View Full Version : Singnet speed less than 1mbps... anything wrong wf settings?
mambo31
24-08-2009, 08:23 PM
Hi guys,
I just jumped over from SH.
I signed up for 10mbps plan but surfing internet can be a pain...
here's my speedtest result:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/547223559.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Is there something wrong with my connection or settings?
Or submarine lines still under repairs?
aaur4man
24-08-2009, 09:15 PM
post ur line stats
exploringaround
24-08-2009, 09:29 PM
yes. take some screenshot
mambo31
24-08-2009, 09:47 PM
post ur line stats
You mean this page?
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c88/hyperlite31/Picture1.png
aaur4man
24-08-2009, 09:56 PM
2nd tab, DETAILS
Francis85
24-08-2009, 09:58 PM
You mean this page?
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c88/hyperlite31/Picture1.png
you using wireless ar..... can try to use direct lan or not...... line stats seems healthy.....
liangtam
24-08-2009, 10:10 PM
click statistics
ohmygod1986
24-08-2009, 11:10 PM
Why so slow ...
Post some stats shot :yawn:
mambo31
25-08-2009, 12:06 AM
DETAILS:
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c88/hyperlite31/Picture2.png
STATS:
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c88/hyperlite31/Picture3.png
I'm using wireless btw...
liangtam
25-08-2009, 12:30 AM
Check your PC or browser instead.
Don't forget to remove proxy(a must)
Francis85
25-08-2009, 06:44 AM
DETAILS:
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c88/hyperlite31/Picture2.png
STATS:
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c88/hyperlite31/Picture3.png
I'm using wireless btw...
Use direct lan lah, sure can get 10 mbps.......
mambo31
25-08-2009, 06:55 AM
reason why I'm using WLAN instead of direct LAN is cos modem is in an obsecure place and also I don't have a desktop, using 2 laptops instead.
any other way around this? I thought ST speeds have always been better.. haha
hastalavista
25-08-2009, 08:32 AM
How is your wireless connection strength and speed?
If strength is very weak, although still connected, speed may be slow too.
Your line stats looks good.
liangtam
25-08-2009, 09:07 AM
You can move your laptop
Bring it over
ohmygod1986
25-08-2009, 09:52 AM
U try sitting close to the router ...
Test the speed again ...
The line stats looks ok lohz :yawn:
mambo31
25-08-2009, 12:10 PM
for signal strength, it's full bars within my entire household...
hmm..
aaur4man
25-08-2009, 05:12 PM
reason why I'm using WLAN instead of direct LAN is cos modem is in an obsecure place and also I don't have a desktop, using 2 laptops instead.
any other way around this? I thought ST speeds have always been better.. haha
but....but..... :o
mambo31
27-08-2009, 02:43 AM
or would it improve if I were to dump the 2wire modem/router and get a seperate modem and router?
mambo31
07-09-2009, 07:55 PM
Hi guys, I've realised that my slow speed only occurs when I'm my bit torrent download it active.
I am able to hit speeds of about 100 - 200 kbps but my internet surfing slows to a crawl..
Any advice?
Mclairs83
07-09-2009, 08:19 PM
Hi guys, I've realised that my slow speed only occurs when I'm my bit torrent download it active.
I am able to hit speeds of about 100 - 200 kbps but my internet surfing slows to a crawl..
Any advice?
throw away ur mac.. disable ipv6 on mac. n try
leaving_footsteps
07-09-2009, 08:43 PM
100-200 kbps shouldn't affect so much. Limit your upload speed.
SGBoYxxx
07-09-2009, 09:18 PM
or would it improve if I were to dump the 2wire modem/router and get a seperate modem and router?
OT abit
I also curious
using seperate modem and router will be better?
somemore can use G router instead N?
tkhhardwarezone
08-09-2009, 11:44 AM
before doing anything, try check if you are using phone filter from wall jack then if your router connect to the right port? if you connect wrongly to tel phone port it would be max 1mbps only.
Check Now!
zuoom
08-09-2009, 04:49 PM
Any advice?
the BT traffic is slowing down everything.
unless you get something that can handle the traffic, otherwise dun do BT lor.
tkhhardwarezone
08-09-2009, 04:53 PM
the BT traffic is slowing down everything.
unless you get something that can handle the traffic, otherwise dun do BT lor.
agree, bt definetly eat up most your bandwidth.
aaur4man
08-09-2009, 05:06 PM
BT eat up ur 2wire
SimonLam
08-09-2009, 08:50 PM
Well my connection shows on MaxOnline Premium:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/559709569.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
The guy come to my place. Tested everything, swap modem, tested on mine and his laptop, all same result.
Bottom line: There may be a BIG issue with the BIG GREEN PIPE. Trying to talk to Starhub again.
SimonLam
08-09-2009, 08:58 PM
Anyone knows of any other speed test that is recognised by Starhub?
GanGsTeRisM
08-09-2009, 11:46 PM
Any advice?
how do you get 100-200 kbps? my speed has been slow like 5~20 kbps
mambo31
13-09-2009, 09:01 PM
how do you get 100-200 kbps? my speed has been slow like 5~20 kbps
Not sure... depends on seeds...
Also it's at default settings... didn't change anything
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.