View Full Version : subscription singnet online Qs
SGBoYxxx
21-08-2009, 03:10 PM
I noticed u can subscribe online , but there is two option
one is they will delievery the modem to u by post???
next is the tech come to install .but u must pay and fix appt.
if I choose delievery
it take how long?
my frd who is singnet users told me when u recieved the modem can use already
install the cd.
err I feel curious is there a need to install the cd?
I thought you can just key in ur user id and pwd in the modem can already since it is an intergrated modem router.
next I don;t want those what mio tv package and those free email storage ect stuffs
in the online regisration form can opt out this?
thanks
baka_giraffe
21-08-2009, 03:36 PM
from ur post.. gather u r thking to subscribe new to singnet bah?
yah u can do it online.. will deliver via post office (i thk, shld be the same as singtel)
delivery wise is rather fast.. abt 3-5 working days
n yah u need to install the cd.. coz there is some program to allows you to login... oso to setup properly the modem... only needed for 1 computer... aft which u can don need to do this step for any other computers that uses the lan cable...
n nope u cannot opt out of them.. from wat i rmb of... but i will recommend u to go down singtel helloshop to do the process beta thn to do it online... reason being:
1. certain promotions may allow the registration to be waived
2. more secure.. as in face to face... rather thn over the com.. anythin u like don like can tell them on the face...
but i suppose u hate the long q in hello shop tht is y choosin online is it? if so.. u can try goin down on weekdays evenings...
SGBoYxxx
21-08-2009, 03:41 PM
from ur post.. gather u r thking to subscribe new to singnet bah?
yah u can do it online.. will deliver via post office (i thk, shld be the same as singtel)
delivery wise is rather fast.. abt 3-5 working days
n yah u need to install the cd.. coz there is some program to allows you to login... oso to setup properly the modem... only needed for 1 computer... aft which u can don need to do this step for any other computers that uses the lan cable...
n nope u cannot opt out of them.. from wat i rmb of... but i will recommend u to go down singtel helloshop to do the process beta thn to do it online... reason being:
1. certain promotions may allow the registration to be waived
2. more secure.. as in face to face... rather thn over the com.. anythin u like don like can tell them on the face...
but i suppose u hate the long q in hello shop tht is y choosin online is it? if so.. u can try goin down on weekdays evenings...
thanks for the info
oke I will go down if I want to susbscribe
hmm so the cd must be install lor
than if next time I got extra pc just key in the pc mac into the router can liao rite? by wireless connection
about the delivery ...is the postman come to ur place sent to u?
and straight can use?
or is it while I am at singtel shop they straight gave me the modem?but of cos have to wait for activiation..roughly how long?
or can tell them ask postman sent to me ?is it free?
when recieved can use liao?
baka_giraffe
21-08-2009, 06:06 PM
thanks for the info
oke I will go down if I want to susbscribe
hmm so the cd must be install lor
than if next time I got extra pc just key in the pc mac into the router can liao rite? by wireless connection
about the delivery ...is the postman come to ur place sent to u?
and straight can use?
or is it while I am at singtel shop they straight gave me the modem?but of cos have to wait for activiation..roughly how long?
or can tell them ask postman sent to me ?is it free?
when recieved can use liao?
1.yah.. for wireless can do so like this..
2.if u subscribe online.. yah.. they will sent to u.. but i don thk can straight away use.. muz wait for them to activate all the craps de lah
3. cost wise i m not too sure.. coz i everytime extend my contract online without modems.. =X
4. if you were to register at hello shop.. on the spot they will give you the modem and everything.. thn activation period... thk about 1 wk?
btw which plan you are looking at?
ohmygod1986
21-08-2009, 06:12 PM
2.if u subscribe online.. yah.. they will sent to u.. but i don thk can straight away use.. muz wait for them to activate all the craps de lah
3. cost wise i m not too sure.. coz i everytime extend my contract online without modems.. =X
4. if you were to register at hello shop.. on the spot they will give you the modem and everything.. thn activation period... thk about 1 wk?
I think mioHome more worthwhile because then less $ spend on land line ...
Free installation ... Just sign up not long ago :look:
liangtam
21-08-2009, 06:53 PM
Do online easier lor
Delivery date u can choose
Activation date u can choose oso
All extra VAS/nonsense you can click No when sign up
Login n password is emailed to you immediately.
And finally, CD ish can throw.
aaur4man
21-08-2009, 06:53 PM
CD is crap
u can always enter via 2wire homeportal
http://i26.tinypic.com/1zmfqll.jpg
SGBoYxxx
21-08-2009, 07:43 PM
CD is crap
u can always enter via 2wire homeportal
http://i26.tinypic.com/1zmfqll.jpg
yup this is what I mean
the modem surely got an ip rite
just like linksys router which I am using now
I am connecting an adsl modem to linksys wireless router
from the router there I key in the IP of the router
than forever no need to key again
baka_giraffe
21-08-2009, 07:45 PM
i donno leh... tht time i reformat my cousin's com.. mio oso de... still need cd leh... nv use cd cannot use the internet at all.... so tht is y i feel cd is impt lo...
SGBoYxxx
21-08-2009, 07:46 PM
Do online easier lor
Delivery date u can choose
Activation date u can choose oso
All extra VAS/nonsense you can click No when sign up
Login n password is emailed to you immediately.
And finally, CD ish can throw.
hmm that means online can cancel those crap free staffs?like what extra mb email
what sercuity blah blah ...of cos the mio package also can cancel?
so that time u subscribe online???
my frd told me when modem sent to ur home straight can use already
because he register online one is that true?
SGBoYxxx
21-08-2009, 07:47 PM
i donno leh... tht time i reformat my cousin's com.. mio oso de... still need cd leh... nv use cd cannot use the internet at all.... so tht is y i feel cd is impt lo...
hmm
u try to key in ur user id and pwd in the modem admin page also cannot connect?
must install the cd??
SGBoYxxx
21-08-2009, 07:49 PM
was thinking 15mbps ...why?but I still consider ..see how
ohmygod1986
21-08-2009, 08:25 PM
Since when got cd ...
My mio modem install no use cd leh :look:
liangtam
21-08-2009, 08:54 PM
The smartfix disc lor, singnet's way of not providing a manual
SGBoYxxx
21-08-2009, 09:32 PM
The smartfix disc lor, singnet's way of not providing a manual
so actually no need to install the CD one right?
now I am on pacnet adsl
so if I want to subscribe
just swap my adsl modem to singnet given one
plug in the telephone line
and ya , got any manual will stated what is the ip admin page for the singnet modem?
than I key in my user id and pwd can liao right?
need to adjust tweek settings in the modem?
liangtam
21-08-2009, 10:00 PM
Already stated theres no manual liao mah.
http://192.168.1.254, the rest u can follow accordingly.
_XiaoQian_
23-08-2009, 06:21 AM
hmm if i want to sign up singnet what do i need? telephone line in my room? need cable tv point? i dont have telephone line in my room.. does singtel helps to do the telephone line which i know i need to pay..
SGBoYxxx
23-08-2009, 12:42 PM
hmm if i want to sign up singnet what do i need? telephone line in my room? need cable tv point? i dont have telephone line in my room.. does singtel helps to do the telephone line which i know i need to pay..
for me presently I already on adsl pacnet here.still thinking see how
ya is run on telephone line not cable .
the telephone is run from my living room to my bedroom.
hmm u want to make the telephone point ur bedroom instead running all the while from ur living room?
if u want , you have to call singtel not singnet to do the point.
_XiaoQian_
23-08-2009, 01:07 PM
if i choose telephone line running from my living room to my room who should i call to do it? running thru living room to my room how does it works? is it sharing the point in the living room?
aaur4man
23-08-2009, 01:25 PM
1) Get a long telephone cable and plug into the living room tel socket.
2) get singtel to install a new tel socket in ur room. it will be split to ultilise the same pair as all ur house line is using. after they install they will check the signal to see if its ok.
whole job less than 1hr. they will install new trunking, or u can get them to use ur existing trunking if any.
otherwise they may use 3M cable clips.
_XiaoQian_
23-08-2009, 01:31 PM
1) Get a long telephone cable and plug into the living room tel socket.
2) get singtel to install a new tel socket in ur room. it will be split to ultilise the same pair as all ur house line is using. after they install they will check the signal to see if its ok.
whole job less than 1hr. they will install new trunking, or u can get them to use ur existing trunking if any.
otherwise they may use 3M cable clips.
what do you mean by existing trunking? :look: currently my home the singtel telephone bill is under my father name.. if i want to sign up for singtel bb will it be sharing the same bill under my father name? i dont want to share the same bill..
aaur4man
23-08-2009, 01:37 PM
er... think just sign plain singnet will do.
_XiaoQian_
23-08-2009, 01:40 PM
hmm so will be diff bill? :)
aaur4man
23-08-2009, 01:45 PM
hmm dont think so. since adsl it tag to ur line.
why dont u do this:
subscribe to Mio Home, change ur father's line to ur name. u get free mio tv, 15% off ur singtel mobile.
if not, just sign up for pacnet adsl.
SGBoYxxx
23-08-2009, 09:53 PM
hmm dont think so. since adsl it tag to ur line.
why dont u do this:
subscribe to Mio Home, change ur father's line to ur name. u get free mio tv, 15% off ur singtel mobile.
if not, just sign up for pacnet adsl.
:o bro why you ask him take pacnet adsl?
actually now I on pacnet adsl 1500k plan , mthly pay 61bucks
but kinda sianz the speed ...not said fast or what just that I want more bandwith
just see how singnet what offer before jump
hmm why singnet no good?
I feel sad pacent don;t upgrade their speed on consumers since now they more forucs on coperate ...orelse I will stay
czheyuan
24-08-2009, 12:28 AM
I feel sad pacent don;t upgrade their speed on consumers since now they more forucs on coperate ...orelse I will stay
actuali it's not pacnet don't wana offer consumers... But rather, Singtel is charging Pacnet exhorbitantly for the ADSL lines liao.. So Pacnet has no choice but to totally neglect consumer segment lo... That's sad to know considering Pacnet was the largest ISP back then during dial-up days and their service was top-notch :(
SGBoYxxx
24-08-2009, 08:39 AM
actuali it's not pacnet don't wana offer consumers... But rather, Singtel is charging Pacnet exhorbitantly for the ADSL lines liao.. So Pacnet has no choice but to totally neglect consumer segment lo... That's sad to know considering Pacnet was the largest ISP back then during dial-up days and their service was top-notch :(
:s7: WTF , no wonder smart move again
monopoly ...
orelse why so many net users who want ADSL go to singnet.
and their subscriber keep growing...
:( cos we pacnet users tio stuck at 512k or 1500k for the past pacnet users
as time go back like me....feel kinda sianz since bandwith cap to this range
no choice have to look at singnet :s7: if want adsl
liangtam
24-08-2009, 09:26 AM
:s7: WTF , no wonder smart move again
monopoly ...
orelse why so many net users who want ADSL go to singnet.
and their subscriber keep growing...
:( cos we pacnet users tio stuck at 512k or 1500k for the past pacnet users
as time go back like me....feel kinda sianz since bandwith cap to this range
no choice have to look at singnet :s7: if want adsl
Theres PacNet cable.
If you're ok with HTTP authentication tho.
wiwi86
24-08-2009, 09:26 AM
i also juz gt my miohome last mth...w mio voice, mio tv n 10mbps broadband =) wrkin well..v satisfied w it also =D
SGBoYxxx
24-08-2009, 10:01 AM
i also juz gt my miohome last mth...w mio voice, mio tv n 10mbps broadband =) wrkin well..v satisfied w it also =D
:o how u subscribe via online or go to the shop
I think u surely ask the tech come to install the mio tv?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.