View Full Version : N Wireless Router on Singtel, possible?
jarred1223
27-07-2009, 02:52 PM
Hi, as topic suggests, is it possible to use N wireless router for Singtel's broadband? From what I know, the 2WIRE thingy is a modem + router, so if I want to go N speeds & range the router has to be paired with modem too right?
Or are there any N routers + modem in the market? TIA!
liangtam
27-07-2009, 03:00 PM
Yes
No
Many, Any brand any model
aaur4man
27-07-2009, 03:29 PM
$180 ish
jarred1223
27-07-2009, 03:36 PM
Do these Belkin routers work as well?
Cause the singtel broadband uses phone line right? So I just connect the phone line to the router, configure it and it's good to go?
Belkin N Wireless Router (http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=459569)
Belkin N+ Wireless Router (http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=459640)
aaur4man
27-07-2009, 03:43 PM
yes if u bridge the 2wire modem to use.
no if u wanna use it standalone
DSL-2740B
WAG160N
DGN2000
660HN
F5D8633N
DSL-N13
1015EN
Last but not least my personal fav:
3CRWDR300A $229 This will give u a real N coverage
for N speed u need N adapter as well
also not v cheap
jarred1223
27-07-2009, 04:54 PM
Lets say if I want to use the 2wire as modem, then from 2wire connect lan cable to any of those N routers, still will get N speed?
liangtam
27-07-2009, 04:57 PM
Yes
*10 char*
jarred1223
27-07-2009, 05:05 PM
Ok thanks!
aaur4man
27-07-2009, 05:08 PM
think using as bridge mode and use N wireless is better. but don like cos use more power and ports. prefer less cables as troubleshooting often need space and create clutter.
nuclear_pup
28-07-2009, 01:39 AM
Any problems connecting the 2wire to dlink dir655? Heard there problem hooking there 2 together... True?
Spongy
28-07-2009, 09:54 AM
If you want an integrated modem + N router, you can try Draytek 2820n, selling for $498. Supports dual wan too.
Hollud
28-07-2009, 02:41 PM
Actually, you might want to hold on until next Wednesday.
I'm actually on the mio Plan right now, so I got the 2WIRE 2700HGV-2 box (the grey colour one). With less than 12 months on my contract, I called the SingTel people and said I was interested in swapping to mio Home. Everything went smoothly over the phone, but near the end of the call, the salesperson scheduled a technician to visit and install the modem for me. Curious, I informed the person that I already had my existing mio router.
Interestingly enough, SingTel is rolling out a new mio box. So, next Wednesday, the technician will swing by my place to install the new box. Apparently, I will be able to keep the old one as well, which has served me well.
I'll update this thread when it comes.
zhehao
28-07-2009, 02:55 PM
Hmmm,
I thought the DIR-655 is a modem plus router?
Meaning using it alone can already use the internet already>?
silverstone
28-07-2009, 02:58 PM
Hmmm,
I thought the DIR-655 is a modem plus router?
Meaning using it alone can already use the internet already>?
DIR 655 is a router only. :)
ginseng1
28-07-2009, 04:54 PM
I'm actually on the mio Plan right now, so I got the 2WIRE 2700HGV-2 box (the grey colour one). With less than 12 months on my contract, I called the SingTel people and said I was interested in swapping to mio Home. Everything went smoothly over the phone, but near the end of the call, the salesperson scheduled a technician to visit and install the modem for me. Curious, I informed the person that I already had my existing mio router.
Interestingly enough, SingTel is rolling out a new mio box. So, next Wednesday, the technician will swing by my place to install the new box. Apparently, I will be able to keep the old one as well, which has served me well.
Hmm.. Lets hope its a N router.
I'm also looking to switch over to MIO home but if use new router, have to reconfigure. Sian.
aaur4man
28-07-2009, 06:29 PM
nothing new, just the nice looking white 2wire thats all.
they must install for u cos they wont reveal the settings of mio tv to u. this wlll ensure it is 100% working and you wont need any further details on it.
wait long long for N :) and for N u have to get N adapter too.
aaur4man
28-07-2009, 06:32 PM
If you want an integrated modem + N router, you can try Draytek 2820n, selling for $498. Supports dual wan too.
for corporate use leh lol. but draytek kicks ass. i would pay up to 3com only. because its just consumer broadband after all.
linksys WAG160N still not too bad. Want to have a feel of DGN2000 but too bad dont have multi pvc although rated 1st by testfreak. Last i wanna touch is DSL 2740B before I strike toto and buy my fav brand.
zhehao
28-07-2009, 06:47 PM
Wah siao!
Heng ar.
Damn what a misunderstanding!
I thought DIR-655 is router and Modem together like the MIO 2WIRE and the Zyxel's.
Wah...then how do i connect it to a modem?
Any modem cum router for wireless N which is good?
aaur4man
28-07-2009, 06:52 PM
i have a sale thread on office modem cum router that supports Mio u can see.
otherwise here are some of the n adsl routers in sg:
DGN2000
DSL-2740B
WAG160N
660HN
DSL-N13
and of course the N version of what im selling is >$200 :)
28-07-2009, 09:58 PM
No need to set the 2Wire modem to bridge if it is 2701. NOt sure for 2700. Configure your router as PPOE behind the 2Wire LAN port. It will still work as 2701 modem is multi-connection. Thats how I configure at home.
Lovely!!
:)
zhehao
28-07-2009, 10:40 PM
Erm wondering, will the performance decrease if i bridge dir-655 with 2701hgv-e cause the 2701 kinda bottle neck it.Got such thing?
And when i need portforward to bittorrent or hsot games,i need to forward the modem or router or both?
Thanks so much!
29-07-2009, 02:18 AM
Erm wondering, will the performance decrease if i bridge dir-655 with 2701hgv-e cause the 2701 kinda bottle neck it.Got such thing?
And when i need portforward to bittorrent or hsot games,i need to forward the modem or router or both?
Thanks so much!
Hi .. if you configure your DIR-655 as PPOE dial-thru to your modem, only configure the port forwarding on your DIR-655.
For me .. I disable the wireless on the 2701. The only connection other than DIR-655 is the MIO TV box to the 2701 and the VOIP.
If there is guess, I can configure the 2701 wireless open for guest to surf without affecting my configuration at the DIR-655. Perfect for me.
Of course for one thing is both are sharing the same bandwidth to the internet. But then if you didnt connect any other LAN host to the 2701, by right the DIR-655 should get the full bandwidth. So .. no in other word, 2701 no need to be in bridge mode to behave like a full modem.
NOTE : My 2701 is not being configured in Bridge Mode. It is the default setting as per Singtel Installer except I changed the password of the modem
Hollud
29-07-2009, 03:00 AM
nothing new, just the nice looking white 2wire thats all.
they must install for u cos they wont reveal the settings of mio tv to u. this wlll ensure it is 100% working and you wont need any further details on it.
wait long long for N :) and for N u have to get N adapter too.
From a technical standpoint, they don't have to do anything since I already have mio TV. My 2WIRE box is working fine, but they are still coming down to issue the new box to me.
In fact, I am pretty sure this is a new box because back in June, I needed one of the technicians to come down and check out my phone line. It was crossed seven ways to Sunday, so we had some light conversation as he fiddled around. Through our light chatter, he remarked that SingTel would be releasing a new mio Box some time between July and August. Although he did ask me to keep it hush-hush, his story did corroborate with the sales person over the line that settled my mio Home for me.
And when I asked the sales person over the line more details about the new box, all he could say was, "It's better."
As for 802.11n, I've already got 2 laptops at home that are N-capable. My other 2 laptops are 802.11a/b/g. My lone desktop (disconnected ever since I shifted my 2WIRE box from the bedroom to the living room) is due to gain a wireless adaptor of sorts. And let's not forget that the final draft specification of 802.11n has already been passed to IEEE-SA RevCom for approval. Expected time for the approval into full-fledged 802.11n is September 11, 2009.
The 802.11n Draft 2.0 standard is said to be the closest to the final release, which means there will be little or no changes when the standard is passed. This means pre-existing Draft 2.0 devices will work with the final specification of 802.11n. So buying a 802.11n Draft 2.0 router now will last you until the product's EOL.
Hollud
29-07-2009, 03:18 AM
Hi .. if you configure your DIR-655 as PPOE dial-thru to your modem, only configure the port forwarding on your DIR-655.
For me .. I disable the wireless on the 2701. The only connection other than DIR-655 is the MIO TV box to the 2701 and the VOIP.
If there is guess, I can configure the 2701 wireless open for guest to surf without affecting my configuration at the DIR-655. Perfect for me.
Of course for one thing is both are sharing the same bandwidth to the internet. But then if you didnt connect any other LAN host to the 2701, by right the DIR-655 should get the full bandwidth. So .. no in other word, 2701 no need to be in bridge mode to behave like a full modem.
You could set the port that the DIR-655 is on as a DMZ, resulting in any port forwarding management to be left by your D-Link router. Any form of local connection going through the 2WIRE box as it is still in "Routing" mode will go through the 2WIRE's firewall.
If you are presently using services such as mio Voice and/or mio TV, setting your 2WIRE box into bridge mode may disable those services. As suggested, you can turn off the wireless on your 2WIRE box and make your wireless connections purely through the DIR-655.
However, do take note that the 2WIRE box (with the exception of its pesky firewall handling) is a very capable 802.11b/g router. If you have newer N-capable hardware around the house, you could create 2 wireless networks. Enabling your 2WIRE's wireless could allow support for older devices (e.g. "NetworkDemo") while enabling your DIR-655 as a N-only wireless could allow for your newer hardware to use the faster network (e.g. "NetworkDemoN").
So far, I haven't had much to complain on the 2WIRE with regards on gaming. While I don't game a lot, the occasional quick match of Left 4 Dead works perfectly well. My brother, who is more of a gamer than me, has no complaints either.
liangtam
29-07-2009, 10:18 AM
How much penalty do you need to pay for changing to mio Home for more than 3 months contracts existing?
Twinsen
29-07-2009, 12:01 PM
Sorry, I am not a very good networking guy.. have a qn on your setup... if u r using the original singnet config and you have your 655 running as well..
doesn't that result in a double NAT?
Thanks.
NOTE : My 2701 is not being configured in Bridge Mode. It is the default setting as per Singtel Installer except I changed the password of the modem
liangtam
29-07-2009, 12:14 PM
Sorry, I am not a very good networking guy.. have a qn on your setup... if u r using the original singnet config and you have your 655 running as well..
doesn't that result in a double NAT?
Thanks.
Its kinda confusing, isnt it? His method is a direct connect but not double NAT method.
Twinsen
29-07-2009, 02:01 PM
Yeah... so no performance hit if I do it this way too?
Think you quite expert, ask you another qn... just applied for singnet yesterday.. they tell me my area cannot support MioTV? Is it because the bandwidth not enough? does this mean my internet connection is probably going to be crappy too? Getting a bit worried but applied liao..
Thanks Guru!
Its kinda confusing, isnt it? His method is a direct connect but not double NAT method.
jarred1223
29-07-2009, 03:02 PM
Is it possible to change the channel for the Singtel 2WIRE modem+router?
phuque99
29-07-2009, 03:28 PM
Is it possible to change the channel for the Singtel 2WIRE modem+router?
yes it is possible.
aaur4man
29-07-2009, 06:46 PM
How much penalty do you need to pay for changing to mio Home for more than 3 months contracts existing?
as long as u have completed 12 months of ur contract, u can opt for mio home without penalty.
new contract is 24 - 30 mths depending on ur remaining current contractal period
30-07-2009, 12:35 AM
You could set the port that the DIR-655 is on as a DMZ, resulting in any port forwarding management to be left by your D-Link router. Any form of local connection going through the 2WIRE box as it is still in "Routing" mode will go through the 2WIRE's firewall.
If you are presently using services such as mio Voice and/or mio TV, setting your 2WIRE box into bridge mode may disable those services. As suggested, you can turn off the wireless on your 2WIRE box and make your wireless connections purely through the DIR-655.
However, do take note that the 2WIRE box (with the exception of its pesky firewall handling) is a very capable 802.11b/g router. If you have newer N-capable hardware around the house, you could create 2 wireless networks. Enabling your 2WIRE's wireless could allow support for older devices (e.g. "NetworkDemo") while enabling your DIR-655 as a N-only wireless could allow for your newer hardware to use the faster network (e.g. "NetworkDemoN").
So far, I haven't had much to complain on the 2WIRE with regards on gaming. While I don't game a lot, the occasional quick match of Left 4 Dead works perfectly well. My brother, who is more of a gamer than me, has no complaints either.
well .. I have tired several ways.. DMZ is far worst due to the slowest boot up of the 2Wire devices. I take 2 days to try different setting before getting down to the current which by far I am the most happy with. At least I could use 655 full gigabit supportability. I do not doubt 2wire firewall capability, but I have gone thru its setting, by far, it aint better or near better than 655 in my opinion. It is still a capable router for most user, but not for me at least. For once, luckily I do not have legacy wireless nor intent to use legacy devices .. so I choose security over legacy devices. So .. at least I am happy I could do majority of my stuff as usual after switching from MOL to Singtel.
Cheers .
Twinsen
04-08-2009, 01:08 PM
I am trying out your method but it doesn't seems to work for me.. I connect the WAN port of my 655 to one of the 2701 ethernet port right?
My PPoe on my 655 is unable to connect
Thanks for your help in advance
No need to set the 2Wire modem to bridge if it is 2701. NOt sure for 2700. Configure your router as PPOE behind the 2Wire LAN port. It will still work as 2701 modem is multi-connection. Thats how I configure at home.
Lovely!!
:)
04-08-2009, 03:04 PM
I am trying out your method but it doesn't seems to work for me.. I connect the WAN port of my 655 to one of the 2701 ethernet port right?
My PPoe on my 655 is unable to connect
Thanks for your help in advance
yup.. funny that at my home .. it works.... without bridge mode. Let me go check my setting again...
Twinsen
04-08-2009, 04:22 PM
Thanks bro. I tried with two routers, both same..PPOE cannot connect.. must be something different on your 2wire..
yup.. funny that at my home .. it works.... without bridge mode. Let me go check my setting again...
normanho23
04-08-2009, 06:10 PM
I am using the Mio Home White 2Wire modem but seems to have problems on the signal strength. I stay in a 4 rm flat and the modem is sitting nicely on my TV console. However, when I try to surf net in the Master Bedroom toilet, signal strength dropped to almost zero. The toilet is less than 7m from the modem and is separated by 2 doors only. Is this common or is there problem with the modem router?
Twinsen
04-08-2009, 06:25 PM
I think the 2wire router wireless range is pretty crappy.. that is why i am trying to get my dir-655 to work.. and turn off the wireless on the 2wire..
aaur4man
04-08-2009, 11:40 PM
I am using the Mio Home White 2Wire modem but seems to have problems on the signal strength. I stay in a 4 rm flat and the modem is sitting nicely on my TV console. However, when I try to surf net in the Master Bedroom toilet, signal strength dropped to almost zero. The toilet is less than 7m from the modem and is separated by 2 doors only. Is this common or is there problem with the modem router?
antenna are built-in.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.