View Full Version : Connection Issues with 2wire 2701
zhengkit
18-07-2009, 11:56 AM
Hi, I have a 2701HGV-E. My problem is that if I connect the 2wire to the wall telephone socket directly via their bundled 2line telephone wire, I won't get intermittent disconnections.
However I need to connect a phone in the same room so I have used their bundled "2wire DSL Filter For single-line phones". The problem starts here and I experience disconnections every few minutes for brief 5 seconds or when even a call is made/received on the land line.
Would it be because I am using their 2line telephone wire that came with the set with their "2wire DSL Filter For single-line phones", hence the problem? The supplied filters are all the "2wire DSL Filter For single-line phones" type so its seems odd and silly that the manufacturer would bundle it with the set if they don't work with their 2line telephone wire.
Have changed the DSL filter to other 3rd party ones w/phone splitter. Also have tried to swap around the bundled 2wire filters around the house to this socket to no avail. Any one having the same problem. Any pros care to advise? Tks.
jysjjj
18-07-2009, 12:03 PM
Call Singtel for help..
If yours is
mioTV, mioHome, mioPlan, mioVoice and mio Technical Support
Tel: 1800 555 6000
else if
SingNet Broadband Technical Support
Tel: 1800 848 6933
Mon-Sun & Public Holidays: 8am - 12mn
zhengkit
18-07-2009, 12:04 PM
Without filter/splitter
http://i463.photobucket.com/albums/qq359/exp21/2wire.jpg
With filter/splitter
http://i463.photobucket.com/albums/qq359/exp21/2wire-splitter.jpg
zhengkit
18-07-2009, 12:05 PM
Call Singtel for help..
If yours is
mioTV, mioHome, mioPlan, mioVoice and mio Technical Support
Tel: 1800 555 6000
else if
SingNet Broadband Technical Support
Tel: 1800 848 6933
Mon-Sun & Public Holidays: 8am - 12mn
Will call. For now just want to know if any bros here had/have the same problem before. Don't wish to call singnet over matters I can resolve myself if possible.
liangtam
18-07-2009, 02:15 PM
cannot see exit code lor
connect the MF and not the phone first
zhengkit
06-08-2009, 01:59 PM
http://i463.photobucket.com/albums/qq359/exp21/err-2.jpg
problem worse when i pick up phone or got incoming call
zhengkit
09-08-2009, 03:14 PM
Today the echo when back to normal. But I know it the problems will come back again and am not sure how to describe it to the singtel staff.
Best part is I did not do anything to the telephone setup (mc/lines/phones) in the house. The echo just keep going from good to bad to good again.
zhengkit
27-08-2009, 02:13 PM
Any1?
Ok, realised that in another room in the house the phone line is wired to the wall socket via the blue/red pair.
However, in all other rooms, its all using the blue/green pair.
Will it cause the above issues. My place is less than 10 years old and I have already swapped a new modem.
Any pros kind to advise on my high uncancelled echo? Should the phone wires used to wire the sockets be uniform throught the house?
lankileong
27-08-2009, 08:09 PM
if u are under any mio home plan, likely adsl will be affected inadvertedly.
Francis85
27-08-2009, 08:16 PM
Hi, I have a 2701HGV-E. My problem is that if I connect the 2wire to the wall telephone socket directly via their bundled 2line telephone wire, I won't get intermittent disconnections.
However I need to connect a phone in the same room so I have used their bundled "2wire DSL Filter For single-line phones". The problem starts here and I experience disconnections every few minutes for brief 5 seconds or when even a call is made/received on the land line.
Would it be because I am using their 2line telephone wire that came with the set with their "2wire DSL Filter For single-line phones", hence the problem? The supplied filters are all the "2wire DSL Filter For single-line phones" type so its seems odd and silly that the manufacturer would bundle it with the set if they don't work with their 2line telephone wire.
Have changed the DSL filter to other 3rd party ones w/phone splitter. Also have tried to swap around the bundled 2wire filters around the house to this socket to no avail. Any one having the same problem. Any pros care to advise? Tks.
I suspect a line short somewhere in your phone sockets......or microfilter faulty.....
zhengkit
27-08-2009, 08:54 PM
I suspect a line short somewhere in your phone sockets......or microfilter faulty.....
Thanks for reply. Singtel line man came down today. Ok-ed all telephone lines and the main distribution panel.
Microfilters have been swapped out for fresh new ones already. No improvement.
Sad. Singnet is pushing the blame to the line, line side pushing blame to net side. Dunno what to do. Service fk-ed up.
liangtam
27-08-2009, 10:08 PM
Time to rewire?
Dr_ARCHer
28-08-2009, 07:41 AM
Thanks for reply. Singtel line man came down today. Ok-ed all telephone lines and the main distribution panel.
Microfilters have been swapped out for fresh new ones already. No improvement.
Sad. Singnet is pushing the blame to the line, line side pushing blame to net side. Dunno what to do. Service fk-ed up.
Errr... if Singtel line man came and said that phone likes are fine, then shouldn't the line side be okay, and the problem lies with the Net side? Did the Singtel person check the SNR of your line, both with and without the phone plugged into the same room?
zhengkit
28-08-2009, 11:35 AM
Not sure bout SNR.
The high uncancelled echos are intermitten. Sometimes it is there ie 18-26db. Sometimes it goes back to normal -21db...
So some of the techs who came could not catch the problem. They used their handheld tool to plug into the line they say reading ok.
rawrrawr
25-11-2009, 07:16 PM
hey.. same problem with me.
ive called singnet hell lot of time. sent like 3 different tech.
first came the noober one
check my telephone socket, rearrange the wires.
den it looked fine.
5 mins after the person left.
the problem came back.
den the senior one came.
check everything
every household telephone point, even outside also they check.
do some tweaking.
5 mins after they left. the problem came back
but was less frequent.
then the rewiring guy came.
do abit of rewire.
den the internet was OK for a few days.
then the problem came back.
all doesnt seem to work.
today is a bad day again.
uncanceled echo v high.
constant dc when incoming/outgoing phone.
some day its just so fine..
need solutions in completely REMOVING THIS PROBLEM.
HELP :s11:
velato2006
25-11-2009, 09:57 PM
hey.. same problem with me.
ive called singnet hell lot of time. sent like 3 different tech.
first came the noober one
check my telephone socket, rearrange the wires.
den it looked fine.
5 mins after the person left.
the problem came back.
den the senior one came.
check everything
every household telephone point, even outside also they check.
do some tweaking.
5 mins after they left. the problem came back
but was less frequent.
then the rewiring guy came.
do abit of rewire.
den the internet was OK for a few days.
then the problem came back.
all doesnt seem to work.
today is a bad day again.
uncanceled echo v high.
constant dc when incoming/outgoing phone.
some day its just so fine..
need solutions in completely REMOVING THIS PROBLEM.
HELP :s11:
1)You may want to check all ur telephone jacks, make sure the wires connected are the same colors..
2)If problem still exists, swap filters or telephone cables n try again..
3) If still exist, i think theres something wrong with ur internal wiring,either its old or corroded (I dunno),..coz u said one of the technician tweak ur outside house the box, thats the main box also know as NTE5 and these wires are connected to your telephone jack.
velato2006
25-11-2009, 10:00 PM
Aniway my house outside dun have any telephone box leh, onli got the Power Supply box which they say not to touch or else will get electrocuted, coz my one also the uncancelled echo very high...
liangtam
25-11-2009, 10:12 PM
the word 'problem' is the same, but the problems are not hor.
ask them bring wire bypass internal house wiring to the d.p. first.
abit of rewiring is not ok, mus be full rewiring.
rawrrawr
26-11-2009, 10:00 AM
erm. well they did test from outside, used their com and directly connect to the phone point outside and the was no uncancelled echo problem.
although, they said one of it smth wrong.
so they switched to some other "port" or whatever they call it
then if problem persist they have to remove it
my house has 2 telephone lines, so i think at the dp, there are 2 different wires
so after they did the switch. everything was ok for days.
then now it came back.
days after i recontracted. =.=
crap.
newcell
26-11-2009, 11:08 AM
the word 'problem' is the same, but the problems are not hor.
ask them bring wire bypass internal house wiring to the d.p. first.
abit of rewiring is not ok, mus be full rewiring.
Agree!
Last time I had similar issue with phone and cable,
finally rewired internally everything myself. Now cable & mio all working fine.
miobb, miovoice and miotv - no freeze or dc
cable - every room had correct minimum signal level.
cloudbp
26-11-2009, 04:12 PM
request to change to a new modem
and must be Made in Malaysia
rawrrawr
01-12-2009, 05:42 PM
fileden.com/files/2007/4/20/1000527/asdf.JPG
this is the prob.
uncancelled echo.
dc when using phones
random reboot of internet connection
today another technician just came down.
still as useless.
liangtam
01-12-2009, 09:05 PM
fileden.com/files/2007/4/20/1000527/asdf.JPG
this is the prob.
uncancelled echo.
dc when using phones
random reboot of internet connection
today another technician just came down.
still as useless.
gotch HS but noes maple :s11:
rawrrawr
01-12-2009, 10:53 PM
lawl. u see the last row connection time. (rate: 8415)
and the time at btm right.
so i dced. from maple. lol
so how. darn this internet. i called then they say the manyzer will call back regarding this problem.
no calls from the manyzer yet.
sucks.
liangtam
01-12-2009, 11:21 PM
lawl. u see the last row connection time. (rate: 8415)
and the time at btm right.
so i dced. from maple. lol
so how. darn this internet. i called then they say the manyzer will call back regarding this problem.
no calls from the manyzer yet.
sucks.
whose crone r chiu? :s11: :s11:
and errm, gimme chiur IGN first.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.