View Full Version : Share your 3G Mobile Broadband on Wireless-N: Aztech HW550-3G
Aztech HQ
15-07-2009, 10:35 AM
The sweet combination of speed and mobility packaged in an uber attractive price.
Aztech HW550-3G offers an instantaneous wireless solution users can share wherever they are. Users can share a portable high-speed wireless hotspot for project discussions, tradeshows, conferences and business meetings - wherever on the go.
No fixed DSL/cable line is needed - simply dock a supporting 3G/3.5G USB dongle into HW550-3G to create a WiFi hotspot that can be shared with business partners, family or friends.
Click for Datasheet (ftp://ftp.aztech.com/Aztech/Brochure/DataSheets/Aztech%20HW5503G_Datasheet.pdf)
Click for FAQ (ftp://ftp.aztech.com/Aztech/Brochure/Retail/HW550-3G%20FAQs.pdf)
krazyman
17-07-2009, 10:04 PM
Is E1550 modem support in the pipeline? If yes, when? Thanks.
squatt3r
17-07-2009, 11:21 PM
same question as above! I have the E1550 USB modem also.
treecom
18-07-2009, 12:03 AM
I am waiting for support for E1550 too. Have been waiting since June PC show....
Aztech HQ
21-07-2009, 10:11 AM
Hi, the tentative date of release of firmware to support E1550 is September.
squatt3r
21-07-2009, 03:13 PM
thank you for the update! looking forward for the firmware support
kennyg1969
21-07-2009, 03:29 PM
What about Huawei E-156G?
hastalavista
23-07-2009, 11:27 AM
How about Huawei E1750?
Aztech HQ
24-07-2009, 11:57 AM
How about Huawei E1750?
Tentative mid-August!
squatt3r
25-07-2009, 11:32 PM
can Aztech also pull-in the support for E1550 by mid August? :s7:
ethanhua
29-07-2009, 05:59 PM
can Aztech also pull-in the support for E1550 by mid August? :s7:
as I know, prolink 3.5g router can support these modems.
prolink USB Device Compatible List for PWH2001 3G Router
Firmware Version: R7.04a3 Rev 1.2 Updated: 22 July 2009
No Brand Model Remarks
1 PROLiNK PHS100 HSDPA
3 PHS300 HSUPA
3 BandRich C120 HSDPA
4 C170 HSDPA
5 C270 HSDPA
6 C-Motech W12 HSDPA
7 ESTON 618U GPRS/Edge
8 638U HSDPA
9 E-TEL ET230U HSDPA
10 Haier CE100 EVDO
11 DM300 GPRS/SCDMA
12 WM100 GPRS/SCDMA
13 WM500
14 Huawei E160 HSDPA
15 E169 HSDPA
16 E170 HSDPA
17 E180 HSUPA
18 E220 HSDPA
19 E270 HSUPA
20 EC168 EVDO
21 K3520 HSDPA
22 K3565 HSDPA
23 K3715 HSDPA
24 E1550 HSDPA
25 EC168 EVDO
26 EC226 EVDO
27 EC228 EVDO
28 E160G HSDPA
29 E156G HSDPA
30 E1750 HSUPA
31 HUAYU 733 GPRS/Edge
32 Lenovo SPRD-8800 HSDPA
33 LightSpeed 180C HSDPA
34 180M GPRS/Edge
35 Mlwtelecom SU-8100U HSDPA
36 Matrix MTX-H25 GPRS/Edge
37 Maxon USB3-8521 HSDPA
38 Quanta MU-Q101 HSDPA
39 QuickTel MH405 HSDPA
40 Sierra Wireless AC597 EVDO
41 AC881U HSDPA
42 AC885 WCDMA
43 885U HSUPA
44 Solomon D12LC HSDPA
45 S3GM-660 HSDPA
46 SEGM-520C GPRS/Edge
47 Sony Erisson MD300 HSDPA
48 Version ES720 EVDO
49 Vodafone EasyBox HSDPA
50 Vtion V1810 EVDO
51 ZTE MF620 HSDPA
52 MF622 WCDMA
53 MF626 WCDMA
54 MF627 HSDPA
55 MF636 WCDMA
56 MF636BP HSDPA
57 MV140B EVDO
58 K3565-Z (Vodafone) HSDPA
59 No Brand SU-6200 CDMA
60 No Brand SU-8200 HSDPA
61 No Brand SU-9000 HSDPA
62 No Brand AIKO81D WCDMA
kennyg1969
29-07-2009, 09:28 PM
Tentative mid-August!
what about HuaWei E-156G?
hcshi
30-07-2009, 11:20 PM
Downloaded the latest HW550-3G firmware Version: 201.106.1-036 which has support for Huawei E1750. Tested with my Starhub Prepaid Broadband and connected successfully. This latest firmware version also supports the E1550.
You can download HW550-3G firmware Version: 201.106.1-036 at
ftp.aztech.com/Support/SINGAPORE/3G Broadband Router/
Here's the 201.106.1-036 Release.txt:
===========================
Date: 29 July 2009
Version: 201.106.1-036
Added support for the following USB 3G modems
1. ZTE K3565-Z
2. Huawei E1750
3. Huawei E1762
4. Huawei E1550
5. Sierra Wireless C-889
Date: 15 July 2009
Version: 201.106.1-032
Added Support for the following USB 3G modems
1. Bandluxe C100
2. Bandluxe C120
3. Bandluxe C170
4. Option Icon 210 - New Product ID
5. Option Icon 315 - New Product ID
6. Option Icon 505
7. Option Icon 505M - microSD is not yet supported on
Date: 6 July 2009
Version: 201.106.1-031
1. Bandluxe C270
###
hastalavista
31-07-2009, 08:56 AM
At least Aztech firmware support for the HW550-3G is quite responsive and fast to include new models.
Hope this trend continues. The E1750 is now supported, that's what I have been waiting for.
Aztech should update their website to indicate that the new firmware is available. Now still show 032 version as "new".
Downloaded the latest HW550-3G firmware Version: 201.106.1-036 which has support for Huawei E1750. Tested with my Starhub Prepaid Broadband and connected successfully. This latest firmware version also supports the E1550.
You can download HW550-3G firmware Version: 201.106.1-036 at
ftp.aztech.com/Support/SINGAPORE/3G Broadband Router/
Here's the 201.106.1-036 Release.txt:
===========================
Date: 29 July 2009
Version: 201.106.1-036
Added support for the following USB 3G modems
1. ZTE K3565-Z
2. Huawei E1750
3. Huawei E1762
4. Huawei E1550
5. Sierra Wireless C-889
Date: 15 July 2009
Version: 201.106.1-032
1. Bandluxe C100
2. Bandluxe C120
3. Bandluxe C170
4. Option Icon 210 - New Product ID
5. Option Icon 315 - New Product ID
6. Option Icon 505
7. Option Icon 505M - microSD is not yet supported on
Date: 6 July 2009
Version: 201.106.1-031
1. Bandluxe C270
###
squatt3r
31-07-2009, 10:32 AM
wow! support for E1550! I'm heading down to SLS after work to buy this router.
squatt3r
02-08-2009, 11:09 AM
wooohooo! my E1550 modem works with the new firmware!
:s12::s12::s12::s12::s12:
ayeong
02-08-2009, 11:56 AM
Is the router able to do MAC access control ? I can't seems to find that option in the setup.
MAC access control -> meaning on specific MAC address could access the wireless network.
Thanks
acehunterz
03-08-2009, 03:28 PM
Any idea how much does these mobile broadband wireless router cost? Thank you.
kennyg1969
03-08-2009, 03:35 PM
Aztech cost $99 but challenger member price @ $95. The prolink cost $109.
acehunterz
03-08-2009, 03:58 PM
Thank you very much for the info. :)
Aztech HQ
04-08-2009, 03:19 PM
NEW!
Now supports Huawei E1820 - this is the dongle with 21Mbps MaxMobile Lite plan with StarHub!! :s12:
slow_mo
08-08-2009, 10:47 AM
Is the Samsung Z800 USB stick supported??
Aztech HQ
11-08-2009, 09:28 AM
Is the Samsung Z800 USB stick supported??
Currently not supported.
hero_2009
12-08-2009, 05:40 PM
Hi, Aztech,
I am using your 3.5G router. I want to buy a printer and connect it to my 3.5G router. But I heard that normally router, which support printers, has compatible issue. Where can I find the compatible list? So I won't buy a wrong printer.
I sent e-mails to support at Aztech . com but no one reply me. sad.....
hero_2009
12-08-2009, 05:42 PM
what is the difference between these brands router? which one is better? Now I have a aztech. Can I buy another 3.5G router to connect to the exited one? so I can plug two modems to them. when one disconnect, connect to another one.
Aztech HQ
13-08-2009, 04:42 PM
what is the difference between these brands router? which one is better? Now I have a aztech. Can I buy another 3.5G router to connect to the exited one? so I can plug two modems to them. when one disconnect, connect to another one.
Can you PM me your number? I will get Tech Support to call you back.
hero_2009
13-08-2009, 06:28 PM
Can you PM me your number? I will get Tech Support to call you back.
Have replied me via e-mail. But it is too slow. hope to get quick reply in future. tks
ahmadm
16-08-2009, 06:08 PM
Bought it a Challenger @ $87 .... and had it install in my car. So far so good.
Thanks to thread starter for sharing.
Cheers!
hastalavista
17-08-2009, 03:03 PM
$87? Is it member price or normal price?
Getting cheaper! Buy at the PC Show really bo hua...lol.
New firmware available now. Support ZTE K3565-Z.
ftp://ftp.aztech.com/support/SINGAPO....106.1-038.zip
hastalavista
17-08-2009, 08:43 PM
$87? Is it member price or normal price?
Getting cheaper! Buy at the PC Show really bo hua...lol.
New firmware available now. Support ZTE K3565-Z.
ftp://ftp.aztech.com/support/SINGAPO....106.1-038.zip
How come the 038 firmware taken away ah?
Now 037 again. :s11:
Innocast
21-08-2009, 03:51 AM
can support huawei e169 or e156G modem or not??????
liangtam
21-08-2009, 09:32 AM
can support huawei e169 or e156G modem or not??????
ftp://ftp.aztech.com/Aztech/Brochure/Retail/ListofCompatibleUSBModems.pdf
Henderson T
21-08-2009, 12:46 PM
Mobile broadband set-up and monthly costs differ considerably from network to network. The usage allowance affects the price, but in general, the longer the contract the less it costs. You will probably find it very helpful to consult a broadband comparison site and compare all mobile broadband deals and current prices.
sg_lala
21-08-2009, 04:04 PM
Look like Aztech currently has the best 3G router in the market liao.
1: Good listing of all device support (so far i can see this on Aztech and prolink)
2: Aztech seems to support the most device
3: Website provide all listing detail on the device.
Just wondering if aztech router does a fail over from WAN to 3G And 3G to WAN.
Zyxel the most expansive model and the worst firmware in support 3G usb device.
EnGenius also quite poor support information. nothing much from their website.
ivan_hwa
24-08-2009, 02:04 PM
Look like Aztech currently has the best 3G router in the market liao.
1: Good listing of all device support (so far i can see this on Aztech and prolink)
2: Aztech seems to support the most device
3: Website provide all listing detail on the device.
Just wondering if aztech router does a fail over from WAN to 3G And 3G to WAN.
Zyxel the most expansive model and the worst firmware in support 3G usb device.
EnGenius also quite poor support information. nothing much from their website.
From their spec and compatible list for USB modem, Aztech and Prolink can support most of modems from telocom in Singapore. Not sure about other brands because little information from website.
1. Comparing Aztech and Prolink, Prolink can support more USB modems. maybe it will be better for overseas users. But we just need check our own modem is in their list.
2. Aztech can support storage while Prolink can not. Prolink can support autobackup from WLAN to 3.5G or 3.5G to WLAN while Aztech can not. Prolink support 4G. Maybe it is useful in future.
Anyway, for us, we just need to choose the features we need. :s12::s12::s12:
liangtam
24-08-2009, 02:19 PM
From their spec and compatible list for USB modem, Aztech and Prolink can support most of modems from telocom in Singapore. Not sure about other brands because little information from website.
1. Comparing Aztech and Prolink, Prolink can support more USB modems. maybe it will be better for overseas users. But we just need check our own modem is in their list.
2. Aztech can support storage while Prolink can not. Prolink can support autobackup from WLAN to 3.5G or 3.5G to WLAN while Aztech can not. Prolink support 4G. Maybe it is useful in future.
Anyway, for us, we just need to choose the features we need. :s12::s12::s12:
Don't be misled by the claim of 4G! In fact, if there are release of 4G usb modem in future, the product can work just by writing in the correct code to make it sync.
Also, if the product cycle of the particular mobile router comes to an end before 4G product appears, it will simply become a broken promise claim.
doggY_STYLE
24-08-2009, 02:51 PM
DM promotion $79 at all challenger outlets
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=39745767#post39745767
ivan_hwa
24-08-2009, 03:17 PM
DM promotion $79 at all challenger outlets
how can I become DM? how much does it cost? If too expensive, it is not worth to become DM.
doggY_STYLE
24-08-2009, 03:45 PM
currently DM $18/year without any free gift.
by signing up , you save $2 and gain DM :crazy:
wizardoz
08-11-2009, 01:23 AM
cant get Draft N connection speeds out of the Aztech HW550-3g, no issues with my hardware as I can connect at N speeds with my linksys wrt610n.
anyone else using USB 3G mobile donggle plus Aztech HW550-3g & can connect at N speeds with the router ?
going to return it if cant solve this issue. by Monday. wasted 4 sleepless nights with this setup already and tech support doesnt answer calls.
liangtam
08-11-2009, 02:05 AM
Can connect at N rates.
You need to check your setting and adapter.
wizardoz
09-11-2009, 10:25 PM
hi,
I've checked my laptop & desktop settings many times & it doesnt work at N speeds only 54G.
my desktop is from Linksys WUSB600N, my laptop is Dell Lattitude E6400 with Intel Wifi 5300 AGN. both work with WRT610N linsys N router without issues.
Anyways I returned the Aztech HW550-3G and had to buy $79 worth of rechargable batteries as I couldnt get a cash refund. Should have been more careful when I saw at least a 30boxes of this router unsold at the Challenger store funan
Someone once told me this, "if Toads were edible there would be none jumping on the streets"
on a happy note, I bought a ZyXel NBG4115 and got it running with N speeds within 10minutes.
tech support also answers your calls, as I wanted to know if it supports E1550 or E1750 from starhub. none of the robotic answer machines with endless transfer options and the end result is unreturned calls or emails that asked you to refresh with a new firmware which still doesnt work. Aztech should have gotten the product working before launching it.
liangtam
09-11-2009, 11:33 PM
hi,
I've checked my laptop & desktop settings many times & it doesnt work at N speeds only 54G.
my desktop is from Linksys WUSB600N, my laptop is Dell Lattitude E6400 with Intel Wifi 5300 AGN. both work with WRT610N linsys N router without issues.
http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/9948/ra1.png
wizardoz
12-11-2009, 12:07 AM
liangtam,
saw your post what program are you using to display the signal from the Aztech HW550-3G ?
if it works in N & G modes will definitely give it a 2nd look.
perhaps you can do a screen print of your settings. you mention earlier some specific settings required, perhaps you could indicate them too.
Aztech support is of no help. No reply from them. Is as good as non-existant support.
liangtam
12-11-2009, 12:46 AM
liangtam,
saw your post what program are you using to display the signal from the Aztech HW550-3G ?
if it works in N & G modes will definitely give it a 2nd look.
perhaps you can do a screen print of your settings. you mention earlier some specific settings required, perhaps you could indicate them too.
Aztech support is of no help. No reply from them. Is as good as non-existant support.
Let me prepare my school stuff first, later if still awake I post my settings
AFAICT, wireless issues generally lies on the client side, or on the settings portion of both units.
wizardoz
12-11-2009, 01:33 AM
thanks, it's just frustrating that the tech support isnt replying and the new router I bought seems to configure so much easier.
virtually plug & play. just put in the ssid and wireless security settings & it worked without issues.
liangtam
12-11-2009, 02:20 AM
http://img109.imageshack.us/img109/3456/64326613.png
http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/9342/81979819.png
Win XP SP2: Patch OS KB893357, 917021 (necessary)
Update Wireless client driver. (necessary)
Look into wireless client properties in device manager as well and do relevant setting. Intel 4965 only can half N in 2.4G
Some clients are strict on what options you choose to get N rates.
wizardoz
12-11-2009, 03:19 PM
hi liangtam,
its the default settings.
I dont see any significant difference to my settings.
Maybe its because its a single band vs the Linksys wrt610N which has dual band, so when there is 54G devices will drop to 54G speeds.
anyways thanks for trying to help.
Dont think will be getting one more to try.
perhaps when Linksys comes out with a WRT610N with 3G will get it.
Satalite
10-01-2010, 03:02 PM
My HW550-3G fail to upgrade FW... can anyone help me..
liangtam
10-01-2010, 03:24 PM
My HW550-3G fail to upgrade FW... can anyone help me..
check again, it shld be upgraded if u use IE/Fx
weap0nx
17-01-2010, 01:29 PM
Anyone tried connecting ur USB dongle and leaving the connection on 24/7?
Mine will drop after one or two days , have to reset router
letdoit
17-01-2010, 01:53 PM
The sweet combination of speed and mobility packaged in an uber attractive price.
Aztech HW550-3G offers an instantaneous wireless solution users can share wherever they are. Users can share a portable high-speed wireless hotspot for project discussions, tradeshows, conferences and business meetings - wherever on the go.
No fixed DSL/cable line is needed - simply dock a supporting 3G/3.5G USB dongle into HW550-3G to create a WiFi hotspot that can be shared with business partners, family or friends.
Click for Datasheet (ftp://ftp.aztech.com/Aztech/Brochure/DataSheets/Aztech%20HW5503G_Datasheet.pdf)
Click for FAQ (ftp://ftp.aztech.com/Aztech/Brochure/Retail/HW550-3G%20FAQs.pdf)
hi,
I also using HW550-3G
How to share portable harddisk USB?
when i insert USB harddisk, the modem hang, 192.168.2.1 from working to not working.
Need to master reset when insert USB harddisk....
by the way what is the signal power for HW550? (measure MW)
ethanhua
19-01-2010, 03:29 PM
See Prolink has a similiar model with Aztech 3G router at Challenger.
It is PWH2004. Support 3G modem, NAS storage.
PWH2004 NAS includes ftp and samba. Other brand can support storage. but it seems can not support both of ftp and samba.
sg_lala
19-01-2010, 04:49 PM
See Prolink has a similiar model with Aztech 3G router at Challenger.
It is PWH2004. Support 3G modem, NAS storage.
PWH2004 NAS includes ftp and samba. Other brand can support storage. but it seems can not support both of ftp and samba.
question is how good is the prolink 3G router. Can't seems to hear much review on this device.
Well we know how Aztech perform
liangtam
19-01-2010, 05:16 PM
Very much less user has the prolink here. And I doubt anyone has both sets to comment on a comparison.
kyut_one
21-01-2010, 04:27 PM
what about usb modem zte ac2726?
eD1s0n
29-01-2010, 10:45 AM
how come E1750 not listed under the supported device list in Singapore, but listed for HK. So the E1750 from starhub can use or not?
Audio
29-01-2010, 10:58 AM
I have tried ProLink, Zyxel and this is still the best.
I confirmed E1750 can be used with the Aztech as this is my 3G Dongle model and I use it with the Aztech on a daily basis.
(Audio)
Warlock86
30-01-2010, 11:54 PM
I just got my dad this modem with M1 Mobile Broadband's USB stick.
It is relatively easy to setup.
I got it from laser distributor at $75, one of my favorite shop at SLS.
WestGuy
31-01-2010, 02:09 AM
I just got my dad this modem with M1 Mobile Broadband's USB stick.
It is relatively easy to setup.
I got it from laser distributor at $75, one of my favorite shop at SLS.
http://www.aztech.com/sg/images/promo_Challenger_CNY10.jpg
Warlock86
31-01-2010, 10:04 AM
Hey Westguy,
Too bad that i dun have challenger's card plus i dunno who else has it too.
NVM, i am happy with my hoot :)
timberland
02-02-2010, 12:33 AM
can this be used with the Maxmobile Elite USB modem ? :look:
tronian
11-02-2010, 09:32 PM
I should have asked if this has started because I went down to IMM challenger and they say don't have leh.:s11:
wallcount
12-02-2010, 09:31 AM
I should have asked if this has started because I went down to IMM challenger and they say don't have leh.:s11:
what dun have?? promotion or the product??
tronian
12-02-2010, 08:43 PM
what dun have?? promotion or the product??
the promotion lor, bo free adaptor.
wherehouse
13-02-2010, 12:18 AM
the promotion lor, bo free adaptor.
was there today, got this promo.
it's got stickers stuck to the box to announce the promo and this Aztech's $888 lucky draw too.
The usb adapter is 1t1r
tronian
13-02-2010, 12:50 AM
was there today, got this promo.
it's got stickers stuck to the box to announce the promo and this Aztech's $888 lucky draw too.
The usb adapter is 1t1r
which challenger did you go ah? IMM challenger don't have this promotion leh.
googol
13-02-2010, 02:11 AM
woa nice promo. is there any way for challenger non-members to get this promo :s12:
wherehouse
14-02-2010, 11:16 AM
which challenger did you go ah? IMM challenger don't have this promotion leh.
IMM challenger.
I thought I'm replying to you?:s13:
tronian
15-02-2010, 10:54 AM
IMM challenger.
The free N adapter is for another model wor, not HW550-3G leh.:(
pegASUS7677
15-02-2010, 04:55 PM
bought from Funan Challenger with free N usb adapter.
will.billy
22-02-2010, 06:58 PM
Is samsung z800 supported or in future will be?
wallcount
23-02-2010, 09:06 AM
IMM challenger.
I went to IMM challenger yesterday see see, Got leh!! my friend also want to buy for router, but i think i waiting for march I.T show lor.
wallcount
23-02-2010, 09:09 AM
but the advertisement stated that free the USB adaptor with every purchase of HW550-3G leh...
tronian
23-02-2010, 09:55 AM
but the advertisement stated that free the USB adaptor with every purchase of HW550-3G leh...
I asked the staff there and they say bo leh. coz the box don't have the free usb sticker.
anyway, I went to Jurong point Challenger and bought it there liao. :D
ms9803
26-02-2010, 03:42 PM
any future support for D-link DWM-156 dongle?
tseusus
04-03-2010, 03:15 PM
Can I connect my Iphone to the USB port and do Internet Tethering?
liangtam
04-03-2010, 04:16 PM
Can I connect my Iphone to the USB port and do Internet Tethering?
No
*10 char*
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.