PDA

View Full Version : Omg starhub contract extended when i wanted to cancel.

Questin
20-08-2009, 01:02 AM
My 2 year starhub contract is ending, so i was thinking of switching to M1.

Then some guy from starhub called, my parents answered, and he basically said, contract ending, asked if want to recontract...then they just blindly answer "okay lor".

****, now i am recontracted for no good reason...

czheyuan
20-08-2009, 01:54 AM
Thats bad news... But no choice as Starhub outsources this recontract thingy to a 3rd party where sales targets need to be reached (where I used to work before).. Basically they just need a Yes from you then they'll take it as you want liao.. Do not need a paper contract just like Singtel when they call to recontract.. No such thing as verbal contract for M1 though...

Maybe you can call Starhub asap see if can don't recontract.. Say due to miscommunication.. :s13:

Just Me
20-08-2009, 01:58 AM
Thats bad news... But no choice as Starhub outsources this recontract thingy to a 3rd party where sales targets need to be reached (where I used to work before).. Basically they just need a Yes from you then they'll take it as you want liao.. Do not need a paper contract just like Singtel when they call to recontract.. No such thing as verbal contract for M1 though...

Maybe you can call Starhub asap see if can don't recontract.. Say due to miscommunication.. :s13:
Like that also can? Verbal contract? Maybe the CS will look for the ignorant aunties which they will call during the day since the sons/daughters are out working and try to sucker them into recontracting.... this is so despicable :(

Just Me
20-08-2009, 02:01 AM

Then some guy from starhub called, my parents answered, and he basically said, contract ending, asked if want to recontract...then they just blindly answer "okay lor".

If you seriously don't want to recontract you better call them and let them know firmly it was a mistake. If anybody in your family can represent you, you can ask them "If my dog answers and gives them a 'woof' will they take it for a 'yes' as well?" :D

ohmygod1986
20-08-2009, 07:39 AM
They do record all this conversation ...

That time i recontract by phone also :yawn:

phuque99
20-08-2009, 09:19 AM
did you parent also help verify your ic number, date of birth, etc? if no identity verification was perform, you can listen to the recording together and dispute that the actual contract holder did not agree to this since you parents is not the contract holder.

unless of course your parents verified you or your parents are the actual contract holder and paying for it! :D

liangtam
20-08-2009, 09:28 AM
you forgot the facepalm peekture

phuque99
20-08-2009, 09:38 AM

make him more chek ark? :s13:

leaving_footsteps
20-08-2009, 10:12 AM
The subscription is under whose name?

HeeroYuy84
20-08-2009, 10:17 AM
is this the correct procedure in the first place to ask pple to recontact over the phone?

czheyuan
20-08-2009, 10:31 AM
Like that also can? Verbal contract? Maybe the CS will look for the ignorant aunties which they will call during the day since the sons/daughters are out working and try to sucker them into recontracting.... this is so despicable :(

Hahah yup SH Maxonline and Cable TV has verbal contracts de.. However, the conversations are recorded and identification is supposed to be verified. Singtel Mobile has exactly the same practice too.

Outsourced party gets paid by commission leh... Must chiong... Lols =:p

Just Me
20-08-2009, 10:59 AM
Hahah yup SH Maxonline and Cable TV has verbal contracts de.. However, the conversations are recorded and identification is supposed to be verified. Singtel Mobile has exactly the same practice too.

Outsourced party gets paid by commission leh... Must chiong... Lols =:p
Wake up call for low handed tactics. If it was me I'll ask my folks to slam the phone down on any SH pricks trying to do that... :D

Just Me
20-08-2009, 11:00 AM
Doh... what's that supposed to be? :rolleyes:

krazyman
20-08-2009, 11:20 AM
Wake up call for low handed tactics. If it was me I'll ask my folks to slam the phone down on any SH pricks trying to do that... :D

One man's poison could be another man's meat.

For those who want to recontract, it definitely more convenient than having to fax/write in or visit their customer service centres.

rogerfederer
20-08-2009, 12:09 PM
You said your contract is ending, which means it hasn't ended, so I'm pretty sure you can call them and revoke the decision.

cyc1op
20-08-2009, 12:15 PM
I agree. Call them up and explain the situation. Think many pointed out that SH got best customer support, let this be a test to them.

Kapish
20-08-2009, 12:20 PM
who registered for the service?
if under your name, still can fight ... otherwise lol

albertlee
20-08-2009, 12:49 PM
Contact need to sign form mah, so dun need to worry lah.

liangtam
20-08-2009, 04:53 PM
Verbally agree is still some form of contract.
Must dispute it before start of recontract

NineNineNine
20-08-2009, 05:14 PM
I don't understand how this is a contract. What did you gain from the contract? Free notebook? Free handphone? Anything?

If you quit the contract and had to pay a penalty, how come? Again what did you gain that you must pay for it?

Probably the only thing to gain is a reduced price per month. But since you have yet to finish one month of usage under the "new contract", why can't you terminate now? The most at the end of the month pay the full unsubsidized rate and say bye bye to SH.

If they give you any freebies, don't sign for them. Tell them to take it back.

Seems like SH is pulling a fast one by using the term "contract".

czheyuan
20-08-2009, 09:13 PM
Contact need to sign form mah, so dun need to worry lah.

For recontract through phone, SH will not issue any forms for you to sign de...

czheyuan
20-08-2009, 09:14 PM
who registered for the service?
if under your name, still can fight ... otherwise lol

If under TS name, may not be able to fight too if parents provided TS details such as full name, NRIC etc...

Furthermore, the outsourced company collects these details. So SH will not capture the details immediately..

Rock
20-08-2009, 09:23 PM
If the account is registered under your name, then you can call in to fight. But if it is under your parent name , your parent can still call in to fight. Record of conversation doesn't means it is contracted. Because what kind of benefits on the buyer party gain in this case? Free notebook, free LCD TV?? Just give a call to starhub and tell them your concern.

LonelyMan
21-08-2009, 05:08 AM
Facts:

1) There is a contract made.
2) I assume you are still on your last month of contract.

Remedy:

1) Not to complain and talk nicely.
2) Admit it as a mistake from your side.
3) Highlight the fact that you are still on the last month of service, SH making no loss.

If cannot work, try this:

1) Tell them nicely that you want to resolve this issue peacefully.
2) Tell them you can no longer afford this service and SH will be wasting wonderful resource like the CSO/Manager to recover monies owing.
3) Tell them you will reconsider SH first when you want to signup again.

If still cannot work, then no choice try this:

1) Tell them that they leave you with no choice but to lodge a feedback to CASE.
2) Tell them it would probably costs more to hire legal advisers to deal with CASE and lose a customer permanently than to retain a good image for future consideration when possible.

Do not ever threaten them.

twist_shout
21-08-2009, 09:38 AM
HI TS,i am sure you can cancel it as there is no signing of agreement letter involved. though ya parents did 'confirm' verbally.Once i did confirm my SH recontract on phone but decide to cancel it later on and it can be done. jus call back the CSO that spoke to ya parents. (provided they got take his/her mobile number).

even if they use the so call recorded converstation to use against u, u jus insist that u wanna cancel and they did not inform any form of penalty involved upon cancellation.

i hope this method work for u.

Mclairs83
21-08-2009, 10:15 AM
first thing, is the maxonline under ur name or ur parents?

i always hate this thing, and also worried, last time my maxonline was also under my mother name and during tat time i was already quite pissed wif starhub on teh slow connection so i ask my mother to do a transfer of account to my name.. so anybody who called my house and ask for re-contract they would need to gain from my approval first before doing funny stunt.

TS, assuming ur maxonline account is under ur mum/dad name, called up and explain to the CSO its a miscommunication and wish to cancel the maxonline.. i believe there is a like time period for u to cancel the contract should u find it uncomfortable.

If nothing works out, called up CASE and ask them to handle the situation.. remember to do it fast..

czheyuan
21-08-2009, 11:51 AM
Yup call SH CSO asap... Before everything gets processed..

albertlee
21-08-2009, 12:32 PM
For recontract through phone, SH will not issue any forms for you to sign de...
Even so there should be a cooling off period for subscriber to reconsider, if all failed can always bring it up to Case. Anyway I don't believe SH is so chao kuan and refuse to void the contract.

santaboi
21-08-2009, 12:48 PM
i dont think this is a legitimate form of contract, no one signed anything its just a verbal agreement. Anyone who was at TS's home at that time and knows his IC number and address can do the so called "verification".

Can I just call up the bank and set up a bank account after giving the operator my name, ic number and address?

liangtam
21-08-2009, 02:37 PM
i dont think this is a legitimate form of contract, no one signed anything its just a verbal agreement. Anyone who was at TS's home at that time and knows his IC number and address can do the so called "verification".

Can I just call up the bank and set up a bank account after giving the operator my name, ic number and address?

It is a legimate form of contract, even if its verbally spoken.
Its like saying someone call the bank and tell them to cancel your credit card with your details, they'll still process it.

phuque99
21-08-2009, 05:22 PM

cannot because you need to first established and verify your identify (ie. your yan dao face is the same yan dao picture in your IC).

Once that has been established, phone verification is sufficient for future transaction, ie changing, extending contract, based on the same yan dao documents used to establish the initial identity.

tyranimo
21-08-2009, 05:33 PM
cannot because you need to first established and verify your identify (ie. your yan dao face is the same yan dao picture in your IC).

Once that has been established, phone verification is sufficient for future transaction, ie changing, extending contract, based on the same yan dao documents used to establish the initial identity.
Well in business law, verbal contacts are also legaly binding.

In this case, as long as sufficent means are used to prove the identity of the caller, the contract does remain valid.

NineNineNine
21-08-2009, 08:40 PM
Well in business law, verbal contacts are also legaly binding.

In this case, as long as sufficent means are used to prove the identity of the caller, the contract does remain valid.

In my non-lawyer mind, I cannot understand why this contract is so one-sided.

The customer promises to stay with the contract for say 24 months.
Then SH promise what?

phuque99
21-08-2009, 08:45 PM
The customer promises to stay with the contract for say 24 months.
Then SH promise what?

Ask TS show show

Questin
21-08-2009, 10:58 PM
Account holder is under my parents name, for the hub club bonus(since TV, etc are under their name already).

I dont know, my parents dont know either, they only know some guy from star hub called and they agreed to re-contract but they not sure what plan and dont have any details...they are not familiar with this kind of things.

I am trying to find out from starhub exactly what they re-contracted for.

JAson1980
21-08-2009, 11:24 PM
contract over liao what for they ask if you want to recontract?
The bill will just come as usual, just pay up monthly nia..
Unless you recontrqacted for some special rates for the package or some freebies
if not, you most probably said yes to "I love starhub, i will stick on even there's no benefits for me!"

WatashiwaElephant
21-08-2009, 11:28 PM
wow ur internet speed 86?
chiu pay how much ea mths?
singnet is fail
laggy all thet time

Questin
21-08-2009, 11:31 PM
contract over liao what for they ask if you want to recontract?
The bill will just come as usual, just pay up monthly nia..
Unless you recontrqacted for some special rates for the package or some freebies
if not, you most probably said yes to "I love starhub, i will stick on even there's no benefits for me!"

I love this forum, people dont even read the thread, they just randomly post something which may or may not make sense. Half the time they dont even post in english.

eurofunk
22-08-2009, 10:39 AM
may u get to dispute this and move on to better providers...

phuque99
22-08-2009, 11:25 AM
I love this forum, people dont even read the thread, they just randomly post something which may or may not make sense. Half the time they dont even post in english.

free forum mah, no need to pay money to post, you also post for free leh :s13:

Questin
22-08-2009, 12:58 PM
The standard of "free forums" for other countries happen to be higher.

pcteo
22-08-2009, 01:19 PM
Uniquely Singapore forum.
A message posted usually is a mixture of all languages and technology short hand, like sms text.:s22:

btw, TS, did u manage to call starhub, they shld be able to give detail about your re-contract info.
they shld have a grace period for which contract can be cancelled, but if drag too long then nothing can be done.

ohmygod1986
22-08-2009, 01:33 PM
TS got any update on your current situation :s22:

phuque99
22-08-2009, 05:20 PM
The standard of "free forums" for other countries happen to be higher.

because this happens to be a kau peh forum, only when something buay steady then someone will come here and post. otherwise, will be happy gaming, downloading piracy and what not.

James Tang
22-08-2009, 05:34 PM

Since this is under your parents' name. When SH called, did they ask them for details (ie name and IC).

If your parents verify the IC number and name with them, yes, this can be a contract. SNBB is doing the same thing and they will tell you that the conversation is being recorded. I recontracted my SNB in this way.B

Questin
22-08-2009, 10:28 PM
Talking about HWZ in general. Even the standard of posts on 4chan is higher. Thats a pretty amazing achievement...

Well for status update...

After some discussion with starhub over the phone, and further re-confirming of the subscriber's IC, we managed to get the contract cancelled and the cancellation fee waived...so all is good now.

Now time to wait for next IT show and see whats available...

NineNineNine
22-08-2009, 10:59 PM
Talking about HWZ in general. Even the standard of posts on 4chan is higher. Thats a pretty amazing achievement...

After some discussion with starhub over the phone, and further re-confirming of the subscriber's IC, we managed to get the contract cancelled and the cancellation fee waived...so all is good now.

Heng ah (can say heng or not)

so what were they offering? Free Sports Channel?

LonelyMan
23-08-2009, 12:14 AM

Interesting. I guess you cannot expect everyone to have the same level of replying?

Anyway, is your thread to warn people or look for solution? After reading your reply above, by your standard, I will expect a solution when you first post your thread if you are warning people.

My opinion is, there are people who bother to help. Granted that their reply may not be up to standard due to the culture over time.

vivalabam
23-08-2009, 12:21 AM

no way, 4chan owns this hands down. i don't think the people even read what they post at times. its good, though.

liangtam
23-08-2009, 12:48 AM
cos there ish gotch alot of facepalm pikature, while here ish onli gotch TS posting.

Questin
23-08-2009, 01:01 AM
I think they were just offering a cheaper monthly subscription rate...

4chan is better than this. Even EDMW is worse than /b/. At least post in english.

NineNineNine
24-08-2009, 10:13 AM
About the issue of quality of posts on HWZ.

Just an observation that the quality varies across the different forums within HWZ. Depends very much on the quality of the moderator.

The moderator "petetherock" rocks (pun intended) in instilling some discipline in threads. He even bothers to merge similar threads and close long ones. He is also active in maintaining comprehensive FAQs as stickies. That's dedication.

See "Home Theater & Audiophiles" and "The House of Displays" as examples of pete's HWZ moderated forums.

Just Me
24-08-2009, 12:34 PM

Seriously, I still don't trust SH.. for all you know you might still receive a bill even though you cancelled over the phone. :D

ngbc
25-08-2009, 12:14 PM
Seriously, I still don't trust SH.. for all you know you might still receive a bill even though you cancelled over the phone. :D
Ya... still remember that they sent me bill of $0 every month for 2 year after i terminated the mobile line :s22:

albertlee
25-08-2009, 01:34 PM
Ya... still remember that they sent me bill of $0 every month for 2 year after i terminated the mobile line :s22:
The whole billing dept must be kooning :yawn:

Hanwudi
25-08-2009, 08:51 PM

ya, kana b4. cancel already bill keep coming. call them they say next month waived the bill. then somtime later warning letter came... every month have to call them to waive. after many months insist they sent me letter to state everything wavied n i dont owe them anything. only then the bills, warning letter stopped. how frastrating.

studmufn
25-08-2009, 11:18 PM
i shall be polite and refrain from pointing out the irony here..

I think they were just offering a cheaper monthly subscription rate...

4chan is better than this. Even EDMW is worse than /b/. At least post in english.