View Full Version : Where will Man City finish next season?
sgparlay
25-07-2009, 06:45 PM
a poll to see how many thinks man city can pose a threat to the big 4 in the new season...
i think they have pretty decent fullbacks in Bridge and Richards, good defensive midfielders in kompany and de jong, good playmaker in the ever maturing ireland and needless to say very good forwards, in fact already oversupply... starting goalie given still has his agility...
perhaps some very good center backs are needed now to complete the squad.. :s12::s12:
i'd say they may have a chance to break into the big 4's monopoly! :eek::eek:
what say u?
SpikyOyster
25-07-2009, 07:28 PM
I feel it is too early to predict now, I would watch 2 -3 games first and see what Mark Hughes does before predicting.
Jian19
25-07-2009, 07:51 PM
play 0-0-10 ah ? sure win title :(
Beefsteak
25-07-2009, 09:50 PM
manchester city is a strong team now. but somehow i think mark hughes is not up to the cut to bring them to top 4 finish.
waitforyou
25-07-2009, 09:51 PM
if Chelsea can do it, I don't see why not Man City. So I'm going to say they are to win the title! They do lack a more capable CD though.
Cumzilla
25-07-2009, 11:37 PM
1st time i agree with what Mr Harry said, that the team are 2 signings, both DEFENSIVE, short of challenging the top 4 at this stage, not the title yet i feel. One centre back and one defensive mid., just saw the vodacom challenge, dun think this de jong good enaff in the holding midfield role...
btw, just to correct yr poll, only 5th place get europa league slot
tt32003
26-07-2009, 12:41 AM
The difference between the money splashing of Chelski and City is Chelski really bought good players at a hight price.
Whereas mos of the players that City bought are just money grabber maybe except for Tevez.
And Chelski got Mourihno.
Mark Hugher ? still not proven.
With Cashleybaba and Robniho around, it will be a rocky boat ride.
SpikyOyster
26-07-2009, 11:36 AM
Sir Alex slams ''arrogant'' City over posters
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=663077&sec=england&cc=4716
Hughes will not drop standards in defender search
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=663092&sec=england&cc=4716
daylight
26-07-2009, 12:13 PM
they have too many strikers liao. No news yet of who is leaving. How to keep everyone happy despite not fielded
sgparlay
26-07-2009, 01:05 PM
btw, just to correct yr poll, only 5th place get europa league slot
oops...
but i take into account that the fa and league cups will be won by some teams in the top 4 or 5...
;);)
tt32003
26-07-2009, 10:52 PM
Mourinho actually said that Citeh will win the EPL this coming season.
In his opinion, the frontline combo of Tevez and Cashleybaba is lethal.
We shall see about that.
Is sombody paul lampaing to get a new job ?
Maybe Mark Hughes should start worrying about his job.:D
humanc0w
26-07-2009, 11:25 PM
if Chelsea can do it, I don't see why not Man City. So I'm going to say they are to win the title! They do lack a more capable CD though.
Chelsea is already whipping ManU, Arse & Fools behinds even B4 the Reneiri era, how to compare? Chelsea was in & out of top 6 for last 10/20 years B4 Abramovich came.
But since Man City gots lotsa $$$$$, so much that think they can dump a couple of billion into some bigwigs to control the game like a certain Manchester neighbour.
Dun bother abt respect, just get a few thorphies 1st! :D
Cumzilla
26-07-2009, 11:59 PM
they have too many strikers liao. No news yet of who is leaving. How to keep everyone happy despite not fielded
after ched evans and caceido (loan) departure, left 8 now based on alex ferguson's figure of 10, never really go and count
oohman
27-07-2009, 10:16 AM
Europa slot is their first Goal lah..
Tell them to forget about top 4 finish for now...
Carnage
27-07-2009, 10:37 AM
Mourinho actually said that Citeh will win the EPL this coming season.
In his opinion, the frontline combo of Tevez and Cashleybaba is lethal.
We shall see about that.
Is sombody paul lampaing to get a new job ?
Maybe Mark Hughes should start worrying about his job.:D
I actually think that Santa Cruz would be the first choice striker.
What about Bellamy? Is he leaving for a new club again?
Fabiano
27-07-2009, 05:27 PM
I actually think that Santa Cruz would be the first choice striker.
What about Bellamy? Is he leaving for a new club again?
Bellamy will still get his chance under sparky.
IF mark hughes leaves, he can pack his bags.
et3rnity84
27-07-2009, 05:30 PM
they look cui in friendly pre season hope they buck up soon
Deunamist
27-07-2009, 05:31 PM
the madrid wannabes will be languishing in mid table.
artistick
27-07-2009, 05:43 PM
i still think they mid-table this coming season...
within top8 will be a very very good season for them already,
can forget about EPL title.
Got good strikers? but can click?
Look at babytoe and Tevez last season...score about 20goals together?
Ron alone score more than both of them combine.
What makes Morinho thinks that Alibaba + Tevez will definitely score more than that?
Moreover their midfield and back is somewhere mid-table class.
If no supply from midfield? And back lacking in goals?
Alpha04
27-07-2009, 08:47 PM
I think they will probably qualify europa at most.
It will take awhile before the new team gel.
notsoluckyguy
28-07-2009, 12:12 AM
Maybe if they learn to dive like MU, then would stand a chance against the top 4.
mambofever
28-07-2009, 12:17 AM
definitely UEFA. they have the stamina for the second half of the season
daylight
28-07-2009, 08:25 AM
they have too many strikers
Csalad
28-07-2009, 09:58 AM
Maybe if they learn to dive like MU, then would stand a chance against the top 4.
maybe if they learn to whine and hope like lp, then they would stand a chance of winning the epl.
see.. lp just won their first trophy of the season!:s13::s13:
Jian19
28-07-2009, 10:25 AM
hughes shd post FACTS and they might be runner up in the league :D
darkdevil
28-07-2009, 10:28 AM
most likely they are capable of winning sth this season but definitely nt the epl title.. they got very very good depth..
nam314
28-07-2009, 10:30 AM
Hope they kanna relegate by English FA...just like Juventus or Leeds
:s27::s27:
othniel80
28-07-2009, 10:39 AM
Might be good for a berth in the Europa League. Top 4, don't think so soon yet, wouldn't gel together that fast.
donut33
29-07-2009, 08:37 AM
The current top 4 teams are not strengthening their squads. Some have sold 1 or 2 key players w/o able replacement. Hence; I think there will be a close fight for the top 4 position next season. Everton, Aston Villa and Man City do have a good chance in the coming season. May even see dark horses claiming the titles.
sgparlay
29-07-2009, 09:00 AM
man city closes in on arsenal's toure...
Fabiano
29-07-2009, 01:54 PM
top 4 is a possibility. Just look at their team.
realistically speaking, anything other than top-4 is a failure.
faruk55
29-07-2009, 02:46 PM
with formation of 4-0-6... they can get into the top 7...
haheho
29-07-2009, 02:51 PM
Top 6 in my opinion. I think they'll do better than Villa this time round. The loss of Barry, the leader figure is too huge for them. But Man City do need some time to gel. Robinho won't get his free role anymore I suppose, meaning he'll be forced to defend on the flanks. And dressing room's harmony is important, especially when Man City's squad is so big. But still unsure, we'll see from the first few games of the season, whether will they do another Spurs-like last season.
donut33
30-07-2009, 08:58 AM
Top 6 in my opinion. I think they'll do better than Villa this time round. The loss of Barry, the leader figure is too huge for them. But Man City do need some time to gel. Robinho won't get his free role anymore I suppose, meaning he'll be forced to defend on the flanks. And dressing room's harmony is important, especially when Man City's squad is so big. But still unsure, we'll see from the first few games of the season, whether will they do another Spurs-like last season.
Spur last season dun have players like Robinho, S W Philip, Santa Clues, Barry, Bellamy, Adeebayor, etc....and now they may even add on Koule and J lescort. On paper v strong sia...
othniel80
30-07-2009, 10:13 PM
Might be good for a berth in the Europa League. Top 4, don't think so soon yet, wouldn't gel together that fast.
I correct myself, maybe top 4 got chance since they changed strategy to keep pinching off Arsenal players. :D
faruk55
31-07-2009, 09:50 AM
If they have a settled squad, they can be threatening I think. It's all up to the manager whether he can make use of their strengths and figh for at least top 6.
petshopboys
31-07-2009, 10:07 AM
The manager has to be replaced......the players are getting too BIG for him to handled.......Mark capability is at most mid table club......;)
tootboy
31-07-2009, 11:04 PM
The manager has to be replaced......the players are getting too BIG for him to handled.......Mark capability is at most mid table club......;)
Yes i agree too . He is not suitable to handle such a big and powerful club .... Compare his personality and mourinho and u can see the huge margin between them. Sure will end up in mid table again
petshopboys
01-08-2009, 02:33 PM
Yes i agree too . He is not suitable to handle such a big and powerful club .... Compare his personality and mourinho and u can see the huge margin between them. Sure will end up in mid table again
by the way, the club is not big and powerful as YET:s13::s13:
At least win a few trophy then say
xXboxXx
01-08-2009, 06:16 PM
teve dun score that many goals while adebayo cant score w/o a good midfield to feed him e passes.
dreadwingsg
01-08-2009, 11:51 PM
think got chance top 6 :)
conquerorsutd
02-08-2009, 02:53 AM
hopefully go down :D:D:D
ok i admit mu fan :o
but i really hope tevtraitor and ade-boh-yong fight on pitch and in dressing room, plus unbalanced squad always kena leak goal
but now they have extra defender kolo, plus gareth barry quite decent, and others like stephen ireland, they have a shout for at least europe place. but hope to see the so-called citeh revolution die down with another no-europe season! buahahaha
edit: i voted struggle from relegation, how come i only one :P
Boi_racer
03-08-2009, 07:43 AM
They hav the players.....Now its up to the manager to build a team....
sgparlay
03-08-2009, 08:44 AM
imo 20m pounds is really excessive for Lescott...
wonder why they dun want to raid Carvalho (who wants to leave Chelsea) or Upson (reasonably good player like Lescott, shd be able to get at a lower price)
other options can be Woodgate or Anton Ferdinand
padre
03-08-2009, 09:53 AM
Before the season ends, Hughes will be gone.
padre
03-08-2009, 09:57 AM
wonder why they dun want to raid Carvalho (who wants to leave Chelsea) or Upson (reasonably good player like Lescott, shd be able to get at a lower price)
Citeh so rich, everyone will inflate their prices
Cumzilla
03-08-2009, 12:41 PM
Lescott is a left sided CB that the club is short of at the moment, he is also a goal scoring defender, scored something like 5-6 goals for everton last season. Carvalho stated that he will only leave for a overseas club, Upson is ok, but i think he's probably in the 'B list' together with the likes of Ferdinand/woodgate if they are shortlisted by hughes.
Kennedy
03-08-2009, 12:50 PM
They hav the players.....Now its up to the manager to build a team....
when they get rid of Mark Hughes, it could be too late. another season wasted, no UCL again.
At least for now it seem like if they can't get UCL, only the A- to B grade footballers will come to Man City, they need UCL football to attract the world class players.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.