PDA

View Full Version : Wifi G to Intel Wifi N 5300

revogsx
20-08-2009, 09:46 PM
hi guys,

this thread is for old laptop models.

anyone here updated their laptop with wifi N 5300? was it ok?
btw, don't wan't a USB dongle so don't suggest it please.. thanks

berlo84
20-08-2009, 10:27 PM
Intel 5300 is mini PCI express interface.... pls beware...

revogsx
20-08-2009, 10:29 PM
yes.. im aware with that,
i want to change the internal wifi-G card on my asus laptop because i just bought dlink DIR-655

liangtam
20-08-2009, 11:14 PM
u nid to check ur laptop slot first. it may be the newer pcie slot or the older standard PCI mini.

For the former, u can get the intels easily on ebay, as for the latter, .....

tidus792
20-08-2009, 11:31 PM
Sometimes the laptop may be bios locked to certain cards only.
My old thinkpad model doesn't allow me to use 5300. I need to use a modified bios to do so.

askh52
21-08-2009, 02:05 AM
MAYBE ur asus can use 5300.. but just forget about changing...
even ur asus may be top range during ABG3945 series ( e.g: T7X00), 5300N need 3 antenna which all wireless g card only have 2 antenna. Wasting time pulling thru the cable is nightmare....

also dun even think of 5100(2 antenna).. that downgraded card only get 150Mbps consistant..

PS(same applies to 4965agn, 3 antenna)

liangtam
21-08-2009, 09:34 AM
u dun nid 3 antenna...

askh52
21-08-2009, 10:22 AM
u dun nid 3 antenna...

what for plug in 2 antenna and get 150mbps.. just get 5100 lor

liangtam
21-08-2009, 10:35 AM
what for plug in 2 antenna and get 150mbps.. just get 5100 lor

plug 1 then 150mbps lah

askh52
21-08-2009, 01:03 PM
ya.. spec say it can run 150/antenna.. but in actual fact 2 antenna I never get stable 300Mbps @ all... hardware issue i think

revogsx
22-08-2009, 01:30 AM
i saw in ebay.com that some sellers in HK are bundling the 3rd antenna with Intel 5300 .. so maybe another DIY adventure for me to install this inside the laptop..

anyway, is there a shop in SimLim that sells Intel 5300 (bnew or used)
or, any mini-pci Wireless N you could recommend?

thanks

tidus792
22-08-2009, 01:43 AM
Haven't seen on in sls for 5300.

liangtam
22-08-2009, 02:01 AM
Locally cannot find de.

Anyway, make sure it is correct interface. I replaced my one with an Atheros instead of an intel :)

revogsx
22-08-2009, 11:11 AM
where did u get the atheros wifi n?