View Full Version : [Quick review]D-Link DIR-600 Wireless 150Mbps router
liangtam
29-07-2009, 11:43 PM
>> Intro | Product image and screenshot (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=39291112&posted=1#post39291112) | Practical usage and performance (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=39291115&posted=1#post39291115) | Closing thoughts (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=39291119&posted=1#post39291119)
http://i27.tinypic.com/dgh115.jpg
This is a short guide only. Walked around SLS yesterday in assisting my friend getting a new wireless router. With the numerous number of models crowding retail shops' shelf AND a budget of $80, it is hard to make a choice due to the wide variety of product fitting this budget, however I do managed to single this out for $79 as my choice. As with standard D-link practice of lifetime warranty, this makes it more compelling as a purchase target.
Why DIR-600 then? This is not your common wireless g router flooded in the market. It is actually a 1 Transmit, 1 Receive[1T1R] single antenna-designed wireless N router. If you notice a few other brand offerings, all makers are actually careful in not slapping the word Wireless N on the box and product, as it does not reference to the current Draft N specifications.
Another reason for my purchase will lie on the chipset used in this hardware, as I would not reveal for now.
We shall now see how a 1T1R router will actually fare against the cheaper and widely available Wireless G and the much more expensive 2T(2/3R) N routers. This will give us an idea if such products is actually worth forking out the money and where possible, replaces existing 802.11g routers in the lower-end segments.
Stay with me as we walk through the reviewing process and to be able to make a smart & 'informed' purchase :D
PS: In case you're wondering, I need to forward the set to my friend soon, so not much comprehensive test can be done, though I will still put some load such as basic bittorrent connection handling as with the other models I have done previously. Please make any other test/request early :)
liangtam
29-07-2009, 11:43 PM
Picture galore of the product.
Externally - Front and back
http://i27.tinypic.com/33tnpg4.jpg
http://i27.tinypic.com/2j67h9u.jpg
Internally
http://i29.tinypic.com/301n7lz.jpg
Main ICs in this product:
Ralink RT3050F System on Chip(SoC) - aka 1 chip solution with MIPS processor, eth switch etc all combined.
Nanya NT5SV16M16BS-6K 16MB Ram
Spansion S29GL032N90TF104 4MB 90ns flash chip
---------------
Typical user experience: Web UI
D-Link standardized product's web interface is probably not new to quite a number of users already. I will display some for references.
http://192.168.0.1
Login: admin | Password:
http://i31.tinypic.com/2gt7uht.jpg
The captcha is a recent release accross a number of D-link models. It can be disabled if needs be.
You will then begin with the quick setup for your WAN/Internet connection after login
http://i31.tinypic.com/2hsau4n.jpg
Wireless configuration, some of the other wifi related configuration are shifted over the Advanced tab.
Do disable auto channel, and WPS is you do not have a compatible adapter.
http://i27.tinypic.com/34rg9w7.jpg
Basic QoS
http://i30.tinypic.com/r1nb6u.jpg
The virtual cable tester(VCT) feature is not something new, although D-Link is probably the only manufacturer who integrates such feature on a large scale , even in the lower-end market segment. You can use this function to check if there are any bad or broken wires as well as rough measurement of your cable length. This saves you time and trouble if you used a questionable cable or are crimping a new one :)
liangtam
29-07-2009, 11:44 PM
Normal day to day use
When you first began setting up the router, you'll encounter the first bug in the shipping firmware. The good thing is, this bug is minor and very unlikely to affect you unless your current device or OS had problems. The default DHCP lease time is 1440 minutes, while your PC only gets a 60 second lease and needs to renew per 30-40 sec. This bug is however gone when your WAN is established(for some reasons).
http://i27.tinypic.com/fxy1bb.jpg
A reasonably quick and effective way of testing on the router's stability is by doing a quick simulation of real world practical user loads, in this case, some P2P/bittorrent traffic was generated with roughly 70-280 connections established over a span of few hour over a spread of three torrent file of varying health ratios. While there are no specific abnormalities noticed, it is best if you keep the number of connection down, so as to maintain a stable connection link between your ISP and the modem(not the router) ;)
PS: The torrents used are, well.... legal files =:p
---------------
Unit throughput performance
The following below is what the router is capable of in terms of throughput performance. These are for your reference :)
WAN-LAN:
http://i31.tinypic.com/doan93.jpg
~93Mbps is the practical maximum rate you can get from Fast Ethernet(100Mbps) device.
LAN-WLAN:
http://i32.tinypic.com/2re1nqq.jpg
In the case of the new draft N standard utilizing more transmit antenna to achieve higher throughput. This 1T1R designed product however, is able to produce an interesting 80Mbps throughput with no MIMO element present.
However, there is an important thing to note actually, some of the 2T3R Draft N routers on current market are actually not even performing near 80Mbps! With quite a number hovering around only 50-60Mbps.
80Mbps is also roughly 4x the gain compared to the existing Wireless G rate.
If you always relied on wifi like I do for some of your PC connectivity and is considering a new budget router, it makes sense to pick this for better transfer rate. :)
PS: If anyone do realise by now, all my previous test setup uses the Ralink RT2870 USB adapter. The secret to getting high throughput is actually because of constant driver and kernel update from Ralink that makes their product spin, and the best part is, it is cheaper than competitors' ! :D
liangtam
29-07-2009, 11:44 PM
Acknowledgement & Thanks
Before I come to any summarizations, let me first thank my friend for letting me do the purchase(and ripping his unit apart without his knowledge). Though I would be happy if he not notice that the warranty sticker is torn away while in the process(and hence not KO me instead) :o
Misc Issues
With the exception of the DHCP bug, there might be some teething issue with the physical unit itself, and some personal rants. Here I will list out the info.
- WPS button is very hard to press, and *may* seems to break after some constant/forced pressing due to no retainers.
- Warranty void sticker leaves residue :o
Closing thoughts
The DIR-600 is a new model that at first glance, does not seemingly stand out of the crowd(if you have yet to see the piano black top surface). It does however packs the punch in terms of throughput performance that you'd probably not have imagined.
While there are no doubts that 802.11g products are getting phased out soon, at the pricepoint of $79 it does seems to make the current 1T1R in the mid-range compared to the sub-40 dollars the former commands for. Lets hope it will get cheaper soon, so we can start embracing and the former can go the ways of the dinosaurs :D
liangtam
29-07-2009, 11:45 PM
Any future updates or left-out information to be filled?
richneo
30-07-2009, 11:57 AM
http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/3968/dir600.png
commach
30-07-2009, 12:09 PM
5V 1.2A, lower than the DI-524 at 5V 1.5A, i would expect it to run much cooler than current crop of Dlink's routers, the DIR615 require 5V 2.5A.....
liangtam
30-07-2009, 12:58 PM
5V 1.2A, lower than the DI-524 at 5V 1.5A, i would expect it to run much cooler than current crop of Dlink's routers, the DIR615 require 5V 2.5A.....
524 is 7.5V, 524UP is 5V 2A.
BTW, the DIR-300 is also 5V 1.2A, and both has a small sized adapter! :D
SPEED
30-07-2009, 01:03 PM
got better than my trusty DGL4100 and my backup DIR300?
=:p
haylui
30-07-2009, 01:48 PM
Reserve #2
Internal board
http://i30.tinypic.com/2regmyg.jpg
Its a secret for now(as per my 1st post) =:p
think can change to solid caps liao
more durable
richneo
30-07-2009, 02:37 PM
i think dir-600 is now green..
with green ethernet and green wifi
coldfreeze
30-07-2009, 02:48 PM
looking forward to the review..
ohmygod1986
30-07-2009, 03:30 PM
Then this one use what adapter n or simi ? :look:
richneo
30-07-2009, 04:36 PM
Wireless 150 USB Adapter(DWA-125) (taken from dlink.com)
Connect your desktop or notebook computer to a wireless 802.11g or draft 802.11n network with the D-Link Wireless 150 USB Adapter (DWA-125).
i have a strong feeling dwa-140 also can work
of course it will backward compatible with all wireless G
liangtam
30-07-2009, 05:30 PM
any wireless draft n adapter shld be able bah, will test later.
liangtam
30-07-2009, 11:57 PM
think can change to solid caps liao
more durable
:s11: :s11:
Solid caps are not commonly found in SLT
Also, using solid caps on routers are an overkill, compared to that of the more complicated PC mobo
http://i25.tinypic.com/34xos5w.jpg
See the difference in the reported rate :)
jarred1223
31-07-2009, 02:05 AM
Got a question, lets say I'm using SNBB 10mpbs, the router can boost wireless speed up by 150mpbs? Would we really get 150mpbs or still cap by SN side?
JPadPro
31-07-2009, 02:17 AM
Got a question, lets say I'm using SNBB 10mpbs, the router can boost wireless speed up by 150mpbs? Would we really get 150mpbs or still cap by SN side?
if u r talking about traffic via WAN, capped by SN.
jarred1223
31-07-2009, 02:46 AM
As in overall surfing speed, downloading speed etc.
coldfreeze
31-07-2009, 11:51 AM
if there's a way to test the QoS of this router, (especially since at first glance, there doesnt seem to be qos rules to set, just an "enable QOS engine") that would be appreciated. thanks
newbird2005
31-07-2009, 12:50 PM
I've just bought a netgear WNR1000 2 days ago to replace my DI524. Is similar to Dlink DIR-600?
I will try to do a screen shot on the product these few days. By the way, any software to test the performance on both wireless and wired?
liangtam
31-07-2009, 01:24 PM
I've just bought a netgear WNR1000 2 days ago to replace my DI524. Is similar to Dlink DIR-600?
I will try to do a screen shot on the product these few days. By the way, any software to test the performance on both wireless and wired?
It is another 1T1R. So how much you paid?
newbird2005
31-07-2009, 02:41 PM
It is another 1T1R. So how much you paid?
$79. How much is Dlink DIR-600?
What is 1T1R?
djcoolmax
31-07-2009, 02:53 PM
What is 1T1R?
1 transmit, 1 receive
newbird2005
31-07-2009, 02:59 PM
1 transmit, 1 receive
normal is how many T and R?
More T & R will increase performance or wireless coverage?
DouYa89
31-07-2009, 03:01 PM
where u buy this ?
would u recommend this for M1 100mpbs ?
my dir300 can retire liao. =)
looking forward for more review. =D
newbird2005
31-07-2009, 03:10 PM
where u buy this ? - Challenger
would u recommend this for M1 100mpbs ? - I can't answer u coz i'm a half pass six "changingeer" :s13: But I think u shld go for gigabit router
richneo
31-07-2009, 03:16 PM
i agree..
if u are using 100mbps connection, go for gigabit routers
DouYa89
31-07-2009, 03:18 PM
haha .wa , but gigabit router muz haf gigabit moolah.
which i dun haf. =[
so aiming for good performance but cheaper ones.
liangtam
31-07-2009, 03:56 PM
What is 1T1R?
Mentioned in first post liao mah
$79 also
2T3R is common sets for current draft N routers.
shadowandy
01-08-2009, 12:19 AM
I would say the DIR-600 is pretty a decent router. At least it really clocks better speed than wireless g the last time I tested.
liangtam
01-08-2009, 05:52 PM
I would say the DIR-600 is pretty a decent router. At least it really clocks better speed than wireless g the last time I tested.
wa, chiu sho fast gotch new louter again ah :(
80Mbps wifi speed reh, way way way better than full 802.11g setting even.
shadowandy
01-08-2009, 06:17 PM
wa, chiu sho fast gotch new louter again ah :(
80Mbps wifi speed reh, way way way better than full 802.11g setting even.
cos it looks good and seems hackable! Haha. Pss~, I sent a set to brainslayer. For those who know who he is, good. You managed to get the 150mbps dongle?
richneo
01-08-2009, 06:48 PM
http://i32.tinypic.com/2re1nqq.jpg
wah u got 80mbps using wifi on this router..
its rated as wireless G only but performs way better than a wireless G
by the way what adaptor u using to reach 80mbps on this router?
normal g adaptor cant reach. u used N adaptor?
liangtam
01-08-2009, 07:07 PM
cos it looks good and seems hackable! Haha. Pss~, I sent a set to brainslayer. For those who know who he is, good. You managed to get the 150mbps dongle?
:s11:
Gotch 150Mbps dongle meh? :s11: :s11:
Moi using the D-Link DWA-140 and Aztech WL950USB adapter. Both Ralink RT2870 single band chip
shadowandy
01-08-2009, 08:37 PM
:s11:
Gotch 150Mbps dongle meh? :s11: :s11:
Moi using the D-Link DWA-140 and Aztech WL950USB adapter. Both Ralink RT2870 single band chip
DWA-125 (http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=722)
Getting people to find it for me. :D
overQ
03-08-2009, 09:44 PM
if there's a way to test the QoS of this router, (especially since at first glance, there doesnt seem to be qos rules to set, just an "enable QOS engine") that would be appreciated. thanks
i'm curious abt this as well, wondering if there's much diff between the 655's QoS settings :)
liangtam
03-08-2009, 10:01 PM
i'm curious abt this as well, wondering if there's much diff between the 655's QoS settings :)
I believe its just a basic WAN traffic shape based on the uplink rate only.
To be frank, I do not currently have an established methods to test the type and complexity of the QoS engine.
liangtam
03-08-2009, 11:06 PM
Just updated the review :)
overQ
04-08-2009, 12:52 AM
I believe its just a basic WAN traffic shape based on the uplink rate only.
To be frank, I do not currently have an established methods to test the type and complexity of the QoS engine.
oh ok, i just checked up on both dir 600 & 655 manuals & hopefully the extra WISH settings available on the 655 will assist in my hope better bandwidth distribution among my home pcs :o
thanks anyway, & nice review u have there :)
aaur4man
04-08-2009, 01:56 PM
ixchariot?
liangtam
04-08-2009, 02:05 PM
oh ok, i just checked up on both dir 600 & 655 manuals & hopefully the extra WISH settings available on the 655 will assist in my hope better bandwidth distribution among my home pcs :o
thanks anyway, & nice review u have there :)
WISH applies for transfer on wifi only.
pighead80
04-08-2009, 07:19 PM
liangtam kor kor, using chiong ixchariot again wo....share with us le
aaur4man
04-08-2009, 10:28 PM
SIC leh .
coldfreeze
05-08-2009, 04:39 PM
Just updated the review :)
thanks for the review...
Techno Pride
06-08-2009, 03:07 PM
An alternative, the WRT160N (CSE31) is available at $88. Seems to be a version3. Performance unknown.
liangtam
06-08-2009, 05:10 PM
An alternative, the WRT160N (CSE31) is available at $88. Seems to be a version3. Performance unknown.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30344/97/
The direct 1T1R equivalent from Linksys would be the WRT120N
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30882/100/
richneo
06-08-2009, 05:27 PM
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30344/97/
The direct 1T1R equivalent from Linksys would be the WRT120N
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30882/100/
So it seems that DIR-600 is a cheaper buy as compared to WRT160N since DIR-600 performance is better.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The WRT160N has been added to the Router and Wireless Charts. This will become Linksys' lowest-cost draft 802.11n router once the WRT150N inventory is exhausted.
It's a two-antenna design (2T2R) with around 80 Mbps of routing throughput and 10/100 switch.
Wireless throughput with out-of-the-box settings (20 MHz channel mode) is around 60 Mbps. Changing to 40 MHz channel mode doesn't improve single-direction (up or downlink) throughput much, but raises simultaneous up and downlink throughput to around 80 Mbps.
asus8600GT
06-08-2009, 07:46 PM
he still don wan to share the sauce of the ixchariot where he get from..
shadowandy
06-08-2009, 08:02 PM
http://www.ixchariot.com/evaluation.html
liangtam
06-08-2009, 08:22 PM
chiu ish huans noes ah? hokay no prob~! :)
come closer
*closer summore rah*
Call this number: 63320125 =:p
PS: Don't forget to put ur hand inside the pocket and take ur card out during the call hor :D
cpuer
06-08-2009, 09:05 PM
the Buffalo excels at the wireless coverage, NAS. Other than that just an average Draft N router I guess.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30889/96/1/5/
Techno Pride
06-08-2009, 11:18 PM
the WRT160N in *that* review is a version 1.x. Which is why I said "performance unknown" for the $88 one.
liangtam
07-08-2009, 01:35 AM
the Buffalo excels at the wireless coverage, NAS. Other than that just an average Draft N router I guess.
Not 1T1R liao. OOT
Though it is true for *some* models that the bridging gap of a 1T1R and 2TxR in terms of pricing is quite a small range only.
the WRT160N in *that* review is a version 1.x. Which is why I said "performance unknown" for the $88 one.
Never doubt that. Any firmware change to kernel and driver of internal component will invariably effect performance rate, for the better or worse. Before hardware is considered.
So, anyone got a set?
richneo
07-08-2009, 09:00 AM
this thread is about dir-600 which is a wireless 150 router isn't it?
why are u putting water cow here which is a N router? =D
Moreover, DIR-600 does not have NAS built in and so water cow is a totally different product compared to DIR-600
last but not least.. the price between dir-600 and water cow is far off...
asus8600GT
07-08-2009, 10:00 AM
chiu ish huans noes ah? hokay no prob~! :)
come closer
*closer summore rah*
Call this number: 63320125 =:p
PS: Don't forget to put ur hand inside the pocket and take ur card out during the call hor :D
call liao, but your ah bu say chiu is not in wo. :s13: .. :s31:
liangtam
07-08-2009, 10:14 AM
http://www.yellowpages.com.sg/newiyp/wp/newwpsearchendeca2008.do?searchCriteria=Company+Name+/+Residential&phoneCriteria=63320125&locTerm=00&submit_search.x=0&submit_search.y=0&stype=7&applicationInd=wp&searchType=4&accessType=1&productType=EIB&searchTab=phoneTab&urlIdentifier=n&applIndicator=CT&frameheader=Y&tempSearchCriteria=&areaCode=00
nickwh
11-08-2009, 02:56 PM
Just got back from Jurong Point, after going to the following retail stores:
1. Challenger - They don't stock it but the "sales" fella said out of stock (lame)
2. Courts - Didn't see DLinks
3. Harvey Norman - Costly at SGD89 but there is 5% further discount (still more expensive)
Finally got it at Cyberactive, offer price of SGD77.
Will try it in a while, really have to say it's very very compact compared to my much older SMC barricade wireless G which died....
liangtam
23-08-2009, 10:50 PM
Made some minor changes :)
The router is just like DIR-300, very small footprint. palm-sized only :D
aaur4man
23-08-2009, 11:30 PM
noes Buffalo rebeew?
or ish waiting for moi to get?
shadowandy
26-08-2009, 08:04 PM
dd-wrt for your DIR-600?
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=340930#340315
liangtam
26-08-2009, 08:16 PM
That was fast
richneo
26-08-2009, 10:58 PM
omg.... dir-600 just sold and its supported by dd-wrt now
liangtam
04-09-2009, 04:57 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=40056484
Steps to flash :)
lobang
11-09-2009, 05:16 PM
49 bucks!!!!! cannot believe it at comex!!! quick go buy!!!
lsthekiddo
12-09-2009, 10:28 AM
bought it at comex but have difficulty usin it........
richneo
12-09-2009, 10:44 AM
what is the difficulty? try posting here and im sure alot of ppl can help you
its pretty straight forward of just supplying the power and connecting it to your modem
lsthekiddo
12-09-2009, 11:19 AM
what is the difficulty? try posting here and im sure alot of ppl can help you
its pretty straight forward of just supplying the power and connecting it to your modem
tks, 1st time screwed up as i think configured wrongly.
2nd time tried again and it worked like a charm!!!! juz took 5 mins.
cheap to buy at $49.
berber
12-09-2009, 12:27 PM
I'm eyeing this router too, to replace my ageing netgear 108mbps wireless/g (WGT624). Can someone enlighten me what benefits i can stand to gain from the DIR-600 over my current netgear? :)
enriqueyang
12-09-2009, 01:02 PM
be careful of the hardware version as well, different hardware version has different speed and ram..
anyone tested on 100mbps m1 or starhub, be it on wire or wireless yet? my dir 615 can hit average on speed test abt 70-80 only.. but when i use starhub utilities i can hit ard 90 so hha is it the router or is it what?
fraudster
12-09-2009, 01:08 PM
I'm eyeing this router too, to replace my ageing netgear 108mbps wireless/g (WGT624). Can someone enlighten me what benefits i can stand to gain from the DIR-600 over my current netgear? :)
i got the same router too and am looking to replace it with dir600 or the dir655, but am i correct to think that the dir 655 might be overkill for my usage as i only got a desktop for gaming(dota), laptop for surfing/fb games and occasionally a netbook connecting. Should i upgrade to N or stay with G?
Zappalapa
12-09-2009, 07:40 PM
just bought this router today.now trying to configure
lobang
12-09-2009, 08:15 PM
cool bros! just got the router yesterday and flashed to the lastest dd-wrt firmware. so far so good!!
revogsx
12-09-2009, 11:49 PM
whoa.. will buy this tomolo..
richneo
13-09-2009, 01:49 AM
there is a new firmware uploaded in dd-wrt website on the 8th september
supposed to solve some bugs in dd-wrt firmware that may make u unable to flash
richneo
14-09-2009, 03:34 PM
there was a review in hwm last month
hmmm
http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/3968/dir600.png
revogsx
14-09-2009, 10:42 PM
bought this yesterday, so far stable on stock 2.0 firmware, will upgrade to dd-wrt next week :)
lobang
15-09-2009, 09:14 AM
status update after 3 days of usage with dd-wrt.....
very good!!! haha can achieve the reviewed 40Mbps at a range of ~25m, its a steal for 49 bucks!! hopefully speed can be improved with future tweaks from dd-wrt!!! :)
b3nji23
16-09-2009, 12:27 AM
official 2.01 firmware upgrade is out on dlink website :D
berber
19-09-2009, 08:20 AM
Anyone else using this router? Btw, is Rev B1 compatible with DD-WRT? :o
liangtam
19-09-2009, 07:25 PM
Anyone else using this router? Btw, is Rev B1 compatible with DD-WRT? :o
read the other thread
avilion90
23-09-2009, 03:57 PM
Upz... default 71mw in dd-wrt. Can reach 100mw (tried for 10mins)... Anyone tested higher yet?
But my power led no working :(
Oh btw, this is the one that can give 2/5 bar signal strength on my aspire one over a distance of 350m
(20 storey transmit to ground floor, fitted with 10dbi pci directional antenna)
~44% signal stength reading with default dlink firmware
takumi78
23-09-2009, 04:32 PM
Sorry for being a newb, I just started to DIY my 1st wireless network this mth.
I bought this DIR-600 during the comex. I followed the instructions and did the installation from the cd-rom provided. So far, I am able to go wireless with my laptop.
Can I know what is the dd-wrt u guys talking abt ? And do I have to install the latest firmware as well ? Are there anyway to maximize the full potential of this router ?
avilion90
23-09-2009, 04:41 PM
Sorry for being a newb, I just started to DIY my 1st wireless network this mth.
I bought this DIR-600 during the comex. I followed the instructions and did the installation from the cd-rom provided. So far, I am able to go wireless with my laptop.
Can I know what is the dd-wrt u guys talking abt ? And do I have to install the latest firmware as well ? Are there anyway to maximize the full potential of this router ?
dd-wrt is 3rd party firmware. much more function. see the other thread. link can be found in earlier pages.
liangtam
23-09-2009, 04:55 PM
dd-wrt is not recommended for general users.
molecule
26-09-2009, 04:45 PM
Must die die use a special usb device to get this throughput?
regular laptop wireless g can benefit from switching to the DIR-600?
Anyone knows how to set or limit the upload/download by mac or ip with the ddwrt?
For tomato it is easy but does not support dir-600
projectpop
26-09-2009, 10:12 PM
i just got this router so far satisfied with its performance. any idea how to register the warranty? online or do i have to mail the warranty form? theres is no warranty card in the box only the page from the book in the box.
liangtam
26-09-2009, 10:19 PM
Must die die use a special usb device to get this throughput?
regular laptop wireless g can benefit from switching to the DIR-600?
Not necessarily a USB adapter, the wireless client may be of any interface, i.e. PCI, USB for desktop; miniPCI, miniPCIe, PCMCIA, ExpressCard, USB for laptop.
However, it is best to pair with a minimum 1T1R N adapter. Full N adapters are okay as well to get the best potential.
i just got this router so far satisfied with its performance. any idea how to register the warranty? online or do i have to mail the warranty form? theres is no warranty card in the box only the page from the book in the box.
No need register one actually. Tho think theres a page on dlink website
takumi78
26-09-2009, 11:03 PM
u can register online but u will need to know the product model and the serial number of the router, plus info of the retailer printed on ur receipt.
http://www.dlink-intl.com/warrantyreg.nsf/person?OpenForm
GloveK8
30-09-2009, 09:22 PM
Hi all, i've just sign up for m1 broadband 15mbps, and is looking for a router for wireless connection for my laptop, may i know is this router suitable for it?
I believe i dun have to install the dd-wrt to maximize the speed rite? as i'm sort of clueless when dealing with computers been using my linksys router for 5 years haha.. Thanks in advance..
phuque99
30-09-2009, 09:45 PM
I believe i dun have to install the dd-wrt to maximize the speed rite? as i'm sort of clueless when dealing with computers been using my linksys router for 5 years haha.. Thanks in advance..
salah liao, install dd-wrt will reduce its speed, especially lan to wan routing. stock firmware is fastest.
GloveK8
30-09-2009, 09:49 PM
Thanks.. btw do you all noe which shops in sls are selling this product.. i download the pricelists from hwz, and cant find this router... =\.. miss the promo earlier on ~
phuque99
30-09-2009, 10:04 PM
dunno sls, too far to go, funan most shops have, even neighbourhood computer shop also got.
If cannot wait, I have one ready ddwrt dir600. Bought just for flashing, not used for network as already have. PM me to discuss.
phuque99
01-10-2009, 05:52 PM
If cannot wait, I have one ready ddwrt dir600. Bought just for flashing, not used for network as already have. PM me to discuss.
No thanks, 100mbps too low end for me, I was just replying GloveK8
molecule
05-10-2009, 08:19 PM
Worth to upgrade my linksys wrt54g with this? Am looking to boost wireless transfer of files (photos/videos) from my Lappy to a NAS linked to the router. This seems to be a good soln.
nickwh
05-10-2009, 11:05 PM
Mediapro at 5th floor sells this for SGD55 with nets payment, SGD57 for cash.
Just saw the pricelist via online download.
~~~~~~~~
Alternatively, i think i came across this at Jurong Point Cyberactive last week, was SGD55 too i think.
revogsx
13-10-2009, 12:33 AM
beta firmware 2.02 now on
http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/Support_download.asp?idsupport=762
Desc: Support Singapore StarHub iView viewing [BETA]
bigdeal88
19-10-2009, 01:32 PM
Mediapro at 5th floor sells this for SGD55 with nets payment, SGD57 for cash.
Just saw the pricelist via online download.
~~~~~~~~
Alternatively, i think i came across this at Jurong Point Cyberactive last week, was SGD55 too i think.
bought mine at challenger parkway $55 but then no discount for member.
vbhelper
21-10-2009, 10:54 PM
I recently bought this modem after reading this review but always encounter conn problem reh.
I always on the modem and router whenever I on my PC.
The problem is out of 10 times, I get 5-6 times internet connection. The remaining times I have to on and off my modem and router again to get internet connection.
Sometimes when my router and modem are working correctly (IP assigned using DCHP), I plug in another LAN cable into the router, all my pcs get disconnected.
Aren't router just plug and use? Did I miss out anything?
I recently bought this modem after reading this review but always encounter conn problem reh.
I always on the modem and router whenever I on my PC.
The problem is out of 10 times, I get 5-6 times internet connection. The remaining times I have to on and off my modem and router again to get internet connection.
Sometimes when my router and modem are working correctly (IP assigned using DCHP), I plug in another LAN cable into the router, all my pcs get disconnected.
Aren't router just plug and use? Did I miss out anything?
Yes, you miss out flashing it to other firmware. Dlink firmware sucks.
liangtam
27-10-2009, 01:45 PM
Yes, you miss out flashing it to other firmware. Dlink firmware sucks.
Its the opposite
2manydjs
27-10-2009, 06:16 PM
Hi I'm thinking of buying this router.
I have three N devices and three G devices. Can the three N devices work at the theoretical speed of 150 when the G devices are connected as well? Or should I create two networks: one on N speed and one on G speed (using my Linksys WRT)?
Are the models being sold at SLS rev B? I'm using DD-WRT now and like to continue using it if possible.
Thanks!
liangtam
27-10-2009, 06:19 PM
No. ??. Yes.
2manydjs
27-10-2009, 06:44 PM
Thanks for your reply.
Some more google-research seems to reveal that the network only slows down when the G devices actively transmit/receive, although I can't find a firm source on this. I'll try to have a mixed N/G network first using only the Dlink. If the speed is too much affected by the G devices, I'll reinstall my Linksys WRT for a separate G network.
molecule
29-10-2009, 01:52 PM
this one vs DIR-615 how does it compare?
Slammer
16-11-2009, 12:04 PM
Anyone having problems when setting this router to Access Point Mode? After a few (4-5) days of operation, the WiFi AP fails to allow any connection, even the admin page cannot be accessed. But it recovers after a power cycle (remove and insert power plug). Have tried both 2.01 and 2.02beta firmware with identical behavior. Memory leak perhaps?
xgwei
20-11-2009, 01:00 AM
sorry guys, i really noob in this, how do i upgrade the firmware?
i downloaded the offiicial version but it doesnt tell me how to upgrade.
pls help. thanks
yeah i just figured out myself. silly me. glad it all works
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.