View Full Version : Recommendations for router w/ decent access/parental controls
wedgehammer
30-07-2009, 10:55 AM
hi bros, can recommend decent routers with proper (which actually works and highly configurable) access/parental controls... looking to block certain websites and/or services during the day and maybe limiting the hours my maid can access the net while we're at work (so she can pay attention to our kid)
so far, i read that the dlink dir-655 can do the above, would like to confirm with bros who have experience using it. as well as recommendations from other device users who might have similar experience, thanks!
phuque99
30-07-2009, 11:20 AM
Steady leh, new age maid allowed to use your computer when you at work?
wedgehammer
30-07-2009, 11:32 AM
worse, she got her own laptop lol
phuque99
30-07-2009, 11:39 AM
got facebook and blog too? hahah, careful she doesn't blog about you.
liangtam
30-07-2009, 11:44 AM
sounds wrong, or that TS ish welly lich to buy maid a laptop....
wedgehammer
30-07-2009, 01:01 PM
not rich leh, even my wife still using the old laptop we bought back in 2005...
my maid got one of those big and inexpensive laptops which cost her about 700, i think... about the cost of a netbook... mebbe from her savings (she been with us for 2yrs+)... im surprised can get laptops now for that low. decent some more, core duo + 720p + hdmi and all that stuff
anyway, i just dun wan her to get addicted and start to neglect our kid so i thought of imposing limits on her access... on the other hand, i oso dun wan to stifle or deprive too much by totally cutting off access. might get rebellious
wedgehammer
30-07-2009, 01:04 PM
got facebook and blog too? hahah, careful she doesn't blog about you.
haha think friendster got, u interested? hehe
think sent me invite before to sign up, i should haf so i would know just in case she post something questionable
phuque99
30-07-2009, 01:35 PM
its just quite humorous to know. nonetheless for your original question, i'm using routers that run 3rd party firmwares, namely tomato and dd-wrt. both of these allows time-based filtering, ie, 9am - 6pm, access is disabled or cannot access url with *friendster* for example.
using 3rd party firmware of course will require you to do the leg work in reading about it and flashing the firmware. manuals for both linksys and dlink routers are available on the site. you can go flip through them to see what kinda filtering is allowed.
wedgehammer
31-07-2009, 11:51 AM
cool, thanks bro... sounds interesting, ill check out tomato and dd-wrt after i get a suitable router
i tried looking for a firmware or some other workaround to enable parental controls in my mio router (the manuf's page lists it as a feature, but have to be supported by the service provider) to no avail
halfwaythere
31-07-2009, 06:43 PM
Go download netgear manual and browse through. I'm using netgear WNR834 and using it to block sites, schedule access time & emailing myself all sites accessed.
Cheers
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.