PDA

View Full Version : To those who own SSD hdds

racerguy
01-08-2009, 06:53 PM
Do your applications run faster on them?

If your OS is installed on it. Does it start up faster ?

dreampuzz
01-08-2009, 06:55 PM

confirmed:s27::D:s12:

racerguy
01-08-2009, 06:57 PM
confirmed:s27::D:s12:

So it's noticable to the human eye?

yukita
01-08-2009, 07:16 PM
how about extract winrar or winzip? is it faster than velociraptor raid 0?

Teo En Ming
01-08-2009, 07:21 PM
Solid state disks are very expensive. Wonder when the price will drop.

racerguy
01-08-2009, 07:23 PM
get raptor should be a more economical choice.

dreampuzz
01-08-2009, 07:34 PM
how about extract winrar or winzip? is it faster than velociraptor raid 0?

nv winzip or winrar much .. but open anything oso fast =:p:s12:

yukita
01-08-2009, 07:56 PM
wah if can try let me know .... unrar or rar 1gb file can? :D

Mythmaker
01-08-2009, 08:00 PM
So it's noticable to the human eye?

7200rpm hdd around 15s fastest for xp... SSD around 5s or even lower. You can google for videos in youtube.

pa9797
01-08-2009, 08:01 PM

TS, if the question you asked are what SSD suppose to be and if it does not run faster than mechanical HDD, the SSD will go into history very soon

NightRaven
01-08-2009, 08:19 PM
haha er ya of cuz faster duh!

dreampuzz
01-08-2009, 08:20 PM
wah if can try let me know .... unrar or rar 1gb file can? :D

hahah .. where to find 1gig rar wor ..

but raid ssd is relly fast ...

single ssd is ok fast

racerguy
01-08-2009, 08:46 PM

SSd damn ex especially compared to the normal; HDD. How many GB your ssd have? 120GB like 1.2K liao.

PetPet
01-08-2009, 08:48 PM
yes it's fast. opening photoshop etc is fast.

racerguy
01-08-2009, 08:49 PM
hahah .. where to find 1gig rar wor ..

but raid ssd is relly fast ...

single ssd is ok fast

U can also rar it into 1 GB mah. Anyway most of those large iso files are usually split into smaller rar files i suppose cos of trasfer over the net.

ragnarok95
01-08-2009, 08:49 PM
You sure 120GB SSD are at $1.2K.

racerguy
01-08-2009, 08:59 PM
I found this on the net.

24SSD in raid and 6tb

Over 2GB/s in trasferring data? How much does a noraml 7200 rpm transfer?

96dWOEa4Djs

ly1968
01-08-2009, 09:01 PM
You sure 120GB SSD are at $1.2K.

Should be $700+ lah

ly1968
01-08-2009, 09:07 PM
[quote=racerguy;39342871]I found this on the net.

24SSD in raid and 6tb

Ang mo is damn siao sia,lol

Humster
01-08-2009, 09:11 PM
Lets just hope Intel's 2nd Gen SSDs will help bring the prices down to affortable prices.

hiroko_21
01-08-2009, 11:29 PM
I found this on the net.

24SSD in raid and 6tb

96dWOEa4Djs

well.. this is awesome.. LOL..

hiroko_21
01-08-2009, 11:33 PM
SSd damn ex especially compared to the normal; HDD. How many GB your ssd have? 120GB like 1.2K liao.

well.. i would say it depends on what you want.. fast access speed? storage? value for $$?.. therefore ssd is expensive for now for quite a main reason.. that's the fast seeking speed which makes loading much faster..=)

racerguy
01-08-2009, 11:35 PM
well.. i would say it depends on what you want.. fast access speed? storage? value for $$?.. therefore ssd is expensive for now for quite a main reason.. that's the fast seeking speed which makes loading much faster..=)

Damn who doesn't want a faster pc?

Most basic thing i think ever single user wants a faster pc that starts up apps faster.

cueball1981
01-08-2009, 11:43 PM
I tink for normal user.. the most notice different is shutting down.. I did that for a friend system. RAID0 the VIsta shut down is in secs.. ard 4-5sec..

racerguy
01-08-2009, 11:47 PM
I tink for normal user.. the most notice different is shutting down.. I did that for a friend system. RAID0 the VIsta shut down is in secs.. ard 4-5sec..

i noticed one thing about vista is that after u used some very taxing application like games like gta4 or crysis for eg it takes longer to shut down. It also takes longer to shut down after it has installed some new drivers for eg and it needs to be restarted.

zat0ichi
01-08-2009, 11:59 PM
Lets just hope Intel's 2nd Gen SSDs will help bring the prices down to affortable prices.

it has a huge hiccup. lets see the bug get fixed first with the firmware upgrade before going further into the price drop.

ragnarok95
02-08-2009, 12:12 AM

Most basic thing i think ever single user wants a faster pc that starts up apps faster.

Prepare to pay.

DeMoBLiTzer
02-08-2009, 01:42 AM
The video is very cool, but was told that if you own a SSD, you need not need to defrag your harddisk at all, so that part on defrag in the video is quite pointless as the drive won't be fragmented at all.

Defrag is a solution to the way a conventional rotational based harddisk store data all over the disk platter. SSDs do not have this at all.

DeMoBLiTzer
02-08-2009, 01:56 AM
While SSDs aren't exactly cheap, the beauty of flash is that it follows the same Moore's Law that CPUs do. In the next ~18 months you'll be able to get a 120GB drive (about $680 now) for the price of the 64GB (about $399 now), in another couple of years we'll be at 250GB for the same price (most likely lower as SSD demands increase).

Within the next five years we'll be in a situation where the fans in your system are more likely to fail than your hard drive, and if your drive does happen to fail it'll tell you well in advance. It's the nature of SSDs.

Sendoh82
02-08-2009, 02:03 AM
but that time i tot some bro got post some links or article here. ssd after reusing sometime not that spectacular

Dr.Vijay
02-08-2009, 02:11 AM
Use it as your OS and Application drive... as long as you use SSDs mainly for reading off the drive, it's going to last quite a while to come. We can all worry about performance and reliability when it's getting cheap to the point when we use SSD as the main boot and storage drive; but by then, these issues are bound to be solved.

but that time i tot some bro got post some links or article here. ssd after reusing sometime not that spectacular

racerguy
02-08-2009, 02:54 AM
Use it as your OS and Application drive... as long as you use SSDs mainly for reading off the drive, it's going to last quite a while to come. We can all worry about performance and reliability when it's getting cheap to the point when we use SSD as the main boot and storage drive; but by then, these issues are bound to be solved.

The cheaper ssds are the ones with smaller space like around 30GB. They should be used as an OS drive while the other non SSD drives are used for storage yet wouldn't applications still take a long time to load up on it, since you need to transfer data bewteen the 2 hdds.

Take a game for eg. You wouldn't install it inside the ssd since games take up lots of space then it's inside the other HDD and then it still takes a long time to load. Only the OS loads up fast.

racerguy
02-08-2009, 02:57 AM
While SSDs aren't exactly cheap, the beauty of flash is that it follows the same Moore's Law that CPUs do. In the next ~18 months you'll be able to get a 120GB drive (about $680 now) for the price of the 64GB (about $399 now), in another couple of years we'll be at 250GB for the same price (most likely lower as SSD demands increase).

Within the next five years we'll be in a situation where the fans in your system are more likely to fail than your hard drive, and if your drive does happen to fail it'll tell you well in advance. It's the nature of SSDs.

U know this will aid PC users so they do not need to start threads in hardware forums like "My PC shuts down unexpectedly or my files are becoming corrupted." Hopefully it explains it in simple normal english language rather than using PC jargon.

hiroko_21
02-08-2009, 09:28 AM

well.. some ppl doesnt mind to wait for that few sec more than spending a few hundred more for ssd.. :look:

hiroko_21
02-08-2009, 09:39 AM
The cheaper ssds are the ones with smaller space like around 30GB. They should be used as an OS drive while the other non SSD drives are used for storage yet wouldn't applications still take a long time to load up on it, since you need to transfer data bewteen the 2 hdds.

Take a game for eg. You wouldn't install it inside the ssd since games take up lots of space then it's inside the other HDD and then it still takes a long time to load. Only the OS loads up fast.

well.. then you are wrong in some sense.. i've install game into my ssd as it make loading real fast. i would say i'll install games, application, os into my ssd and leave all the data to my storage hdd.. =)

yukita
02-08-2009, 10:07 AM
i ask our Dr here:

btw, just a question, if 2xVelociraptor Raid 0 vs SSD on daily usage and alot of winzip/winrar usage, which one is better as the price about the same .... thanks.

Interesting question... we haven't had a chance to play with 2xVelociraptor drives yet. Based on our time with a single drive, the SSD is still going to be more responsive. However, if heavy writing duties are involved, your best bet now is to keep to a normal HDD. At least if your concerned about investment and overall steady performance expectations. Besides, you get more capacity.

SSDs are very ideal now for being a boot drive, but not yet to the point for mainstream everyday usage to replace your HDDs. Cost isn't the only factor, but it's about the sustainabiltiy of performance in a heavily used drive which seems to differ at the moment depending on controller types and firmware advancement. Another issue is that several entry-level SSDs have poor write performance and those can dissapoint for heavy usage.

yukita
02-08-2009, 10:09 AM
just to share ba ...
ssd price for good performance one, not yet reach mainstream (at least for its size) ... will go for Velociraptor 2x150gb when i5 coming out :D

ragnarok95
02-08-2009, 10:10 AM

I load my games in another drive other than the main C drive and mine start up quite fast.

ooogle
02-08-2009, 12:20 PM
everything bout ssd is fast fast
no doubt bout that

os bootup/shutdown fast fast
transfer file fast fast

slimming results (compared to traditional slimming salon) fast fast

guarantee sign chop thumprint

hiroko_21
02-08-2009, 01:00 PM
everything bout ssd is fast fast
no doubt bout that

os bootup/shutdown fast fast
transfer file fast fast

slimming results (compared to traditional slimming salon) fast fast

guarantee sign chop thumprint

haha.. tt's y u pay for quality goods. =X

ooogle
02-08-2009, 01:03 PM
at least slim spa sessions let u eat health food

buy liao ssd, wallet slim liao
u onli get to jiak loti, get more slimmer

crobin
06-08-2009, 10:44 AM

Very brand dependent. Especially those with no cache can be a bit flaky. All the new ones with at least 64MB or 128MB cache are ok .. those use Indinix controller or dual Jmicron or Samsung or Intel controllers.

On my iMac, I can launch 30 applications in succession and not affect the system responsivness and finish in a minute plus. Tried the same on hard drive .. 7 minutes later still launching and in between that the system like want to die. And that was done by launch the system via 400Mbps Firewire, so the bottleneck was the interface. If it was done on SATA direct, it would have been even more dramatic .. That was a Intel 160 GB Gen 1 SSD.

asdf7911hwz
14-08-2009, 12:26 PM
borrow thread for query..thanx in advance

right now which SSD with at least 100gb size is recommended? ocz vertex? 1st or 2nd gen? i sense 1st gen shld be good enuf..since the price is a bit high if we buy from SLS..any good sites to buy online from? thanx

dreampuzz
14-08-2009, 12:46 PM
borrow thread for query..thanx in advance

right now which SSD with at least 100gb size is recommended? ocz vertex? 1st or 2nd gen? i sense 1st gen shld be good enuf..since the price is a bit high if we buy from SLS..any good sites to buy online from? thanx

1st gen has prob and many stuff dont support etc trim

get vertex, summit or intel series :D

Spongy
14-08-2009, 01:53 PM
How to differentiate between first and second gen ? I have a vertex 120GB but would like to know which gen it belongs to.

dreampuzz
14-08-2009, 02:02 PM
How to differentiate between first and second gen ? I have a vertex 120GB but would like to know which gen it belongs to.

1st gen consumer ssd are those with Jmicron controllers generally ..

vertex, summit & intel ones are def the new gen .. which maybe u can call it 2nd gen

btw go flash ur vertex to 1.41 ... now has improved "GC" ... can return ur ssd performance to almost new when u idle for 15-30mins

joystick
14-08-2009, 02:28 PM
Hello folks, thinking of OCZ Vertex 30GB for my OS/Apps. Any good this model? Thanks.

dreampuzz
14-08-2009, 02:42 PM
Hello folks, thinking of OCZ Vertex 30GB for my OS/Apps. Any good this model? Thanks.

surely faster than any HDD .. but 30abit small :(

tm.chen
14-08-2009, 03:47 PM
get a 64gb. prices are coming down so it should be more affordable.

Spongy
14-08-2009, 04:49 PM
1st gen consumer ssd are those with Jmicron controllers generally ..

vertex, summit & intel ones are def the new gen .. which maybe u can call it 2nd gen

btw go flash ur vertex to 1.41 ... now has improved "GC" ... can return ur ssd performance to almost new when u idle for 15-30mins

Thanks. I have just flashed it about 2 weeks ago when I bought it and now they have 1.41FW. Will wait a while before flashing to the latest as I am not using it for my PC so no need for the GC feature so long as read and write is fast for 1.3FW.

Humster
16-08-2009, 11:09 AM
Ok.. guys need to know, this may sound stupid, but I need to ask.

If I have a normal HDD for OS and Storage, as my main drive, and a SSD for my games.

Will using the SSD as a secondary drive, have any affect on its performance??

tm.chen
16-08-2009, 11:15 AM
the games would load faster but your OS and other main programs would still be the same. You should have used your SSD for OS and games. HDD use for storage. Of course having everything in the SSD would allow your computer to load everything faster (doesnt process faster thought)

MasK
16-08-2009, 01:40 PM
I noticed the cheapest SSD is Team brand..
About ~$450 for 128GB. Is is worthwhile buying it.. considering I do have that cash?

Humster
16-08-2009, 02:08 PM
I noticed the cheapest SSD is Team brand..
About ~$450 for 128GB. Is is worthwhile buying it.. considering I do have that cash?

I'm still trying to find out what memory controller its using....

dreampuzz
16-08-2009, 02:10 PM
theres only 3 type of controller u can trust for stable and performance : Indilinx , Samsung or Intel ..

i think Team SSD is not using anyone of the above .. maybe the newer version is .. u better double check .. dont buy a lemon ..

:s12::s13: