi, I am looking to someone who also interested to setup wired LAN in his house to share the whole reel (1000ft / 305M) of Belden Cat 6 UTP cable because i cant finished the whole reel myself.
I will ask the shop to do the split and i will get the Box.
Initial quote price was SGD 210 for a reel.
Anyone ???
need the whole box? Even laying cables around the typical 5 rm house will not exceed 30m.... Just curious.
BarbarianFX
04-07-2009, 11:02 PM
It depend on how many point you going to do with
Sp1der
04-07-2009, 11:06 PM
i am also going to wired my house with cat6, problem is not going to tear down the false ceiling.
BarbarianFX
04-07-2009, 11:08 PM
Running the cable just right above the side skirt will do lor, wanna share bo ?
05-07-2009, 12:58 AM
It depend on how many point you going to do with
True ... I have total 4 pts at home. Each room one point and 2 at living which is just recently laid. Study to each room consume me around 20 meters, study to living around 20 meters. Total still no more than 50meters. Unless each room is 2 pts... that will be total of 6... which I think will be another 20 m max. Most is Cat 5e for me except for 1 is Cat 6 (tot unlikely for me to fully use Cat 6 which 10GE?)
I have lay cables for an education center before also ... from centre point to all the trainee desk... total no more than 120 meters for more than 20 station... so depending on the house. and the routing... a typical 5 rm think no more than 70 to 80 meter max Unless going up ceiling then come down again... :)
Running the cable just right above the side skirt will do lor, wanna share bo ?
Yup ... Running along the Side Skirt is the best... for better blend in .. use some adhesive cornice cement to level up with the side skirt then use the side color paint ... this will allow the trunking to blend with the main wail... I have recently just do it for my two pt in living room (need to punch thru wall since it is from study to living).. previously for my speaker cables.
BarbarianFX... Too bad I have brought mine... if not can chip in... :)
Cheers.
BarbarianFX
05-07-2009, 07:01 PM
True ... I have total 4 pts at home. Each room one point and 2 at living which is just recently laid. Study to each room consume me around 20 meters, study to living around 20 meters. Total still no more than 50meters. Unless each room is 2 pts... that will be total of 6... which I think will be another 20 m max. Most is Cat 5e for me except for 1 is Cat 6 (tot unlikely for me to fully use Cat 6 which 10GE?)
I have lay cables for an education center before also ... from centre point to all the trainee desk... total no more than 120 meters for more than 20 station... so depending on the house. and the routing... a typical 5 rm think no more than 70 to 80 meter max Unless going up ceiling then come down again... :)
Yup ... Running along the Side Skirt is the best... for better blend in .. use some adhesive cornice cement to level up with the side skirt then use the side color paint ... this will allow the trunking to blend with the main wail... I have recently just do it for my two pt in living room (need to punch thru wall since it is from study to living).. previously for my speaker cables.
BarbarianFX... Too bad I have brought mine... if not can chip in... :)
Cheers.
Oh Thanks for the info, True that I roughly need at least about 100 meter for my 5 room flat due to some up down up down layout. Btw is your cables laid parallel with power cable? Do you ever encounter any data corruption due to interference issue?
BarbarianFX
05-07-2009, 07:09 PM
Looks like not many peoples interested in this, How about AMP CAT 6 FTP cable. Price wise should be about SGD 260 for whole reel 305 meter.
But please do take note that this cable is too thick and cant fit in patch connecter and only suitable between keystone. Good things about this is haveing better shield to avoid interference which means can laid together with power cable.
Ideal will be shared by 3 person. Anyone ??
05-07-2009, 10:42 PM
Oh Thanks for the info, True that I roughly need at least about 100 meter for my 5 room flat due to some up down up down layout. Btw is your cables laid parallel with power cable? Do you ever encounter any data corruption due to interference issue?
I dont run my cable close to the Power.. Yes due to the electromagnetic interference from power... it will affect the network signal. As for corruption I do not think so as TCP/IP is design to be robust.
For running the length, try to use separate trunking... from Power. That will minimize the interference as oppose to running just side by side with Power Cables.
When I stay with my brother (His is an EA) before I got myself a house. We also lay the cables... base on Cat5e using 100Mbps. the point pretty close with the Power trunking but not together (Separate trunking) running parallel (So power has it own trunking, Ethernet UTP has it own). Didnt encounter any issue.
Note Cat 6 and Cat 5e .. the difference I see is the plastic divider between the twisted pair. Dont think it is a shielding purpose. For Shielding purpose.. it will be STP cables already... For home.. since the power in home is no more than 13A and not those high-voltage and high current. Even Cat 5e running 1Gbps is sufficient. I took Cat 6 for fun ... Anyway ... I brought my cables from DavJones at SLT at I think90cent per meters? I think pretty cheap.
For around less than 100 meters .. it will cost you around 90 or possibility lesser. I got myself 3M base plate and its RJ45 keystone which is rate Cat 6. The 3M keystone is cool as it does not require any puncher. Self-punching but it is expensive than normal ones. Also got it at SLT (Level 4 first shop on the left ...)
of course if you manage to get 3 folks to share.. it will be even cheaper than 90 for 100meters. I do my measurement on how the running be like before I go buy the cables. So typical still get loose type as oppose to a box. Dont see that there is a lot of saving in cables from my own opinion. Typical more than expensive is the keystone, and the good cover plate. :)
Sp1der
06-07-2009, 01:01 AM
Looks like not many peoples interested in this, How about AMP CAT 6 FTP cable. Price wise should be about SGD 260 for whole reel 305 meter.
But please do take note that this cable is too thick and cant fit in patch connecter and only suitable between keystone. Good things about this is haveing better shield to avoid interference which means can laid together with power cable.
i might consider if share by 3 person.
but hor, AMP vs beldon how much diff in quality?
Sp1der
06-07-2009, 01:03 AM
I dont run my cable close to the Power.. Yes due to the electromagnetic interference from power... it will affect the network signal. As for corruption I do not think so as TCP/IP is design to be robust.
For running the length, try to use separate trunking... from Power. That will minimize the interference as oppose to running just side by side with Power Cables.
When I stay with my brother (His is an EA) before I got myself a house. We also lay the cables... base on Cat5e using 100Mbps. the point pretty close with the Power trunking but not together (Separate trunking) running parallel (So power has it own trunking, Ethernet UTP has it own). Didnt encounter any issue.
Note Cat 6 and Cat 5e .. the difference I see is the plastic divider between the twisted pair. Dont think it is a shielding purpose. For Shielding purpose.. it will be STP cables already... For home.. since the power in home is no more than 13A and not those high-voltage and high current. Even Cat 5e running 1Gbps is sufficient. I took Cat 6 for fun ... Anyway ... I brought my cables from DavJones at SLT at I think90cent per meters? I think pretty cheap.
For around less than 100 meters .. it will cost you around 90 or possibility lesser. I got myself 3M base plate and its RJ45 keystone which is rate Cat 6. The 3M keystone is cool as it does not require any puncher. Self-punching but it is expensive than normal ones. Also got it at SLT (Level 4 first shop on the left ...)
of course if you manage to get 3 folks to share.. it will be even cheaper than 90 for 100meters. I do my measurement on how the running be like before I go buy the cables. So typical still get loose type as oppose to a box. Dont see that there is a lot of saving in cables from my own opinion. Typical more than expensive is the keystone, and the good cover plate. :)
DavJone quote me 1m per dollar leh
BarbarianFX
06-07-2009, 01:59 AM
i might consider if share by 3 person.
but hor, AMP vs beldon how much diff in quality?
Not really sure about quality diff between AMP and Belden. But Belden more popular and Branded in cable market.
So mean you are in if another person join in ? but which 1 you prefer? AMP CAT 6 FTP or Belden CAT UTP ?
06-07-2009, 03:43 AM
DavJone quote me 1m per dollar leh
That I donno le ... can bargain ba .... :)
Anyway .. as long as it is Cat 6 Certified .. AMP or Belden no different ba ...
Note that in Server or DataCenter ... AMP is consider the premium brand then Belden.. That is what I know... I can be wrong.. :)
But to me... either is ok .. I got the blue color Cat 6 cables I think made by Clipsal I think..
Cheers .. Happy cabling!!
jervislim
06-07-2009, 09:58 AM
I'm keen to join share. Maybe we can try AMP Supplier. One reel (1000ft) of AMP Cat6 UTP can be gotten for less than $190 I read from one renotalk forumer.
jervislim
06-07-2009, 10:34 AM
I'm currently checking price with 3 AMP Netconnect suppliers.
Will get back once gotten their quotes.
BarbarianFX
06-07-2009, 03:43 PM
I'm keen to join share. Maybe we can try AMP Supplier. One reel (1000ft) of AMP Cat6 UTP can be gotten for less than $190 I read from one renotalk forumer.
Cool, I being quote about $198 for AMP CAT 6 UTP. Hope can hear good news from you soon
BarbarianFX
06-07-2009, 05:47 PM
I'm currently checking price with 3 AMP Netconnect suppliers.
Will get back once gotten their quotes.
Maybe you can checking price for the AMP CAT 6 FTP or STP as well. Because i planing to run parallel with power line for more tidy trunking look.
Sp1der
06-07-2009, 09:46 PM
That I donno le ... can bargain ba .... :)
Anyway .. as long as it is Cat 6 Certified .. AMP or Belden no different ba ...
Note that in Server or DataCenter ... AMP is consider the premium brand then Belden.. That is what I know... I can be wrong.. :)
But to me... either is ok .. I got the blue color Cat 6 cables I think made by Clipsal I think..
Cheers .. Happy cabling!!
i used to work for clipsal :p
but they are strict dont allow internal purchase
Sp1der
06-07-2009, 09:53 PM
hope can someone can advise on the AMP cat6 mhz and the difference between 23 AWG & 24 AWG?
BarbarianFX
07-07-2009, 04:19 PM
Hi Sp1der and Jervislim, do you guys comfirm wanna shared the cable cost be it AMP CAT 6 UTP / FTP / STP or Belden CAT 6 UTP ? SO we need to act fast because my wife starting to make noise about house pretty messy for few days liao. This really annoying me, Or else i rather pay more to buy per/M cost to stop the headache.
Hope you guys understand.
Sp1der
07-07-2009, 07:20 PM
Hi Sp1der and Jervislim, do you guys comfirm wanna shared the cable cost be it AMP CAT 6 UTP / FTP / STP or Belden CAT 6 UTP ? SO we need to act fast because my wife starting to make noise about house pretty messy for few days liao. This really annoying me, Or else i rather pay more to buy per/M cost to stop the headache.
pmed :)
with my contact
jervislim
07-07-2009, 10:35 PM
Yes confirmed sharing... :)
BarbarianFX, Sp1der,
I'd pm you guys my contact for easy contact/arrangement.
nobodyhere
08-07-2009, 12:22 PM
Since I used to work in the cabling industry ... here goes
Standards as per TIA568B.2
CAT5e UTP & F/UTP - 100mhz
CAT6 UTP & F/UTP - 250mhz
CAT6a UTP & F/UTP - 500mhz
CAT7 S/FTP - 600mhz *
CAT7a S/FTP - 1000mhz*
* By ISO 11801 only; TIA does not recognise CAT7 cabling yet
AMP & Belden are NOT branded cabling, they have very different makets.
The plastic "star" divider in the middle of the cable is to seperate the different color pairs to minimise the effects of crosstalk (NEXT - Near End Cross Talk, FEXT - Far End Cross Talk) Remember the olden days of chatting with your gf and hearding other people's voice on the same conversation ? That's the effects of NEXT/FEXT
23/24AWG
This refers to the copper wire thickness. AWG means American Wire Guage. The smaller the number, the thicker the copper (hence more ex cos more copper used). Why more copper ? To reduce the effects of insertion loss (attenuation or commonly known as signal loss)
As per standards recommendation, UTP cables should NOT be run together with power lines. STP, FTP (actually known as F/UTP) can be run together with power lines but depends on # of lines , conduit/pathway size can take it or not.
Most manufacturers have the full solution today. i,e if they have cables, they should have their own faceplate, connectors etc. U can use them for your installation; catch is the faceplate might cost more than a unbranded keystone faceplate.
Hehe, hope this helps. If you have any questions on network cabling, feel free to PM me.
Sp1der
08-07-2009, 01:23 PM
Since I used to work in the cabling industry ... here goes
Standards as per TIA568B.2
CAT5e UTP & F/UTP - 100mhz
CAT6 UTP & F/UTP - 250mhz
CAT6a UTP & F/UTP - 500mhz
CAT7 S/FTP - 600mhz *
CAT7a S/FTP - 1000mhz*
* By ISO 11801 only; TIA does not recognise CAT7 cabling yet
AMP & Belden are NOT branded cabling, they have very different makets.
The plastic "star" divider in the middle of the cable is to seperate the different color pairs to minimise the effects of crosstalk (NEXT - Near End Cross Talk, FEXT - Far End Cross Talk) Remember the olden days of chatting with your gf and hearding other people's voice on the same conversation ? That's the effects of NEXT/FEXT
23/24AWG
This refers to the copper wire thickness. AWG means American Wire Guage. The smaller the number, the thicker the copper (hence more ex cos more copper used). Why more copper ? To reduce the effects of insertion loss (attenuation or commonly known as signal loss)
As per standards recommendation, UTP cables should NOT be run together with power lines. STP, FTP (actually known as F/UTP) can be run together with power lines but depends on # of lines , conduit/pathway size can take it or not.
Most manufacturers have the full solution today. i,e if they have cables, they should have their own faceplate, connectors etc. U can use them for your installation; catch is the faceplate might cost more than a unbranded keystone faceplate.
Hehe, hope this helps. If you have any questions on network cabling, feel free to PM me.
Well explained.
Thanks for the advise
as for UTP with 230v power cable over short distance (less than 20m) does it matter?
nobodyhere
08-07-2009, 06:59 PM
There are no local standards for this but based on EN 50174-2, UTP cables should be located at least 300mm away from any power source.
But seriously, while we can't really see the effects caused by EMI (who got network analyser); it's usually a safer bet to use FTP ( actually F/UTP) cables min for home installations.
Well explained.
Thanks for the advise
as for UTP with 230v power cable over short distance (less than 20m) does it matter?
09-07-2009, 02:38 AM
There are no local standards for this but based on EN 50174-2, UTP cables should be located at least 300mm away from any power source.
But seriously, while we can't really see the effects caused by EMI (who got network analyser); it's usually a safer bet to use FTP ( actually F/UTP) cables min for home installations.
Network Analyzer will be very expensive !!!!
Since I have done it before. .. I didnt see any impact in short distance. and the EMI for home typical is not extremely high to impact network signal. Unless one in data-center with high-current, power-hungry system, yes .. I have seen the impact before. But for home... it is cool.
STP will be over-kill for home in my own opinion. But then.. if one wanna to play seriously safe .. than got for STP (F/UTP). Cheers!!!
I did a basic pc to pc testing using basic tools ... but no network analyzer and scope to test the signal strength.
:)
nobodyhere
09-07-2009, 12:02 PM
Exactly my point. ;) It does not really matter if the link is non-crucial i.e for file transfer, web browsing etc. 230V won't cause total loss of signal (never heard of it being so bad) UTP is ok for most situations, if you want to be kiasu abit, use F/UTP or S/FTP.
To relate; I heard of a company who wanted to expand its operations from 4th floor to 5th floor . So they ran the CAT6 UTP cables through the lift shaft (where the lift cage goes up and down) cos they don't want to hack through the floors or go through the already congested data riser. They ended up taking down the links eventually. Reason - everytime the lift stops at the 5th floor, the EMI from the lift's magnetic brakes casued total signal loss! :s13:
09-07-2009, 06:17 PM
aiyo ... Lift Magnetic too powerful lah ... :)
My story is in the Datacenter ... one rack always got network issue. Later to be found it is due to the high tension cable running below ... Too MUCH EMI... this one... got use special equipment to do EMI reading.
cscs3
09-07-2009, 09:28 PM
You use CAT 6 for Gb ethernet?
nobodyhere
10-07-2009, 01:10 AM
Yes ... CAT6 is generally recommended for Gigabit Ethernet.
Whilst CAT5e was originally designed with the intention to support Gbe, it was later realised that the margins provided by a CAT5e cabling solution was insuffice to support Gbe due to site constraints; i.e excessive cable lengths, tight turns, poor worksmanship etc.
Cisco did mention that CAT5e is enough for Gbe .... a few years ago. If you check modern Cisco literature, you will see that they recommend CAT6 too.
10-07-2009, 01:19 AM
Min is Cat5e :)
jervislim
20-10-2009, 12:14 PM
I've just bought another reel of cat6 AMP UTP cables. Those who need to share or buy over mine, let me know.
seeyourhead_jiejie
20-10-2009, 12:18 PM
I've just bought another reel of cat6 AMP UTP cables. Those who need to share or buy over mine, let me know.
how to crimp the CAT6 cable ? its not the same ?
special crimper needer ?
liangtam
20-10-2009, 02:37 PM
how to crimp the CAT6 cable ? its not the same ?
special crimper needer ?
Same. No nid
Kiwi8
20-10-2009, 02:41 PM
What are the rates per meter, that u are selling?
jervislim
20-10-2009, 02:53 PM
What are the rates per meter, that u are selling?
Had pm you . . . .
Sp1der
20-10-2009, 07:36 PM
i also bought another half reel
100m really not enough
haha~
jervislim
20-10-2009, 08:06 PM
i also bought another half reel
100m really not enough
haha~
Aiyo... should have asked you... then can share/split cost again...
Sp1der
26-10-2009, 09:35 PM
Aiyo... should have asked you... then can share/split cost again...
:D i end up laying 2 x lan point for each of the room.
I bought excess faceplate
anyone interested i like to let go cheaper
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=41218901&posted=1#post41218901
singular
16-11-2009, 12:19 AM
I'm looking for cat6 shielded cable. Think I need about 30meters.
If anybody wants to share or has some for sale please PM me.
Thanks!
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.