PDA

View Full Version : Buffalo NFiniti WHR-G300N Router/Access Point

porcu
24-08-2009, 07:47 AM
http://www.buffalo-asia.com/cgi-bin/products/detail.cgi?country=sg&code=4&id=288

http://www.buffalo-asia.com/file/products/p_1250831868_p1.jpg

Just got this yesterday and is now experimenting with it.
Everything works ok, except that I cannot understand NAS options.
I have a tough time thinking about what they mean by limiting users and I am not too confident of using it until I know I truly understand and 100% protecting my data!

Also, need info on how to port-forward...

Any comments from fellow users here with regard to this router? :D

liangtam
24-08-2009, 09:28 AM
Limiting users is probably who able to access the file share in the LAN segment. In typical scenario, people don't really use it.

porcu
24-08-2009, 10:05 AM
if people do not use it, then the files are free for all to access?

liangtam
24-08-2009, 10:26 AM
There are different limiting options such as user's personal login to their own shares, speed rate etc. You screenshot here better.

The default file share are definitely FFA only when they're connected to the LAN segment by wired/wireless and not thru the internet. Unless you open the access.

porcu
24-08-2009, 10:51 AM
yeah, I understand.
But the instructions they give are very complicated. Maybe my English is not good or their original translation from Japanese is not good.

For eg, they say by default there is no limit to guests and new user.
But in the box that shows 'not accessible' (not sure..something like that), I can see guest and user.
So, the question is by default there is limit (not accesible) or no limit (full accessibility to read/write)...

Very confusing. I will post screenshots when I get home later.

And to other users of this device,
1) How to delete GUEST from the list?

KalTorak
24-08-2009, 05:11 PM
Hi, I'm using WZR-HP-G300NH.

By default there is no limits, ie, everybody can access all files on the NAS.
Means anyone can read/write those files.

User accounts are put under 'Not accessible' by default.
This has no effect because the setting defaults to 'No Limits'.
It works only when you change 'No Limits' option to 'Limits'.
You then use those <-- or --> to move around the user accounts based on their access levels (Read/Write | Read-only | Not accessible).

You create/edit/delete user accounts under 'User Management'.
You cannot remove Guest as it is a Built-in account.

Best practices suggest disabling guest account by first setting option to 'Limits' under 'Shared Folder' page.
Put or retain 'guest' under 'Not accessible'.
You can then assign the respective access rights (Read/Write or Read-only) to the various users by using the arrow buttons.

aaur4man
24-08-2009, 06:36 PM
G300N support NAS meh?

KalTorak G300NH good or not?

pker88
24-08-2009, 07:54 PM
i also interested in this also is this the gigabit router right since i can view pic im now in mrt using mobile to surf web haahaa mobile edition of hwz forum ahaa

cpuer
24-08-2009, 08:52 PM
G300N support NAS meh?

KalTorak G300NH good or not?

yes, KalTorak, can do a mini review on this router?:)

aaur4man
24-08-2009, 09:16 PM
ya mini one will do, if good enough u will see a full one ;)

fullerms
24-08-2009, 09:29 PM
Yes please. A review will be nice. Please check what login options are available. I will be most interested to know if this device can support https login as required by M1.

liangtam
24-08-2009, 10:11 PM
Please check what login options are available. I will be most interested to know if this device can support https login as required by M1.

Definitely cannot

porcu
24-08-2009, 11:25 PM
Kaltorak bro,
Thanks for your help. I managed to solve all the issues and my NAS is all set up working now using a 4xUSB hub. It works! :)

Now I got an issue to transfer my itune links to NAS...

Hi, I'm using WZR-HP-G300NH.

By default there is no limits, ie, everybody can access all files on the NAS.
Means anyone can read/write those files.

User accounts are put under 'Not accessible' by default.
This has no effect because the setting defaults to 'No Limits'.
It works only when you change 'No Limits' option to 'Limits'.
You then use those <-- or --> to move around the user accounts based on their access levels (Read/Write | Read-only | Not accessible).

You create/edit/delete user accounts under 'User Management'.
You cannot remove Guest as it is a Built-in account.

Best practices suggest disabling guest account by first setting option to 'Limits' under 'Shared Folder' page.
Put or retain 'guest' under 'Not accessible'.
You can then assign the respective access rights (Read/Write or Read-only) to the various users by using the arrow buttons.

KalTorak
25-08-2009, 08:10 AM
Kaltorak bro,
Thanks for your help. I managed to solve all the issues and my NAS is all set up working now using a 4xUSB hub. It works! :)

Now I got an issue to transfer my itune links to NAS...

Np. Wow, you actually connect using a USB hub? Is it possible to share a total of 4 ext hdds on the router then? Will the drives be shown as 4 separate partitions?

Anyway no idea on the itunes issue because from what I understand when you move the files to another drive (or NAS) you break those 'links'.

Maybe can take a look at these:
Transferring your iTunes Library (http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/articles/comments/moving-your-itunes-library-to-a-new-hard-drive/)

Move iTunes library from PC to server share (http://www.avforums.com/forums/portable-music-mp3-ipod-etc/791345-move-itunes-library-pc-server-share.html)

I'd recommend using ext hdds with auto on/off function. The type that will on and off with the computer. I'm using a buffalo ext hdd and set 20mins idle timer. It is a convenient and energy-saving feature! The hdd will auto on when I stream media files to my HTPC (running XBMC) and safely power off when not in use.

ya mini one will do, if good enough u will see a full one ;)

Hi, if you are considering between the G300NH and Dir-655, then I would suggest just go for the Dlink.
I chose the G300NH as I needed a basic N-router with gigabit ports.
The NAS function is an added feature which I find works surprisingly well. :)
Been using for 2 months+ and so far no issues for me.
My only concern is the lack of firmware updates till now.

You can find more user feedback over at buffalo tech forums.
http://forums.buffalotech.com/buffalo/board?board.id=0102

I don't really read up on reviews as those only cover the main functions of the router.
Feedback from actual users will highlight issues (good or bad) over the long run.

Yes please. A review will be nice. Please check what login options are available. I will be most interested to know if this device can support https login as required by M1.

Hi, as the Buffalo tech/mod had already explained, there is no way to do https login using the router. May be able to do so using 3rd party firmware but till now it is still not supported by any.

Lastly, sorry for the OT. Heh. :s22:

porcu
25-08-2009, 10:04 AM
Kaltorak,
Yes, all my drives in the usb hub are displayed as different partitions.
So far I tried copying files across partitions withing the NAS. Seems to work okay.

However, I did try to get PS3 to locate the NAS but could not do it. Guess, buffalo does not support it although I did read on Japanese websites that it can. Firmware, maybe??
So I have no choice but to use my Mac & Vuse to stream media to my PS3. Works great although it will be great if my PS3 can directly access the NAS without me switching on my Mac. :D

For itunes transfer, this is giving me a big headache. There has to be an easier way since we usually change HDD or NAS and target drive ID will change. If that happens, all our links to Itunes will disappear anyway.

Great router!

cpuer
25-08-2009, 12:28 PM
I was about to ask the BT feature of the router and read this:

http://forums.buffalotech.com/buffalo/board/message?board.id=0102&thread.id=2269

KalTorak, Do you face the same issues as what was reported in the Buffalo forums?

KalTorak
25-08-2009, 12:40 PM
I don't think PS3 supports samba shares.
You definitely have to run some sort of media server to stream files to the PS3.

Have you checked out those links I posted above?
It covers a great deal on moving/transferring of itunes files.

porcu
25-08-2009, 01:54 PM
yeah, I have gone thru it.
I have my macbook here but my NAS is at home.
Will try tonite and report. :D

KalTorak
25-08-2009, 02:18 PM
I was about to ask the BT feature of the router and read this:

http://forums.buffalotech.com/buffalo/board/message?board.id=0102&thread.id=2269

KalTorak, Do you face the same issues as what was reported in the Buffalo forums?

Hi, actually I tried BT the first time I got the router but speeds were CRAWLING (slower than using utorrent on a PC). Was on SH MOL at that time. So never really bothered with the BT function.

Anyway, I have not encountered any issues on that page except one.

1) Router has no problem recognizing my ext hdd. The hdd already contain files and in FAT32. The router only accepts FAT32 and XFS formats for its NAS. My setting is Auto Assignment. Most important to get the hdd detected first else BT function won't work.

2) No problem with torrents containing multiple files or has '[' or ']' in the torrent filename. However, it will not accept space(s) in the torrent file. There will be an error msg. All the issues pertaining to failure to load torrent file is most likely due to this.

Just tested today on some linux distros...

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/5642/buffalobtdlmanager.png

The Fedora and Knoppix torrents contain multiple files (ISO and checksums).
By the way, I disabled the Bandwidth Restriction setting.

porcu
25-08-2009, 02:27 PM
what is bandwidth restriction?

KalTorak
25-08-2009, 02:35 PM
what is bandwidth restriction?

The BT feature on G300NH only has three settings.

1) Enable/Disable BT Function
2) External Port No.
3) Bandwidth Restriction (Cap upstream/downstream)

Really sorry again for OT here on your thread TS.. :o

aaur4man
25-08-2009, 04:59 PM
slurp *

porcu
26-08-2009, 11:35 AM
why is it that the Japanese version supports media playability to PS3 but not our version?
How to overcome this problem?

cpuer
26-08-2009, 12:33 PM
Hi, actually I tried BT the first time I got the router but speeds were CRAWLING (slower than using utorrent on a PC). Was on SH MOL at that time. So never really bothered with the BT function.

Anyway, I have not encountered any issues on that page except one.

1) Router has no problem recognizing my ext hdd. The hdd already contain files and in FAT32. The router only accepts FAT32 and XFS formats for its NAS. My setting is Auto Assignment. Most important to get the hdd detected first else BT function won't work.

2) No problem with torrents containing multiple files or has '[' or ']' in the torrent filename. However, it will not accept space(s) in the torrent file. There will be an error msg. All the issues pertaining to failure to load torrent file is most likely due to this.

Just tested today on some linux distros...

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/5642/buffalobtdlmanager.png

The Fedora and Knoppix torrents contain multiple files (ISO and checksums).
By the way, I disabled the Bandwidth Restriction setting.

if you are not in a hurry, just let the thing do it's job over days or weeks, this BT feature is still not too bad. thanks bro for your update.

aaur4man
26-08-2009, 12:59 PM
tahan**************

porcu could it be due to Jap firmware updates.

already 1.62 and above.

elsewhere is still 1.6.

porcu
26-08-2009, 03:51 PM
hope we can get the new firmware update soon! :D

aaur4man
26-08-2009, 03:55 PM
doubt so.

buffalo staff say its difficult to translate the language and misc stuff into english.

well the japs have it good cos it was JP that helped buffalo pull through.

dont even try flashing local sets with jap firmware lol.

porcu
26-08-2009, 05:40 PM
hehe, what will happen if I flash it to Japanese firmware? :D
I am a Japanese speaker. ;)

liangtam
26-08-2009, 06:38 PM
hehe, what will happen if I flash it to Japanese firmware? :D
I am a Japanese speaker. ;)

Only can happen 3 thing mah

The router refuses :(
The router nothing happens :look:
The router up lorries :s22:

aaur4man
26-08-2009, 06:45 PM
The router refuses :(

. .

porcu
27-08-2009, 06:48 AM
I have another issue now. I cannot seem to connect into my NAS via web access.

aaur4man
27-08-2009, 08:43 AM
porcu can confirm whether you are using G300N or G300NH?

G300NH users do you have DHCP issues that cause your wireless client to have Limited Connectivity and unable to access the internet after some random time?

porcu
27-08-2009, 09:33 AM
Mine is NH but no issues with connectivity. However, I have noticed that my iphone sometimes lose the internet connection and have to relogin again.
Macbook, other pcs are ok.

aaur4man
27-08-2009, 09:50 AM
good to hear :)

14 days to go....

so ur external drive is FAT or XFS?

porcu
27-08-2009, 09:53 AM
huh, what 14 days? :)

I got this problem of not being able to access by NAS via web access. :(
Wonder what the problem is.

porcu
27-08-2009, 12:54 PM
This is getting frustrating.
I cannot get into my NAS despite being able to do so at home.

Outside (in office, wireless@sg), I cannot log in getting errors that page is inaccessible, etc.

porcu
28-08-2009, 10:45 AM
still having this web access problem...
Any users of this router having the same problem as me?

KalTorak
28-08-2009, 12:27 PM
still having this web access problem...
Any users of this router having the same problem as me?
Have you checked the external port settings?
Take note local ISPs block port 80 (HTTP).

liangtam
28-08-2009, 01:09 PM
Only starhub blocks incoming 80

porcu
28-08-2009, 01:52 PM
my port is set to 30904. Still got this problem. I have no issues logging in when I am at home so I suspect it has something to do with my IP Address.

Any Buffalo users able to log in the web access? Just curious to know if this is my problem or an equipment compatability problem.

porcu
31-08-2009, 11:08 AM
still cannot connect to NAS via webaccess. :(

Anyone managed to do it?

aaur4man
31-08-2009, 11:14 AM
how do u actually host the ip to login to ur nas?

10days to go....already showing withdrawal symptoms ~

porcu
31-08-2009, 09:52 PM
10 days to go?

aaur4man
31-08-2009, 09:54 PM
chiu donch noes meh... COMETS

will be dere on friday after lunch, mia from work~

work ish no longer important when chiu see sho many tech stuff on big sale~

liangtam
31-08-2009, 10:28 PM
and work ish eben more important later cos you need to mend that pocket hole =:p

aaur4man
31-08-2009, 10:30 PM
:( donch say lers

porcu
01-09-2009, 07:40 AM
chiu donch noes meh... COMETS

will be dere on friday after lunch, mia from work~

work ish no longer important when chiu see sho many tech stuff on big sale~

hahah...now I know. :s13:

aaur4man
01-09-2009, 11:03 AM
9 days left very sexcited

but dono whether will have better offer than retail. sigh.

so how ur webaccess NAS? how do u actually host it?

liangtam
01-09-2009, 11:30 AM
Sometime offer same as if u buy from funan/sls oso ah...
Afterall, some of these show participants are the same retail outlets.

aaur4man
01-09-2009, 12:56 PM
ya i understand. just trying my luck.

i know there is only a 20% chance i'll get a better deal. i was actually hoping for some attractive freebie, or USB adapter package to go along on top of the current ralink and atheros i have ;)

but will also look out for 3com and Dlink. 3com is well known to have rock bottom sellouts and their warranty support is top notch, though sadly their N isnt as great as i would think.

getting belkin soon, if i am extremely pleased with it, may not buy anything at comets, but still must be proud sgian, take peektures :)

maybe 855 price sho good i don have to lowball for urs? lol

zheyangchris
09-10-2009, 03:41 PM
Me too I have problem accessing the web access both from home and outside. Any one here can help?

Thanks