View Full Version : Starhub Connection have internet browsing issue. Help
Hi ,
I am using a starhub cable internet connection. Then my cable modem is connected to a DLINK router, that relates the internet connection.
Now weird thing is , after serveral hours of usage, i start to have browsing problem. Pages i go to, will have the typical "Page cannot be displayed" error.
I tried pinging the website, to no avail either.
Weird thing is msn is still working....?
After i reboot the router it would be fine. And then couple of hours later, same issue.
Anybody encounter this b4? and could advise whats wrong?
My router is set as default settings...no special settings.......
SaNZo
05-07-2009, 11:59 PM
I think you running too much traffic to the router.. tat's why need to reboot router before can access 'net.
so are u meaning the router cant take the traffic?
i only have my computer and another 2 more wifi connection to it.................i dont do huge downloading of files, so thats bizzare........
cdo_saturday
06-07-2009, 07:09 AM
wAt router model u using? users of dlink DIR300 incl me are facing the same issue. c the last 2 pages http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=38816867
amsga
06-07-2009, 08:41 AM
Looks like SH got problem...
Shadow_R
06-07-2009, 09:52 AM
You ask SH.... they will tell you it's router problem...
Pokémon
06-07-2009, 09:57 AM
Is your wireless network secured? If it's not, then you better secure it.
If it is, I'd suggest you change the current passphrase. Also, change the SSID to something unique if it's still using the default - dlink. Change the wireless channel as well, to any others than 6.
aptget
06-07-2009, 10:06 AM
dir300 user here, i was on fw 1.03 until this issue happened
upgraded to fw 1.05beta and was OK for few days, then it happened
again. i had to login to router, release and renew DHCP and its back
to normal.
i donlt have much traffic, just web browsing on 3 computers. 2 wired
connections and 1 connected via wifi. network secured WPA2
megaweb
06-07-2009, 10:07 AM
Sometimes their DNS is down. Switch to other ISP DNS should solve ur problem.
hybridmedia
06-07-2009, 09:59 PM
yeah actually i think its mostly likely their DNS servers. recently about a month ago, i see 'Looking for www.google.com' in my firefox browser, it seems to take a long time to resolve domain names.
tidus792
06-07-2009, 10:52 PM
I encounter that problem with sh as well.
wAt router model u using? users of dlink DIR300 incl me are facing the same issue. c the last 2 pages http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=38816867
Indeed im using DIR300, so, any resolution for urself so far?
You ask SH.... they will tell you it's router problem...
very true........
lol..............
megaweb
07-07-2009, 10:57 AM
I am a DIR300 user, I do not experience browsing issue. I am using the original firmware. My hardware is hubstation.
Is your wireless network secured? If it's not, then you better secure it.
If it is, I'd suggest you change the current passphrase. Also, change the SSID to something unique if it's still using the default - dlink. Change the wireless channel as well, to any others than 6.
yes, unique ssid, and passphrase is set.
just also realize that when i play World of warcraft, my house other wireless users will find their web browsing very lag!........
oh gosh,....basically DIR300 sux? it only cost $40+ i guess thats why?...
any better router to recommend?
cdo_saturday
07-07-2009, 11:40 AM
I am a DIR300 user, I do not experience browsing issue. I am using the original firmware. My hardware is hubstation.
what's the first 2 octet of the ip issued to hubstation users? IIRC, it was 117.x.x.x? wonder if the dns servers are different?
cdo_saturday
07-07-2009, 11:41 AM
unfortunately no :(
so much so for a $40+ router sigh........should have got the linksys one instead...........
dlink banned
cdo_saturday
07-07-2009, 12:02 PM
so much so for a $40+ router sigh........should have got the linksys one instead...........
dlink banned
at first i tot the dir-300 couldn't take the data transfer due to BT so was contemplating a dir-655 but i need to find out what exactly is the problem first.
For those users who have problems, are you guys using the DV cable modem?
liangtam
07-07-2009, 02:52 PM
light bittorrenting is okay with dir-300 ah.
As for WC, see ur b/w and TCP utilization.
aptget
07-07-2009, 04:31 PM
at first i tot the dir-300 couldn't take the data transfer due to BT so was contemplating a dir-655 but i need to find out what exactly is the problem first.
For those users who have problems, are you guys using the DV cable modem?
yup i am using SH's DV modem (can't remember model at this time)
ylloree
07-07-2009, 04:56 PM
+1
I'm also using DIR-300 and the Starhub's free Motorola Cable Modem. I'm not sure if it's the Router or the Modem that's causing this problem. Could be both, because both are cheap piece of junk!!! lol
cdo_saturday
07-07-2009, 05:22 PM
light bittorrenting is okay with dir-300 ah.
As for WC, see ur b/w and TCP utilization.
what's wc ? :s34:
cdo_saturday
07-07-2009, 05:23 PM
yup i am using SH's DV modem (can't remember model at this time)
+1
I'm also using DIR-300 and the Starhub's free Motorola Cable Modem. I'm not sure if it's the Router or the Modem that's causing this problem. Could be both, because both are cheap piece of junk!!! lol
i think never mind liao. don't think it's the cable modem. Someone from another thread facing the same problem is using the non DV modem. sian.
liangtam
07-07-2009, 07:00 PM
what's wc ? :s34:
I mean WoW.
But then pway maple better :D
cdo_saturday
08-07-2009, 07:34 AM
sigh, I uncle liao loh. hehe
cpuer
08-07-2009, 08:42 AM
My colleague just reported the same symptom as your guys with her DIR300. Now tasked to get a "better" router. Feel bad about it as I told her DIR300 is the best cheap router around.:o
I think I will tell her to get an WRT54GL next, with Tomato, it should make her happier for a longer time.
liangtam
08-07-2009, 09:39 AM
sigh, I uncle liao loh. hehe
:s11::s11:
gotch soo mani bian tai shu shu pwaying maple oso :s34:
My colleague just reported the same symptom as your guys with her DIR300. Now tasked to get a "better" router. Feel bad about it as I told her DIR300 is the best cheap router around. :o
I think I will tell her to get an WRT54GL next, with Tomato, it should make her happier for a longer time.
Cant be all router at same time having problem mah, anyway, starhub conn is it?
fnalbuquerque
08-07-2009, 09:56 AM
Hi, I read all about this issue here.
It is definitely not an ISP issue, since I have the same problem and live in Brazil.
The only way i can make my internet go back online is reboot via d-link page or plug it out.
I just update the firmware to 1.04 to see if it works...
I had an di-524 and it worked fine.... Too bad I changed it...
cdo_saturday
08-07-2009, 10:11 AM
:s11::s11:
gotch soo mani bian tai shu shu pwaying maple oso :s34:
:s13: funny lar u! but i oni shu shu without the bian tai ness neh!
Cant be all router at same time having problem mah, anyway, starhub conn is it?
Let's wait to see if other dir300 users on Singnet and M1BB have anot :D
cdo_saturday
08-07-2009, 10:13 AM
Hi, I read all about this issue here.
It is definitely not an ISP issue, since I have the same problem and live in Brazil.
The only way i can make my internet go back online is reboot via d-link page or plug it out.
I just update the firmware to 1.04 to see if it works...
I had an di-524 and it worked fine.... Too bad I changed it...
I hope yours will be ok. :o i'm still on fw 1.04 (if i rem correctly) when I encountered the problem.
how old then qualify to be shushu leh
liangtam
09-07-2009, 09:27 AM
how old then qualify to be shushu leh
as long as chiu ish BTSS lor, note the first 2 word =:p
Bfrost
12-07-2009, 08:10 PM
hmm.. Am on SH also. Facing the same problem. I think its ISP though. I reset cable modem, but not my router, then I can surf again. I've been using the DIR-300 for quite some time (almost 1 year), and this happened recently.
I also suspect its something to do with the DNS.
xiaoyuer89
12-07-2009, 09:53 PM
i don't think it's your problem cause i've been facing the same problem too. using linksys router but when i direct connection the problem is still the same. msn can log in but will lag in receiveing and sending. den after like 30mins will dc. but i still can DOTA on GARENA. i dunno why. torrent will not move also. damn pissed cos i called dem for like 6th time already. been happening for the past 2 weeks.
xiaoyuer89
12-07-2009, 09:56 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/515729741.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
this is wat i get from speedtest currently. when i just switch on my modem and router after resting it for 2 hours it was ard 1.3mb/s now is wat i get after using for ard 50mins.
Bfrost
13-07-2009, 12:11 AM
i don't think it's your problem cause i've been facing the same problem too. using linksys router but when i direct connection the problem is still the same. msn can log in but will lag in receiveing and sending. den after like 30mins will dc. but i still can DOTA on GARENA. i dunno why. torrent will not move also. damn pissed cos i called dem for like 6th time already. been happening for the past 2 weeks.
I called them once. The CSO was pretty insistent in telling me to try the connection via a dedicated PC, but I told them its not possible for me to monitor the modem as family is sharing the broadband. Too lazy to call them now. Just flick the on-off switch to my modem instead. Much faster and friendlier than a standard reply. :s16:
xiaoyuer89
13-07-2009, 12:36 AM
I called them once. The CSO was pretty insistent in telling me to try the connection via a dedicated PC, but I told them its not possible for me to monitor the modem as family is sharing the broadband. Too lazy to call them now. Just flick the on-off switch to my modem instead. Much faster and friendlier than a standard reply. :s16:
can post ur www.speedtest.net see ur spd?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/515812091.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
getting this low now when my other starhub fren are getting 20mb/sec.. zzzz..
still thinking shld i make the trip down to vivo to show them the damn modem.
xiaoyuer89
13-07-2009, 01:24 AM
called dem agn. this time the new guy never say is my fault. ask me test this test that. ping yahoo.com in direct connection and missing a packet n he says there's a problem saying the engineer will call me back the nx day. will call them agn if still not fixed. damn them.
amsga
15-07-2009, 08:43 PM
Anyone with updates on the issue?
cyhchong
16-07-2009, 04:43 PM
Hi ,
I am using a starhub cable internet connection. Then my cable modem is connected to a DLINK router, that relates the internet connection.
Now weird thing is , after serveral hours of usage, i start to have browsing problem. Pages i go to, will have the typical "Page cannot be displayed" error.
I tried pinging the website, to no avail either.
Weird thing is msn is still working....?
After i reboot the router it would be fine. And then couple of hours later, same issue.
Anybody encounter this b4? and could advise whats wrong?
My router is set as default settings...no special settings.......
My problem is a bit different from yours but potentially may be the same cause. My BB and DigitalVoice from SH runs from 2 different points in the house. Just 2 days ago my phone went dead but BB works fine.
When SH engineers pop round to diagnose the problem with the phone, I was told that the Tx ie transmission to (on the backend at StarHub side which we cannot see...) was too high. This will cause problems to digital voice and also BB. Fortunately my BB was OK. However, I was told that I would have been losing packets that I am NOT aware of.
The reason for the high Tx was apparently happend at the MAIN trunk cable which the SH engineers will check.
So, what I am trying to get at here is - normally router behaves quick normally but should you have behavior like what you have had encountered, better get SH folks involve. Some joker could be digging along the road and break something (?) which we may not be aware off :(
After that, my problems are solved and both phone and BB stable. Just thought I share some of the stuff that I have had encountered.
Bfrost
19-07-2009, 01:55 AM
can post ur www.speedtest.net see ur spd?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/515812091.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
getting this low now when my other starhub fren are getting 20mb/sec.. zzzz..
still thinking shld i make the trip down to vivo to show them the damn modem.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/520226423.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
just done. I guess at 2am the speeds are better.
but I don't think I am disconnecting much now though. My family didn't complain to me about that, and I haven't been home long enough to test out the connections.
amsga
20-07-2009, 06:59 PM
Received an email from them in the afternoon concerning MaxOnline.
Saying something about being able to surf at 100Mbps for local bandwidth. Don't know if all the problems are due to them changing the infrastructure.
amsga
27-07-2009, 07:06 PM
I just want to check with everyone here, has anyone been getting any same problems recently?
I seem to be clear on my end.
DouYa89
27-07-2009, 07:24 PM
I just want to check with everyone here, has anyone been getting any same problems recently?
I seem to be clear on my end.
sometimes, on and off.
i will need to login to 192.168.0.1 and manually renew the ip .
DIR300 user. =[
zulu35
31-07-2009, 12:40 PM
I've just realised... the issues faced previously, they're gone now.
Anyone still facing the same issues?
cdo_saturday
31-07-2009, 11:53 PM
yah hor now that u mentioned, i don't encounter them anymore. I didn't change anything as well
amsga
01-08-2009, 06:07 PM
I think maybe due to the bandwidth upgrade for Premium users. They must have tinkered something that they shouldn't have.
blurrblurr
02-08-2009, 07:10 PM
yah hor now that u mentioned, i don't encounter them anymore. I didn't change anything as well
I also realise mine dun have problem anymore. I think starhub did something to make our DIR-300 not workable.
avalondigo
02-08-2009, 08:32 PM
now i'm having problem connecting to dbs internet banking website
anyone facing same problem?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.