PDA

View Full Version : Seagate 1TB and 1.5 TB models failing at alarming rate

Axioaxio
28-07-2009, 09:29 AM
Hi pal,

came across this website....
Please have a look.... Seagate hd got problem agains.....

Ryan Price's Blog
Top of Form
Bottom of Form
Seagate 1TB and 1.5 TB models failing at alarming rate

July 25th, 2009 Ryan Price

Recently this past year Seagate was one of the first companies to release a 1.5 TB drive. However, having this claim to fame doesn’t have much flack when you have an alarming number of the models failing. From personal experience, my dilemma started in January when for a birthday present i was surprised with a 1.5 TB drive to upgrade my 500GB drive (also a Seagate).

Less than a month in the drive began to make a clicking noise and locking up for 30 seconds or more. I promptly went to Seagate, got an RMA request and got a replacement drive. Everything seemed ok until April rolled around and my 1 TB Drive started exhibiting the exact same problem minus the clicking. Now familiar with the RMA process i returned the drive, this time to my surprise it was a “Certified Repaired” drive…(this is what i pay good money for..a failed drive that has been ‘fixed?!). The 1TB drive now has Windows 7 RTM on it and is running great to my surprise. One Week after getting this drive back, I’m back where i started, the 1.5TB drive with CC1H firmware (checking the Seagate site it claims its not affected..i beg to differ) This time transfer rates are on par with the speed of a 56k modem..

Needless to say i am ASHAMED of Seagate. A company that has had my heart and loyalty for over 10 years all thrown away with this deplorable excuse of a product. Frankly i am surprised there isn’t a class action law suit yet. Needless to say i am really pondering weather or not to send the 1.5 drive back..The money i have wasted on RMA-ing these drives could have bought me a Western Digital drive or a Samsung drive which i hear are doing quite well. To those of you considering buying Seagate drives in the near future, stay away from the 1TB and 1.5TB models…at least until they get them fixed.

Shameful Seagate, absolutely shameful..I’d be replacing each of these failing drives with the 7200.12’s or the ES2’s…yet you don’t. You have lost my business

magix89
30-07-2009, 08:46 AM
Hi pal,

came across this website....
Please have a look.... Seagate hd got problem agains.....

Ryan Price's Blog
Top of Form
Bottom of Form
Seagate 1TB and 1.5 TB models failing at alarming rate

July 25th, 2009 Ryan Price

Recently this past year Seagate was one of the first companies to release a 1.5 TB drive. However, having this claim to fame doesn’t have much flack when you have an alarming number of the models failing. From personal experience, my dilemma started in January when for a birthday present i was surprised with a 1.5 TB drive to upgrade my 500GB drive (also a Seagate).

Less than a month in the drive began to make a clicking noise and locking up for 30 seconds or more. I promptly went to Seagate, got an RMA request and got a replacement drive. Everything seemed ok until April rolled around and my 1 TB Drive started exhibiting the exact same problem minus the clicking. Now familiar with the RMA process i returned the drive, this time to my surprise it was a “Certified Repaired” drive…(this is what i pay good money for..a failed drive that has been ‘fixed?!). The 1TB drive now has Windows 7 RTM on it and is running great to my surprise. One Week after getting this drive back, I’m back where i started, the 1.5TB drive with CC1H firmware (checking the Seagate site it claims its not affected..i beg to differ) This time transfer rates are on par with the speed of a 56k modem..

Needless to say i am ASHAMED of Seagate. A company that has had my heart and loyalty for over 10 years all thrown away with this deplorable excuse of a product. Frankly i am surprised there isn’t a class action law suit yet. Needless to say i am really pondering weather or not to send the 1.5 drive back..The money i have wasted on RMA-ing these drives could have bought me a Western Digital drive or a Samsung drive which i hear are doing quite well. To those of you considering buying Seagate drives in the near future, stay away from the 1TB and 1.5TB models…at least until they get them fixed.

Shameful Seagate, absolutely shameful..I’d be replacing each of these failing drives with the 7200.12’s or the ES2’s…yet you don’t. You have lost my business

Oh, :s31: No wonder Seagate change their warranty from 5 years to 3 years... But does anyone knows which brand still offers 5 Years Warranty?

Axioaxio
30-07-2009, 08:49 AM
Oh, :s31: No wonder Seagate change their warranty from 5 years to 3 years... But does anyone knows which brand still offers 5 Years Warranty?

if i'm not wrong, all brand come with 3yrs warranty liao.

W.D come with 3yrs warranty, another 2yrs cover by achieva.
Total 5yrs warranty.......... But must have achieva warranty card lo.....

barok
30-07-2009, 11:00 AM
i just built 3 of these 1.5tb in raid-5 with ta790gxe 128M.
the drives have cc1h firmware. so far, it's doing fine under windows 7 x64 rc with gpt partition.
but i guess it needs to be monitored further.

Axioaxio
30-07-2009, 11:24 AM
i just built 3 of these 1.5tb in raid-5 with ta790gxe 128M.
the drives have cc1h firmware. so far, it's doing fine under windows 7 x64 rc with gpt partition.
but i guess it needs to be monitored further.

Ok,

hope their hd don't give anymore problem to customer like us.....
Study hard 1st before they sell ma, or else all out data will be gone case......:(

IntimacyR
30-07-2009, 12:29 PM
dun scare me leh.. just bought their freeagent... hahahaha....

think WD still more reliable compared to seagate bah.. wat you all think?

Axioaxio
30-07-2009, 07:33 PM
dun scare me leh.. just bought their freeagent... hahahaha....

think WD still more reliable compared to seagate bah.. wat you all think?

Heehee,
me get ovation inside using WD hd..... heng ah........ :s13:

magix89
30-07-2009, 11:01 PM
Me also bought Ovation... collected all 3 colours. one for photos, one for work... the third, actually for my sis... :s13:

cool, slim and nice... :D

Axioaxio
31-07-2009, 08:38 AM
Me also bought Ovation... collected all 3 colours. one for photos, one for work... the third, actually for my sis... :s13:

cool, slim and nice... :D

heehee,
maybe we could have group buy for mini ovation hor.....:D
:D:D

zankenny
31-07-2009, 11:01 AM
me also got an ovation over the weekend... cool!

epos
31-07-2009, 02:10 PM
3 RMA on 2 HDD and you claim "Seagate 1TB and 1.5 TB models failing at alarming rate"?

if that case, can I say WD can not be trusted cause they had been reported to fail in a few weeks by many users? (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2406902).

just because you are promoting WD doesn't mean other brands are POS, no?

Axioaxio
31-07-2009, 05:02 PM
3 RMA on 2 HDD and you claim "Seagate 1TB and 1.5 TB models failing at alarming rate"?

if that case, can I say WD can not be trusted cause they had been reported to fail in a few weeks by many users? (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2406902).

just because you are promoting WD doesn't mean other brands are POS, no?

Hi pal,
fyi...
Seagate 1TB and 1.5 TB models failing at alarming rate"?

is not write by us, we get it from the website.
And this website are from US. not singapore.....

I agree with you not all brand can be trusted, but please read all the seagate remarks.
Why other don't said about samsung, WD or hitachi no good le.

Alot of bro and sis here had alot of seagate hd, but we lost all our important data.
Not 1 kena, alot of brother and sister here also got it.

We are not here for promoting any brand, if other are good or not good.
I thinks is good to let all member here know.

epos
31-07-2009, 08:26 PM
Hi pal,
fyi...
Seagate 1TB and 1.5 TB models failing at alarming rate"?

is not write by us, we get it from the website.
And this website are from US. not singapore.....

the website is quoted by you and its your thread title--wheres the "we" and "us" came from? and you fail to provide the link.

I agree with you not all brand can be trusted, but please read all the seagate remarks.
Why other don't said about samsung, WD or hitachi no good le.

Alot of bro and sis here had alot of seagate hd, but we lost all our important data.
Not 1 kena, alot of brother and sister here also got it.

every brands had been criticize before in this forum, especially so when the user just lost his/her data because he/she failed to do back up. I'm here long enough to see, every now and then, these thread pop up.

We are not here for promoting any brand, if other are good or not good.
I thinks is good to let all member here know.

pardon me but please stop being hypocrite, its not wrong to like a brand but please provide hard proof for the other brand that you don't like. e.g. the Seagate 7200.11 model with SDxx firmware is proven to be defective but that doesn't mean every other Seagate can not be trusted. one/two or even a hundred/thousand users is tiny compare to the million of Seagate users, be objective please.

BTW, I'm not a Seagate supporter, I only have 3 Seagate, out of a few dozen HDDs--1/3 are WD and 50% are IBM/Hitachi.

KenQuek
01-08-2009, 06:30 AM
To say the Seagate 1TB and 1.5 TB models failing at alarming rate is not exactly wrong. I'm a Hitachi supporter but only recently bought the Seagate .12 for my NAS because of lesser platter and thus run cooler. Yes they did, 35c vs 45c is a big difference. But one of the new drives developed bad sectors less than a week later.

Called up seagate and they say it is normal for a new drive to have bad sectors and will be re-allocated. Worst thing is the lady says it is not a valid reason to send in hdd with bad sectors unless over 250 bad sectors found. Also mentioned to me that data in bad sectors cannot be recovered, so i voiced at her if it is fair for me to use a NEW HDD that is starting to lose my data. Provide me email address to complain to Seagate somemore. Luckily managed to do a 1-1 exchange with the shop. I know i can just send for RMA, but seriously what kind of support is that.

I know Seagate HDDs tend to have bad sectors 'easily' but didn't expect to get them so soon!
There are plenty threads of the .11 and .12 drives developing bad sectors in weeks. I regret not doing a thorough research before purchase.

http://forums.seagate.com/stx/board/message?board.id=ata_drives&thread.id=5431

http://forums.seagate.com/stx/board/message?board.id=ata_drives&message.id=13146

http://forums.seagate.com/stx/board/message?board.id=ata_drives&message.id=3633

http://forums.seagate.com/stx/board/message?board.id=ata_drives&message.id=13950

Suggest Seagate users to frequently take a look at the Smart status report of the HDD.

Axioaxio
01-08-2009, 01:31 PM
the website is quoted by you and its your thread title--wheres the "we" and "us" came from? and you fail to provide the link.

every brands had been criticize before in this forum, especially so when the user just lost his/her data because he/she failed to do back up. I'm here long enough to see, every now and then, these thread pop up.

pardon me but please stop being hypocrite, its not wrong to like a brand but please provide hard proof for the other brand that you don't like. e.g. the Seagate 7200.11 model with SDxx firmware is proven to be defective but that doesn't mean every other Seagate can not be trusted. one/two or even a hundred/thousand users is tiny compare to the million of Seagate users, be objective please.

BTW, I'm not a Seagate supporter, I only have 3 Seagate, out of a few dozen HDDs--1/3 are WD and 50% are IBM/Hitachi.

Well,
no point argue this and that.

I will try to get the link for everyone and to YOU.
Since you said i fail to provide the link.
As what i mention, i'm not here to pin point any brand.
i'm here to share with bro and sister which brand is good or bad.

Frank speaking, i used to be seagate supporter till this year fed' 09.
Their hd came with firmware problem and i start change to other brand,

Other also have problem, not cause me lost all my important data and photo...

Maybe your seagate hd no such problem, but that does not apply to all people here.

epos
01-08-2009, 02:36 PM
To say the Seagate 1TB and 1.5 TB models failing at alarming rate is not exactly wrong. I'm a Hitachi supporter but only recently bought the Seagate .12 for my NAS because of lesser platter and thus run cooler. Yes they did, 35c vs 45c is a big difference. But one of the new drives developed bad sectors less than a week later.

Called up seagate and they say it is normal for a new drive to have bad sectors and will be re-allocated. Worst thing is the lady says it is not a valid reason to send in hdd with bad sectors unless over 250 bad sectors found. Also mentioned to me that data in bad sectors cannot be recovered, so i voiced at her if it is fair for me to use a NEW HDD that is starting to lose my data. Provide me email address to complain to Seagate somemore. Luckily managed to do a 1-1 exchange with the shop. I know i can just send for RMA, but seriously what kind of support is that.

I know Seagate HDDs tend to have bad sectors 'easily' but didn't expect to get them so soon!
There are plenty threads of the .11 and .12 drives developing bad sectors in weeks. I regret not doing a thorough research before purchase.

http://forums.seagate.com/stx/board/message?board.id=ata_drives&message.id=13146

http://forums.seagate.com/stx/board/message?board.id=ata_drives&message.id=13950

Suggest Seagate users to frequently take a look at the Smart status report of the HDD.

I wonder who did you called? any manufacturer will accept RMA even if only one bad sector. did you call the shop/distributor instead of Seagate themshelve?

btw, I can post the same thread from other manufacturer's forum as well. does that mean others are failing at alarming rate also?

jarred1223
01-08-2009, 02:43 PM

Lol what a reply. It's like shooting their own legs.

epos
01-08-2009, 02:50 PM
Well,
no point argue this and that.

I will try to get the link for everyone and to YOU.
Since you said i fail to provide the link.
As what i mention, i'm not here to pin point any brand.
i'm here to share with bro and sister which brand is good or bad.

if you not pin pointing any brand, why is Seagate in your thread title and keep promoting WD in the later posts? how many Seagate/WD have your used to claim one brand is better than the other?

Frank speaking, i used to be Seagate supporter till this year fed' 09.
Their hd came with firmware problem and i start change to other brand,

well, I'm NOT a Seagate supporter nor a WD basher, that probably allow me to have a more objective perspective.

Other also have problem, not cause me lost all my important data and photo...

Maybe your Seagate hd no such problem, but that does not apply to all people here.

that's a very bold claim, are you implying all Seagate HDD except mine are having problem? I'm not here t claim which brand is better, just pointing out the fact--you can't condemn a brand just because you had bad experience. just as your last line:

Maybe your Seagate hd have such problem, but that does not apply to all people here.

KenQuek
01-08-2009, 03:29 PM
I wonder who did you called? any manufacturer will accept RMA even if only one bad sector. did you call the shop/distributor instead of Seagate themshelve?

btw, I can post the same thread from other manufacturer's forum as well. does that mean others are failing at alarming rate also?

I did mentioned Seagate clearly right? I didn't reply to start an argument, you own Seagate?

Just take a look at their forum, or do a simple search anywhere. Ah forget it.:s13:

epos
01-08-2009, 04:08 PM
I did mentioned Seagate clearly right? I didn't reply to start an argument, you own Seagate?

Just take a look at their forum, or do a simple search anywhere. Ah forget it.:s13:

nah, just wondering why would a person bother to call up Seagate to argue with them when they can just follow the guided instruction ([url=http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=731779) and create an RMA at Seagate website. people...:look:

Axioaxio
01-08-2009, 04:19 PM

Hi pal,
no point talk so much la...

I will try to get the link i post before and show everyone here.

At least i'm not saying for nothing or he may thinks i'm in the who write all this.

Let him use seagate if he 1 to.
Let him lost all this important data and he will understand how we felt.

KenQuek
01-08-2009, 08:20 PM
nah, just wondering why would a person bother to call up Seagate to argue with them when they can just follow the guided instruction ([url=http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=731779) and create an RMA at Seagate website. people...:look:

Changed question now huh. I called Seagate to ask for a 1-1 exchange in case shop don't allow an exchange can't i? Will you send in your 6 day old HDD for RMA and get back a refurbished happily?

Now keep quiet. You are just not speaking from experience. We don't need to hear your thoughts.

KenQuek
01-08-2009, 08:23 PM
Hi pal,

At least i'm not saying for nothing or he may thinks i'm in the who write all this.

It is a fact that recent Seagate drives are having hell lots of problem.

epos
02-08-2009, 01:22 AM
Hi pal,

ha! I am speechless for this kind of childish behavior. :look:

I am asking you to back up your claim, like if you want to quote, attach the link.

epos
02-08-2009, 01:30 AM
Changed question now huh. I called Seagate to ask for a 1-1 exchange in case shop don't allow an exchange can't i? Will you send in your 6 day old HDD for RMA and get back a refurbished happily?

Now keep quiet. You are just not speaking from experience. We don't need to hear your thoughts.

yet another kid trying to act tough, now I understand why Seagate personnel is giving that kind of reply to you.

this is a forum, if you don't like the comments from others, don't post.

now try make me to keep quiet. :s13:

p.s. the way this thread is heading, soon it will go to trash bin...maybe that's where it should belong.

KenQuek
02-08-2009, 01:45 AM
yet another kid trying to act tough, now I understand why Seagate personnel is giving that kind of reply to you.

this is a forum, if you don't like the comments from others, don't post.

now try make me to keep quiet. :s13:

p.s. the way this thread is heading, soon it will go to trash bin...maybe that's where it should belong.

And do you enjoy posting like such? You are the one making the thread go OT. Kid? sigh... I wish i am still one. Have fun posting your so called comments...

epos
02-08-2009, 02:18 AM
And do you enjoy posting like such? You are the one making the thread go OT. Kid? sigh... I wish i am still one. Have fun posting your so called comments...

me make the thread go OT?

huh..lets see, I ask TS to back up his claim, provide the source link, be objective...

I ask you if you call Seagate or shop/distributor and got a hostile reply with do I own Seagate? then I explain by asking why you don't go straight to Seagate to RMA and got a even more tough reply telling me to keep quiet...can't believe this is from an "adult"...now who is making this thread go the trash way?

no, I don't enjoy being ask to keep quiet, do you?

pa9797
02-08-2009, 02:54 PM
my Seagate 7200.12 still serving me well. low temps , good seek speed and most important of all quiet

viix
02-08-2009, 03:21 PM

the we/us refers to many other seagate users who had the hdd with problematic firmwares..
while buying HDD is a heng or suay thing, this seagate issue is really large.. apparently though, only a certain smaller batch is affected in singapore..

NOTE that many online users with the affected firmware DIDN'T have problems with their HDD. They were just concerned and making a hooha over getting seagate replaced their functioning HDD but were rejected..

I have 8 HDD by seagate and lucky none were in the affected batch and none has failed me.. my correspondance though weren't so lucky.. they had their entire storage server affected so migrating data was a pita.. I must add none failed but precautionary measures were in place... I agree though with epos that it doesn't mean seagate cannot be trusted.. it is just a one time issue that only time can tell..

Users with critical data just have to do their due diligence in backing up every damn shiatz.. don't blame the HDD companies..

vivalabam
02-08-2009, 03:32 PM
seagate oh seagate, looks like its sinking in the sea.

malcom90
02-08-2009, 04:16 PM
7200.12 drives seems ok. have a 1 tb one.
anyways, i am backing up data

Axioaxio
02-08-2009, 05:31 PM
ha! I am speechless for this kind of childish behavior. :look:

I am asking you to back up your claim, like if you want to quote, attach the link.

Don't worry,

as per your requested.

I will attach the link for you tomorrow wheni'm back to office....

Nice day..... :s13:

epos
02-08-2009, 07:44 PM
Don't worry,

as per your requested.

I will attach the link for you tomorrow wheni'm back to office....

Nice day..... :s13:

until now you still don't understand why I ask you to attach the source/link when quoting other's writing?

since finding the source is that difficult, you need days to accomplish, here, I save you the trouble:

Ryan Price's Blog >> Seagate 1TB and 1.5 TB models failing at alarming rate (http://www.bluescreenofdeath.org/?p=91)

chunxi
02-08-2009, 09:28 PM
the writer of the blog is very funny leh
he only bought 2 of the millions of drives seagate produced and he claimed all 1T and 1.5T are failing at alarming rate ???
maybe his system setup got problem or there some stress application he installed.

most of the happy users won't even make any noise or even knowing they are using the 'problem' drive, so how you know the failure rate ?

Axioaxio
03-08-2009, 08:39 AM
until now you still don't understand why I ask you to attach the source/link when quoting other's writing?

since finding the source is that difficult, you need days to accomplish, here, I save you the trouble:

Ryan Price's Blog >> Seagate 1TB and 1.5 TB models failing at alarming rate (http://www.bluescreenofdeath.org/?p=91)

Here another link for you.

http://www.bluescreenofdeath.org/?p=91

Of course i don't understand la.
Your ah mo so deep how to understand you leh.... :D

epos
03-08-2009, 02:49 PM
Here another link for you.

http://www.bluescreenofdeath.org/?p=91

Of course i don't understand la.
Your ah mo so deep how to understand you leh.... :D

you beginning to sound like...get a hold of yourself...

vivalabam
03-08-2009, 02:58 PM
fact of the matter is, even without this post i'd give seagate a wide berth. they've messed up wayy too much with their 7200.11 series.

almost as though they inherited maxtor's curse when they bought over the company.

Axioaxio
03-08-2009, 04:15 PM
you beginning to sound like...get a hold of yourself...

Ok la,

anyway i have prove the link.
All misunderstading are clear lor....

Next time don't use too deep ah bo, ok...
Mi ah bo not good le.... :D

Axioaxio
05-08-2009, 07:12 PM
[QUOTE=Axioaxio;39377259]Ok la,

Ok la,

anyway i have prove the link.
All misunderstading are clear lor....

Next time don't use too deep ah bo, ok...
Mi ah bo not good le....

mchong67
13-08-2009, 04:22 PM
heehee,
maybe we could have group buy for mini ovation hor.....:D
:D:D

wah so many ovation owners? need to ask....i saw 2 ovation 2.5" hdd models. one is the slim and the other is the one-touch backup-something. can confirm the former cannot take out the HDD one (if i wish to exchange) but the latter can? thks.....

Axioaxio
17-08-2009, 05:06 PM
wah so many ovation owners? need to ask....i saw 2 ovation 2.5" hdd models. one is the slim and the other is the one-touch backup-something. can confirm the former cannot take out the HDD one (if i wish to exchange) but the latter can? thks.....

Hi Pal,

just saw sim lim selling mini ovation come with free pouch nowadays.

Last time when i bought, no free pouch le... :o