View Full Version : Singtel bb offering macbook again...
nuclear_pup
25-07-2009, 12:21 PM
Anyone aware that singtel is offering the macbook again? Is this model good? Very interested to jump ship now, laghub has been giving me crap for the last few weeks, and my contract is also ending anyway..
ahtea
25-07-2009, 12:26 PM
$88 per month for 10Mbps?
I think you are basically paying for the laptop via installment.
tremor
25-07-2009, 12:28 PM
Yea but you are paying only $24/mth for 10mbps broadband. So its like you buy laptop comes with cheap broadband. So why not.
nuclear_pup
25-07-2009, 12:42 PM
I understand that, but since i'm also paying around the same price now for laghub ultimate plan, dun really see much difference in terms of subscriptions..
rawfishontherice
25-07-2009, 01:09 PM
anyone knows if can opt out miotv or not? :o
nuclear_pup
25-07-2009, 01:12 PM
Yeah... That's something i want to know also.. Probably will drop by singtel later if i'm in town to enquire.. Anyway is the laptop any good? Just want to use for WoW and photoshop stuff..
ArsenalGear
25-07-2009, 01:16 PM
Yes you can. I registered online yesterday, there is an option to opt out mio tv.
nuclear_pup
25-07-2009, 01:28 PM
Yes you can. I registered online yesterday, there is an option to opt out mio tv.
Any discount if you opt out ?
ng_ck
25-07-2009, 05:38 PM
from the newspaper, it says can upgrade to macbook pro leh. but cant find it in singet website leh? if really can ugrade, which version is it? the 2.2Ghz or the 2.5Ghz? can anyone advice?
thanks
tidus792
25-07-2009, 07:45 PM
Yea but you are paying only $24/mth for 10mbps broadband. So its like you buy laptop comes with cheap broadband. So why not.
How do you work out $24 leh?
Doubt the laptop can be sold for 1.5k.
asmira
25-07-2009, 09:06 PM
Think I will let go at $1000.. there's a upgrading to PRO for $500... saw it on todays paper..
shan17
25-07-2009, 10:24 PM
from the newspaper, it says can upgrade to macbook pro leh. but cant find it in singet website leh? if really can ugrade, which version is it? the 2.2Ghz or the 2.5Ghz? can anyone advice?
thanks
upgrade to macbook pro @ $499.. is 2.26GHz
mambo31
25-07-2009, 11:10 PM
Finally, my waiting has paid off.....
Been waiting for this ever since my contract ended wf SH.
Am gonna jump under the RED umbrella tom...
But I don't have a residential line at home, I need to have one wf ST rite? Any idea how long it'll take to register for a landline? Or can I do it both together when I sign up for ST Broadband?
Anyone sign up yet? When will be able to collect your MB/MBP soonest?
Hope I won't regret....haha :)
ArsenalGear
25-07-2009, 11:19 PM
Any discount if you opt out ?
No discount. Since I got starhub cable tv, I find no need for mio tv so must as well opt out.
Called Singnet today, they said redemption letter will come around 7 working days after activation date. My activation date was today, so I guess will receive the letter by 2 weeks time.
Dunnoe want to upgrade to Macbook Pro anot. Is the Macbook sufficient for basic use?
nuclear_pup
25-07-2009, 11:23 PM
Same here , me also have scv already, anyway is the mac book or the upgrade worth it? Is the ram easily upgradeable?
tremor
25-07-2009, 11:50 PM
woo hoo can upgrade then I'll sign up now. ha ha ha. macbook pro here I come.
mambo31
26-07-2009, 12:16 AM
guys, u can visit www.ifixit.com to 'preview' how to upgrade RAM and HDD...
Going down to sign up tom...
Edit: Woopsie! Just checked out the website but it's not updated to include the latest MBP 13"... but fret not, my wife just purchased a MBP 15" and in the instruction booklet, there's a section on how to upgrade the RAM and HDD for your MBP!!
tremor
26-07-2009, 12:51 AM
thanks
From which newspaper? i flipped through straits times for Friday and Saturday dun have leh.
LocalGod
26-07-2009, 01:19 AM
yes can upgrade. upgrade is upon redemption. i had signed up today. earliest installation date as of today is 6 august.
one question though, can upgrade RAM too? or DIY better? if yes, have to throw away the 2GB right? since it run parrallel
mambo31
26-07-2009, 01:27 AM
Dun think they offer RAM upgrade, DIY is definitely the better and more-value-for-$ option but it requires u to open up the whole bottom part of your MBP since batt is built-in now.
My guess is once open up, think warranty is void so better to open up once warranty is over.
mambo31
26-07-2009, 01:32 AM
From which newspaper? i flipped through straits times for Friday and Saturday dun have leh.
There's no mention of it in the papers. I also flipped thru but none to be found...
I saw it on TV though, ST is advertising on TV.... first time I think... but no mention of upgrade to MBP on TV. Went down to an authorised distributor to pick up a brochure... upgrade to lowest end MBP 13" @ $499. Monthly 10mbps plan is $88. Add another $10/mth for 15mbps plan.
Wonder if can opt for ethernet modem instead of their integrated wireless modem...:s11:
Also, anyone know if can sign under corporate scheme?
yoshi_sx
26-07-2009, 08:49 AM
Hi mambo31,did u upgrade your MB from 13 to 15" from the singtel website?How much extra do you have to pay for 15"?Are you on the 10 Mbps or 15?
Thanks.
xXxiaoJieXx
26-07-2009, 09:20 AM
There's no mention of it in the papers. I also flipped thru but none to be found...
I saw it on TV though, ST is advertising on TV.... first time I think... but no mention of upgrade to MBP on TV. Went down to an authorised distributor to pick up a brochure... upgrade to lowest end MBP 13" @ $499. Monthly 10mbps plan is $88. Add another $10/mth for 15mbps plan.
Wonder if can opt for ethernet modem instead of their integrated wireless modem...:s11:
paying instalments for the laptop
its nt cheap anyway
tremor
26-07-2009, 09:28 AM
can only upgrade to macbook pro 13" at $499
http://home.singtel.com/hotdeals/
chehjin
26-07-2009, 11:12 AM
13" macbook pro is not worth the upgrade leh
its like body upgrade only
there is no option for 15" upgrade?
LocalGod
26-07-2009, 11:43 AM
Hi mambo31,did u upgrade your MB from 13 to 15" from the singtel website?How much extra do you have to pay for 15"?Are you on the 10 Mbps or 15?
Thanks.
well, to me is cheap in the sense that im paying instalment to the macbook + only 20+ for 10mbps speed.
somemore if i default 1 month payment no need interest charge leh (as vs credit card instalment plan) :s13:
Martel
26-07-2009, 11:49 AM
Hi All,
Can i upgrade to Macbook Pro but using Microsoft OS XP or Vista ?
TheLunny
26-07-2009, 12:01 PM
Hi All,
You can run Windows with bootcamp on the macbook if you need it.
But if you are planning to use Windows as your primary OS, would advice you not to get a macbook. Just stick with PC to save the unneccessary hassle.
badsector
26-07-2009, 12:07 PM
Hi All,
the battery will drain faster too
astonchew
26-07-2009, 12:39 PM
does it comes with applecare if getting it from this promo?
reimina
26-07-2009, 12:43 PM
Hi All,
What for? You might as well get a windows based laptop. :D
mambo31
26-07-2009, 01:07 PM
warranty is only for 1 year.. AppleCare can be purchased seperately at an additional cost for another 2 years of warranty
astonchew
26-07-2009, 01:13 PM
hmm, comtemplating to get this or upgrade to the mbp which is using a faster CPU and supports more ram.
mambo31
26-07-2009, 01:42 PM
depends on wat u need.. for me, my current MacBook is the white coreduo 1.83ghz that came out 3 yrs ago. time for me to upgrade to the pro.
anyway I just signed up for this promo. Activation is on the 4th Aug. have to wait for redemption letter to be mailed to out only after activation date. collection to be made at SingPost Eunos. Upgrade option also to be made there. Cash or nets payment only.
Tried to request for Ethernet modem but this promo comes wf the 2wire 2701HGV modem, can't use my DIR655 anymore.. heard many bad stories of this 2wire modem.. ugh
rawfishontherice
26-07-2009, 01:47 PM
thanks, ArsenalGear.
btw, people!! aiyoh, so the singnet t&c says... "for on-site installation, charges of $53.50 apply." but during the online sign-up, i saw that there was no option for me to opt out the on-site installation for self-installation at all. :mad: called singnet up... they said no installation charges for me. :s11: :s27:
whoever haven't read the t&c, pls read it ok... :s27:
junkai21
26-07-2009, 02:06 PM
YOU GUYS WILL NEVER REGRET SINGNET!
Except the CSO long waiting time. but speed gaogao speedtrain!!
LocalGod
26-07-2009, 02:13 PM
installation is free...
Twinsen
26-07-2009, 05:08 PM
I am a out of contract SH broadband customer and was quite attracted to this promo. However, has a qn, my SH has a voice line number. Can it be transferred to Singtel?
anqiang
26-07-2009, 05:33 PM
I am a out of contract SH broadband customer and was quite attracted to this promo. However, has a qn, my SH has a voice line number. Can it be transferred to Singtel?
the plan kinda exp leh ,, like paying installment for the MBP lor ..
Twinsen
26-07-2009, 05:45 PM
I think is ok if you are gonna buy a MB anyway.. like one bro say.. it is cheap broadband.
For me, I got additional advantage that my co. is paying for my broadband.. so if I can get a free MB out of it.. it is good :)
the plan kinda exp leh ,, like paying installment for the MBP lor ..
Twinsen
26-07-2009, 05:55 PM
I think more people want to get a normal laptop and run OS X instead... :)
Hi All,
asmira
26-07-2009, 05:57 PM
From NewPaper
tremor
26-07-2009, 08:06 PM
I just recontract, activation is 6 Aug, no more ealier slots liao. Must wait so long then got MB pro to play.
mambo31
27-07-2009, 12:04 AM
Don't think so cos that number is tied to your SH voice modem... once u switch to ST, new modem liao.
mambo31
27-07-2009, 12:06 AM
From NewPaper
oh, paiseh....dun read newpaper... ;)
Twinsen
27-07-2009, 09:39 AM
Thanks. Thought maybe can cause my no. was a ST no, then went over to SH.. thought can go back.
Don't think so cos that number is tied to your SH voice modem... once u switch to ST, new modem liao.
ZacDolski
27-07-2009, 09:50 AM
the free installation is when u apply online or thru calls?
Does singnet have free residential phone line like SH?
czheyuan
27-07-2009, 11:47 AM
Does singnet have free residential phone line like SH?
Nope... Unless you sign up for their mio voice..
shaojie2k
27-07-2009, 12:45 PM
what is the specs for their macbook pro? 2.26 hz or 2.13 hz?
haylui
27-07-2009, 04:51 PM
without "free gift" 10Mbps also need $46.9 per month
not worth?
tremor
29-07-2009, 01:30 PM
$88/mth x 24mths = $2112 total (10mbps + macbook)
$46.90/mth x 24mths = $1125.60 total (10mbps only)
$88/mth x 24mths + $499 upgrade = $2611 (10mbps + macbook pro 13")
Price of macbook = $986.4
Price of Macbook Pro = $1485.40
Price of 10mbps = $1125.60
Another way to look at it. Pay retail price for Macbook = $1589
So 10mbps internet = $2112 - 1589 = $523/24mths = $21.80/mth
So you say woth it or not lor?
Twinsen
29-07-2009, 02:15 PM
I just sign up yesterday. Service activation on 4th Aug..
Are you going for the $499 upgrade? Worthwhile?
Anyone know cancel MOL need how long? wondering if shld cancel now or after singnet activation..
$88/mth x 24mths = $2112 total (10mbps + macbook)
$46.90/mth x 24mths = $1125.60 total (10mbps only)
$88/mth x 24mths + $499 upgrade = $2611 (10mbps + macbook pro 13")
Price of macbook = $986.4
Price of Macbook Pro = $1485.40
Price of 10mbps = $1125.60
Another way to look at it. Pay retail price for Macbook = $1589
So 10mbps internet = $2112 - 1589 = $523/24mths = $21.80/mth
So you say woth it or not lor?
tremor
29-07-2009, 02:40 PM
You signed up yesterday activate on the 4th? so fast, i signed up on Sunday but 6th Aug then can. So not fair one.
$499 upgrade worthwhile or not depends on your need mah, to me, ok lah, got better touch pad, glass screen, DDR3 ram and aluminium body.
Twinsen
29-07-2009, 02:44 PM
Yeah, I saw yours is on 6th. Dont know why mine is 4th. I signed up at Hello at AMK anyway..needed to get a fixed line as I dont have one so might as well do it all there.
Not sure if want to upgrade. Guess if I am going to bring it around, shld upgrade?
You signed up yesterday activate on the 4th? so fast, i signed up on Sunday but 6th Aug then can. So not fair one.
$499 upgrade worthwhile or not depends on your need mah, to me, ok lah, got better touch pad, glass screen, DDR3 ram and aluminium body.
tremor
29-07-2009, 02:46 PM
Macbook pro lighter by a bit only i think, just upgrade lor.
takeshi_umuro
29-07-2009, 07:22 PM
hi guys just renewed my contract and getting activated on this friday 31 July 09. But how do we collect the macbook since i only have the online activation confirmation.
Thanks in advnace :)
rawfishontherice
29-07-2009, 07:54 PM
hi guys just renewed my contract and getting activated on this friday 31 July 09. But how do we collect the macbook since i only have the online activation confirmation.
a redemption letter will be sent to you by registered mail... then u can collect at:
Redemption Centre: Singapore Post Centre (West Entrance), 10 Eunos Road 8, #01-02, Singapore 408600.
Operation Hours: Mon - Fri: 8.30 am - 9.00 pm, Sat: 8.30 am - 4.00 pm & Sun/PH: 10.00 am - 4.00 pm.
takeshi_umuro
29-07-2009, 08:05 PM
a redemption letter will be sent to you by registered mail... then u can collect at:
Redemption Centre: Singapore Post Centre (West Entrance), 10 Eunos Road 8, #01-02, Singapore 408600.
Operation Hours: Mon - Fri: 8.30 am - 9.00 pm, Sat: 8.30 am - 4.00 pm & Sun/PH: 10.00 am - 4.00 pm.
thanks a lot!
mambo31
30-07-2009, 05:18 AM
You renewed today and activation is on the 31st July?? How come so fast??
Hmm... envious...
I gotta wait till 5th Aug to activate... then still gotta wait another 7 days for redemption letter...
takeshi_umuro
30-07-2009, 10:06 AM
You renewed today and activation is on the 31st July?? How come so fast??
Hmm... envious...
I gotta wait till 5th Aug to activate... then still gotta wait another 7 days for redemption letter...
no idea dude.... saw the dates available for modem delivery for earliest this friday so i took it :)
BarbarianFX
30-07-2009, 10:14 AM
Anyone know when this promotion end ? And it seem like never stated we can upgrade to Pro version at $499 leh.
galleria
30-07-2009, 10:22 AM
Anyone know when this promotion end ? And it seem like never stated we can upgrade to Pro version at $499 leh.
The promo will end on 2nd August 2009. Upgrade to mac book pro will be done at Singpost when u have received the redemption letter. The redemption letter will be sent out within 7 days after your new contract had been activated.
Twinsen
30-07-2009, 10:29 AM
I did mine at Hello shop at amk.. what they did is they give me the redemption letter already.
My activation is 4th Aug and my redemption is 6th Aug onwards.
To upgrade is a bit troublesome. You need to collect the mb at singpost building.. then bring the mb, unopen, to Apple and do the upgrade.
That is what the CSO at amk told me.
Still wondering is the upgrade worthwhile. Any comments?
galleria
30-07-2009, 10:36 AM
Oh is it... damn it .. then should have done the recontract at hello shop.. hahahah.. :P
The upgrade process is so troublesome???? :(
mambo31
30-07-2009, 12:38 PM
I did mine at Hello shop at amk.. what they did is they give me the redemption letter already.
My activation is 4th Aug and my redemption is 6th Aug onwards.
To upgrade is a bit troublesome. You need to collect the mb at singpost building.. then bring the mb, unopen, to Apple and do the upgrade.
That is what the CSO at amk told me.
Still wondering is the upgrade worthwhile. Any comments?
I think what you're saying is upgrading the RAM and HDD.... not upgrading to Macbook pro... it's entirely 2 diff devices...
Anyway, I also did mine at Hello Shop Comcentre somemore... but still got to wait for redemption letter... How come they give u the letter on the spot? Hmm... diff standard...
Twinsen
30-07-2009, 12:51 PM
I think what you're saying is upgrading the RAM and HDD.... not upgrading to Macbook pro... it's entirely 2 diff devices...
Anyway, I also did mine at Hello Shop Comcentre somemore... but still got to wait for redemption letter... How come they give u the letter on the spot? Hmm... diff standard...
Dont know leh.. they printed already leh..
Anyway, I am talking abt the $499 upgrade from mb to mbp. According to CSO, Singpost will only give mb. If you want to do the $499 upgrade, u need to bring the unopen mb to Apple to upgrade to mbp (means they take the mb and give you a new mbp) and pay $499 in cash or Nets cos Apple dont take credit cards.
Anyway, still wondering why $499? mb is $1589 and mbp is $1988, difference is $399. Apple earn $100 to swop with you?
liangtam
30-07-2009, 01:04 PM
These sort of upgrade is obviously to rip you off what.
And errm, american companies don't accept credit cards sounds funny.
mambo31
30-07-2009, 01:28 PM
Dont know leh.. they printed already leh..
Anyway, I am talking abt the $499 upgrade from mb to mbp. According to CSO, Singpost will only give mb. If you want to do the $499 upgrade, u need to bring the unopen mb to Apple to upgrade to mbp (means they take the mb and give you a new mbp) and pay $499 in cash or Nets cos Apple dont take credit cards.
Anyway, still wondering why $499? mb is $1589 and mbp is $1988, difference is $399. Apple earn $100 to swop with you?
Think the CSO dunno what he/she is saying.
I don't understand the logic of bringing it to apple to get it upgraded to the MBP.
I was told that the upgrade would be done at SingPost Eunos and I'm assuming that they do have ready stocks for the MBP there for upgrade. Pls don't waste our time by asking us to go upgrade it ourselves. I will definitely bang table if that's the case.
What if Apple does not honour the upgrade? We're stuck wf the white macbook? Anyway, I've never heard of this kind of 'upgrade'.
Previously was this how it is done?
rawfishontherice
30-07-2009, 01:42 PM
I don't understand the logic of bringing it to apple to get it upgraded to the MBP.
I was told that the upgrade would be done at SingPost Eunos and I'm assuming that they do have ready stocks for the MBP there for upgrade. Pls don't waste our time by asking us to go upgrade it ourselves. I will definitely bang table if that's the case.
What if Apple does not honour the upgrade? We're stuck wf the white macbook? Anyway, I've never heard of this kind of 'upgrade'.
previously it was done at singpost itself.
i find singnet cust. service people a bit kuku. they always leave me very confused. :s11: one person will say 'a' and another will say 'b' to the same query... :alien: :mad:
haylui
30-07-2009, 01:45 PM
meaning that they have a deal with Apple already
you just need to bring that MB go to Apple store and swap with them
condition: unopened box for your MB
pay $499 to Apple store then they give your MBPro
mambo31
30-07-2009, 01:56 PM
meaning that they have a deal with Apple already
you just need to bring that MB go to Apple store and swap with them
condition: unopened box for your MB
pay $499 to Apple store then they give your MBPro
I know what they mean... I just don't understand the logic with all the hassle. Why can't thay just do everything at one place instead of making us run all over?
I'm just upset that they didn't tell me this in the first place rather we have to find out later on our own or we're hearing 2 diff things from the CSO.I hate this kind of surprise. Wonder if the marketing ppl sit down to discuss these kind of details before coming up with the promo. Seems like they want to tie us into the 2yr contract first... then everything else, talk later.
I'm sure there will be issues arising to this way of managing things... looking at ST CSO where they can't even agree on the info they give out... I can forsee the same thing happening when we make the swap/upgrade at Apple.
Let's just hope everything goes smoothly....I'm crossing my fingers.
Edit: I'm starting to blabber... just ignore me.... haha
jchongll
30-07-2009, 02:05 PM
ohh.. i signed yesterday. But no many available slots so my earliest installation date is 15 aug.. very late... but cos i need the installation to be on a saturday. no choice...
For info, the MBP weighs arnd 2kg while MB weighs 2.2+ kg... CSO recommends MBP cos its LED screen, 7hrs batt life and more shortcuts built in.. true?
anyway, i will be first-time user of MAC... so i got quite a number of dumb questions here.. .can help?
1. If we upgrade at Apple store, can we purchase the applecare program there? Is the applecare program needed cos i read that its not cheap...
2. Any softwares packages, i.e. MS Office for Mac? I have license for MS Office but not for MAC. so totally incompatible rite?
3. The softwares generally used for Windows not compatible for MAC? E.g. Mozilla, Realplayer, WIN RAR etc?
help needed.. TQ...
mambo31
30-07-2009, 02:41 PM
ohh.. i signed yesterday. But no many available slots so my earliest installation date is 15 aug.. very late... but cos i need the installation to be on a saturday. no choice...
For info, the MBP weighs arnd 2kg while MB weighs 2.2+ kg... CSO recommends MBP cos its LED screen, 7hrs batt life and more shortcuts built in.. true?
anyway, i will be first-time user of MAC... so i got quite a number of dumb questions here.. .can help?
1. If we upgrade at Apple store, can we purchase the applecare program there? Is the applecare program needed cos i read that its not cheap...
2. Any softwares packages, i.e. MS Office for Mac? I have license for MS Office but not for MAC. so totally incompatible rite?
3. The softwares generally used for Windows not compatible for MAC? E.g. Mozilla, Realplayer, WIN RAR etc?
help needed.. TQ...
Welcome to the Mac community!
The MBP is definitely better in terms of built and performance. You can check out www.apple.com.sg for more info on the MBP.
Answers to your questions:
1) Applecare can be purchased at any time within your first year of product warranty. It is better to buy from reputable places like Apple Store SG or Mac shops u find in Funan and around Orchard rd. Depends on whether u need another 2 years of warranty. Like in my case, if I purchased AppleCare for my macbook back in 2006, I wouldn't have to live with a fautly combo-drive and speakers. It's not cheap though....think about $400plus for extra piece of mind.
2) Software wise Windows is not compatible with Mac so yo have to purchase separate software for your Mac. In your case, MS office license is not compatible wf MS Office Mac.
3) Software is not compatible but they have released version that are compatible with Mac though. Google and ye shall find...
eutanesia
30-07-2009, 02:47 PM
Hello brudders
I made a call to the CSO
Told me upgrade is done at SINGPOST... Not sure how correct is this
galleria
30-07-2009, 03:00 PM
Well.. I guess everyone will have till the day of collection then will know..
Spongy
30-07-2009, 03:23 PM
The MBP is definitely better in terms of built and performance. You can check out www.apple.com.sg for more info on the MBP.
The apple store only show the weight the LED screen as the only difference leh. Can elaborate ?
Sofa_King
30-07-2009, 04:03 PM
The apple store only show the weight the LED screen as the only difference leh. Can elaborate ?
http://store.apple.com/sg/browse/home/shop_mac/family/macbook?mco=MTE4MTY
scroll down and click compare
Spongy
30-07-2009, 04:14 PM
http://store.apple.com/sg/browse/home/shop_mac/family/macbook?mco=MTE4MTY
scroll down and click compare
Thanks. Always go to the apple store to check out their stuff but never notice that function. =:p
jchongll
30-07-2009, 09:43 PM
The MBP is definitely better in terms of built and performance. You can check out www.apple.com.sg (http://www.apple.com.sg) for more info on the MBP.
Answers to your questions:
1) Applecare can be purchased at any time within your first year of product warranty. It is better to buy from reputable places like Apple Store SG or Mac shops u find in Funan and around Orchard rd. Depends on whether u need another 2 years of warranty. Like in my case, if I purchased AppleCare for my macbook back in 2006, I wouldn't have to live with a fautly combo-drive and speakers. It's not cheap though....think about $400plus for extra piece of mind.
2) Software wise Windows is not compatible with Mac so yo have to purchase separate software for your Mac. In your case, MS office license is not compatible wf MS Office Mac.
3) Software is not compatible but they have released version that are compatible with Mac though. Google and ye shall find...
thank you for your advice... will go goggle...
zonecities
30-07-2009, 10:54 PM
this promo confirm end 2nd aug? I using mio plan, the 3mbps with internet, digital voice and mobile. If the plan over 1yr can upgrade and get this macbook le? Dont need pay extra, right?
tremor
30-07-2009, 11:09 PM
Mio plan cannot get this promo, if your contract is over, decouple all your services first then you can recontract the broadband only.
zonecities
30-07-2009, 11:34 PM
Mio plan cannot get this promo, if your contract is over, decouple all your services first then you can recontract the broadband only.
Sian dao.......so if plan over for 1yr only can do "rebundle" and sign up to get this promo? Or must wait till 2yrs? This promo is $88 per mth, right? Dont have lower price plan already, right?
trueworship
31-07-2009, 12:16 AM
so any CIS plan for this? And this offer ends on 31 JULY! .... issit true?
velato2006
31-07-2009, 12:43 AM
So sad,my contract can onli recontract starting from 1 aug, but the promotion ends 31 july..:(
Hopefully, they will extend the promotion..:o
tremor
31-07-2009, 12:55 AM
So sad,my contract can onli recontract starting from 1 aug, but the promotion ends 31 july..:(
You go to the shops, the staff can definitely recontract for you since its only a few days.
velato2006
31-07-2009, 01:00 AM
You go to the shops, the staff can definitely recontract for you since its only a few days.
Can meh? I thought the shops is for buying handphones onli...
But later if i ask bout the promotion like paiseh leh, begging from them..lol
mambo31
31-07-2009, 02:30 AM
so any CIS plan for this? And this offer ends on 31 JULY! .... issit true?
I've asked when I was signing up.... There's no CIS plan for this.... unless the CSO smoke me...:s16:
mambo31
31-07-2009, 02:32 AM
Can meh? I thought the shops is for buying handphones onli...
But later if i ask bout the promotion like paiseh leh, begging from them..lol
If you dun ask, u dun get.
If you care more about your 'face', you won't get.
If you dun ask, 100% dun get.
If you ask, at least got 50% will get.
You decide. :s12:
jchongll
31-07-2009, 08:48 AM
mambo31, yes, there is no CIS....
velato 2006, check their website and see which locations can do recontracting... i went to the one at Taka... Parkway one also have... and for a few days difference, they dun mind... cos the installation can only be don in aug... long past your contracted period... :s12:
galleria
31-07-2009, 08:54 AM
hi velato 2006,
Confirm can re-contract coz I have re-contract mine with 4 mths more to go for the end of my contract & my new contract is already activated..
rawfishontherice
31-07-2009, 11:03 AM
hi velato 2006,
Confirm can re-contract coz I have re-contract mine with 4 mths more to go for the end of my contract & my new contract is already activated..
they will waive the 4 mths for you right?
btw people, singnet just delivered my modem... still waiting for redemption letter.. :o
Twinsen
31-07-2009, 12:13 PM
I dont think they waive..where got so nice..
think they just add 24 months contract on top of your 4 remaining months..
They want to retain customers.. so dont think they mind if u have a few months left, just add to it.
Still better than SH.. who dont value existing customers.. only give promos to New customers.
they will waive the 4 mths for you right?
btw people, singnet just delivered my modem... still waiting for redemption letter.. :o
BarbarianFX
31-07-2009, 12:56 PM
If I pay 499 to upgraded to mpc. It come with 2G ram + 160G hdd right. Can we do the upgrade ourself to like 4G ram and 320G hdd? Will I void the warranty? Any Apple Lao Jiao user know about this ? Thanks in advance !!!
velato2006
31-07-2009, 03:48 PM
hi velato 2006,
hi galleria,
U mean u recontract 4 months in advance before the contract ends? Can meh?
BTw, if i recontract in local shop rather than online, they will send the redemption letter n modem on tat spot or must wait until they send?
velato2006
31-07-2009, 03:52 PM
mambo31, yes, there is no CIS....
velato 2006, check their website and see which locations can do recontracting... i went to the one at Taka... Parkway one also have... and for a few days difference, they dun mind... cos the installation can only be don in aug... long past your contracted period... :s12:
Are u refering to the Singtel Exclusive Retailer Shop? coz i got one near my house, at lot 1.
I think i juz wait for something magically to happen online, if they suddenly extend the promotion, then juz recontract online lor,if not then juz go to local shop. :s8:
gede0804
31-07-2009, 09:43 PM
Will the promo still on tomorrow?? fine print states till 31st July..
injektilo
31-07-2009, 10:03 PM
zz try to sign up on website but keep giving error. dun tell me its really over omg been waiting for this promo so long.
galleria7835
31-07-2009, 10:09 PM
hi galleria,
U mean u recontract 4 months in advance before the contract ends? Can meh?
BTw, if i recontract in local shop rather than online, they will send the redemption letter n modem on tat spot or must wait until they send?
Hi there,
Not galleria.. This is what the CSO told me that usually re-contract can be done 3mths before your actual contract ends. For eg, my contract will end in Dec 09 & by right, I will only be allow to do re-contract on in Sep 09 but i think this promo does allow people who have not reached the 3mths recontract period to recontract.. I think something like mobile phones?
I am not sure about redemption thingy..
BarbarianFX
31-07-2009, 10:31 PM
zz try to sign up on website but keep giving error. dun tell me its really over omg been waiting for this promo so long.
Cool Down dude...... They just revised it till 2nd Aug... Hoosei bo ?
velato2006
31-07-2009, 11:15 PM
WAA!! SHIOK!!! my wish come true..:D
trueworship
31-07-2009, 11:55 PM
issit? got revise meh?
BarbarianFX
01-08-2009, 12:07 AM
issit? got revise meh?
It was stated promotion till 31 Jul before I go down signup the plan. And now their web stated till 2nd Aug.
trueworship
01-08-2009, 12:36 AM
It was stated promotion till 31 Jul before I go down signup the plan. And now their web stated till 2nd Aug.
ooo.... mmm i still contemplating over it... $88 buck now for 10mb is pretty hefty actually...
jchongll
01-08-2009, 01:13 AM
ooo.... mmm i still contemplating over it... $88 buck now for 10mb is pretty hefty actually...
if you want to buy the MAC, you just take it as 24 mths instalment for the laptop... i calculated... still cheaper than you buy st from epic... =:p
zcampbell
01-08-2009, 10:49 AM
Those who do not want to pay for the upgrade to macbook pro, better do your homework properly. The white macbook is prone to cracking.
xeRiCo
01-08-2009, 08:39 PM
Will the promo still on tomorrow?? fine print states till 31st July..
revised to 2nd aug now...i also jumped liaoz...got my 2wire from hello AMK, now waiting for activation on 10th aug...hope i don't get intermittent Dcs from SN =:p
nickky23
01-08-2009, 10:49 PM
i recontract online for the 10mbps plan, wif the intention to upgrade to MBP... does anybody knos if the redemption letter will arrive only together wif the modem, or separately?
thanx for the advice :)
rawfishontherice
02-08-2009, 12:05 AM
i recontract online for the 10mbps plan, wif the intention to upgrade to MBP... does anybody knos if the redemption letter will arrive only together wif the modem, or separately?
thanx for the advice :)
separate. redemption letter will come by singpost registered mail. modem delivered by singnet installer.
trueworship
02-08-2009, 12:48 AM
!!! how come new users cant sign up online???????????
nickky23
02-08-2009, 01:14 AM
separate. redemption letter will come by singpost registered mail. modem delivered by singnet installer.
okie thanx! now juz hv to wait le:s13:
nickky23
02-08-2009, 01:53 AM
!!! how come new users cant sign up online???????????
hmm well, dun kno the reason also.. i also saw the weird screen asking new users to go hello shop to sign up if interested
extemporisation
02-08-2009, 11:41 AM
Anybody know if there's an upgrade option to Snow Leopard?
Jordan
02-08-2009, 12:35 PM
Hehe... just in time to make it for the promo. My contract just ended on 31 July, so it's good timing. Sign up online without any glitches, and hopefully my Macbook comes in soon. Can't wait.....=:p
skaade
04-08-2009, 02:47 AM
hey is this promo still ongoing? went to the website and the promo is still there.
xeRiCo
04-08-2009, 08:17 AM
hey is this promo still ongoing? went to the website and the promo is still there.
erm...its not there anymore...where u see it?
skaade
04-08-2009, 10:17 AM
on their website. http://home.singtel.com/hotdeals/#link?page=BroadBand
greenpug
04-08-2009, 11:26 AM
i was told promo ends this friday..
nickky23
04-08-2009, 12:09 PM
i cannot see the macbook offer on the singnet website or in the hotdeals also
Jordan
04-08-2009, 12:22 PM
Promotion is already over. Last day is 2 Aug. ;)
lunatic_tokyo
04-08-2009, 02:09 PM
I am wondering if u guys are facing some connection problem or laggy issue with SingNet for the past few months?
I had been a singnet 10Mbps for the past 3yrs, this few months having serious laggy issue while trying to connect to simple webbie eg: facebook(FB), hardwarezone or even yahoo news. I am running 2 lappies on the same time, while serving FB.
Wonder if there is some problems with singnet.
Is there any better recommendation for switching of boardband provider. I had been a Starhub user before singnet.
trueworship
04-08-2009, 10:04 PM
I am wondering if u guys are facing some connection problem or laggy issue with SingNet for the past few months?
I had been a singnet 10Mbps for the past 3yrs, this few months having serious laggy issue while trying to connect to simple webbie eg: facebook(FB), hardwarezone or even yahoo news. I am running 2 lappies on the same time, while serving FB.
Wonder if there is some problems with singnet.
Is there any better recommendation for switching of boardband provider. I had been a Starhub user before singnet.
I think wherever u go also the same one.... so beat it! just beat it!
nickky23
14-08-2009, 04:27 PM
hi all, i juz receive my redemption letter.. date of collection is from 19th Aug to 4th sept... do they hav different collection date for u all? :)
xeRiCo
14-08-2009, 08:42 PM
hi all, i juz receive my redemption letter.. date of collection is from 19th Aug to 4th sept... do they hav different collection date for u all? :)
so far most of us got this slot for collection
tremor
14-08-2009, 10:28 PM
yea me too, is that the earliest date for collection?
mambo31
14-08-2009, 10:31 PM
if u guys follow the thread at Apple Clinic, it's been mentioned that even though your collection date is on the 19th onwards, u can try to go earlier to collect.
I myself have done so but I guess it's cos there are stocks avail that's why I was able to get my mbp. If there are no more stocks then too bad, you'll have to either try another day or go down on your specified date.
Good luck to ya'll!!
tremor
16-08-2009, 12:29 AM
Today I went early to collect too, they just gave it to me, I'm posting from a macbook pro now. :)
Spongy
17-08-2009, 04:01 PM
Mine just activated yesterday. Need to wait for redemption letter. Anyone wants to buy mine MBP ?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.