PDA

View Full Version : Starhub vs Singtel Broad band

itsme220
20-08-2009, 07:49 AM
Here is the my experience

Starhub:

Good:

Best customer support and fast response.
Truly satisfied with there response
Stable and Reliable.
Can use any Router available in market.

Bad:

During Peak hours at night 7pm to 10 pm if you are downloading from Overseas websites/Servers (do not be fooled by uptp 100mbs which is from Singapore based servers only) the speed will be slow. Streaming media like youtube will be really slow.

Singnet:

Good
Speed is good and satisfactory during peak hours from overseas websites

Bad

Customer support sucks. Two days response time during office hours only.
You have to use your own mobile phone to call and trouble shoot when u call them if the Digital phone line breaks down. It can take upto 1 hour and you pay for your mobile bill.

Ugly(Singtel)

I have MIO plan with SIngtel. SO for it broke down 7 times over period of 20 Months. SO average every 3 months 2 days down.

Now you decide what is best.

aaur4man
20-08-2009, 08:34 AM
singtel also can use any router

_XiaoQian_
20-08-2009, 08:54 AM
for singtel broadband using tv cable like starhub or telephone line?

aaur4man
20-08-2009, 08:59 AM
tel line

_XiaoQian_
20-08-2009, 08:59 AM
tele line? wah sian my room no tele line

aaur4man
20-08-2009, 09:02 AM
get ST install lor think $50+

_XiaoQian_
20-08-2009, 09:04 AM
ST? stand for? :crazy:

DDanieLL
20-08-2009, 09:41 AM
ST? stand for? :crazy:

ST = SingTel....

yankees27sg
20-08-2009, 10:04 AM

Starhub:

Good:

Stable and Reliable.

Bad:

During Peak hours at night 7pm to 10 pm if you are downloading from Overseas websites/Servers (do not be fooled by uptp 100mbs which is from Singapore based servers only) the speed will be slow. Streaming media like youtube will be really slow.

Singnet:

Good

Bad

You have to use your own mobile phone to call and trouble shoot when u call them if the Digital phone line breaks down. It can take upto 1 hour and you pay for your mobile bill.

Ugly(Singtel)

I have MIO plan with SIngtel. SO for it broke down 7 times over period of 20 Months. SO average every 3 months 2 days down.

kindly elaborate "Stable and Reliable" Starhub as you are experiencing "During Peak hours at night 7pm to 10 pm if you are downloading from Overseas websites/Servers (do not be fooled by uptp 100mbs which is from Singapore based servers only) the speed will be slow. Streaming media like youtube will be really slow.":s22:

jchongll
20-08-2009, 10:16 AM
totally agreed with SN's customer service... i was having problems entering a Chinese forum. It keep indicating Forbidden but there is no issue with the security of the forum etc... its just a simple Chinese discussion forum which i can log into from my office network, friend's home.. but just cant do it from home... called SN... many months now, no reply from them.... :s27:

czheyuan
20-08-2009, 10:33 AM
You would be lucky if Singtel replies... Sometimes, they don't even bother to reply... Too bossy liao..

ohmygod1986
20-08-2009, 10:44 AM
mioVoice no good ...

Thats why i still keep my normal line for mioHome :yawn:

SGBoYxxx
20-08-2009, 11:21 AM
:( that why I am still with pacnet.
still in the miss don;t know which ISP to jump..but I will not go to starhub

is either singnet or m1

but seem mostly will choose singnet..since I already install the telephone line to my bedroom , save the trouble .
but bad points with pacnet is they now forcus on corperative sales
instead consumer .

now adsl they left only 512k

whereas I am using 1500k pay 61 buck per mth.

but good points with pacnet , mostly they will pick up ur call fast

maybe now less ppl use their network thus faster reply?

but good point so far so long I never get dc before..even when call came in

the last I get dc is due to singtel fault my house outside the telephony system is not stable this sometimes get dc

because that time I callled up pacnet , they check their servers is all working ok so they suggest the fault maybe on my house telephone line recommand to me to check with singtel.

and is true the telephone line got problem...after singtel tech fixed it
till now no dc ....

hmm I got frds using starhub , singnet ..and even m1 mobile boadband.

I saw alot complain starhub is lag ...can;t even load youtube at night.sometime even afternoon start to lag...

but when I asked my frd , some said don;t have..hmm maybe they are bluffing themself?
some said yup

next come to singnet.Mostly my frd said never dc before...speed is constant
I wonder they bluff me?since in here also got some always complain singnet occasionally dc ..speed is not constant.

jchongll
20-08-2009, 11:31 AM
Singnet never dc?? please.. definitely a bluff... :s13:
i have been on singnet since donkey years ago... dial up till broadband.. they never fail to 'amaze' me with their CS!!!! i am just too lazy to change SP.. anyway, i dont watch SCV.. so starhub offers never really tempt me to switch.. :D

ohmygod1986
20-08-2009, 11:59 AM

is either singnet or m1

but seem mostly will choose singnet..since I already install the telephone line to my bedroom , save the trouble .
instead consumer .

the last I get dc is due to singtel fault my house outside the telephony system is not stable this sometimes get dc

because that time I callled up pacnet , they check their servers is all working ok so they suggest the fault maybe on my house telephone line recommand to me to check with singtel.

till now no dc ....

I saw alot complain starhub is lag ...can;t even load youtube at night.sometime even afternoon start to lag...

but when I asked my frd , some said don;t have..hmm maybe they are bluffing themself?
some said yup

I wonder they bluff me?since in here also got some always complain singnet occasionally dc ..speed is not constant.

I never dc since after i change the kuku speedtouch modem :s13::s13::s13:

Singnet

hwsinn
20-08-2009, 12:15 PM
for internet i confirm go for singnet cos since they broadband started, i neva experienced much lag or dc....
of cos when udersea cable got prob then is bo bian la....
i neva liked cable cos i hav heard enuf from my friends and when i tell then to jump to red camp, they are just so happy then they can watch youtube at nite

SGBoYxxx
20-08-2009, 01:33 PM
for internet i confirm go for singnet cos since they broadband started, i neva experienced much lag or dc....
of cos when udersea cable got prob then is bo bian la....
i neva liked cable cos i hav heard enuf from my friends and when i tell then to jump to red camp, they are just so happy then they can watch youtube at nite

:o even pacnet can view youtube at night

some videos of cos u have to pause first and let it download abit more

depend the video how they upload to youtube

but maybe I am just using adsl1500 only which pacnet last offer this speed

yup I am "might" jump ship to singnet due to pacnet only limit connection speed of 1500k only

but surely I know the help line will be hard to get in since singnet got large customers base .

yankees27sg
20-08-2009, 02:27 PM

is either singnet or m1

instead consumer .

till now no dc ....

some said yup

used to be on pacnet 512k and jumship to SNBB 3Mbps (not MIO), so far so good and no DC.

fyi,I am using the Prolink Hurricane ADSL2+ modem that came free from Pacnet:D

since your Pacnet no DC and most likely your coming SNBB will be fine too.

SNBB 3Mbps price wise is much cheaper that Pacnet 512K but don't forget that Pacnet cancellation fees of $42.50 requires!

SGBoYxxx
20-08-2009, 02:38 PM
used to be on pacnet 512k and jumship to SNBB 3Mbps (not MIO), so far so good and no DC.

fyi,I am using the Prolink Hurricane ADSL2+ modem that came free from Pacnet:D

since your Pacnet no DC and most likely your coming SNBB will be fine too.

SNBB 3Mbps price wise is much cheaper that Pacnet 512K but don't forget that Pacnet cancellation fees of $42.50 requires!

I see , my is just normal adsl modem presently

thus if really sign up , I will use the singnet given ones

siegeholler
20-08-2009, 03:42 PM
using MOL premium in northern area.. no prob with youtube ley

_XiaoQian_
20-08-2009, 08:06 PM
singtel broadband using telephone line to connect internet.. when using internet the phone still able to get incoming calls?

phuque99
20-08-2009, 08:10 PM
yes, also remember to install micro filter

_XiaoQian_
20-08-2009, 08:13 PM
if sign up with singtel broadband.. do they come with micro filter? and using lan wire to connect the modem and the comp together?
http://www.singnet.com.sg/technical/broadband/qns/new_mf_connection.jpg

ohmygod1986
20-08-2009, 08:18 PM
if sign up with singtel broadband.. do they come with micro filter? and using lan wire to connect the modem and the comp together?
http://www.singnet.com.sg/technical/broadband/qns/new_mf_connection.jpg

Yes ...

They give 4 microfilter for 2wire ...

Now got 7 spare ones :s22::s22::s22:

_XiaoQian_
20-08-2009, 08:23 PM
me noob about internet stuff.. so if using singtel broadband the computer can use the internet lan wire to connect to the modem? because i hate wireless

jumpmanz
20-08-2009, 08:32 PM
using starhub for the past 4 years. speed can be slow during peak, but overall not bad.

baka_giraffe
20-08-2009, 09:19 PM
YUP YUP! singnet good good.. though will be beta if their technical n their ip address is 1:1... instead of random...

mata_hippo
20-08-2009, 10:08 PM
starfug's speed is really ghey during peak hours :s22:

these few days around 10-11+ cham till cannot even surf net

cannot connect to my online game

keep restart router/computer also no use

jus no activity blinking

sfsy90
21-08-2009, 12:25 AM

jus no activity blinking

Got so jia lat ma ? Cant even surf net ? Sometimes I encounter activity not blinking also. But once I restart my modem and router it's working already.

chobits
21-08-2009, 02:03 AM

jus no activity blinking

these 2 days my singnet also like that.. throughout the whole day, sometimes can connect sometimes cannot... very hard to surf net.. must refresh a lot of times then can.. damned sian.. before that i use starhub also no such prob..

http://www.speedtest.net/result/544583093.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

i'm on 10mbps plan

askh52
21-08-2009, 02:16 AM
using MOL premium in northern area.. no prob with youtube ley

starhub recently having better for youtube...

:o even pacnet can view youtube at night

some videos of cos u have to pause first and let it download abit more

depend the video how they upload to youtube

but maybe I am just using adsl1500 only which pacnet last offer this speed

yup I am "might" jump ship to singnet due to pacnet only limit connection speed of 1500k only

but surely I know the help line will be hard to get in since singnet got large customers base .

pause.. that should not be happening if u paying $60+ for a plan, even HD youtube.. that's what happen to starhub(midnight/morning) and singtel(almost whole day)
just save some $$ for your termination fee and enjoy new bb after com show

lqx84
21-08-2009, 03:06 AM
Probably wait for the so called high-speed fibre-optic broadband.

"Just over a week ago, OpenNet, the company building Singapore's upcoming broadband network, installed the cables in the first home in the same estate.

Homes wired up will be able to send and receive Internet traffic at speeds of 1 Gbps and higher, 10 times faster than that possible today.

For now, the cables lie dormant while more homes are wired up and other necessary infrastructure like the telecommunications equipment to manage the Internet traffic is put in place.

But Acting Minister for Communications, Information and the Arts Radm (NS) Lui Tuck Yew, who was there to see the installation for himself, said he was confident the network will go live by next June." quoted from April's Straits Times.

:s8:

DanielLauJJ
09-09-2009, 11:57 PM
starhub recently having better for youtube...

pause.. that should not be happening if u paying $60+ for a plan, even HD youtube.. that's what happen to starhub(midnight/morning) and singtel(almost whole day)
just save some $$ for your termination fee and enjoy new bb after com show

I have two houses. One house uses Starhub; another house uses SingTel. Starhub's connection speed has improved a lot recently. Starhub is better than SingTel. On top of that, SingTel's customer service and support is lousy. It is too complacent. If SingTel does NOT improve, it will lose out in a matter of time. I am considering switching to StarHub for both houses when promotion comes.

zeroex
10-09-2009, 12:25 AM
I ish use both, my comments:

Starhub Maxonline Premium:
+good speed, very high top speed, esp with paid rapidshare account or local downloads
- but need download manager...
- and only at offpeak hours...
-horrible speed otherwise, worse than 512k...
-always got streaming problems, even though it improved somewhat

+24HR customer support
+Had a very good technician who came down to help me once and waived all charges
-suka suka down for maintaince at late night (1-2 am) and lasts for 1-3hrs
-keep hounding me for payment even though i just miss for a few weeks
-expensive without any contract plans...

SNBB 1M
+super cheap... after disc $18~
-only with contract and 1M is being phased out

+consistent speed, can nearly max out the line
-but occasionally kena D/C without warning

+very good streaming video
-though 1m is still kinda low bandwidth nowadays

DanielLauJJ
10-09-2009, 02:14 AM
I have two houses. One house uses Starhub; another house uses SingTel. Starhub's connection speed has improved a lot recently. Starhub is better than SingTel. On top of that, SingTel's customer service and support is lousy. It is too complacent. If SingTel does NOT improve, it will lose out in a matter of time. I am considering switching to StarHub for both houses when promotion comes.

eddief4
10-09-2009, 06:25 AM
Thinking of jumping ship to singtel. Got some questions, how long does it take for activation? Is older estates prone to more DC than newer ones since I live in toa payoh.

ohmygod1986
10-09-2009, 08:27 AM
Thinking of jumping ship to singtel. Got some questions, how long does it take for activation? Is older estates prone to more DC than newer ones since I live in toa payoh.

Depends on line ...

Anything outside your house change is free :yawn:

angcsbenny
10-09-2009, 08:42 AM
if u experience alot of random dc and stuff from singnet. chances are the telephone line is fault..

eurofunk
10-09-2009, 10:50 AM
those on laghub will know...all can jump better jump ship to others

heallan
10-09-2009, 01:46 PM
anybody using using SN or SH in hougang area? I on maxonline 8mbps direct connection to computer... Speed realli cmi during peak hours.. play l4d via garena, peak hour ping above 200, off peak ard above 100... thinking of jumping ship when my contract end. Any comments?

eddief4
10-09-2009, 08:27 PM
Depends on line ...

Anything outside your house change is free :yawn:
Can explain more? Noob to other ISP besides laghub. Also, is it possible to get the technician to check the line before installing the modem?

Crsytral
07-11-2009, 04:51 PM
I heard that Starhub is only good if u are living in private property (eg: Terrace/bungalows) cuz if u live in HDB, the internet line is share among all starhub users? while in ur private estate only u yourself is using it?

Singtel good if u view it as an overall performance.... been using singtel for donkey years too but for some reason i've been dc over 6 times since morning today, till now and my speed is horribly slow now....

chunlianghere
07-11-2009, 05:20 PM
if u experience alot of random dc and stuff from singnet. chances are the telephone line is fault..

yeah...i agree wit tat!

I heard that Starhub is only good if u are living in private property (eg: Terrace/bungalows) cuz if u live in HDB, the internet line is share among all starhub users? while in ur private estate only u yourself is using it?

Singtel good if u view it as an overall performance.... been using singtel for donkey years too but for some reason i've been dc over 6 times since morning today, till now and my speed is horribly slow now....
the line start to giv u problem liao. line = copper line.

btw to all,
for those who hate singnet, u shld hate the fact tat copper line do corrode/rust when expose to air or water vapour.

so is not singnet who dont wan to disappoint u, but is the copper line tat hate u! :s13:

Crsytral
07-11-2009, 06:44 PM
yeah...i agree wit tat!

the line start to giv u problem liao. line = copper line.

btw to all,
for those who hate singnet, u shld hate the fact tat copper line do corrode/rust when expose to air or water vapour.

so is not singnet who dont wan to disappoint u, but is the copper line tat hate u! :s13:

o.O i do think so that its not actually singnet's fault cuz the place i living at seems rather old to me and the tech sent by singtel always solve the problem by visiting the power room( or wateva u call it? the room at the void deck with all the cables and stuffs inside).

cant wait for optical fibre to get installed in all household =D

chunlianghere
07-11-2009, 07:14 PM
o.O i do think so that its not actually singnet's fault cuz the place i living at seems rather old to me and the tech sent by singtel always solve the problem by visiting the power room( or wateva u call it? the room at the void deck with all the cables and stuffs inside).

cant wait for optical fibre to get installed in all household =D
tink tat is the distribution room(mayb someone can define proper name?) where all the telephone r connected together for tat blk.

yeah..cant wait for fibre...

crpz32
08-11-2009, 05:51 AM
Singtel = super fast torrent downloads
Starhub = torrents throttled.

Singtel FTW.

Crsytral
08-11-2009, 10:54 AM
oh so it was true that starhub users have a hard time with torrent? I heard from my starhub user friends and they say torrent dun work well wif em. haha

mayb this is one good pt for singtel. =p

squan123
08-11-2009, 02:06 PM
singtel on wireless during normal hours is worse than starhub on wireless during peak hours

silthfire
08-11-2009, 03:01 PM
im on lag hub last year, and ever since i jump to stinknet BB (not MIO), it is much more better, no DCs at all, torrent speed is wow.

my laptop and ps3 on wireless with my current stinknet, no lag at all when playing game...and my router is dlink one

my lag hub premium plan compare to my stinknet 8mbps plan.....lag hub takes very long time to connect when i switch on modem, dc often, speed is ridiculously slow

confused
08-11-2009, 05:56 PM
Why no one mentions Mobile One? Looks quite fast.

Starhub is very location specific, if you wanna try, better use their prepaid plans and then decide.

sarubobo
08-11-2009, 07:13 PM
SNBB good for torrent meh? it take me so long to dl 300MB... @@ if using http, is faster...

sp0rky
08-11-2009, 08:18 PM
I have been on both starhub and singtel.

Imo, singtel is faster than starhub.
but singtel gets disconnections. starhub dont.

choose which would u like.

czheyuan
08-11-2009, 08:22 PM
Why no one mentions Mobile One? Looks quite fast.

Yeah M1 is gd for torrent, video streaming and surfing..

Crsytral
08-11-2009, 10:07 PM

But if u compare the prices, M1's plan is more expensive rite?

liangtam
08-11-2009, 10:13 PM
Its more cheaper, but you've to judge if the performance is as good as someone claimed.

Swordsman
08-11-2009, 10:13 PM
SNBB good for torrent meh? it take me so long to dl 300MB... @@ if using http, is faster...

torrent got too many factors to consider..

Swordsman
08-11-2009, 10:15 PM
i got no more ship to jump, both singnet and starhub slow in internet speed. makes no difference.. the only good point for starhub they got 24 hr customer service support, singnet need to take 3-4 days to reply.. i can't wait for the fibre optic connection..
By the way is singapore isp speed ranks among the lowest in the world ?

liangtam
08-11-2009, 10:16 PM

contrary to your statement

czheyuan
09-11-2009, 01:30 AM
But if u compare the prices, M1's plan is more expensive rite?

Nope. In terms of the same speed, M1 has the lowest prices for all plans... For eg, M1 is having 10Mbps at $40.60 whereas Singtel has it at $46.. Starhub's 8Mbps with digital voice at $44.. All prices with 2 yrs contract..

Preacher1010
09-11-2009, 05:46 AM
Been using the provided 2WIRE 2700 HGV2 modem provided with Singnet.
No disconnections since first day.

nakitaro
09-11-2009, 03:32 PM
i got no more ship to jump, both singnet and starhub slow in internet speed. makes no difference.. the only good point for starhub they got 24 hr customer service support, singnet need to take 3-4 days to reply.. i can't wait for the fibre optic connection..

Not exactly the lowest, but definitely not desirable. =) (I'll touch on it more if the situation calls for it =))

you may want to have a look at this:

speedtest.net/global.php (Averaged results but it does tell you how far we are now ^^)

azureuswiki.com/index.php/Bad_ISPs (Sinknet shld be included, not exactly traffic shaping though.)

netequalizernews.com/2009/03/21/analysis-the-white-lies-isps-tell-about-broadband-speeds

funito
13-11-2009, 01:15 PM

I have been on both starhub and singtel.

Imo, singtel is faster than starhub.
but singtel gets disconnections. starhub dont.

choose which would u like.

I've been using snbb since 4yrs with their free adsl modem, if running on higher speed should consider to use their thomson speed touch modem change settings to adsl2+ mode. else you wont get max speed for your bb package.

i use a linksys to split my lines and wireless and i do not sign up fo mioplan as no one at home watching tv during office hours.

so far i only get disconnected when my telephone cable burned. think download too much using file hosting.

i stopped using torrent long ago, instead of using filehosting. bt slow and wasting my home elec. 300mb needs only less than 3mins to download.

Breakthroughs
13-11-2009, 04:48 PM
I face no problems with singnet though, but I feel like jumping ship to starhub 100mbps.
But 100mbps is for singapore based servers only right?
Like, if you download from mediafire all those, the speed still slow? :/

jittery
13-11-2009, 04:54 PM

Starhub:

Good:

Stable and Reliable.

Bad:

Singnet:

Good

Bad

Ugly(Singtel)

nowadays if troubleshooting till 1/2 way and u put down the phone, they'll call u back. so if free incoming den no need to pay the mobile bill.. :P

micromousez
13-11-2009, 08:30 PM
i on Singnet... no problem with DC problem... hardly DC...

ry0suk1
13-11-2009, 08:54 PM
I face no problems with singnet though, but I feel like jumping ship to starhub 100mbps.
But 100mbps is for singapore based servers only right?
Like, if you download from mediafire all those, the speed still slow? :/

media fire i can d/l up to 5mb/sec

Breakthroughs
13-11-2009, 08:55 PM
So fast?
:/
If that's the case, I think im changing to Starhub 100mbps next year, when I get a new laptop.

czheyuan
13-11-2009, 10:24 PM
So fast?
:/
If that's the case, I think im changing to Starhub 100mbps next year, when I get a new laptop.

Eh Starhub 100Mbps is $22 more ex than M1 100Mbps leh for the same 2-yrs contract... Lols..

Next yr NGNBN ready liao so price should drop too...

ahsoon87
13-11-2009, 10:57 PM
lol.. next year got the openet liao wor.. why sign new plan.. just wait loh..

AngPao
14-11-2009, 10:55 AM
If I sign up MIO plan, do i still need to pay $100/yr for home line?

chunlianghere
14-11-2009, 12:25 PM
If I sign up MIO plan, do i still need to pay $100/yr for home line?
for 2nd line, 50% discount.

funito
14-11-2009, 03:53 PM
wah opennet next year then my rs,mu going to be 5terabytes liao. lol

AngPao
15-11-2009, 10:34 AM
So it's free for 1st home phone line only.

for 2nd line, 50% discount.

confused
15-11-2009, 12:18 PM
lol.. next year got the openet liao wor.. why sign new plan.. just wait loh..

Yah and most households only get it in 2012 or later.

Only a few places can get opennet