View Full Version : MIO 2701 with any router
30-07-2009, 12:55 AM
hi .. I have saw many thread stating it is a must for bridge mode in 2701. Initially this is also my setting but it has its disadvantages.
1. VOIP wouldnt work as there isnt an IP address for 2701 VOIP Services to connect with
2. Wireles and LAN setting in 2701 will be render useless.
I have also tired using 2701 DMZ Mode setting. Great setting but due to the fact that 2701 connect to DSL is slow, it ended up my router WAN IP is always not updated. It is also due to the fact that Singnet DHCP do not fixed their IP Address. Ended up with my devices behind my router all do not have internet access.
So .. What I did is the following
Telephone Line --> 2701 --(LAN-Port)--> DIR-655 --> All my devices
The Same 2701 LAN-Port is connected to my MIO TV
2701 Setting
1. No Change from the default setting (Default installer setting)
2. The only setting I did is to disable the wireless of 2701 as I do not see I will use it.
DIR-655 setting
1. WAN Setting - PPOE mode
USer name and password same as the 2701 PPOE Setting.
This works perfectly for me. Even remote access back to my home server is possible.
In fact... In my view, there is also alternate advantages of this setting.
1. Does not render 2701 useless.
- its wireless and LAN can still be use as 2nd network if one wish to have a separate private/public net with still the firewall support of 2701.
2. DIR-655 treat 2701 like it is a modem. whatever feature of DIR-655 or setting especially the firewall setting they have done before still intact (especially for people switching from MOL to Singtel/MIO)
Hope this helps.
For those who interest in detail setting and diagram. I do have it also, but the above description should let one set it up ASAP without any hitch.
If Mod feels this is a good thread. Please help to make it sticky.
mozzilla
02-08-2009, 11:35 PM
hi. could u send me a detail setup with print screens of your home setup to gizzilla@gmail.com. i have terminated my mol and moving to adsl. i own a dir-655 router as you. thanks
zhehao
03-08-2009, 12:11 AM
Will try it when i get my DIR-655.Donno when though.
So you mean you dint change anything in your mio box except you disable the wireless only?
So you used the cd to setup the mio box and then just disable wireless and connect to dir-655 and yuo are good to go?
03-08-2009, 03:33 AM
See below link..
This is what my network in my house look like... (UPDATED - 30th Oct 2009)
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/HND.jpg
This is what my 2701 setting look like...
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/Picture3.jpg
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/Picture5.jpg
Voice Setting
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/Picture6.jpg
My Dlink DIR-655 Setting
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/Picture2.jpg
Hope this helps explain clearly.
03-08-2009, 03:37 AM
Note that start up time I have test in my house setting as follows
in Bridge Mode, the entire internet will be up around 5 to 6 min
In non-bridge, Non-DMZ mode, (the method I mention here) is also around 5 to 6 min.
In DMZ mode ... My dlink DIR-655 always got the incorrect WAN IP Address from 2701 so always cannot go internet. The Dlink router need to be powered up much later than 2701 in this mode.
Hope this helps.
Anymore screen capture required .. I can try to provide but I believe the above should be sufficient.
in the method I suggested, both 2701 and DIR-655 will have its own WAN IP address (See under 2701 Internet address and the Dlink WAN --> IP Address ... different 1st 2 segment. I erase the last two part.
Thanks.
Mythmaker
05-08-2009, 10:18 AM
Er so can I confirm that in the case of heavy torrenting, this would be a solution to stop the 2wire from crashing down due to too many connections?
Twinsen
05-08-2009, 11:15 AM
Hi bro,
My DIR-655 still cant connect via PPoe.. Can I ask a few qns?
1. What is your 655 firmware version?
2. When setting up the ppoe on the 655, what is the mac address to use? any mac or the 2wire's mac? (Does singtel do mac filtering?)
3. Do you do anything else on your 655? cos I noticed your Qos is off. Think by default is on.
4. Can you show your mdc => Broadband link => configure and Local Network => configure page?
Thanks for your help... I am running my 655 in ap mode now.. it works but i prefer your method as I rather do more configuration on my 655 than the 2wire..
Note that start up time I have test in my house setting as follows
in Bridge Mode, the entire internet will be up around 5 to 6 min
In non-bridge, Non-DMZ mode, (the method I mention here) is also around 5 to 6 min.
In DMZ mode ... My dlink DIR-655 always got the incorrect WAN IP Address from 2701 so always cannot go internet. The Dlink router need to be powered up much later than 2701 in this mode.
Hope this helps.
Anymore screen capture required .. I can try to provide but I believe the above should be sufficient.
in the method I suggested, both 2701 and DIR-655 will have its own WAN IP address (See under 2701 Internet address and the Dlink WAN --> IP Address ... different 1st 2 segment. I erase the last two part.
Thanks.
05-08-2009, 01:00 PM
Hi bro,
My DIR-655 still cant connect via PPoe.. Can I ask a few qns?
2. When setting up the ppoe on the 655, what is the mac address to use? any mac or the 2wire's mac? (Does singtel do mac filtering?)
3. Do you do anything else on your 655? cos I noticed your Qos is off. Think by default is on.
4. Can you show your mdc => Broadband link => configure and Local Network => configure page?
Thanks for your help... I am running my 655 in ap mode now.. it works but i prefer your method as I rather do more configuration on my 655 than the 2wire..
Hi ... I will do the checking... for the 2wire portion. See below my other reply.
1.21 firmware 2008/10/09
See attached picture for my WAN setting. Default.. didnt change any mac address.
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/Picture7.jpg
QoS or not I think does not matter.
As mention, as my 2wire is on seperate WAN/Internet IP Address and different network, I cannot connect to the 2wire modem configuration via my DIR-655. So .. I have to use my PC/Notebook to do a direct connect to it.
Let me go back check and do the screen capture and post here.
Thanks.
05-08-2009, 01:03 PM
Er so can I confirm that in the case of heavy torrenting, this would be a solution to stop the 2wire from crashing down due to too many connections?
heavy? I do torrent also ... maximum I did is around more than 10 torrent running simultaneous for downloading and around 7 to 8 seeding mode. I have yet to see 2wire dies in my method. 2wire in my configuration behave like modem.
In fact, after I switch from MOL to Singtel. I have increased my max torrent speed of nearly 200kbps to now 500kbps (combine download speed)
Note that my MOL plan is 8000 previously with I think 768 upload. Now I am on 10,000 and 1000 upload. Not a lot of increase in specs but my downloading and youtube accessing is so much better.
aaur4man
05-08-2009, 01:28 PM
In fact, after I switch from MOL to Singtel. I have increased my max torrent speed of nearly 200kbps to now 500kbps (combine download speed)
much better.
Welcome to the Club :)
Twinsen
05-08-2009, 06:54 PM
Thanks bro for your reply. Your picture dont not load though..
Look forward to your 2wire config pics.
Hi ... I will do the checking... for the 2wire portion. See below my other reply.
1.21 firmware 2008/10/09
See attached picture for my WAN setting. Default.. didnt change any mac address.
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/NHS06.jpg
QoS or not I think does not matter.
As mention, as my 2wire is on seperate WAN/Internet IP Address and different network, I cannot connect to the 2wire modem configuration via my DIR-655. So .. I have to use my PC/Notebook to do a direct connect to it.
Let me go back check and do the screen capture and post here.
Thanks.
Mythmaker
05-08-2009, 07:57 PM
heavy? I do torrent also ... maximum I did is around more than 10 torrent running simultaneous for downloading and around 7 to 8 seeding mode. I have yet to see 2wire dies in my method. 2wire in my configuration behave like modem.
Note that my MOL plan is 8000 previously with I think 768 upload. Now I am on 10,000 and 1000 upload. Not a lot of increase in specs but my downloading and youtube accessing is so much better.
Thanks for the reply!
Your thread had prompted me to hoot a WRT54GL early this morning, and after custom firmware and fixing up with the QoS and stuff (connection method based on yours), my torrent problem is solved! Can finally surf the net when torrenting lol...
Now I have to optimize the router, but I still couldn't figure out what 80% of the DD-WRT firmware is talking about lol...
05-08-2009, 09:19 PM
Thanks bro for your reply. Your picture dont not load though..
Look forward to your 2wire config pics.
Paiseh .. wrong file name.
See attached 2wire Config Page as per request. No change to the IP Subnet. Default at 192.168.1.x
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/Picture8.jpg
Another setting at MDC --> Configure Services (Also Default setting)
Note : Uncheck this to get bridge mode but disable the PPPoE Setting and Native VOIP
http://www.thelatioclub.org/Files/Picture9.jpg
Hope these information help.
If required more... I will try to capture more.
Thanks.
05-08-2009, 09:23 PM
Thanks for the reply!
Your thread had prompted me to hoot a WRT54GL early this morning, and after custom firmware and fixing up with the QoS and stuff (connection method based on yours), my torrent problem is solved! Can finally surf the net when torrenting lol...
Now I have to optimize the router, but I still couldn't figure out what 80% of the DD-WRT firmware is talking about lol...
Great to hear that you could also use configuration similar to mine. Too bad I am not familar with DD-WRT. :)
Always a Dlink User so far.
Mythmaker
05-08-2009, 10:56 PM
Actually long ago (around 3 years back) I used to do this config also, but then I was using a DIR 524UP at that time. Whenever I hit more than 100 connections the dlink would go berserk, so I gave up also never knowing whether it's the dlink or the 2wire at fault.
I'm currently at 3881 connections and still online :)
kunlky
05-08-2009, 11:03 PM
Hi thx avatar, saw what you have posted and try it out and it works! Just got a quest to enquire on. So if i'm gonna do a FTP which IP shld i be using? From the Mio Box right?
06-08-2009, 01:42 AM
Hi thx avatar, saw what you have posted and try it out and it works! Just got a quest to enquire on. So if i'm gonna do a FTP which IP shld i be using? From the Mio Box right?
If your ftp server is behind the Mio box. then it is the IP at MIO 2701.
If your fto server is behind your own router, then it is the IP at the router.
Two having own WAN/Internet IP address.
for me.. Mio 2701 only connect MIo TV.
All services goes to my DIR-655 (Services like VNC over SSL, VPN Server, FTP and etc)
06-08-2009, 01:43 AM
Actually long ago (around 3 years back) I used to do this config also, but then I was using a DIR 524UP at that time. Whenever I hit more than 100 connections the dlink would go berserk, so I gave up also never knowing whether it's the dlink or the 2wire at fault.
I'm currently at 3881 connections and still online :)
could be the Dlink... I have yet to hit 100 I think...
06-08-2009, 01:47 AM
just checked. over 100 connection already .. still running fine. I didnt monitor the number of connection all the time.
shakeyourhead
06-08-2009, 01:54 AM
mod should sticky this.
will try tomorrow morning.
Thanks TS!
mambo31
06-08-2009, 04:25 AM
can I just check, why the need to bridge and connect the dlink router to mio router?
isn't the mio router good enuf by itself?
wat are the pros and cons in doing so?
I've also got a dlink dir-655...
thks for answering my noob queries :)
liangtam
06-08-2009, 09:33 AM
Some ppl having 'problems' with the 2Wire
524UP definitely can handle more than 100 connection...
Twinsen
06-08-2009, 10:56 AM
Thanks for the screen captures bro.. still doesn't work for me.. not sure why..
last try.. can you capture this last screen on your 2wire...
http://192.168.1.254/xslt?PAGE=B05&THISPAGE=B01&NEXTPAGE=B05
Thank you very much.
Paiseh .. wrong file name.
See attached 2wire Config Page as per request. No change to the IP Subnet. Default at 192.168.1.x
Another setting at MDC --> Configure Services (Also Default setting)
Note : Uncheck this to get bridge mode but disable the PPPoE Setting and Native VOIP
Hope these information help.
If required more... I will try to capture more.
Thanks.
seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
06-08-2009, 11:50 AM
from your pic,
does it means that u will be issued with TWO(2) Singnet WAN ip address?
those device connected to 2wire will get 1 WAN ip and those connected to the Dlink will get another diff WAN IP?
and it will need to connect 2 times when there is a disconnection?
aaur4man
06-08-2009, 11:54 AM
2wire gets singnet ip
dlink gets 2wire ip
seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
06-08-2009, 12:14 PM
2wire gets singnet ip
dlink gets 2wire ip
means ?
2wire get a singnet WAN ip.
and dlink get a 2wire internal network IP ?
seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
06-08-2009, 12:16 PM
shows 2 diff Singnet IP
seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
06-08-2009, 12:19 PM
Does it only work in PPOE mode? can i use PPOA for both instead ? currently i am using PPOA for my single 2wire setup.. which means my line support PPOA
seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
06-08-2009, 12:25 PM
did u take note of how many connections is that?
cos in my current single 2wire setup, its using 2wire 2700 HGV2
i am able to do around 400 connections, as seen on the utorrent stats. more then that, my web surfing will be affected. if even more conenction, the whole 2wire will be auto rebooted.
they will be changing my 2700 to 2701 next week. so what to confirm some of the questions before i go down to buy a router to test this setup
06-08-2009, 01:10 PM
2wire gets singnet ip
dlink gets 2wire ip
This is true if configured under DMZ.
My configuration is not based on DMZ. It is based on normal connectivy.
Thus .. 2Wire get Singnet IP, Dlink also get another Singnet IP.
06-08-2009, 01:17 PM
did u take note of how many connections is that?
cos in my current single 2wire setup, its using 2wire 2700 HGV2
i am able to do around 400 connections, as seen on the utorrent stats. more then that, my web surfing will be affected. if even more conenction, the whole 2wire will be auto rebooted.
they will be changing my 2700 to 2701 next week. so what to confirm some of the questions before i go down to buy a router to test this setup
I didnt take notice. My setting for connectivity is above 400 I think... Anyway ... I got limited my upload to 25 to 30kbps. Just a habit to limited it so that it wouldnt impact internet surfing experience.
Paiseh .. All my connectivity is through Dlink and 2701 acting like a modem for Dlink. thus not affect by the possible limitation of the 2701. I believe 2701 LAN port can behave like either like a Switch Port and issue IP thru its internal DHCP or behave like a passthru for PPPoE connectivity. Like Mio TV Box, it does not get IP from 2Wire 2701 but yet can connect to Mio TV Services. Thus, I tried configure Dlink in PPPoE mode without 2701 configured in Bridge mode, and it works.
Does it only work in PPOE mode? can i use PPOA for both instead ? currently i am using PPOA for my single 2wire setup.. which means my line support PPOA
I donno about PPPoA. Mine setting is base on PPPoE for Dlink and 2Wire.
shows 2 diff Singnet IP
Yes 2 Different Singnet IP.
One IP Address for 2Wire 2701 (My VOIP in 2Wire 2701 will use this IP)
One IP Address for Dlink DIR-655 (For all my internet access)
PS : I cannot know whether my configuration works for all members and setting.
Please Note I am in MIO Plan (Broadband, Voice, Mobile with free TV - Singtel channel only for 1 Year)
seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
06-08-2009, 01:30 PM
I didnt take notice. My setting for connectivity is above 400 I think... Anyway ... I got limited my upload to 25 to 30kbps. Just a habit to limited it so that it wouldnt impact internet surfing experience.
Paiseh .. All my connectivity is through Dlink and 2701 acting like a modem for Dlink. thus not affect by the possible limitation of the 2701. I believe 2701 LAN port can behave like either like a Switch Port and issue IP thru its internal DHCP or behave like a passthru for PPPoE connectivity. Like Mio TV Box, it does not get IP from 2Wire 2701 but yet can connect to Mio TV Services. Thus, I tried configure Dlink in PPPoE mode without 2701 configured in Bridge mode, and it works.
I donno about PPPoA. Mine setting is base on PPPoE for Dlink and 2Wire.
Yes 2 Different Singnet IP.
One IP Address for 2Wire 2701 (My VOIP in 2Wire 2701 will use this IP)
One IP Address for Dlink DIR-655 (For all my internet access)
Please Note I am in MIO Plan (Broadband, Voice, Mobile with free TV - Singtel channel only for 1 Year)
thanks for ur answer.
:)
2 IPs means this is counted as multiple login already ?
got try to check the connection usage on singnet page? got c 2 login on the same time ?
will singnet do something in the near future ? i tink they might ? since there are already a shortage of IPs and if everyone start to do this, everyone will be getting 2 IPs
and is ur bandwidth double? or at least till the max tat ur line profile speed is configured?
Twinsen
06-08-2009, 01:55 PM
Hmm... is your Mio TV connected? I was suppose to have free MioTV too but becos my area cannot support it.. they didnt give me..
Just wondering if the 2nd IP is for MioTV box.... is that why my DIR 655 cannot connect...
06-08-2009, 02:10 PM
thanks for ur answer.
:)
2 IPs means this is counted as multiple login already ?
got try to check the connection usage on singnet page? got c 2 login on the same time ?
will singnet do something in the near future ? i tink they might ? since there are already a shortage of IPs and if everyone start to do this, everyone will be getting 2 IPs
and is ur bandwidth double? or at least till the max tat ur line profile speed is configured?
Bandwidth the same lah. just using the different IP. Note that the Bandwidth limits at my 2Wire 2701 modem connectivity.
06-08-2009, 02:11 PM
Hmm... is your Mio TV connected? I was suppose to have free MioTV too but becos my area cannot support it.. they didnt give me..
Just wondering if the 2nd IP is for MioTV box.... is that why my DIR 655 cannot connect...
yes .. MioTV connected to my 2wire 2701. See my network diagram in page 1 to have better understanding. thanks.
MioTV never take any IP from what I know
Twinsen
06-08-2009, 03:00 PM
Hmm.. The difference between your and mine is that I only have Broadband and you have Broadband, voice and tv.. wonder if that matters..
yes .. MioTV connected to my 2wire 2701. See my network diagram in page 1 to have better understanding. thanks.
MioTV never take any IP from what I know
seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
06-08-2009, 03:03 PM
Bandwidth the same lah. just using the different IP. Note that the Bandwidth limits at my 2Wire 2701 modem connectivity.
haha ok.
cos normally they will give more bandwidth on the line profile ma..
like 10mbps the line will support 15mbps download..
so thinking tat mayb u can get 5mbps on 1 of the conenction and 10mbps on the other connection :p
06-08-2009, 04:17 PM
Hmm.. The difference between your and mine is that I only have Broadband and you have Broadband, voice and tv.. wonder if that matters..
Erm .. I donno if that matter also leh. :(
haha ok.
cos normally they will give more bandwidth on the line profile ma..
like 10mbps the line will support 15mbps download..
so thinking tat mayb u can get 5mbps on 1 of the conenction and 10mbps on the other connection :p
How I wish got more bandwidth... lolx.... think still the same ba....
seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
06-08-2009, 04:22 PM
Erm .. I donno if that matter also leh. :(
How I wish got more bandwidth... lolx.... think still the same ba....
cos i remember long long ago when adsl juz started, singnet got this jetpack thing and people would subscribe to 1 unlimited bb at 1 location and then a jetpack at a 2nd location to get the line adsl enabled.
but they are able to do multiple login at the same time and would get the full bw on each of the location.
a bit similar to ur case la.. juz tat they are using 2 phone line :s13::s13:
aaur4man
06-08-2009, 04:31 PM
u will sync at higher rate to cater for data loss.
good thing abt adsl is u will probably get higher download rate.
bad thing is most probably get lower upload rate.
liangtam
06-08-2009, 04:40 PM
syh trying pcw~ here
seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
06-08-2009, 04:41 PM
syh trying pcw~ here
.... pcw chiu head! what is pc... moi oso dun care
juz wan to know ma.. they coming to fix my 2701 soon.. tinking should i go by this method or not
06-08-2009, 09:13 PM
.... pcw chiu head! what is pc... moi oso dun care
juz wan to know ma.. they coming to fix my 2701 soon.. tinking should i go by this method or not
anyway ... after they fixed your 2701. Then you can try different method to see which best suit you lor.
I try for around 2 days (different setting and keep the setting for a while)..... thereafter when I tried this method I use, I am happy and have stick with it ever since.
Hopefully singtel dont disable the dual login method.... :)
shakeyourhead
07-08-2009, 03:01 AM
good threat!
mod pls sticky icky this!
liangtam
07-08-2009, 10:20 AM
anyway ... after they fixed your 2701. Then you can try different method to see which best suit you lor.
I try for around 2 days (different setting and keep the setting for a while)..... thereafter when I tried this method I use, I am happy and have stick with it ever since.
Ah, u said it urself :P
07-08-2009, 11:13 AM
Ah, u said it urself :P
yup .... :)
seeyourhead_jiejie_v3
07-08-2009, 12:40 PM
this is what i worry about lor..
if suay, (touch wood), i buy the router, spend almost $200 for it and then they disable this method..
shakeyourhead
07-08-2009, 09:27 PM
this is what i worry about lor..
if suay, (touch wood), i buy the router, spend almost $200 for it and then they disable this method..
dun think so rah. people will still need the mio box for mioTV regardless. and if they were to do it, potential customers can jump to green ship mah
xfiles_wolvie
08-08-2009, 10:53 AM
which mre impt to st? Saving Ips or retaining customers? To me would be d former. They dun cre abt old customers.they only cre abt NEW signups. Cant u c their marketing n promos are to attract mre market share?
No worries,im nt here to sabo. I rather they dun touch d dual login. I wld wan to try it oso. Bt truth is, they really dun cre abt old customers.
in ur 2wire
did u set the ATM PVC Search to Enable?
then in CONFIGURE SERVICES (under Advanced) ,Check Enable Routing.
my setup is same as u. but the above settings was done on the 2wire.
the rest in dir-655 are the same
Hi avatarlam,
I was trying out your method, and I couldn't get my router (mine is a DIR-300) to connect. Can I just confirm the physical connections, please? You had mentioned "Telephone Line --> 2701 --(LAN-Port)--> DIR-655 --> All my devices".
Is there any specific LAN port (on the 2701) to use? What kind of cable should I use (those marked as "PC-to-Hub" or "Hub-to-Hub" ?
10-08-2009, 01:35 PM
in ur 2wire
did u set the ATM PVC Search to Enable?
then in CONFIGURE SERVICES (under Advanced) ,Check Enable Routing.
my setup is same as u. but the above settings was done on the 2wire.
the rest in dir-655 are the same
1. ATM PVC Search is disable (Default if I am not wrong)
2. See page 1 of this thread, I got put up even the screen capture. It is Enable Routing which is also the default setting.
Hi avatarlam,
I was trying out your method, and I couldn't get my router (mine is a DIR-300) to connect. Can I just confirm the physical connections, please? You had mentioned "Telephone Line --> 2701 --(LAN-Port)--> DIR-655 --> All my devices".
Is there any specific LAN port (on the 2701) to use? What kind of cable should I use (those marked as "PC-to-Hub" or "Hub-to-Hub" ?
See Page 1 for the detail diagram.
No as I know if there is specific LAN port on 2701 to use. I am using Port 2 for my DIR-655 and Port 1 for Mio TV box. As for Cable. I think DIR-655 support auto MDI/MDI-X so straight should be ok although a rule for Hub-to-Hub or PC-to-PC is cross-cable/
Please note that it takes 5 to 6 minutes for the 2701 to connect to ADSL (at least for my case) and after ADSL Signal is connected then the DIR-655 will connect to internet. My setting at home takes around almost 6 minutes for it to be fully up and running.
precise
13-08-2009, 12:08 AM
Hi. Want to know:
1. did you do anything on the 2-wire firewall setting to enable torrenting? eg: DMZ-plus it for your DIR-655?
2. Any specific firewall setting on DIR-655?
Fyi, I have a problem with 2-wire for its DMZ and couldn't get it to torrent with my NAS-Dlink-323, despite effort to do port-forwarding. Hope your answer will help to address my problem here.
Thanks in advance.
13-08-2009, 01:43 AM
Hi. Want to know:
1. did you do anything on the 2-wire firewall setting to enable torrenting? eg: DMZ-plus it for your DIR-655?
Fyi, I have a problem with 2-wire for its DMZ and couldn't get it to torrent with my NAS-Dlink-323, despite effort to do port-forwarding. Hope your answer will help to address my problem here.
Thanks in advance.
Hi .. if you read my thread and posted message. My configuration do not use DMZ setting for 2Wire reason is .. it is troublesome and the router behind if boot faster than 2wire (which is typically the case) will get old ip instead of the old. And no internet is possible.. at least for my case when I test in DMZ.
Read my posted message if you intend to use Mio Voice with 2701 and your own router.
If not, disable the 2701 PPPoE Capability with BRidge mode. There is a picture within this thread stating that setting also ...
Note... I didnt set anything in 2701 in its broadband and internet connectivity screen. I just put my Router into PPPoE mode with the same Username/Password
setting as in the 2701. With this setting, you only do firewall port setting in your own router. Nothing need to be done at 2701.
Thanks.
liangtam
13-08-2009, 02:22 AM
Hi. Want to know:
Thanks in advance.
??
1) Avatarlam method is not full bridge(rather its multiVC), hence it does not apply. Though, if you're only using the 2Wire. You have to take note renewing of DHCP is required when setting/changing of the DMZ+ setting.
2) Other than pf/DMZ, nothing else.
tidus792
13-08-2009, 07:19 AM
FYI
I could not figure how to configure full bridge mode. I followed timme method but my internet led remains on at red colour.
However I would like to add that multi VC mode works with 2 routers. IE I have a different IP for each equipment
2wire
Router A Connected to 2wire
Router B Connected to 2wire
However I am a little amused as to what I can do with 3 different IPs.
liangtam
13-08-2009, 09:22 AM
FYI
I could not figure how to configure full bridge mode. I followed timme method but my internet led remains on at red colour.
However I would like to add that multi VC mode works with 2 routers. IE I have a different IP for each equipment
2wire
Router A Connected to 2wire
Router B Connected to 2wire
However I am a little amused as to what I can do with 3 different IPs.
sho, wat chiu gonna do wib 2 IPs now :s11:
leinad
13-08-2009, 09:38 AM
Interesting solution. Have tried and it works, only after restoring my DIR-655 to a "normal PC", removing it from the DMZ.
However, how do you access the 2wire? Must they both be in the same IP range now? My DIR-655 is configured to use 10.x, while the 2wire remains at the default IP.
/Dan
liangtam
13-08-2009, 09:46 AM
Cannot. Must either
1) Take away PPPoE connection first
2) Connect PC direct to 2wire.
leinad
13-08-2009, 10:11 AM
Cannot. Must either
1) Take away PPPoE connection first
2) Connect PC direct to 2wire.
Thanks. In the old DMZ solution, I could access both... Small price to pay, I suppose.
I left the wireless configuration of the 2wire on, but lowered wifi strength to the lowest power. That way I can configure it via wifi if need be.
/Dan
13-08-2009, 01:43 PM
Thanks. In the old DMZ solution, I could access both... Small price to pay, I suppose.
I left the wireless configuration of the 2wire on, but lowered wifi strength to the lowest power. That way I can configure it via wifi if need be.
/Dan
yup .. there is always pro and cons. For me to do screen capture on the 2wire and posted here. I directly connect my PC to the 2wire. Too bad my server do not have 2 NIC cards ha ha....
wwteo000
13-08-2009, 04:30 PM
Sorry to hijack thread.
Any of you managed to get the Singtel VOIP working in bridge mode along with another router? Or is it die die must not have the VOIP in bridge mode with router.
13-08-2009, 05:15 PM
Sorry to hijack thread.
Any of you managed to get the Singtel VOIP working in bridge mode along with another router? Or is it die die must not have the VOIP in bridge mode with router.
in Bridge Mode. the 2701 will not have an internet Address. Since it does not have internet Address, the inbuilt voip client will not be able to connect to the Singnet VOIP server.
I discover the non-bridge mode / non-dmz mode because I wanted to use the inbuilt VOIP function of 2701.
Thanks.
wwteo000
13-08-2009, 06:13 PM
in Bridge Mode. the 2701 will not have an internet Address. Since it does not have internet Address, the inbuilt voip client will not be able to connect to the Singnet VOIP server.
I discover the non-bridge mode / non-dmz mode because I wanted to use the inbuilt VOIP function of 2701.
Thanks.
Are you saying you have both router and 2wire run in WWAN and have two WWAN IPs?
I need a WWAN IP for the router also since it is running all kinds of stuff. No, not bittorrent.
13-08-2009, 07:49 PM
Are you saying you have both router and 2wire run in WWAN and have two WWAN IPs?
I need a WWAN IP for the router also since it is running all kinds of stuff. No, not bittorrent.
Yes. If you need to use VOIP of 2701 and with own router. This method I suggest I think is the only way. Whether you use torrent or not. :)
takumi78
14-08-2009, 05:44 PM
Sorry for the interruption, all these discussions abit chim for me. But from wat I read, does that mean changing the new mio box (white) is worse than the old mio box (grey) in terms of wireless connection ? In order to have smooth torrenting and wireless networking, I need to get DIR-655 to solve all these issues ? My current mio box was the old model (located on 2nd floor of my house) and I got very weak signal if I go wireless on first floor, sometimes my laptop cant even detect the network at all! Will the methods u guys suggested work for my problem ?:look:
liangtam
14-08-2009, 06:50 PM
Sorry for the interruption, all these discussions abit chim for me. But from wat I read, does that mean changing the new mio box (white) is worse than the old mio box (grey) in terms of wireless connection ?
In order to have smooth torrenting and wireless networking, I need to get DIR-655 to solve all these issues ?
Not really, there are a few ways to achieve.
Torrent:
a) Reduce max connection
b) Change router
Taking option b may be an easy way out for messy configurations made by the users, but does not always guarantee smooth p2p.
Wireless:
a) Change antennas(Effectiveness: 1 out of 5 with no other combi)
b) Higher/Amplified output power(1.5/5)
c) Install more APs (5/5)
My current mio box was the old model (located on 2nd floor of my house) and I got very weak signal if I go wireless on first floor, sometimes my laptop cant even detect the network at all! Will the methods u guys suggested work for my problem ?:look:
Maybe yes, maybe not.
precise
15-08-2009, 06:15 PM
Okay. I got it work with the configuration for Zyxel ADSL wireless modem router. Now happy with the torrenting.
Just 1 clarification, how to disable the DMZ of 2wire? Currently, I set it as DMZ+ configure for my Zyxel modem router. No specific reason, just want to try the setting.
komirad
30-08-2009, 01:25 PM
Still cant get this to work on my WRT300N with DDWRT firmware.
When I connect to the WRT300N router, it's local access only.
Ipconfig in command prompt on a PC connected to the WRT300N shows no Connection-specific DNS Suffix and Default Gateway IPs/Domains.t
It also shows a "Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address" with an IP address I do not recoginised 169.254.xx.xxx - is this another Singnet WAN IP?
Subnet mask is 255.255.0.0 compared to when connected to MIO box directly 255.255.255.0
But on my WRT300N router, the WAN IP is 219.74.xxx.xxx and LAN IP is 192.168.1.1
Is VOIP essential?
Does it mean I cannot use my phone if I switch to Bridged mode?
@avatarlam
I stumbled upon the same configurations as you while trying to get the MIO TV to work together with my WRT54GL running dd-wrt v24 SP1. Noticed also the different WAN IP addresses for the router and the 2wire.
However, problem is that I have yet to get my MIO TV working despite connecting it to the LAN port on the 2wire. Its constantly stuck at "Press OK to watch TV". The STB showed a green LED on the connection so it should be connected. Difference between your setting and mine is that I changed the 2wire ip to 192.168.0.* instead of the default. Dunno if thats the reason why MIO TV does not work but I dun see why it should affect the MIO TV.
Freakerzz
23-10-2009, 08:12 PM
@avatarlam
I stumbled upon the same configurations as you while trying to get the MIO TV to work together with my WRT54GL running dd-wrt v24 SP1. Noticed also the different WAN IP addresses for the router and the 2wire.
However, problem is that I have yet to get my MIO TV working despite connecting it to the LAN port on the 2wire. Its constantly stuck at "Press OK to watch TV". The STB showed a green LED on the connection so it should be connected. Difference between your setting and mine is that I changed the 2wire ip to 192.168.0.* instead of the default. Dunno if thats the reason why MIO TV does not work but I dun see why it should affect the MIO TV.
have u tried to switch off and on back the STB to try?remote black or silver one?if nt using remote try using the OK button on the STB
Yep, tried multiple times to power cycle the 2701, router and STB but no go. The remote is black. Pressing OK on the remote does not do anything and neither on the STB.
Seems like this MIO TV has got lots of issues to iron out before they roll it out for EPL else they are going to get tonnes of complaints. Lucky I got it FOC as part of the MIO home package, wouldn't pay for something that is so prone to problems.
29-10-2009, 02:43 PM
@avatarlam
Dont see that the IP should be the problem. I didnt use my MIO TV for a while so I didnt know if there is a problem. But wife watch it once a while... last time and so far no problem. I can check it tonite.
29-10-2009, 02:46 PM
Okay. I got it work with the configuration for Zyxel ADSL wireless modem router. Now happy with the torrenting.
Just 1 clarification, how to disable the DMZ of 2wire? Currently, I set it as DMZ+ configure for my Zyxel modem router. No specific reason, just want to try the setting.
Think just unchecked the DMZ setting... should do it fine.
soonwee
29-10-2009, 07:20 PM
can any kind soul tell me wats the default username and password for my white MIO box? i cannot go in see my settings..
liangtam
29-10-2009, 07:30 PM
There isnt any username/password to go in WebUI
30-10-2009, 12:31 AM
Checked my Mio TV. Still working fine.
alexlau
30-10-2009, 05:19 PM
Dear avatarlam, thanks for the informative post and diagram. I got a few questions.
1. in your first diagram, the VoIP phone is missing, do you mind to add it? i presume it's connected to 2wire router/gateway?
2. In such network setting, will the QoS, Bandwidth limitation, network access rules set in D-link router work as efficient as if we set the 2wire just as a bridge?
3. How is the connection speed for your desktop/notebook as compared to setting 2wire in pure bridge mode and use D-link as the router? especially if there's a call in progress.
I'm quite keen on getting the SingNet broadband, however I'm not sure whether I should stick to analog fixed line+SingNet or just a MIO plan, part of the reason is I need a better router other than 2wire. Your post is very useful for me, thank you.
liangtam
30-10-2009, 05:45 PM
2) Both are independent in terms of settings and operation. Except the 2Wire must be up to deliver internet service.
3) Less part of upload bandwidth used for mio Voice(where applicable), does not affect
alexlau
30-10-2009, 06:52 PM
thanks liangtam for the quick reply.
how about vpn services? will I still able to access the home PC behind the D-link router from other locations, such as my office? I'm currently using a ASUS router with Tomato VPN build (in Starhub calbe network), it works. wondering whether it works if switching to SingNet.
30-10-2009, 08:17 PM
yes .. VPN can still be use as 2701 behave like a modem.
I am using Windows XP VPN Service.... and also VNC over SSL to my file server. No problem.
30-10-2009, 08:28 PM
1. in your first diagram, the VoIP phone is missing, do you mind to add it? i presume it's connected to 2wire router/gateway?
Ok .. Just updated as per request
2. In such network setting, will the QoS, Bandwidth limitation, network access rules set in D-link router work as efficient as if we set the 2wire just as a bridge?
Not that I have observe.... I didnt have time to do extensive testing also. But using normal wan testing site... I dont see the difference.
3. How is the connection speed for your desktop/notebook as compared to setting 2wire in pure bridge mode and use D-link as the router? especially if there's a call in progress.
As above similar comments.
I'm quite keen on getting the SingNet broadband, however I'm not sure whether I should stick to analog fixed line+SingNet or just a MIO plan, part of the reason is I need a better router other than 2wire. Your post is very useful for me, thank you.[/QUOTE]
If you have folks keep using home phone. I will recommend to stick to Analog fixed line.
Also I think got folks commented that to switch from VOIP to Fixed next time need extra charge.
For me ... before switching to Singtel, I dont have any fixed line anyway ... and have been using Mobile as primary calling device. So ... VOIP service is good enough for me and my wife.
For better energy efficiency ... fixed line is still better than VOIP. as VOIP, the 2701 need to switch on if not .. no calls will be coming in.
liangtam
30-10-2009, 08:39 PM
huai notch :s11:
alexlau
30-10-2009, 09:43 PM
thank you so much! both of you, for the detailed answers and explanations. Cheers~
hi guys,
Anyway to replace the 2wire altogether & yet have the VOIP? Really dun like the 2wire
Freakerzz
04-11-2009, 06:54 PM
hi guys,
Anyway to replace the 2wire altogether & yet have the VOIP? Really dun like the 2wire
buy a adsl2+ modem tat support voip..\
seen customer using linksy voip modem and it works
oic, thanks.
been googling, which modem model are u referring to?
liangtam
08-11-2009, 02:06 AM
*Any* model
dreamer_toons
08-11-2009, 01:22 PM
Currently, I'm using the MIO with 2701, wired connected to my desktop and wireless connected to a notebook.
I'm considering to add on a N router to increase my wireless coverage. Is there any siginificant speed increase for using the N network?
I'm a noob in networking and after reading through these posts, I'm still as confused as before. If I'm go ahead and add a N router to my 2701 without addition configuration (plug and play), will my entire setup continue and phone to work?
11-11-2009, 02:24 AM
Currently, I'm using the MIO with 2701, wired connected to my desktop and wireless connected to a notebook.
I'm considering to add on a N router to increase my wireless coverage. Is there any siginificant speed increase for using the N network?
I'm a noob in networking and after reading through these posts, I'm still as confused as before. If I'm go ahead and add a N router to my 2701 without addition configuration (plug and play), will my entire setup continue and phone to work?
Draft N is faster versus G mode. but then the bottleneck is typically at the link speed to internet
As long as you dont stream HD video or transfer files frequently between PCs or Notebook, you will not feel a lot of difference surfing internet using G or N router. For Coverage, N is definitely better but provided your PCs or Notebook also using N adapter.
The configuration I given is to allow VOIP to continue working even with 3rd party router.
Hope this helps.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.