View Full Version : Very distraught with alarmingly low download speed on Maxonline Express at Pasir Ris.
FinalTidus
25-07-2009, 10:30 AM
Hi guys. I have just shifted my home from Bedok to Pasir Ris. After setting up all my network and getting on to the internet, I tested my speeds with the popular Speedtest.net.
I was rudely shocked at the lowest download speeds I have ever seen in history. This is the speed I got.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/524789094.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
WTF???? Is this even considered broadband??? Why is this so?? I have tried all means possible and even direct connection to the modem. Still like this. My modem is the voice modem SBV 5121 Motorola.
Please advise. I need the full download speeds as I constantly downloads large files and this is bothering me. :(:(
richneo
25-07-2009, 10:36 AM
do a direct conenction from modem to comptuer and rerun the test and show the speed test
ur ping is a lil high
FinalTidus
25-07-2009, 11:13 AM
do a direct conenction from modem to comptuer and rerun the test and show the speed test
ur ping is a lil high
Tried that. the improvement is miniscule... :(:(
ahtea
25-07-2009, 11:17 AM
Try calling StarHub. Request them to let you speak to the Singapore team technician. They might be able to solve your problem.
FinalTidus
25-07-2009, 11:20 AM
Try calling StarHub. Request them to let you speak to the Singapore team technician. They might be able to solve your problem.
I have just called Customer service. They said my signal to the modem is normal at 8Mbps...
How?? I have already sent a letter via the Starhub utilities to check into my problem. Very sian... I tot HDB would be better in terms of connection speeds compared to private property. guess I am totally wrong.
ahtea
25-07-2009, 11:31 AM
I have just called Customer service. They said my signal to the modem is normal at 8Mbps...
How?? I have already sent a letter via the Starhub utilities to check into my problem. Very sian... I tot HDB would be better in terms of connection speeds compared to private property. guess I am totally wrong.
Wow. First time I hear the customer service tell customer signal to modem is strong.
It might be your area has too much users sharing the bandwidth.
twist_shout
25-07-2009, 12:02 PM
Hi guys. I have just shifted my home from Bedok to Pasir Ris. After setting up all my network and getting on to the internet, I tested my speeds with the popular Speedtest.net.
I was rudely shocked at the lowest download speeds I have ever seen in history. This is the speed I got.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/524789094.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
i didnt even got 1mbps when i do speed test.... so i jus terminated my maxonline express:o
ahtea
25-07-2009, 12:06 PM
i didnt even got 1mbps when i do speed test.... so i jus terminated my maxonline express:o
You still had a contract with them?
twist_shout
25-07-2009, 12:11 PM
expired 6 months ago after tat i've decided Enough is Enough with their crappy bandwidth:s13:
ahtea
25-07-2009, 12:17 PM
expired 6 months ago after tat i've decided Enough is Enough with their crappy bandwidth:s13:
Happy user of Orange or Red now?
twist_shout
25-07-2009, 12:25 PM
currently waiting for RED connection to be activated on 1st Aug.
so i'm using Green's MaxiSUrf daily rate now.. :s13:
richneo
25-07-2009, 12:25 PM
Tried that. the improvement is miniscule... :(:(
show the screen shot of speedtest when u do direct connection bro
make sure u close all programs and p2p and etc
ur ping should be around 20ms doing nothing
cpuer
25-07-2009, 01:35 PM
Mine at Pasir Ris too (wireless):
http://www.speedtest.net/result/524854896.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
ly1968
25-07-2009, 01:44 PM
TS try checking ur speed on weekday cause weekend the traffic is quite high sometimes
win_man
25-07-2009, 02:16 PM
i also stay at PR.. which part u at?
OMG i just test and only get 1.8mbps on my MOL Express... didnt happen like this before
Sp1der
25-07-2009, 02:43 PM
speed is really very bad with starhub...
most of the time between 7+pm to 1am daily..
forumbot
25-07-2009, 04:06 PM
speed is really very bad with starhub...
most of the time between 7+pm to 1am daily..
This is the time when Starhub enables its internet traffic shaping software.
SeVenn
25-07-2009, 04:38 PM
This is the time when Starhub enables its internet traffic shaping software.
So I guess they delay all packets related to downloads and gaming? Explains the craptastic speeds on weeknights and weekends.
Singnet doesnt do that right? Really want to switch to them now...
polike
25-07-2009, 04:51 PM
Nope, Singnet is constant. For my 100mbps plan, stays at 100 mbps but my desktop Gigabit LAN connection screwed up but laptop is constant at 54 mbps all the time(router bottleneck)
aaur4man
25-07-2009, 05:46 PM
u have singnet 100mbps? how much?
little_prince
25-07-2009, 06:06 PM
i think starhub sux too...
liangtam
25-07-2009, 07:22 PM
hook direct to cable point first bah...
sometimes have contact problems.
ahtea
26-07-2009, 12:29 AM
Nope, Singnet is constant. For my 100mbps plan, stays at 100 mbps but my desktop Gigabit LAN connection screwed up but laptop is constant at 54 mbps all the time(router bottleneck)
Singnet 100Mbps?
glacieraze
26-07-2009, 12:53 AM
That probably your network adapter's speed unless you are one of the lucky few under the FTTH's trial
santaboi
26-07-2009, 02:42 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/525216815.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/525217318.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
snipes14
26-07-2009, 03:35 AM
Don't come over to Singtel leh, later drag down our speeds as well. LOL!
davion901
26-07-2009, 02:47 PM
I find singtel better than starhub.
yeah, singtel have their shortcomings but against starhub.
They are just "there".
SeVenn
26-07-2009, 03:38 PM
Found an article on Starhub's site where they admit to performing traffic shaping between 3pm-3am... twice as long as I previously thought >_>
http://www.starhub.com/support/broadband/facts/networkmanagement.html
M1 claims they dont do it, but seeing as their essentially riding on Starhub's infrastructure, how valid is this claim really?
http://www.m1.com.sg/M1/site/M1Corp/menuitem.e2f30a2a1a1860b609b422103f2000a0/?vgnextoid=044b7cfeda9ba110VgnVCM100000695a230aRCRD#postinstallation
Guess its down to M1 vs Singnet for me.
liangtam
26-07-2009, 03:42 PM
Traffic shaping needlessly affects all users mah, only the majority of b/w consumers. Well, unless you mass P2P also...
czheyuan
26-07-2009, 06:15 PM
M1 claims they dont do it, but seeing as their essentially riding on Starhub's infrastructure, how valid is this claim really?
http://www.m1.com.sg/M1/site/M1Corp/menuitem.e2f30a2a1a1860b609b422103f2000a0/?vgnextoid=044b7cfeda9ba110VgnVCM100000695a230aRCRD#postinstallation
M1's Fixed BB rides on SH's infrastructure but traffic still routes thru M1's own server..
try downloading files from high speed mirrors like large files from the microsoft website. can they go any higher than what is indicated on the speed test?
FinalTidus
27-07-2009, 08:27 AM
try downloading files from high speed mirrors like large files from the microsoft website. can they go any higher than what is indicated on the speed test?
tried... still the same lousy speeds...
richneo
27-07-2009, 09:24 AM
bro close all p2p in all computers and scan all comptuers for virus
ur ping rate should be around 20ms
NineNineNine
27-07-2009, 11:44 AM
Or just try another computer, same connection, direct to modem.
Sp1der
27-07-2009, 12:15 PM
Or just try another computer, same connection, direct to modem.
i believe TS sure did some basic testing.
anyway i stay at sengkang...during peak hours i am also unable to get 25% of the direct download speed from http web site.
FinalTidus
27-07-2009, 05:57 PM
i believe TS sure did some basic testing.
anyway i stay at sengkang...during peak hours i am also unable to get 25% of the direct download speed from http web site.
Yup... Did all direct connection already still same.
FinalTidus
27-07-2009, 05:57 PM
bro close all p2p in all computers and scan all comptuers for virus
ur ping rate should be around 20ms
Direct connection also about 30+ to 40+ ping.
coldboy
27-07-2009, 08:39 PM
TS.. u stay which part of pasir ris?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/526246315.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Mine @ Street 11.. on maxonline premium..
FTTH installation coming.. woohoo.. !
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.