PDA

View Full Version : Recommend a router to me.:D

zhehao
24-07-2009, 07:32 PM
Hey all bros,

Gonna change my Zyxel router to something better cause i think my Zyxel sometimes will just restart then my conncetion gone..

I am aiming the D-Link DIR-655.
What you guys think?

I have to link at most:
2 Desktop and 2 Laptops at one time.
All are using wireless.
I also got a printer that i need to link using cable.

Which router you guys recommend?I also need a wireless adapter.

Thanks!

aaur4man
24-07-2009, 07:44 PM
go ahead .

zhehao
24-07-2009, 07:50 PM
Do you think there will be a difference in terms of delay when gaming?
Like lower pings?

This is still draft n right?
Do you think now worth to get draft n or wait till n come out?

Farish
25-07-2009, 01:38 PM
Do you think there will be a difference in terms of delay when gaming?
Like lower pings?

This is still draft n right?
Do you think now worth to get draft n or wait till n come out?

Draft N will be finalized on Sep/Oct this year. DIR-655 is a very solid Router with fantastic QOS whcih will help with your gaming once U have set it up correctly.

zhehao
25-07-2009, 01:53 PM
Thanks farish.

So its good to get the DIR-655 right now?
No need wait for the final N?

Will there be a lot of difference?

Thanks!

Farish
25-07-2009, 01:59 PM
Thanks farish.

So its good to get the DIR-655 right now?
No need wait for the final N?

Will there be a lot of difference?

Thanks!

There is a lifetime warranty for the DIR655 if I'm not mistaken and it SHOULD be upgradable to the final N spec with just a firmware update.

richneo
25-07-2009, 02:47 PM
In case you all worry about final N when it ratifies this september, go ahead and buy dir-655 with ease. It can be classified as final N router according to smallnetbuilder.

zhehao
26-07-2009, 11:27 AM
Thanks for the reply people.

Erm how about the DIR-615?

richneo
26-07-2009, 01:36 PM
same.......

zhehao
26-07-2009, 05:10 PM
@richneo

Hey thanks for reply.
In terms of performance is there like a lot of difference?
Might be using it to host game servers.:X

MarineX
26-07-2009, 09:28 PM
@richneo

Hey thanks for reply.
In terms of performance is there like a lot of difference?
Might be using it to host game servers.:X

i think for the above it rely more on your ISP.

zhehao
27-07-2009, 08:36 PM
My current ISP is Singnet.
8mbps.

Donno if i get the DIR-655 or the DIR-615/635 will have a lot difference anot.:X

Erm i got another question.
I am using a Wireless G adaptor for my desktop right now.
Say if i change my router to Wireless N but i using Wireless G, will the signal get better considering D-link has 3 attena DIR-655.

aaur4man
27-07-2009, 09:03 PM
i think G and N broadcast maybe different.

not the pro, but from the settings i see, they are not classified together.

so u maybe just getting G coverage if ur using G adapter.

zhehao
28-07-2009, 02:53 PM
Hmmm.
What about the linksys N router WRT310N?

aaur4man
28-07-2009, 06:58 PM
if ur not changing ur G receivers to N , maybe just get a stronger G coverage modem router.

generally ppl pair same brand of router to adapter. else D-link adapter is quite good.

zhehao
28-07-2009, 08:14 PM
Oh dear,

I made a big mistake..
I dint know DIR-655 is a router only.I thought it has modem inside.

So now i a stucked.
Someone is selling me a DWA-140 at 60.So i thinking of getting it.

But as for the router/modem, can any one advice me.:X

Currently i have a MioBox 2701HGV-E and a ZyXEL P600 series.
The Zyxel sometimes will suddenly restart.The 2wire is good so far but startup slow.
Can anyone advice.:X

28-07-2009, 09:39 PM
Oh dear,

I made a big mistake..
I dint know DIR-655 is a router only.I thought it has modem inside.

So now i a stucked.
Someone is selling me a DWA-140 at 60.So i thinking of getting it.

But as for the router/modem, can any one advice me.:X

Currently i have a MioBox 2701HGV-E and a ZyXEL P600 series.
The Zyxel sometimes will suddenly restart.The 2wire is good so far but startup slow.
Can anyone advice.:X

You can use the 2701 as the modem. Router with no built-in modem is better than those with built in modem. DIR-655 is a great router and its performance is far better those all-in-one box.

Just put your 2701 setting as per normal. Connect your DIR-655 to the LAN port of the 2701. Set it as PPOE with singnet user name and password. The start-up is slow, but the performance will be great. I use the same setup.

zhehao
28-07-2009, 10:35 PM
Hey avatarlam

Really appreciate your response.

So that means i go to 2wire's configuration page then set:
1)PPOE

Thats all?I need to disable the wireless all this too isnt it?
So sorry i have no idea about wireless networking.PPOE i also donno.So sorry

MarineX
28-07-2009, 10:40 PM
Hey avatarlam

Really appreciate your response.

So that means i go to 2wire's configuration page then set:
1)PPOE

Thats all?I need to disable the wireless all this too isnt it?
So sorry i have no idea about wireless networking.PPOE i also donno.So sorry

negative. u have to set ur 2701 to bridge mode. not set to pppoe. and let ur router dial ur uid and pw to e modem instead.

zhehao
28-07-2009, 10:44 PM
Thanks for the reply MarineX.
Darn sharks.
Anyone got any tuitorial on how to bridge the 2wire with the dir655?
When i search hwz for guides and tuitorials, the one i searched until got no photo cause all expire liao.

Or anyone can teach me step by step?
So sorry.

liangtam
28-07-2009, 11:27 PM
Its on 2Wire support page lah...

zhehao
29-07-2009, 06:22 PM
@liangtam

The support page dont seem to have it.
Or is it just follow this one:
http://akhilles.ifastnet.com/2700ghb/index.html

Then the router how to setup?

MarineX
29-07-2009, 06:51 PM
@liangtam

The support page dont seem to have it.
Or is it just follow this one:
http://akhilles.ifastnet.com/2700ghb/index.html

Then the router how to setup?

ya, e bridging mode just follow the URl..

whereas the router simply...

router's gateway > setup > internet > manual internet wizard > my internet connection is: PPPoE > enter the credentials required.

zhehao
29-07-2009, 07:22 PM
ya, e bridging mode just follow the URl..

whereas the router simply...

router's gateway > setup > internet > manual internet wizard > my internet connection is: PPPoE > enter the credentials required.

Alright thanks so much.
Do you think its worth to buy DIR-655 right now at 170 BNIB from another user or wait till the next PC Show?

D-link warranty no need receipt right?

tHANKS.

zhehao
29-07-2009, 08:09 PM
Edit:
Erm if i get the DWA-556(PCI-E) instead of the DWA-140(USB),
will there be like difference?

If its the PCI-E,the 3 antena wil face the wall under a table.So i donno if will affect performance.

MarineX
29-07-2009, 08:20 PM
Alright thanks so much.
Do you think its worth to buy DIR-655 right now at 170 BNIB from another user or wait till the next PC Show?

D-link warranty no need receipt right?

tHANKS.

well, yes Dlink @ Jurong doesnt required any form of proof of purchase for a 1-2-1 exchange.

wah, 170! i sold mine for 150 (BNIB as well).. kinda stupid thou. hahas.

Edit:
Erm if i get the DWA-556(PCI-E) instead of the DWA-140(USB),
will there be like difference?

If its the PCI-E,the 3 antena wil face the wall under a table.So i donno if will affect performance.

it depends. Likely it will hinder the performance. My experience with DWA-140 ain't very smooth either. It keeps disconnecting during game play even when i've changed it a couple of times and use drivers that doesn't came from dlink site. - didnt really help at all.

Best part is.. my dwa-140 location is just directly beside my router - and the same issue happened over and over again. thus i replaced it with a new one and sold it to someone else.

if you were to ask me (based on my own experience only - others might vary), for normal surfing, streaming and downloading is fine except for gaming and i have no idea why.. the dwa-140 works just fine.

zhehao
29-07-2009, 08:29 PM
Thanks for the reply marineX.
Very fruitful.

Wah BNIB 150.I want sia!
Ok then i shall not take his 170 and wait for 150 to come.Hahaha.

Hmm DWA-140 having problems.
Hmm you got other adaptor you can intro?

MarineX
29-07-2009, 08:37 PM
Thanks for the reply marineX.
Very fruitful.

Wah BNIB 150.I want sia!
Ok then i shall not take his 170 and wait for 150 to come.Hahaha.

Hmm DWA-140 having problems.
Hmm you got other adaptor you can intro?

i have not tried other adapters -period, xcept for intel wireless N 4965, 5100 and 5300 card which works perfectly on my other 3 notebooks.

zhehao
29-07-2009, 08:56 PM
Ok then.
I email d-link they still tell me DWA-140 and the DWA-556/547 not compatible with windows 7.
So decided not to buy first.

Like that i guess i just concentrate on buying the DIR-655 then set up 2WIRE MIOBOX.

But currently every computer at home is using G wireless except for one laptop using N wireless.
Those using the G wireless adaptor shld be able to see a better connection signal even though its not N?Due to the 3 atena?:X

MarineX
29-07-2009, 09:07 PM
Ok then.
I email d-link they still tell me DWA-140 and the DWA-556/547 not compatible with windows 7.
So decided not to buy first.

Like that i guess i just concentrate on buying the DIR-655 then set up 2WIRE MIOBOX.

But currently every computer at home is using G wireless except for one laptop using N wireless.
Those using the G wireless adaptor shld be able to see a better connection signal even though its not N?Due to the 3 atena?:X

that's for sure.

zhehao
29-07-2009, 10:02 PM
Ok sounds great.Hopefully i dont get random disconnection anymore.

Thanks so much marineX.
Waiting for someone to sell BNIB DIR-655 for 150dollars then i hoot.
If dont have maybe i wait PC Show come.But the again its O level liao.sian

30-07-2009, 12:40 AM
negative. u have to set ur 2701 to bridge mode. not set to pppoe. and let ur router dial ur uid and pw to e modem instead.

not really negative... No need to set 2wire into Bridge Mode.

As I mention.

1. 2701 in default mode - still in PPOE if you wanted to. in fact this is great setting.
2, DIR-655 in PPOE mode - user name, password from your singtel.

2701 --LAN Port --> DIR 655.

This is good setting and proven to work perfectly with this setting still support MIO TV that is connect to the 2701 LAN port and also VOIP thru the Analog phone line connectivity in 2701.

MarineX
30-07-2009, 01:04 AM
not really negative... No need to set 2wire into Bridge Mode.

As I mention.

1. 2701 in default mode - still in PPOE if you wanted to. in fact this is great setting.
2, DIR-655 in PPOE mode - user name, password from your singtel.

2701 --LAN Port --> DIR 655.

This is good setting and proven to work perfectly with this setting still support MIO TV that is connect to the 2701 LAN port and also VOIP thru the Analog phone line connectivity in 2701.

not recommended. I would say. Provided you have MIO TV else.. using ur method above makes portforwarding a headache..

By using your first approach - u don't set both to PPPOE. it will never work - with your method u make it more like a switch router.

Besides, TS did not state that he did sub to MIO TV or VOIP - i would not take ur approach if i were him as for that you are as good as not using DIR-655.

30-07-2009, 01:14 AM
not recommended. I would say. Provided you have MIO TV else.. using ur method above makes portforwarding a headache..

By using your first approach - u don't set both to PPPOE. it will never work - with your method u make it more like a switch router.

Well .. as I mention. It works perfectly in my house right now. for 2701 at least. I cannot say it work for 2700.

Plus ... port forwarding still remain the same as DIR-655 treat 2701 like a modem.

So... dont say it never work. It work .. if you need prove, I could do screen capture for your viewing pleasure. This is what I have discover and trying to share my knowledge to fellow zoner.

I could even remote access (either VPN or VNC over SSL) back to my home file server via the Dlink-655 router. With only port forwarding set in Dlink-655 and still default setting at 2701.

For MIO TV. whether you use my method, bridge or DMZ method will still work as long it is connected to 2701 LAN port

For VOIP (via analog port of 2701), bridge mode will not work. DMZ or my method will work.

Hope this explain.

Sorry if I sound arrogant or in any other way offend anyone.

Thank you.

MarineX
30-07-2009, 01:17 AM
Well .. as I mention. It works perfectly in my house right now. for 2701 at least. I cannot say it work for 2700.

Plus ... port forwarding still remain the same as DIR-655 treat 2701 like a modem.

So... dont say it never work. It work .. if you need prove, I could do screen capture for your viewing pleasure. This is what I have discover and trying to share my knowledge to fellow zoner.

I could even remote access (either VPN or VNC over SSL) back to my home file server via the Dlink-655 router. With only port forwarding set in Dlink-655 and still default setting at 2701.

For MIO TV. whether you use my method, bridge or DMZ method will still work as long it is connected to 2701 LAN port

For VOIP (via analog port of 2701), bridge mode will not work. DMZ or my method will work when u login to both ?

Hope this explain.

Sorry if I sound arrogant or in any other way offend anyone.

Thank you.

care to explain this: u set PPPOE login on both router and modem and it works?

as i have mentioned, ur method is more like using it as a switch rather then a modem and router. And i merely say it WILL NOT work if you login on 2701 and then login again at DIR-655 - if you are doing this method is as good as telling others that you have performed additional steps that is actually not necessary.

fyi, I don't even need your screenshots to prove anything.

30-07-2009, 01:33 AM
care to explain this: u set PPPOE login on both router and modem and it works?

as i have mentioned, ur method is more like using it as a switch rather then a modem and router. And i merely say it WILL NOT work if you login on 2701 and then login again at DIR-655 - if you are doing this method is as good as telling others that you have performed additional steps that is not necessary.

Yes ...

1. 2701 still in PPOE mode
2. DIR-655 also in PPOE Mode with same setting as 2701.
3. DIR-655 connect to 2701 LAN port (Port 2 in my house for the instance as MIO TV connected via Port 1)

not really additional steps.... as far as my limited networking knowledge.

1. 2701 in PPOE Mode and login to Singtel so that VOIP services in 2701 can work. If not, without any IP, the VOIP services cannot log into Singtel VOIP Server.

2. DIR-655 (I believe other router will behave the same) thread 2701 like a ADSL Modem. It does PPOE connect thru 2701 LAN port.

How I come to this conclusion is I read somewhere, that MIO TV uses different VP number. Thus, as long as it connect to LAN port of 2701, whether it is in bridge mode or not, the MIO TV Box still can log with MIO for the services.

Plus there someone mention (Sorry I cannot remember where) that 2701 is an multi-connection modem (i.e. can connect different VP number at the same time). So ... from Bridge mode setting, I tried my luck changing to the current setting. It work like a charm for me.

And now .. I can still use VOIP services, MIO TV and my trusted DIR-655 for internet access.

Hope this explain a little clearer.

MarineX
30-07-2009, 02:28 AM
Yes ...

1. 2701 still in PPOE mode
2. DIR-655 also in PPOE Mode with same setting as 2701.
3. DIR-655 connect to 2701 LAN port (Port 2 in my house for the instance as MIO TV connected via Port 1)

not really additional steps.... as far as my limited networking knowledge.

1. 2701 in PPOE Mode and login to Singtel so that VOIP services in 2701 can work. If not, without any IP, the VOIP services cannot log into Singtel VOIP Server.

2. DIR-655 (I believe other router will behave the same) thread 2701 like a ADSL Modem. It does PPOE connect thru 2701 LAN port.

How I come to this conclusion is I read somewhere, that MIO TV uses different VP number. Thus, as long as it connect to LAN port of 2701, whether it is in bridge mode or not, the MIO TV Box still can log with MIO for the services.

Plus there someone mention (Sorry I cannot remember where) that 2701 is an multi-connection modem (i.e. can connect different VP number at the same time). So ... from Bridge mode setting, I tried my luck changing to the current setting. It work like a charm for me.

And now .. I can still use VOIP services, MIO TV and my trusted DIR-655 for internet access.

Hope this explain a little clearer.

Fyi, is PPPoE not PPOE. as far as im concerned which i have mentioned above, TS did not mention that he is using any kind of VoIP/MioTV services. Why cant u accept that?

Why not you simply try to do it w/o ur DIR-655 set as PPPoE - it will still works e same way like what you have mentioned above. Seriously, get ur facts right and stop explaining in a way that is not at all clear.

30-07-2009, 08:47 AM
Fyi, is PPPoE not PPOE. as far as im concerned which i have mentioned above, TS did not mention that he is using any kind of VoIP/MioTV services. Why cant u accept that?

Why not you simply try to do it w/o ur DIR-655 set as PPPoE - it will still works e same way like what you have mentioned above. Seriously, get ur facts right and stop explaining in a way that is not at all clear.

I never insist that TS should use my method and just suggest that this is just another methodology with benefit of using VOIP if one is on MIO.

Please get this correct. I am getting my fact right and it is your insistence that my method does not work which in the FACT it works. So... instead of shooting me that my method does work. please just acknowledge it is just another possible way. So .... dont put words in my mouth stating that I am insisting TS to use my method.

Stop explaining in a way that is not clear? So.. I now understand you are just picking my Typo. PPPoE versus PPOE .. Sorry if I have not type correct.

And FOR YOUR INFORMATION AGAIN ... I have tried and use 3 ways (DMZ, Bridge Mode and current mode I am using) ... and just found that the way I use suit me.

So instead of telling me I should do it w/o my DIR-655 set as PPPoE which I ALREADY KNOW it work the same way as what I mention. But the only issue with Bridge is that VOIP will NOT WORK. So .... you need to get your fact correct also .. Thank you.

BTW .. if you not happy with my message. Stop reply to this. Thank you.

MarineX
30-07-2009, 10:25 AM
I never insist that TS should use my method and just suggest that this is just another methodology with benefit of using VOIP if one is on MIO.

Please get this correct. I am getting my fact right and it is your insistence that my method does not work which in the FACT it works. So... instead of shooting me that my method does work. please just acknowledge it is just another possible way. So .... dont put words in my mouth stating that I am insisting TS to use my method.

Stop explaining in a way that is not clear? So.. I now understand you are just picking my Typo. PPPoE versus PPOE .. Sorry if I have not type correct.

And FOR YOUR INFORMATION AGAIN ... I have tried and use 3 ways (DMZ, Bridge Mode and current mode I am using) ... and just found that the way I use suit me.

So instead of telling me I should do it w/o my DIR-655 set as PPPoE which I ALREADY KNOW it work the same way as what I mention. But the only issue with Bridge is that VOIP will NOT WORK. So .... you need to get your fact correct also .. Thank you.

BTW .. if you not happy with my message. Stop reply to this. Thank you.

i am very happy with your message thus i will reply.. you still don't get it.

you might to read up on this: here (http://forums.linksys.com/linksys/board/message?board.id=Wireless_Routers&message.id=26177) on the hiccups faced when people used your method. Especially Portforwarding.

i did not say your method doesnt work. The only thing i say it doesn't work is double login from both devices. Setting it to PPPoE is fine but connecting it is of another story.

let me ask you then - can i consider your connection to be a double login procedure? since you are doing connections on both your 2701 and DIR-655.

next, if you are thinking that i am picking on your typo - it only shows that you are trying to belittle me. I am just trying to get e facts right. which is above.

and next, i've mentioned umpteen amount of times: 1. ts did not mentioned VoIP services for his needs. 2. everyone knows that bridge mode VoIP will not work with the 2WIRE modem any longer. What i want and curious to know is that how you perform a double Singtel LOGIN with 2 x different UserID@singnet or simply 1?

and for your sentence "So instead of telling me I should do it w/o my DIR-655 set as PPPoE which I ALREADY KNOW it work the same way as what I mention." - my facts is extremely right as you did NOT mention it above. Your steps did NOT state that, are you aware ? - LOL - or should i re-quote your steps again so you are able to see it?
Pardon me if i have see it wrongly... your steps states 2xPPPoE login one at each device.

now did i make myself clear enough what i am curious about?

and apparently it seems that you are the one that is not happy with me, not the other way round. - i'm NOT trying to pick a fight here, you are.

so.. should i return the favour by saying this: "BTW .. if you not happy with my message. Stop reply-ING to this. Thank you. "

30-07-2009, 10:41 AM
i am very happy with your message thus i will reply.. you still don't get it.

you might to read up on this: here (http://forums.linksys.com/linksys/board/message?board.id=Wireless_Routers&message.id=26177) on the hiccups faced when people used your method. Especially Portforwarding.

i did not say your method doesnt work. The only thing i say it doesn't work is double login from both devices. Setting it to PPPoE is fine but connecting it is of another story.

let me ask you then - can i consider your connection to be a double login procedure? since you are doing connections on both your 2701 and DIR-655.

next, if you are thinking that i am picking on your typo - it only shows that you are trying to belittle me. I am just trying to get e facts right. which is above.

and next, i've mentioned umpteen amount of times: 1. ts did not mentioned VoIP services for his needs. 2. everyone knows that bridge mode VoIP will not work with the 2WIRE modem any longer. What i want and curious to know is that how you perform a double Singtel LOGIN with 2 x different UserID@singnet or simply 1?

and for your sentence "So instead of telling me I should do it w/o my DIR-655 set as PPPoE which I ALREADY KNOW it work the same way as what I mention." - my facts is extremely right as you did NOT mention it above. Your steps did NOT state that, are you aware ? - LOL - or should i re-quote your steps again so you are able to see it?
Pardon me if i have see it wrongly... your steps states 2xPPPoE login one at each device.

now did i make myself clear enough what i am curious about?

and apparently it seems that you are the one that is not happy with me, not the other way round. - i'm NOT trying to pick a fight here, you are.

so.. should i return the favour by saying this: "BTW .. if you not happy with my message. Stop reply-ING to this. Thank you. "

agree that TS is not using VOIP/Mio. As mention for Mio TV, it does matter if it is bridge or my method or DMZ as long as it is connected to the LAN port of 2701.

Ok .. Maybe I mis-undestood your sentence with my limited english communication skill. My sincere apology.

My setting. Double Login using the same account - Same VP number, same username and password.

No Port forwarding issue like the link you have sent to me. As mention, 2701 seems be able to accept transport login of PPPoE traffic from its LAN Port (Not WAN Port)

I only do my port forwarding, firewall setting at DIR-655. No need to do anything at 2701.

Unless you want to have seperate network at 2701. Then, port forwarding at 2701 to its local LAN Port.

Summary of my setting... if there is any more missing .. please highlight to me. I just wanna to share. Thats all ...

1. RJ 11 -----> Phone port of 2701
2. LAN Port of 2701 ----> WAN Port of DIR-655 (or any other router)
3. LAN Port of 2701 ----> Mio TV (if one have it)
4. RJ 11 Port of 2701 (thru splitter of 2701 LINE1/LINE 2) ----> Any Analog Line

2701 Configuration
1. WAN - PPPoE
2. Firewall still enable (DMZ is off as I do not use this feature)
3. Wireless Disable for Me (For other, can still enabled)
4. VOIP Setting (Default setting with the Installer if you have VOIP services or you wanted to use this)

DIR-655
1. WAN Setting (PPPoE)
same user name and password and Same VP as 2701
2. DHCP for local area network
3. Port forwarding/Virtual Server and etc setting all done at PPPoE
- bittorrent if you have
- remote services
- ftp server and etc
4. I disable DDNS for DIR-655 as it timeout too easily. So I use host based DDNS client for update.
5. DNS setting from Singtel.

Any missing... I will try to find out. Thank you.

MarinerX .. my sincere apology if I misunderstood you. Lets hand-shake and move on.

Thank you again.

liangtam
30-07-2009, 11:59 AM
MarineX ah, some config changed at SingTel side, thats why he can do the above.
If the above info helps, ^^

MarineX
30-07-2009, 02:45 PM
MarineX ah, some config changed at SingTel side, thats why he can do the above.
If the above info helps, ^^

i din noe u r a DM as well. hahas.

Pardon me but - what kind of changes? Singtel allows multiple login now?

liangtam
30-07-2009, 02:47 PM
DM is what? :s11:
Err, well, for some reason, yes. Figured it out with someone else in hwz.

MarineX
30-07-2009, 02:47 PM
agree that TS is not using VOIP/Mio. As mention for Mio TV, it does matter if it is bridge or my method or DMZ as long as it is connected to the LAN port of 2701.

Ok .. Maybe I mis-undestood your sentence with my limited english communication skill. My sincere apology.

My setting. Double Login using the same account - Same VP number, same username and password.

No Port forwarding issue like the link you have sent to me. As mention, 2701 seems be able to accept transport login of PPPoE traffic from its LAN Port (Not WAN Port)

I only do my port forwarding, firewall setting at DIR-655. No need to do anything at 2701.

Unless you want to have seperate network at 2701. Then, port forwarding at 2701 to its local LAN Port.

Summary of my setting... if there is any more missing .. please highlight to me. I just wanna to share. Thats all ...

1. RJ 11 -----> Phone port of 2701
2. LAN Port of 2701 ----> WAN Port of DIR-655 (or any other router)
3. LAN Port of 2701 ----> Mio TV (if one have it)
4. RJ 11 Port of 2701 (thru splitter of 2701 LINE1/LINE 2) ----> Any Analog Line

2701 Configuration
1. WAN - PPPoE
2. Firewall still enable (DMZ is off as I do not use this feature)
3. Wireless Disable for Me (For other, can still enabled)
4. VOIP Setting (Default setting with the Installer if you have VOIP services or you wanted to use this)

DIR-655
1. WAN Setting (PPPoE)
same user name and password and Same VP as 2701
2. DHCP for local area network
3. Port forwarding/Virtual Server and etc setting all done at PPPoE
- bittorrent if you have
- remote services
- ftp server and etc
4. I disable DDNS for DIR-655 as it timeout too easily. So I use host based DDNS client for update.
5. DNS setting from Singtel.

Any missing... I will try to find out. Thank you.

MarinerX .. my sincere apology if I misunderstood you. Lets hand-shake and move on.

Thank you again.

finally i get what i wanted to find out. So just to check with you, erm DIR-655 at internet connection states as "Connecting" or "Connected"?

MarineX
30-07-2009, 02:49 PM
DM is what? :s11:
Err, well, for some reason, yes. Figured it out with someone else in hwz.

Deluxe Member.. hahas.

oooo.. i will have to test it out now. :)

liangtam
30-07-2009, 02:56 PM
oh, durex ah.
of cos ish habe durex rah, else how to pcw~ :s34:

Eben the top 3 oso habe
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/member.php?u=22869
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/member.php?u=33366
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/member.php?u=74872

MarineX
30-07-2009, 03:10 PM
oh, durex ah.
of cos ish habe durex rah, else how to pcw~ :s34:

Eben the top 3 oso habe
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/member.php?u=22869
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/member.php?u=33366
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/member.php?u=74872

hahas. u wan break their record ar ?

zhehao
30-07-2009, 03:37 PM
Hey all,

I am not using MioTv and stuff.Jsut pure Singnet BB.
Wow?Singtel now allows more than connection being madeusing the same user?
Wow like that i am going try it liao.wow..

Maybe getting router this sunday.
Will tehre be a lot difference or difference between DIR-615 DIR-635 and the DIR-655?

30-07-2009, 04:23 PM
finally i get what i wanted to find out. So just to check with you, erm DIR-655 at internet connection states as "Connecting" or "Connected"?

This I don know ... I will check again and get back to you. :)

Hope this clear the misunderstanding.

BTW .. I am new to Singnet as I am MOL user for many years. So ..anyway ..I only discovered this multi-login after troubleshooting my VOIP for many hours.

Now a happy user with MIO Singnet combo. Better download and uploading performance versus MOL (Singnet is 10Mbps versus Old MOL 8Mbps plan)

30-07-2009, 04:26 PM
Hey all,

I am not using MioTv and stuff.Jsut pure Singnet BB.
Wow?Singtel now allows more than connection being madeusing the same user?
Wow like that i am going try it liao.wow..

Maybe getting router this sunday.
Will tehre be a lot difference or difference between DIR-615 DIR-635 and the DIR-655?

think only a bit difference if compare specs sheet.

655 is better with Gigabit and faster Chip for QoS, routing speed and etc.

But if one is not heavy user (Non-Heavy Download, video streaming, copy large files between hosts and etc) 615 or 635 should be good enough.

Think how much budget you have play a key role also I think. :)

zhehao
30-07-2009, 05:17 PM
Thanks for the reply.
I think maybe i considered heavy downloader?
My sister always watch videos online.

I occansionally Bittorrent.:D

30-07-2009, 05:24 PM
Thanks for the reply.
I think maybe i considered heavy downloader?
My sister always watch videos online.

I occansionally Bittorrent.:D

If you have the $$$ ... I will recommends 655.

MarineX
01-08-2009, 11:57 AM
liangtam: check with you, the multiple log-in is only achievable with a modem and router scenario or modem to modem scenario or both ?

zhehao
01-08-2009, 01:24 PM
Multiple log-in doesnt seem to work for me.

I have my 2wire on-ed.
Then i went to on my zyxel modem+router.Then both cannot use.

MarineX
01-08-2009, 01:46 PM

I have my 2wire on-ed.

coz as far as im concerned, if your 2WIRE is on and connected, you use another modem to connect to it - the later will fail to be connected.

But now, i need some experts to enlighten me.

xKazeolus
01-08-2009, 02:27 PM
ermm.. where to find DIR-635 ah? i look everywhere like dun have, all are DIR-655. lolz

01-08-2009, 03:43 PM
coz as far as im concerned, if your 2WIRE is on and connected, you use another modem to connect to it - the later will fail to be connected.

But now, i need some experts to enlighten me.

Hi ... see image for the status of my connection.

Not too sure if modem related. Maybe only works for 2701 work plus in I am also in Mio plan??

Note that both Dlink and 2701 having two different WAN IP Address from Singtel MIO.

My Dlink DIR-655 (Same user login and password) connected behind 2701 LAN port
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/Picture2.jpg

My 2Wire 2701 Setting (Default.. didnt change much, same user login and password)
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/Picture3.jpg
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/Picture5.jpg

Because of this methodology.. My MIO Voice works...
If not the status will be disable or non-functional.
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/Picture6.jpg

02-08-2009, 03:35 AM
Just to add ... this is how my home network layout look like.,
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/HND.jpg

MarineX
02-08-2009, 01:48 PM
Just to add ... this is how my home network layout look like.,
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/HND.jpg

nice visio.

Anyway - ask you this. if u use a PC to plug into your MIO box, will it work (for internet access)?

im so gonna try this at my coy on Monday :)

overQ
02-08-2009, 05:53 PM
I'm thinking of getting the 655 & do the same setup with my hgv2700 as i got mio voice as well.

Currently on 8mb mio plan but whenever 1 of my 3 computer starts going to pplive, the other 2 cant surf any websites without refreshing & refreshing..

Since there's nothing much i can configure on the hgv2700 to control this, can i check with u all whether the 655 can be configured to limit the bandwidth by ip or application (pplive in this case)?
Can it limit the upload limit as well (since i notice the sent packets from the pplive com to be very high as well)?

Or is there actually a cheaper router which can be configured just as well since i don't really have any systems running on N adaptors yet?

TIA :)

02-08-2009, 09:49 PM
nice visio.

Anyway - ask you this. if u use a PC to plug into your MIO box, will it work (for internet access)?

im so gonna try this at my coy on Monday :)

hi ... this configuration can have two separate network.

i.e. Port 3 and Port 4 (Under the Normal Mode - left side of my diagram) can still connect any PC or Notebook for internet access via 2701 own PPPoE Connection.

The only issue is ... PC/Host connected via 2701 LAN port using 2701 PPPoE Connection cannot access devices (i.e. PC/Host) connected to the LAN port of Dlink DIR-655. This is due to both having own WAN Address and there is no path for 2701 to link them up. Unless one expose the device (host/server or etc
) to the internet via DDNS services.

like my file server, I could access it remotely via VNC over SSL or VPN or https depending on the type of service I use.

hope this helps.

PS : I need to highlight that it works on 2701 model of 2Wire. But I am not sure about 2700.

02-08-2009, 09:54 PM
I'm thinking of getting the 655 & do the same setup with my hgv2700 as i got mio voice as well.

Currently on 8mb mio plan but whenever 1 of my 3 computer starts going to pplive, the other 2 cant surf any websites without refreshing & refreshing..

Since there's nothing much i can configure on the hgv2700 to control this, can i check with u all whether the 655 can be configured to limit the bandwidth by ip or application (pplive in this case)?
Can it limit the upload limit as well (since i notice the sent packets from the pplive com to be very high as well)?

Or is there actually a cheaper router which can be configured just as well since i don't really have any systems running on N adaptors yet?

TIA :)

DIR-655 can do QoS .. and limited the bandwidth by IP and ports if I am not wrong. But not for 2701. So device behind 655 can have QoS services.

I suspect your pplive application consume too much upload that affect your other pc web surfing experience. you need to check pplive port number and use DIR-655 QoS engine to restrict its upload consumption.

I use to encounter this when I am doing downloading of torrent, the upload I didnt restrict that consume too much that other pc/notebook web surfing experience drops. Note that this is when I am still on MOL.

I hope this help.

MarineX
02-08-2009, 09:57 PM

i.e. Port 3 and Port 4 (Under the Normal Mode - left side of my diagram) can still connect any PC or Notebook for internet access via 2701 own PPPoE Connection.

The only issue is ... PC/Host connected via 2701 LAN port using 2701 PPPoE Connection cannot access devices (i.e. PC/Host) connected to the LAN port of Dlink DIR-655. This is due to both having own WAN Address and there is no path for 2701 to link them up. Unless one expose the device (host/server or etc

like my file server, I could access it remotely via VNC over SSL or VPN or https depending on the type of service I use.

hope this helps.

PS : I need to highlight that it works on 2701 model of 2Wire. But I am not sure about 2700.

i tink what you meant was LAN gateway address and not WAN Address. okiez, thanks i will try it on monday.

03-08-2009, 03:39 AM
I think you are right. Cause under Dlink ... it is WAN --> Ip address. Under 2Wire it is call internet address.

But typically... I call it the WAN IP address (WAN port ip issueed from ISP)

So long I think you know what I mean .. should be alrighty.

:)

MarineX
03-08-2009, 07:51 AM
I think you are right. Cause under Dlink ... it is WAN --> Ip address. Under 2Wire it is call internet address.

But typically... I call it the WAN IP address (WAN port ip issueed from ISP)

So long I think you know what I mean .. should be alrighty.

to communicate locally from a PC to another PC via network - its LAN not WAN. Yes, WAN IP is being issued from ISP.

To expose them globally to connect you need a public ip (Which is issued by ISP) but to connect them locally you do it via LAN IP (private IP)

Currently your settings is based on a different gateway address - thus resulting in a communication breakdown(unable to communicate to each other in - locally)

I think is not for me to get the correct meaning only. Its for others to see as well, thus providing the correct details would be more applicable than later others will say or it might lead to confusion.

liangtam
03-08-2009, 10:22 AM
liangtam: check with you, the multiple log-in is only achievable with a modem and router scenario or modem to modem scenario or both ?
:s11::s11:

I have my 2wire on-ed.
There are a few criteria to satisfy, that includes all basic ADSL behaviour, i.e. NO double modem on same line.

Note: I do NOT like this method.

03-08-2009, 01:22 PM
to communicate locally from a PC to another PC via network - its LAN not WAN. Yes, WAN IP is being issued from ISP.

To expose them globally to connect you need a public ip (Which is issued by ISP) but to connect them locally you do it via LAN IP (private IP)

Currently your settings is based on a different gateway address - thus resulting in a communication breakdown(unable to communicate to each other in - locally)

I think is not for me to get the correct meaning only. Its for others to see as well, thus providing the correct details would be more applicable than later others will say or it might lead to confusion.

that I know ... PC communicate from one PC to another via LAN. That networking basic ... :)

Anyway ... I do connect host at the 2701. Only a MIO TV Box. So .. no issue for me, I am happy with such setting. I have a flexibility of opening up the wireless of 2701 for public access if I want but choose to disable it.

Which ever method best suit for anyone.... Personally I choose my method as I cannot see the disadvantages of it or any advantages bridge mode give. Startup time the same. performance, similar. but as long as one of the method works for anyone and are happy with it. thats great!

MarineX
03-08-2009, 07:15 PM
that I know ... PC communicate from one PC to another via LAN. That networking basic ... :)

Anyway ... I do connect host at the 2701. Only a MIO TV Box. So .. no issue for me, I am happy with such setting. I have a flexibility of opening up the wireless of 2701 for public access if I want but choose to disable it.

Which ever method best suit for anyone.... Personally I choose my method as I cannot see the disadvantages of it or any advantages bridge mode give. Startup time the same. performance, similar. but as long as one of the method works for anyone and are happy with it. thats great!

i see.. i tried it today and am unable to perform the same exact as what you have done. More likely i believe yours is a multiple account log in... or rather i have got NO Mio Voice line to test it out.. thus have to wait till i perform such criteria before i could conclude any form of answer.

What i tested out was an DSL Line with 1 2701 and 1 DIR-855 scenario.

So right now, i cant say for certain what sort of account you are using.. perhaps you want to try to login your account at a friend's place to clear our doubts?

if its not too much of a hassle

Meaning.. your house connection have to be log on and running then performed the login again at another place.

if not.. i will have to think of a way to get hold of a MIO Voice Line to test it out based on your scenario.

hmm.. this is tricky.

Anyway thanks for all of the replies, do appreciate it.

03-08-2009, 08:04 PM
i see.. i tried it today and am unable to perform the same exact as what you have done. More likely i believe yours is a multiple account log in... or rather i have got NO Mio Voice line to test it out.. thus have to wait till i perform such criteria before i could conclude any form of answer.

What i tested out was an DSL Line with 1 2701 and 1 DIR-855 scenario.

So right now, i cant say for certain what sort of account you are using.. perhaps you want to try to login your account at a friend's place to clear our doubts?

if its not too much of a hassle

Meaning.. your house connection have to be log on and running then performed the login again at another place.

if not.. i will have to think of a way to get hold of a MIO Voice Line to test it out based on your scenario.

hmm.. this is tricky.

Anyway thanks for all of the replies, do appreciate it.

erm ... I only have one account. and both login at the same time.... For the multi-login. and perfoming login again at another place. I can try if I found friend who have it....... :)

MarineX
03-08-2009, 08:38 PM
Any one living near my area have got MIO Voice connection so that i can test it out? hahahas.