PDA

View Full Version : Some questions on Singnet BB

ahkiat07
23-07-2009, 03:55 PM
Hi All,

1) Does Singnet have any normal broadband subscription besides the MIO that they are trying hard to sell?

2)I know some of my friends are still on the old Singnet BB plan... I have no idea what's the difference between Mio and non-Mio plans.. technology? or juz a branding?

3) For Mio Plan (home phoneline + internet + mobile), do you have to connect your home phoneline to the modem? ie. modem has to be switched on 24hours for your home phoneline to be in service.

aaur4man
23-07-2009, 04:06 PM
1) Of course they have just the BB plans on sale.
2) mio is just 3-in-1
3) mio home no need, mio voice for unlimited calls need.

ahkiat07
23-07-2009, 04:08 PM
Hmm...

If mio is just 3-in-1 (ie Branding), that means you can just use any modem of your own to connect?

Then I wonder why after switching to Mio, some of my friends complain about all the problems they been facing...

dexterr
23-07-2009, 07:05 PM
mio sucks badly leh. not suitable for gaming. sometimes house phone just got cut for no reason. but internet working. many many problem.

liangtam
23-07-2009, 07:31 PM
Its just a branding lah.
And besides, if its not suitable for gaming, even if u sign standalone SNBB plan oso the same.

ahkiat07
23-07-2009, 07:54 PM
well it might be true that it is just branding, but it doesn't explain why switching to mio plan causes them to have problems they never encounter before...

BabyTurkey
23-07-2009, 08:25 PM
Mio plan is just a branding, as mentioned.

The difference is that the 2wire device singnet gives you works as a modem, wireless router as well as providing VOIP service (aka mio voice). Its because of the latter that you have to use the 2wire as your router. That's where ppl are experiencing problems with. The 2wire device.

You can still use your own preferred ADSL modem or router, but you will have to give up your mio voice.

Alternatively you can sign up for MIO plan but request for DEL service (aka standard home fixed line). Then you are not tied to the 2wire device. Downside is no free outgoing calls.

Personally I've not experienced any problems with my 2wire.

ahkiat07
23-07-2009, 09:16 PM
Hi BabyTurkey,

Thanks for your clarification. I don't need the VoIP (free outgoing calls) and I guess there is still luck factor on ISP... be it you go Red. Green or Orange...

aaur4man
23-07-2009, 10:59 PM
if ur ok in technical knowledge (dont have to be darn good, just ok) , can sign up for singnet riaos.

m1 is speed okay but need to login everytime u switch on ur pc.

liangtam
24-07-2009, 09:51 AM
You don't need technical knowledge, you just need an extra ~$50
That is, for phone rewiring IN your house.

ahkiat07
24-07-2009, 10:03 AM
Thanks guys...

I don't think I will pay them any money to fix wires or install..

I have a telephone line in the living room for my parents.. (fixed line + microfilter)
I can just use adsl modem/router in my room (another telephone line)..

Mio is cheaper since telephone, mobile and internet all under my name.. and I don't intend to use the 2wire thingy and leaving it on 24/7 for outgoing calls anyway..

On the other hand, I might give m1 a 6-mth trial too.. Will decide soon, thanks :)

aaur4man
24-07-2009, 10:27 AM
$50 so cheap mehs?

i paid alot leh.

now think back can rewire myself le.

DDanieLL
24-07-2009, 05:58 PM
$50 so cheap mehs?

i paid alot leh.

is alway like tat one... when u had paid then u know wat to do whicch is so easy... haiz... sad tat i alway kena kedo one oso...

aaur4man
24-07-2009, 06:38 PM
acherli i donch noe how to terminate from the singtel side outside my house door.

though i doubt is much effort. didnt manage to see the contractor work throughout cos got other singtel guy installing mio tv in my living room.

liangtam
24-07-2009, 07:19 PM
$50 so cheap mehs?

i paid alot leh.

$53.50
And i thot most ppl would say it is expensive and not rewire when there are issues with their existing ones.

aaur4man
24-07-2009, 07:37 PM
i did mine more than $100 lor. think tio tok.

but cant find the receipt, npnt.

only got the starhub cable tv point receipt $140. pui chao nua.