PDA

View Full Version : BBOM in NTU halls :D

gvn_crap
20-08-2009, 11:53 AM
any bros here live in ntu halls before and used bbom? I'm thinking of getting a cheap plan this it fair cos the internet bw here at night is so damn chui with so many ppl using.

wonder if the bbom signal here is ok not, cos my laghub mobile signal is damn weak in the hall i'm staying in (hall 16)

czheyuan
20-08-2009, 09:21 PM
I used to stay in Hall 9 and have very good M1 signals and mobile BB speed there... Not sure about Hall 16.. Should be not bad too bah..

Agree that nite time can be darn slow... Lols..

gvn_crap
20-08-2009, 09:37 PM
yaloh. thats why i was considering getting bbom. 1mbps also good. i think bbom signals are dependant on the mobile phone signals rite? so in general if i can't get a starhub signal i shouldn't sign up for starhub. no?

ALVAINPANG
20-08-2009, 10:07 PM
i used to stay in hall 13 and tried connecting my phone as a modem to the notebook before. The result is not excellent. Quite near to you. You better think twice. I was using M1 at that time. I had a friend staying exactly above me and he was using SH mobile broadband. He mentioned "it's a waste of money".

Innocast
20-08-2009, 10:10 PM
inside hall got no internet connection for free one meh??????:s22::s22::s22::s22::s22:

echoz
20-08-2009, 11:19 PM
Previously lived in hall 13. Using SN BBOM 2000. Managed to max out my connections but I suppose YMMV.

gvn_crap
21-08-2009, 12:08 AM
sh bbom in ntu is 100% a waste of time since now i can't even get sh mobile signal very well in my hall. but wad about singtel and m1 bbom?

@innocast: shared bw sometimes vv lag lei. hahaha...
@echoz: whats YMMV?

tidus792
21-08-2009, 12:44 AM
What if you google YMMV?

Let's all be PCW!

czheyuan
21-08-2009, 12:51 AM
yaloh. thats why i was considering getting bbom. 1mbps also good. i think bbom signals are dependant on the mobile phone signals rite? so in general if i can't get a starhub signal i shouldn't sign up for starhub. no?

Yup then definitely can't sign up for SH lo... The best gauge would be to get your friends using M1 or ST.. See how's their signal in your room...

Just to take note... Signal strength not equivalent to speed... So even 1-2 bars of 3G connection also can achieve max speed.. But more bars means more stable at 3G speed...

gvn_crap
27-08-2009, 01:15 AM
haha... as long as got singnal can liao. not like laghub. sometimes 1 bar also can't achieve in my room

czheyuan
27-08-2009, 10:34 AM
Hahah yeah laghub signal in NTU still very cui... Don't even have 2G signals at some places, let alone 3G.. Lols :s13:

gvn_crap
27-08-2009, 01:21 PM
laghub signal is cui everywhere. lol. esp the more wulu places. m1 is the best. hahaha ubin also got one m1 tower.

czheyuan
27-08-2009, 08:45 PM
Yup suckhub signals still weak in many places.. M1 constantly spending money on upgrading their networks so signal is better. In fact, M1 is so confident they recently placed a new advertisement targetting ST for their mobile network getting lousier (which is true from some frenz comments), with "Hello" in red and "O" dropping out of that word.. Lols..

liangtam
27-08-2009, 10:17 PM
All along is and has always been hell-o what. You mean you never spoke of it on ur fav operator also?

gvn_crap
28-08-2009, 12:28 AM
singnet also sux? I din noe! hahaha....

czheyuan
28-08-2009, 01:05 AM
singnet also sux? I din noe! hahaha....

They USED to be good.. But that's history.. Nowadays, not as gd as b4 liao, including their mobile BB.. Though still better than SH at most places.. ST more concerned abt reaping profits overseas.. Can't really be bothered with Spore's network.. Their india telecom co already gonna take up a huge chunk of their credit liao.. No money left to upgrade or maintain local network le.. Hahah..

liangtam
28-08-2009, 02:28 AM
While not the latest. This may provide some relevance pre 8 mths
http://www.ida.gov.sg/Policies%20and%20Regulation/20090429165522.aspx

Well, the 'you deserve better' ads depicts itself instead(Hint: The whiteboard chart) of making fun its competitor. Fail ad. I wonder if the new ads you claimed they got screw up also not, lol.

czheyuan
28-08-2009, 11:33 AM
While not the latest. This may provide some relevance pre 8 mths
http://www.ida.gov.sg/Policies%20and%20Regulation/20090429165522.aspx

Well, the 'you deserve better' ads depicts itself instead(Hint: The whiteboard chart) of making fun its competitor. Fail ad. I wonder if the new ads you claimed they got screw up also not, lol.

I'm not surprised by these findings as they usually don't correlate with actual reality.. Afterall, some biasness is always there... Aren't IDA, ST and SH under the same umbrella?? Protected by the same people... Hahah..

phuque99
28-08-2009, 11:44 AM
I'm not surprised by these findings as they usually don't correlate with actual reality.. Afterall, some biasness is always there... Aren't IDA, ST and SH under the same umbrella?? Protected by the same people... Hahah..

liddat say you will kena sedition act or not ah?

liangtam
28-08-2009, 12:18 PM

I would then like to point you to these figures provided by iDA instead.
http://www.ida.gov.sg/Policies%20and%20Regulation/20060508154947.aspx

IF by what you claim the iDA and the relevant 'linked' coys are indeed under some conspiracy as you would have claimed. Wouldn't the chart be "fixed" unlike what is shows now?

Especially when one of the listed ISP is independent now, if you get which isp and what im referring.

Oh, and you are previous customer of this isp as well, so i can believe you ownself know the actual reality of the service provided :)

liangtam
28-08-2009, 12:25 PM
Actually, it is hard to determine the usability of mobile service, especially in educational institutions as there are alot of black spots despite network plannings.

Both 2G and 3G service are based on diff freq and hence may even complement from time due to the obstruction or building structure. To better determine the experience, loan ur fren's phone and access data service at various timing instead.(Note: A call always gets its access priority first)